Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beginner needs advice

Options
  • 27-07-2012 2:51pm
    Registered Users Posts: 11

I'm a beginner, so much so I don't even have a bike. I want to start road cycling, nothing too crazy, just 20k-40k spins after work etc.

Consider me a blank canvas in the cycling world.

I work in the dept of education so I can have up to 51% off €1000 (Bike & Accessories), I don't really want to spend much over €1000 right now.

I was looking at a Giant, a Trek and a Specialized road bike all between €700 - €800. Which would leave me 200-300 for accessories.

What do I need to buy to start off? A helmet and a lock or more?

I can use the cycle to work scheme again in 5 years so if i'm happy with the purchase and the sport, i'll upgrade then. (My rationale for only spending €1000)

I'd really appreciate any help!

Thanks!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

I'd sugest to get the best bike you can get for the full 1000e. The reason is that you can get all the accessories and gear online for much less if you shop around. Also, have a look at Cube and Felt models, they might be a bit better value and I just like the looks of them. There might be some discounts coming soon for this years models, have a look around, there is lot to be had for the 1k.

Ah, one more thing. If you really get hooked then you'll be upgrading a lot sooner than in 5 years :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11 Frankay

Hmmzis wrote: »
    Also, have a look at Cube and Felt models