Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going On Holiday By Yourself Alone

• 28-06-2012 2:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭

Does anyone do it?

I'm a bit of loner in real life and don't make friends easily so I do it because I have to if I want to live my life and do things I enjoy doing e.g. travelling (which is a hobby of my mine!).

I went to Australia for 5 weeks on my own, I've been to Germany on my own, Faroe Islands on my own, Italy on my own, Denmark on my own etc.

I hate doing it tbh because it does get very lonely but otherwise I feel like I am a burden on other people if I start looking like a hanger on trying to force people to be friends with me. All I end up doing is p!ssing other people off otherwise acting desperate.

I'm not overly a popular person so its just something I'm born (seem to have a repellent personality) with so just live with it. Its painful but I've kinda got used to it now and like I say I'm not restricting things I enjoy doing just because I have no friends/have no one to go with.

I'm planning to go to Spain for 12 days or so in August, not Ibiza type holiday, but rather a cultural Spanish holiday visiting Madrid/Seville/Cordoba/Granada etc. I also am considering to go to New Zealand next march for 2-3 weeks which I'm really looking forward too!!

I know people think its weird but in all honesty I don't give a fúck cause I only live once and want to do things I enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Faroe Islands on my own

sweet jesus that sounds like a bundle of laughs!

i'm sure i heard of a group holiday thingy for people like yourself, i'll try google it

also i would have went elsewhere than AH with this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭I_smell_fear

Did writing all your life problems down make you feel better?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Do you ask for a table for one in a restaurant or do you bring a hooker?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

the only traveling i have done on my own is meeting up with people who were already over there had to spend a day in croatia on my own. i don't think i would like to travel on my own. i love to have someone there to appreciate the experience with.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Does being an arse make you feel better?

OP, my opinion is just do it and to fúck with what people think. If you like to travel and have the means to do it, then you shouldnt restrict yourself because you don't have a travelling companion.
    I havent had the need to do it myself but I can imagine its not a barrel of laughs. The best experiences are shared I believe. But still, if you want to do a cultural / sightseeing type trip and have a genuine interest in the places you're going, then go. I'd steer well clear of a sun / booze holiday to a resort though.

davet82 wrote: »
    also i would have went elsewhere than AH with this
    smash wrote: »

you see what i mean :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Not very nice

The OP has infinitely more confidence then the people who won't walk into pubs on their own and almost want someone to hold their hand before they go out anywhere

Good for you OP :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

davet82 wrote: »
    sweet jesus that sounds like a bundle of laughs!

Yeah I went for a football match over for two days there while I was in Denmark. :pac:
    smash wrote:

The former is the cheaper option.

http://www.thepattclub.ie/

PATT club - 'Group Holidays for People Alone Travelling Together'

maybe of some use to you i hope :)

Glimmerdog wrote: »
    Definitely swingers

All the more reason to book then :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I would consider a holiday to be a 'proper' holiday unless I was on my own. Even when away with others I feck off my own, if I wanted to see people I know I'd stay at home and go to a wake or something.

The word Holiday comes from the ancient Greek holyssius, meaning enjoying one's own company, not a lot of people know that.
    mainly because I just made it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

There are a lot of companies that specialise in holidays for single travellers, you can pick from cultural, party etc style holidays and also by age group. It's a good way to meet people with similar interests and you can also do your own thing if you wish.

Being an introvert does not make you repellant so don't be so negative about yourself. THe good thing about these holidays is that you never have to meet these people again, but you might also make some friends.

I would love to do it, but don't have the courage and always go with friends etc.

Good luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

Nothing wrong with travelling alone at all. My sister has just headed off to South America on her own for three months. I wish I was brave enough to do that. Lots of my friends travel alone if there's somewhere they want to go and have nobody to go with.

I've gone to Amsterdam a few times alone, but I used live in Holland, so that's a bit different.

I've gone on a Yoga retreat over Christmas (day before Christmas eve till day after Stephen's day) on my own, and that was great - hard work but great. Felt absolutely amazing when I got back home.

Loads of people holiday alone - pay no heed to those who criticise you. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭cade

I don't see a problem with it at all, I mean it's your life to live so why put off doing something you want to do just because other people might take a view on it. Given the current economic climate also a number of people wouldn't be able to afford much of a social life so I'd gather that even people with large numbers of friends are finding themselves in the same situation where in financial constrictions are preventing there comrades from attending.

My advice from personal experience would be that you should definitely go on the trips that you want but make a point of staying in hostels. I've found that people are a lot more open to conversation and hanging out with people who're travelling on their own in hostels than any other accomdation establishement. You could end up making a few new friends to keep in contact with via Skype and who knows what countries you could organise to meet in in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭gibraltar

try out a company like this,

http://www.intrepidtravel.com/

About half the group will be on their own so you won't feel like a fifth wheel, you would be with other people who enjoy travel and you get the benefits of being in a group.

Also you could end up making some good friends from the people you meet.

IMO you should not consider traveling on your own as a negative no matter what anyone says, consider this; how many people do you think would have the guts to travel to the far side of the world on their own?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I had to fly to Turkey years ago on my own, I had skinful in the bar in Dublin airport before I left and had the time of my life with a gang of 'ol wans going on holiday.
    The shennanigans continued on the flight and I reckened it was game on with two of them...

What ruined it for me was mrsMattjack meeting me at the airport in Turkey,sober and sunburned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

My cousin used to go on holidays alone too kinda, he went on his own but with a group of others that holidayed alone, I dont know the name of the group but I am sure it wouldnt be too hard to find. He actually met his wife on one of the holidays too.

Where To wrote: »
    I would consider a holiday to be a 'proper' holiday unless I was on my own. Even when away with others I feck off my own, if I wanted to see people I know I'd stay at home and go to a wake or something.

The word Holiday comes from the ancient Greek holyssius, meaning enjoying one's own company, not a lot of people know that.
    mainly because I just made it up

It surely derives from "Holy" and "Day", the origin being old english, no?

Ah ok, now I see the white text :o

cade wrote: »
    I don't see a problem with it at all, I mean it's your life to live so why put off doing something you want to do just because other people might take a view on it. Given the current economic climate also a number of people wouldn't be able to afford much of a social life so I'd gather that even people with large numbers of friends are finding themselves in the same situation where in financial constrictions are preventing there comrades from attending.

My advice from personal experience would be that you should definitely go on the trips that you want but make a point of staying in hostels. I've found that people are a lot more open to conversation and hanging out with people who're travelling on their own in hostels than any other accomdation establishement. You could end up making a few new friends to keep in contact with via Skype and who knows what countries you could organise to meet in in the future.

Seriously I live with people thinking I'm weird everyday. Everyone thought I was weird at school, everyone thought I was weird at university, everyone thought I was weird at work. I live it 24/7 365 days a year. Not one day goes by where somebody doesn't think I'm weird.

I have thicker skin than you think I do. I wouldn't have been able to live with the last 10 years if I hadn't and I have no problems starting this thread, you can take the P*ss out of me if you want, heck I take the p*ss out of myself often cos I know its all weird. :pac:

But so what lifes too short to worry about other people every minute of life.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Did it loads of times. If you stay in hostels there are lots of other people in the same sitch, you usually buddy up pretty quickly and before you know it you're doing shots at the bar and lines in the jacks with your new bezzy mates in the local Cantina. Sigh, good times...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I know people think its weird but in all honesty I don't give a fúck cause I only live once and want to do things I enjoy.

Who gives a feck what those type of people think? Fair play to you for not being another boring sheep who has to follow the herd and do what everyone else does for fear of being slightly interesting or individual. If you enjoy holidaying alone then do it.

gibraltar wrote: »
    consider this; how many people do you think would have the guts to travel to the far side of the world on their own?

Yeah its interesting you say that because I didn't know anyone over there.

If anything had happened to me in emergancy I would had to get someone to fly all the way out from Ireland. I went to Adelaide, Melbourne, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Byron Bay, Canberra, Sydney in the 5 weeks I was there. Pretty cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭boardie100

OP i admire people like you.... i only realized how much when i travelled around South America with my other half at the time..... There were plenty of solo travellers and everyone i met seemed to be having a great time... It's not something i'd have considered before that but it definately opened up my mind to the possibilities....
    I think if i were to do it now though it would have to involve some activites like trekking etc because i would find it boring trying to find things to do around a city for a weekend (i'm not that cultural)... I second the hostel suggestion....you'll meet plenty of people that way

A couple of years ago I was contemplating a solo trip as no one was in a position to fork out for a holiday. When I mentioned the idea to friends and family, I was met with puzzled expressions. The general theme was it would be excruciatingly boring, awkward, "Eating alone in restaurants, OMG, I could never do that", lonely and depressing. Now while you have to admit there is an element of truth to some of it, I then realised that the people telling me all this would find it hard to do ANYTHING alone, let alone go abroad. My 27 year old cousin is a people person who has to be in the middle of a crowd all the time. Her idea of hell is being at home for one night watching TV alone. So it stands to reason this would be the general consensus on solo travelling.
    But if you are comfortable in your own company and don't pay any attention to what the world thinks you should be doing, then travelling alone is no big deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

OP you are a stronger person than I am.

No way could i travel like that on my own.

I just had a day and njight in Munich and Berlin on my own on the way and back from Poland and i hated it.

Fair play.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    The OP has infinitely more confidence then the people who won't walk into pubs on their own and almost want someone to hold their hand before they go out anywhere
    OP i admire people like you.... i only realized how much when i travelled around South America with my other half at the time..... There were plenty of solo travellers and everyone i met seemed to be having a great time... It's not something i'd have considered before that but it definately opened up my mind to the possibilities....

Can I just I don't do it because I want I do it because I have to. I have no choice. I either do that or delge into suicidal thoughts and feeling sorry for myself for having no friends and I'm not interested in doing that.

I don't want brag about being a loner, its not something I prefer I'm just used to it lmao.

Its not about being 'stronger' its because I have to like I say. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭rambutman

Just go to Thailand and ram cheap hookers.....be cheating then poppin one off with a regular bird anyway

think thats referred to as "sneakin off on the whore to go whorin"

I've gone to Mexico for a month and two 6 month trips of Asia on my own. Its the only way - you meet people along the way - you're never alone :)

go for it

• Registered Users Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭Snoopy1

Im female, and heading off on my own in October for a week.
    Not the way i want it, but im not letting the fact im single (ish) get in the way of me going on holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

A thought just struck me. Do siamese twins have to pay a single supplement?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,007 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Lone travellers must have arseholes like wizard's sleeves because they always seem to be first in line for cavity searches at international airports.