Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
02-11-2012, 15:12   #1
mrsoundie
Registered User
 
mrsoundie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Shannon, Co. Clare.
Posts: 695
TESCO UPT appears on Bank Statement

Just been reviewing my statements and this "TESCO UPT" appears. I check it out and its for when I used a Tesco Unmanned Petrol Pump.

WTF, they are charging me for making there life easier and mine as well.

Anyone else seen this?
mrsoundie is offline  
Advertisement
02-11-2012, 15:19   #2
RangeR
Registered User
 
RangeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 127/8
Posts: 6,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsoundie View Post
Just been reviewing my statements and this "TESCO UPT" appears. I check it out and its for when I used a Tesco Unmanned Petrol Pump.

WTF, they are charging me for making there life easier and mine as well.

Anyone else seen this?
For how much?

Was it for the actual petrol [the cheek] or an admin fee for using unmanned?
RangeR is offline  
02-11-2012, 15:20   #3
wolfyboy555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 670
Ye I have seen the same on mine. It's €1 for each time you use it unmanned!
wolfyboy555 is offline  
02-11-2012, 15:21   #4
mrsoundie
Registered User
 
mrsoundie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Shannon, Co. Clare.
Posts: 695
Its an admin charge as it appears separately on my statement.

I know its only €1, but why?
mrsoundie is offline  
02-11-2012, 15:24   #5
Paulw
Registered User
 
Paulw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Dublin
Posts: 10,450
Have you contacted Tesco to query it? What have they said?
Paulw is offline  
Advertisement
02-11-2012, 15:29   #6
mrsoundie
Registered User
 
mrsoundie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Shannon, Co. Clare.
Posts: 695
Trying to find a number to ring them on, that wont cost me (I am on a mobile).

Will E Mail them if I cant and post reply here.

Have checked other websites especially UK ones and thats the common answer.

Stand by.
mrsoundie is offline  
02-11-2012, 15:40   #7
RangeR
Registered User
 
RangeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 127/8
Posts: 6,714
Is there a notice at the pump to say that there will be an admin charge? If so, there is no consumer issue.
RangeR is offline  
02-11-2012, 16:08   #8
matt-dublin
Registered User
 
matt-dublin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UrAnus
Posts: 4,076
Send a message via MSN to matt-dublin Send a message via Skype™ to matt-dublin
did you buy petrol? i would suspect its a holding amount that will update if you purchased petrol
matt-dublin is offline  
02-11-2012, 16:18   #9
mrsoundie
Registered User
 
mrsoundie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Shannon, Co. Clare.
Posts: 695
This is what I sent :-

Dear Sir or Madam,

I recently checked my Bank Account and discovered that I have been charged by Tesco €1 under the heading "TESCO UPT".

I have discovered that this is from using the unattended Petrol Pumps.

Can you conform this and if it is true can you tell me why this charge is not explained up front.

If this is not for the Petrol Pump then what is it for?

Thank you.

And there are no signs at the pumps, stating anything about an admin charge.
mrsoundie is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
02-11-2012, 16:21   #10
fasttalkerchat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,570
Are you sure this amount wasn't refunded later? Possibly you selected €20 so they charged you the €1 in case you went slightly over the €20 and then refunded the difference later.

Just an idea.
fasttalkerchat is offline  
02-11-2012, 16:33   #11
matt-dublin
Registered User
 
matt-dublin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UrAnus
Posts: 4,076
Send a message via MSN to matt-dublin Send a message via Skype™ to matt-dublin
did you actually buy petrol from one of their payment pumps?
matt-dublin is offline  
02-11-2012, 16:34   #12
mrsoundie
Registered User
 
mrsoundie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Shannon, Co. Clare.
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by fasttalkerchat View Post
Are you sure this amount wasn't refunded later? Possibly you selected €20 so they charged you the €1 in case you went slightly over the €20 and then refunded the difference later.

Just an idea.
Just checked and the last time I used those pumps I did not specify the amount I wanted, just filled away and stopped it my self. And that amount has been debited correctly.

You have two choices at the Tesco pumps thats is either set the amount or do it yourself. I find the set amount not as quick as doing it yourself.

No reply from E Mail yet.
mrsoundie is offline  
02-11-2012, 16:38   #13
ResearchWill
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4,045
Just guessing here, but I assume it works as follows, insert card €1 charge taken to prove pin and card work, then you fill car say €50, second charge applied to card for €49.

To the OP is there just one single charge or 2 in close proximity adding to your fill cost or your fill cost plus €1.
ResearchWill is offline  
Thanks from:
02-11-2012, 19:58   #14
wmpdd3
Registered User
 
wmpdd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: kilkenny
Posts: 8,532
Yeah, as far as I know the new pumps charge you €1 then the amount you want to pay then refund you the €1.

No good to me, I usually barely have €18 when I go there for petrol, if they charged me €1 pre authorisation , €17 wouldnt be enough to switch off the petrol light.

For ages in my local Tesco you could get petrol on you laser even though you had no money and when you got a credit into your bank account, the money was taken, I dont have an overdraft.
wmpdd3 is offline  
02-11-2012, 21:05   #15
mrsoundie
Registered User
 
mrsoundie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Shannon, Co. Clare.
Posts: 695
Have gone through the account and all Tesco transactions have been paid. The only outstanding one I have is from Tesco but its for grocery shopping which was not done through a self service till.

The €1 is still listed as pending as is the grocery transaction.

Still awaiting reply from Tesco, will post again when I have the reply (please God).
mrsoundie is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet