Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reserve Defence Forces Recruitment

• 25-08-2012 10:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2

Ok, I'm 17 in a few weeks and I want to join the RDF, I've been bringing my fitness levels up to scratch(weight training and running etc.) and well capable of performing. I heard of an embargo on recruitment but got in contact with office and they said SOME recruitment will happen at the beginning of next year and want to get my application in now as i heard it takes 6months or more to get clearance. I just wanted some tips about how to pull outa the crowd and wanted to hear if anyone can confirm the recruitment will take place (more specifically Monaghan, Louth , Cavan area) I REALLY wanta join nd dont give a **** about the money i'll do it for free if it helps me get in as I want to gain the experiences, skills and pleasure that you get in the RDF and I'm thinking of joining the British Army and want to experience abd see how I cope

• Site Banned Posts: 317 ✭✭Turbine

jacrk95 wrote: »
    Ok, I'm 17 in a few weeks and I want to join the RDF, I've been bringing my fitness levels up to scratch(weight training and running etc.) and well capable of performing. I heard of an embargo on recruitment but got in contact with office and they said SOME recruitment will happen at the beginning of next year and want to get my application in now as i heard it takes 6months or more to get clearance. I just wanted some tips about how to pull outa the crowd and wanted to hear if anyone can confirm the recruitment will take place (more specifically Monaghan, Louth , Cavan area)

Recruitment for the RDF is pretty much on a first come, first serve basis so the first thing you should do come September (when normal training resumes after the summer break) is go to your nearest barracks and say you want to join the RDF. They'll tell you at the gate whether any units are recruiting, and if they are somebody from one of the units will come down to speak with you. If not, you'll just be told no. Don't give up though, keep going down maybe once a month till they are recruiting.

Also the recruitment embargo on the RDF was lifted nearly 2 years ago. The situation now is that there is a cap on recruitment, but not all units are allocated an allowed number of recruits to take on. So if your local barracks says they're not recruiting and then you hear about units in Dublin taking on recruits, that's why.
    I REALLY wanta join nd dont give a **** about the money i'll do it for free if it helps me get in as I want to gain the experiences, skills and pleasure that you get in the RDF and I'm thinking of joining the British Army and want to experience abd see how I cope

Good 'cause you don't get paid in the RDF (apart from the 2 weeks Full Time Training you do as a recruit and 1 week of annual Full Time Training thereafter).

• Registered Users Posts: 4 jackrk95

lol yer i was talking to a lad nd he said he got paid for every week he spent away obviously gloating nd as for that embargo i got a message saying it might be coming back again...but what do i know thnx anyway heading over in a few weeks not 17 yrt

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭seXmym0nkey

If you do enough volunteering during the year (8 parade nights and 8 Field days at the weekends) you also get paid a gratuity at Christmas. You won'g get it after your recruit training, but the following year you'll get 180 squids or so randomley at Christmas, best feeling in the world! You get even more each time you go up a rank then, same applies for pay on camp.

As Turbine said, it's first come first serve and if you're not recruited right away keep trying as places might become available if they're not filled at other companies.

You'll have mighty craic, you'll meet great people (and some ****) and you'll get decent money for it. It's great discipline and experience and you'll find it very interesting.

If you have any other questions I'll try to answer them for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭c-90

you do get paid for every week full time trainning you do, and some weekends. you also get annual gratuity.

so far this year ive been paid for 4 weeks and 2-3 weekends. not that the money should be an incentive to join anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Conchir

What is the general reaction to 17 year olds joining? Do many do it? Would age be much of a drawback? (not in the physical side or anything, but of being accepted into the group, how you're treated, etc)

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭c-90

Conchir wrote: »
    What is the general reaction to 17 year olds joining? Do many do it? Would age be much of a drawback? (not in the physical side or anything, but of being accepted into the group, how you're treated, etc)

majority of recruits into the rdf would be in the 17-20 age gap.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

OP you're showing the right mental fortitude and determination. Keep on applying. Get the number of the relevant people (Cadre) in the orderly office. Or leave your details with the recruiting sgt.

We do get paid for our full time training. We don't get paid for the normal training night / weekends. But a small "gratuity" is given at the end of the year to cover some of the costs incurred during the voluntary periods of training (boot polish, travel).

The younger the better for recruiting! You'll find it a lot easier than a crusty auld lad going for it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

Duffman is right in all that he says, age is no barrier and you will find that even the older lads whom you would "think" are more mature, are far from it!!!

oh yeah
    BigDuffman wrote: »
    The younger the better for recruiting! You'll find it a lot easier than a crusty auld lad going for it.

Go f**k yourself duffman! from a "then" (2004) 28 year old recruit :D

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭userfriendly2

I'm thinking of joining the British Army and want to experience abd see how I cope

While I will always look on the RDF with a certain amount of respect for what they do - you will not gain as much insight into the regs (whether Brits or PDF) as you might think. If you want "test out" the army then the RDF is not the best option - its just not the same and its not the real deal.

It will however help you (slightly) in your efforts to join the PDF as you get an extra 10 points on your interview score. It won't formally help you get into the brits the way TA membership will but it is something to harp on about in that interview aswell.

You have as good a chance as any of getting into the full-time without RDF experience and never has there been a platoon of recruits where ex-RDF outnumbered Civvies.

Anyway best of luck with whatever you decide; If you're looking for a good stable job with plenty of time to keep fit and hit the gym, and good holidays throughout the year the the PDF. If you're looking for war and constant tactical exercises then the brits and remember the only place for an Irishman in the brits is the Royal Irish Regiment!!! Any other questions gimme a shout:-)

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Maoltuile

I REALLY wanta join nd dont give a **** about the money i'll do it for free if it helps me get in as I want to gain the experiences, skills and pleasure that you get in the RDF and I'm thinking of joining the British Army and want to experience abd see how I cope

I'm sure that there's going to be a divergence of opinion on this(!), but I'd rather you not take up a valuable recruiting place from someone who actually wants to serve in this country's Defence Forces.

While I will always look on the RDF with a certain amount of respect for what they do - you will not gain as much insight into the regs (whether Brits or PDF) as you might think. If you want "test out" the army then the RDF is not the best option - its just not the same and its not the real deal.

It's better than XBox, at least. So, other than the Reserve, just where exactly would you propose that people get a taste of the military? I'm genuinely curious.
    You have as good a chance as any of getting into the full-time without RDF experience and never has there been a platoon of recruits where ex-RDF outnumbered Civvies.

Even presuming that you're right - a very big 'if' - there's a basic flaw in your statistical analysis here. The question isn't in how many, but what are the respective success rates of civilian versus RDF applicants. And I'll bet you any amount of money you care to wager that the RDF are more successful by far.

Maoltuile wrote: »

It's better than XBox, at least. So, other than the Reserve, just where exactly would you propose that people get a taste of the military? I'm genuinely curious.

Even presuming that you're right - a very big 'if' - there's a basic flaw in your statistical analysis here. The question isn't in how many, but what are the respective success rates of civilian versus RDF applicants. And I'll bet you any amount of money you care to wager that the RDF are more successful by far.

I would propose that people get a taste for the military by joining the PDF. Having spent 3 years in the RDF on countless exercises/ weekends away and parade nights of which i missed 4 in 3 years, I can absolutley say that my only benefit of being a reservist was that i knew some of the footdrill. My civvie counterparts who enlisted with me were up to my standard within 2 weeks. And that was just the induction phase!!! There was 5 ex RDF including me in a platoon of 40. The platoon ahead of me had 3 and the platoon behind me had 7 of which 6 passed out and of that 6 one of them, a mate, went on his ticket 2 months into his 3 star army career. The main point i'm trying to stress here is that if you wanna join the army then join the army. Not the reserves. The reserves is a great organisation for people who want to do a bit and feel good about themselves(rightly so) for giving up their free time and getting hands on with the steyr and the GPMG but the simple fact is you will have more hands on time with everything in 2 weeks PDF than with 6 months RDF. so thats where i'd suggest you get your taste for the military!! My biggest regret is that I spent 3 years in the reserve thinking I was building up experience only to have to start from scratch and find myself learning new things after day 3 in the PDF.

I'm sure that there's going to be a divergence of opinion on this(!), but I'd rather you not take up a valuable recruiting place from someone who actually wants to serve in this country's Defence Forces.

Are you talking about him taking up a valuable reserve recruiting place or PDF??

RDF spot. He's made it crystal clear that he has no real interest in serving his own country.

He should be escorted back out the door if he shows up. There's too many taking rare slots just to f**k off after enlistment and never be seen again once they've gotten the ticked box for their CV's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

RDF spot. He's made it crystal clear that he has no real interest in serving his own country.

He should be escorted back out the door if he shows up. There's too many taking rare slots just to f**k off after enlistment and never be seen again once they've gotten the ticked box for their CV's.

That's crap. Even if he only stays a year or two, a recruit who's actively seeking out soldiering is worth 10 half-hearted recruits, who balk at the slightest inconvenience. Don't let eejits like Maoltuile put you off - if you want to apply, do it.

Quote: Maoltuile

Have to disagree there for a number of reasons.

The vacancies or slots are not half as valuable as you may think. Talk to your officers and senior nco's about this. When somebody applies and is sworn in they go "on the books" when they leave they should come off the books. This doesnt happen. Next time your up with your unit enquire as to the total strength of your unit- it will go something like this, for example;

Total strength: 100
    Paper strength: 95
    Actual strength,(lads hu parade once a week: 50(at most)

Now while some people have geniuine reasons for not making it up on any given week. There is no excuse for someone hu is on the books and hasnt been up for the last two years. This is commonplace and widespread throughout EVERY SINGLE UNIT and it is more to do with politics than laziness and unprofessionalism but both play a part.

Now since RDF units recruit at a local level(this means each unit recruits for themselves in order to keep their own strength up) they would have a lot more vacancies if they cleaned up their own books. Thats the simple nature of the RDF. there is a lot more going on behind the scenes than you might think or understand.

If RDF vacancies are so valuable then crib about the reservists hu ruin units and delay exercises by not showing up and only showing up for paid annual camp etc etc

Don't crib about the lads who are honest enough to say I wanna join for a year and move on. Fair play. Let them do there time chances are they will be a lot more commited during that year.

The lack of vacancies, which i what makes them "valuable" is purely down to mis management and politics thats all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

The vacancies or slots are not half as valuable as you may think. Talk to your officers and senior nco's about this.

Although I disagree with Maoltuile, at the minute, recruitment isn't limited by Authorised Strength. Thanks to the recruitment embargo, if a member is discharged, the unit is not allowed to recruit a replacement to bring them back up to strength. Instead, units are allocated a fixed number of recruits and that's it. If they have additional vacancies (as every unit does in droves), tough - you get your four or five per subunit and that's the end of it.

Still, if a man wants to be a soldier and wants to join the RDF, let him at it. Self-motivated recruits are worth their weight in gold.

Donny5 wrote: »
    That's crap. Even if he only stays a year or two, a recruit who's actively seeking out soldiering is worth 10 half-hearted recruits, who balk at the slightest inconvenience. Don't let eejits like Maoltuile put you off - if you want to apply, do it.

I understand that you are/were PDF, not RDF, so you've no idea of how this is affecting RDF units and therefore no real qualification to be lecturing on who's an "eejit.

Maybe half the recruits we've been permitted (where I am) promptly shagged off after swearing in, apart from a couple of sudden reappearances for camp. Looking into why usually comes back with the answer that they were only looking to tick a box for PDF interviews.

This guy doesn't even have the excuse of wanting to join our own military. I wouldn't give much hope for making him actually give something back, particularly as Minister Shatter has indicated that deserting the Irish Defence Forces to go join the Brits is a-ok.

Quote: Maoltuile

Have to disagree there for a number of reasons.

[...]

Now while some people have geniuine reasons for not making it up on any given week. There

The lack of vacancies, which i what makes them "valuable" is purely down to mis management and politics thats all.

I was going to reply, but Donny5 has covered what I wanted to say. The recruitment situation now means that none of what you've written is relevant.

I was going to reply, but Donny5 has covered what I wanted to say. The recruitment situation now means that none of what you've written is relevant.[/Quote]

Thats ballsology. Im telling ya what I know. I was in the RDF at the begining of the embargo and yes we had "authorisation" to take on 5 recruits. These were recruited. 2 month later as numbers continued to dwindle some of us were taken into a brief whereby we were given a list of names of loads of people who were on our books but hadn't shown up. We were to get in contact with anybody who we knew and get a definitive answer from them as to whether they had any interest in staying or would they come up and sign off. Loads did. About 3/4 weeks later we had cleared about 20 names and recruited platoon minus strength- all during this so called embargo. I think what i've said holds great relevence.

Join the RDF to make friends, have a laugh, get some easy cash every now and then and learn BASIC footdrill BASIC arms drill and BASIC fieldcraft. It wont get better than that.

Don't join if you want to be part of an efficient well managed organisation.

Anyone who thinks that the RDF is anything more than military themed scouts is a half a head.

Thats ballsology. Im telling ya what I know. I was in the RDF at the begining of the embargo and yes we had "authorisation" to take on 5 recruits. These were recruited. 2 month later as numbers continued to dwindle some of us were taken into a brief whereby we were given a list of names of loads of people who were on our books but hadn't shown up. We were to get in contact with anybody who we knew and get a definitive answer from them as to whether they had any interest in staying or would they come up and sign off. Loads did. About 3/4 weeks later we had cleared about 20 names and recruited platoon minus strength- all during this so called embargo. I think what i've said holds great relevence.

You don't know what you're talking about - the recruiting situation has been drastically squeezed. You should probably stop digging.
    Join the RDF to make friends, have a laugh, get some easy cash every now and then and learn BASIC footdrill BASIC arms drill and BASIC fieldcraft. It wont get better than that.

Don't join if you want to be part of an efficient well managed organisation.

Anyone who thinks that the RDF is anything more than military themed scouts is a half a head.

Let me guess - infantry unit?

You don't know what you're talking about - the recruiting situation has been drastically squeezed. You should probably stop digging.

Let me guess - infantry unit?

I don't think i'm digging, all i'm i'm doing is stating what i've seen myself within RDF units, granted not every unit but in reference to my old unit and from the CS himself due to getting rid of a fair few ppl who no longer had any interest we were able to recruit more. This is nothing to do with allocated recruits as I already said and although this was at the start of the embargo there has been no new bills/laws/proposals introduced since to suggest any reason that this would change..

and Infantry??? Me thinks not:-)

• Registered Users Posts: 32 Con1988

I have just started enquiringly about the Reserves, I am 24. I just have few questions.

Are they still recruiting, since this has risen?

I am at the very early stage, I just got my application and just about to send it back. How long does it take for the next stage?

And what does the RDF do in from week to week??

What are the next stages once you get security clearance?

if everyone who passes medicals, and security. do you automatically get recruited?

if I do pass everything and get recruited what is the next step?

I know this is a little bit off topic, but I thought I might get a fast response to my questions faster.

Any Help is appreciated.

• Site Banned Posts: 317 ✭✭Turbine

Con1988 wrote: »
    Are they still recruiting, since this has risen?

Unless the situation has changed this year, there is no national recruitment. It's done on a unit-by-unit basis where Brigade HQ will allocate a number of recruits that a particular unit can take on. Not all units/battalions will get an allocation, so the only way to find out is to go down to your local barracks and ask if they're recruiting.
    I am at the very early stage, I just got my application and just about to send it back. How long does it take for the next stage?

The next stage is the Garda security clearance which can take up to 6 months. Once you get this and assuming the unit you've applied through is authorised to take on recruits, then the next stage is the medical which should happen within a couple of weeks of getting your security clearance back but may well (probably) take longer. The next stage then is getting sworn in, and then getting your uniform.
    And what does the RDF do in from week to week??

As a recruit you'll be parading once a week where you'll have to cover a set syllabus of training before recruit camp including foot & arms drill.
    What are the next stages once you get security clearance?

See above.
    if everyone who passes medicals, and security. do you automatically get recruited?

Not necessarily. Again it depends on how many, if any, recruits your unit has been allocated to take on. But whoever is taken on will be asked to go for a medical, so if you get to that stage and pass, you can be pretty sure you'll get sworn in.
    if I do pass everything and get recruited what is the next step?

Getting sworn in and getting your uniform. There's only so much your unit can cover before getting sworn in, so once this happens you'll be doing a lot more in the way of training every week.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 RichardDunne5

Can't say I approve of using the RDF as a stepping-stone to a foreign army.

However, if you're still set on joining you're gonna be in for a long waiting game. I made initial contact on my 17th birthday (last Oct) and was told to head over the barracks after the Christmas break. I finalised all the relevant paperwork early February and am yet to hear a word back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Im a student in UL studying Aeronautical Engineering. Last September I got the notice from the Air Corps saying I hadn't gotten through after the interview process. Im 18 and have just done my leaving. My hours aren't too bad and ive asked a couple of guys about this. Im going to reapply in 4 years to the air corps, but would it make it easier for me to get through if I was already in the Reserves...and I know that the reserves don't take kindly to lads joining another branch...?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭neilled

FionnK86 wrote: »
    Im a student in UL studying Aeronautical Engineering. Last September I got the notice from the Air Corps saying I hadn't gotten through after the interview process. Im 18 and have just done my leaving. My hours aren't too bad and ive asked a couple of guys about this. Im going to reapply in 4 years to the air corps, but would it make it easier for me to get through if I was already in the Reserves...and I know that the reserves don't take kindly to lads joining another branch...?

In the last few cadet classes and recruit platoons quite a few of those selected have been RDF members in addition to having various qualifications and life experience from civvie street. If your 18, there's a lot of things in your life in the next four years could change. Going down the RDF route will do you no harm, remember the air corps aren't recruiting pilots, they are recruiting military officers - you will spend a long stint in the curragh groundpounding before you are let near an aircraft. The RDF might give you a flavour of what you are getting into and might help you decide if its the career you want to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭Midnight Oil

Yes RDF experience will help when applying to any element of the PDF. Off the top of my head

1. It will show that after being unsuccessful on your first attempt that you tried to better yourself before reapplying.
    2. It shows that you have SOME understanding of what life you are getting yourself into.
    3. It will teach you something about the DF so that you can better answer any career orientation based questions.
    4. For cadetships there are bonus points for being in the RDF.
    5. It will build and / or strengthen teamwork attributes.
    6. It might actually show you that you have no interest / aptitude for a life in the DF.

There are countless more but these are a few off the top of my head as someone that has been both a interviewee and an interviewer