Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High backed booster for 2year old

• 08-08-2012 11:26pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭

http://www.toys.ie/Protector-Car-Seat-Beetle-Group-23-!115793-prd.aspx

Hi My daughter is 2yrs and 4months old, she weighs 18kg.
    She is tall too.
    Presently she is in the Maxicosi Tobi car sear. THe upper weight for this seat is 18kg.
    So sadly already I am shopping for a high backed booster

Mothercare have some great value at the moment, but I also checked the smyths websit and I came accross this Protector high backed booster

It read s great and has won some safety awards

So has anyone else used this seat and have you any opinions to share please?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

I have no experience with that particular seat.
    http://www.toys.ie/Britax-Evolva-Jet-Group-123-!108619-prd.aspx is very good too. I have it for the child that I mind and it is easy to put in and out and to adjust.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭RubyGirl

http://www.toys.ie/Imax-Deluxe-SP-Group-123-Hatrix-Red-!122871-prd.aspx

I know the guidelines allow it but I would'nt put a 2 year old into a rugular seat belt yet, to easy to get out of. Is she growing out or her old seat now.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

RubyGirl wrote: »
    http://www.toys.ie/Imax-Deluxe-SP-Group-123-Hatrix-Red-!122871-prd.aspx

I know the guidelines allow it but I would'nt put a 2 year old into a rugular seat belt yet, to easy to get out of. Is she growing out or her old seat now.

I agree RubyGirl she physicall looks ok head wise. Belt getting harder to fasten but uper wight for seat with harness is usually and with my tobi 18kg
    So I have to balance her weight against maturity and the risk of damage if God forbid we are in an accidennt and her 18kg does more damage in harness

With all this talk of seat guidelines I simply think we need a better choice of seat with wider weight limits, Ive had this issue with both my kids and they are not overweight just always beeen at the top percentile for weight height

Moonbeam wrote: »
    I have no experience with that particular seat.
    http://www.toys.ie/Britax-Evolva-Jet-Group-123-!108619-prd.aspx is very good too. I have it for the child that I mind and it is easy to put in and out and to adjust.

Hi Moonbeam I ve the evolva 123 for my older son as a high backed booster without harness, it is a great seat. But harness must not be used after 18kg:(.
    It seems wasteful to buy one just to remove harness

http://www.mothercare.ie/britax-adventure-car-seat-billy.html

This seat is getting good reviews too, any one using the britax billy?

Thanks again

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭RubyGirl

Lisha wrote: »
    http://www.mothercare.ie/britax-adventure-car-seat-billy.html

This seat is getting good reviews too, any one using the britax billy?

Thanks again

http://www.mothercare.ie/highback-booster-with-harness-malmo-pink.html
    still be pulled towards this one.

A great seat and as Ive not had to by her one yet then I'm very tempted by the pink:D (and dangerous words but I dont intend having anymore kids)

But by manufactorers instructions you know that once they reach a max of 18kg then the harness must be removed?

So do I obey manufactorers instructions or not??:confused::confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭KGLady

I have this style (mothercares own one) for both my girls, particularly for the fact that they are suitable in the long term (up to 12yrs as it comes apart to eventually just be a booster). I've found them great in terms of being easy to fit and transfer to grandparents cars when needed. They come apart easy to clean (currently the fabric covers are in grandmothers washing machine after being puked on today). Also they have side impact protection which is a must imo.

Its a tough call on the harness aspect, I wasn't aware of an 18kg limit, my 4yr old still uses the five point harness though I don't know her exact weight atm. As long as the harness fits her and keeps her secure and comfortable I hadn't even considered not using it :s She's closing in on the max stretch on the harness so it will need review, which I guess I should do now to look into this 18kg thing. My instincts would be so long as the harness fits and is comfortable its probably better to have than not, esp for a little one so young - even if she's grand and sturdy in her build.

THanks KGLady,

I ve now made the mistake of overthinking it completely:confused::confused: My head is melted. I ve even registerted with which to see which high backed booster :confused:scored high, none that I can find yet.........

Think I ll go to mothercare and smyths tomorrow and see how I get on.

TBH I dont think I ll out her in it a while yet, she could stay at 18kg for ages will def wait til she 19kg or a bit more maybe. She obviously is a bit immature yet. As she should be is only 2 and 4months

Must start a campaign for seats with better weight limits Ithink:(

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭KGLady

Very good idea to pop into a retailer where they have people in the know about these things, I've no doubt they'll be able to give you some guidance. Maybe bring herself so she can sit in to the various types of seats and check it out there and then, instead of trying to explain to them why you are looking beyond the conventional seat for her age.

I tend to do similar and dive madly into the smallest of details on everything when it comes to the kids welfare and safety and wind up in a complete head melt too, thankfully himself is great for coming in and cutting through all that with a good dose of common sense ;)

Edit:
    I'm still googling on this, I'm obsessing now about my 4yr olds seat! I'd not fully understood the risk of >18kg secured with the seatbelt through the back of the seat for the 5pt set-up not being safe for reasons of wrenching forward and the belt not keeping the entire seat secure from the added weight. So I'd defo be going to talk to someone in one of the shops were I in your shoes.

If it helps here's the instructions manual for that model in a pdf format
    http://help.mothercare.com/resources/mothercare/products/Malmo_Carseat_Instructions_220611

I'm reading through it now so I have a better understanding what way to reset the 4yrs seat tomorrow when I collect her from her grandparents.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

I found emailing the manafacturers a huge help.
    kiddy.de are great to deal with and their car seats tend to score very high in tests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,865 ✭✭✭✭January

I'd recommend contacting Simon at In Car Safety (either by phone or he's on twitter too, http://www.incarsafetycentre.co.uk/) and see what he thinks is best for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,865 ✭✭✭✭January