Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Xmas beers

• 02-11-2013 9:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭

Right lads, about time we had one of these again. There hasn't been a good beers in a while though there have been a few informal ones (beermile etc). Always a good way to meet the faces behind the usernames.

So who's in?

I guess the best thing now is to decide a date. I am guessing Saturday will suit most rather than friday so please vote on one of the 3 options. Please don't vote unless you intend going Mutple voting is allowed so vote for any date you can make; poll will close in 10 days. The more that can make it the better.

Now discuss :D

Date for Boards A/R beers 23 votes

Saturday 7th December
    0%
    Saturday 14th December
    73%
    ciancRacoonQueenPeckhammenoscemodrquirkyThePiedPiperPacing Muletheboyblunderpconn062tang1MarthastewCleanmancareer_moveblockicRedRunnergerard_65AuldManKing 17 votes
    Saturday 21st December
    26%
    ciancmenoscemoecolibelcarracareer_moveRedRunner 6 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭blockic

Saturday 14th December
    Sweet! No better man to start this thread! :D 7th would suit me best as it's after the Jingle Bells. I'll venture up to that one!

Other two look like a no-go for me! XC the 22nd December! :eek:

We need a pub with a good selection of decent beer too. Meno I know you will have that under control! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Saturday 21st December
    blockic wrote: »
    Sweet! No better man to start this thread! :D 7th would suit me best as it's after the Jingle Bells. I'll venture up to that one!

Other two look like a no-go for me! XC the 22nd December! :eek:

We need a pub with a good selection of decent beer too. Meno I know you will have that under control! :cool:

What ever you do don't let him rope you into anything else this time. :D

Opt for the 14th as are own club party will most likely be the following weekend

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Saturday 14th December
    National novice is the 15th

Saturday 21st December
    National novice is the 15th

Where is the old RQ where are the priorities :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Saturday 14th December

Against the Grain is a good bet for this type of thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Saturday 21st December
    drquirky wrote: »
    Against the Grain is a good bet for this type of thing

Anybody with any ideas; post them up here. Once this poll closes and date is decided when can throw up another poll on potential location; so all suggestions now welcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭blockic

Saturday 14th December
    menoscemo wrote: »
    Anybody with any ideas; post them up here. Once this poll closes and date is decided when can throw up another poll on potential location; so all suggestions now welcome.

Thought it was gonna be a secret like the beer mile? ;)

Saturday 21st December
    Thought it was gonna be a secret like the beer mile? ;)

No all are welcome and unlike ecoli, I am gonna try to keep this as democratic as possible :D

Saturday 21st December
    No all are welcome and unlike ecoli, I am gonna try to keep this as democratic as possible :D

Ah but I can edit the pole ;) Percieved democracy, the next best thing to tyranny :p

Saturday 21st December
    ecoli wrote: »
    Ah but I can edit the pole ;) Percieved democracy, the next best thing to tyranny :p

I am one step ahead dear Fuhrer, I made the poll public so we can see who voted for what. So none of you 20 last minute votes for December 14th this time ;)

Saturday 14th December
    I think we already have conclusive proof that the people want December 7th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Saturday 14th December
    Ah feck it, i'm in for 7th go support blockic win the Jingle Bells 5k and then go on the sauce:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Saturday 14th December
    7th for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭Peckham

Saturday 14th December
    Boards 5k showdown that morning followed by beers that night? 7th sounds good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

I'm not going to stick a vote in as not 100% sure I can make it. 7th does suit me best though.

Saturday 21st December
    TRR wrote: »
    I'm not going to stick a vote in as not 100% sure I can make it. 7th does suit me best though.

Alright; this is looking like a landslide victory for the 7th.
    So far the only venue suggestion is Against the Grain. Any others??

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Saturday 14th December
    Alright; this is looking like a landslide victory for the 7th.
    So far the only venue suggestion is Against the Grain. Any others??

Yeah, Drogheda. ;)

Saturday 14th December
    pconn062 wrote: »
    Yeah, Drogheda. ;)

Sure you'll be down in Dublin for the best 5k in the country on the 7th anyway, might as well stick around

Saturday 14th December
    Sure you'll be down in Dublin for the best 5k in the country on the 7th anyway, might as well stick around

Getting down is not the problem, I'm more concerned about getting home! :pac: Will try and work something out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

Getting down is not the problem, I'm more concerned about getting home! :pac: Will try and work something out.

Maybe you'll score ;)

Saturday 14th December
    TRR wrote: »
    Maybe you'll score ;)

Is that an offer?! ;):D Really hope my better half is not on boards!!

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 26,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

21st, because we're flying home that afternoon :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

Saturday 14th December
    Planning on making my comeback race the Jingle bells - so it would be great to celebrate and finally meet some boardies after. The 7th gets my vote!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Yeah, Drogheda. ;)

Earth? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

Club Christmas party is the 7th...

Soooo..Friday the 6th it is!! Lovely. ;);)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Saturday 21st December
    7th or 14th would be good for me assuming i get a pass.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Saturday 14th December
    Two votes for Drogheda.. McPhails... I've just entered the Jingle Bells 5k too. Will be go on the sauce straight after or what?

Saturday 14th December
    Two votes for Drogheda.. McPhails... I've just entered the Jingle Bells 5k too. Will be go on the sauce straight after or what?

We'll start on the cans on the bus on the way up, two culchies heading up to the big shmoke!

• Registered Users Posts: 709 ✭✭✭cianc

Saturday 21st December
    We'll start on the cans on the bus on the way up, two culchies heading up to the big shmoke!

Sorry, you're only allowed inside the Pale on December 8th. Can't have the country folk getting over-stimulated :p

• Registered Users Posts: 6,686 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

21st, so we can take the piss out of Joanne and Brian staring into each others eyes and being soppy love birds :)