Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hospital bag

• 05-03-2012 5:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 31

Due our 1st baby in just under 11 weeks. We have everything sorted for the arrival apart from the hospital bag or bags. So was just posting to see if anyone could maybe give me some tips on what to bring and not to bring! Cheers

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

Snap - I'm due in 10 weeks and have nothing sorted. The hospital and labour bags is what I'm going to get sorted this week. I got some great advise from the mammies here and on other forums and have my list pretty much finalised.

When I get home I will give it a final polish and post it up here.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 Brian87

Neyite wrote: »
    Snap - I'm due in 10 weeks and have nothing sorted. The hospital and labour bags is what I'm going to get sorted this week. I got some great advise from the mammies here and on other forums and have my list pretty much finalised.

When I get home I will give it a final polish and post it up here.

Oh thank god we got everything sorted early. Think we mainly did it out of excitement! Would be great if you could post it up because we are hoping to get it sorted this week like yourself.!

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭chirogirl

Ear plugs!

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭Queen of Sheebs

For mammy- about 4 night dresses. You could go through 2 or 3 during labour with all the fluids and again during the first night. Arnica tablets for the bruising. Flip flops for labour and showers (slippers get wet in labour). Snacks for both mammy and daddy. Water.
    For Baby- disposable changing mats. It's amazing how fast they pee and poo!! Baby socks for their tiny feet!

Such an exciting time. Good luck.

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

Righto - Here is mine. (so far!):p

Dad's Bag - For Labour
    • My personal info - For booking me in
    • My birth Plan
    • Phone List - in case of phone problems
    • Change for car park and shop
    • Card/Gift for midwife
    • Spare Socks
    • Spare T-shirts
    • Granola Bars/Snacks
    • Isotonic Drinks
    • Pen
    • Puzzle Book
    • Book
    • Camera
    • Camera Lead
    • Batteries
    • I pod
    • Ipod Charger
    • Phone Charger
    • Toothbrush
    • Toothpaste
    • Mouthwash
    • Deodorant
    • Wipes
    • Hand Towel
    My labour Bag:
    • Shortie PJ’s for Labour x 4 (or t-shirts /boxers that I can throw away afterwards)
    • Nursing Bra
    • Knickers
    • Post Birth PJ’s
    • Flip Flops
    • 2 x Maternity Pads
    • Dark Hand Towel
    • Carrier Bags
    • 2 x Breast Pads
    • Kindle
    • Maternity Notes
    Toiletries:
    • Moisturiser
    • Toothpaste
    • Toothbrush
    • Mouthwash
    • Makeup
    • Hairbrush
    • Hair Bobbins
    • Ear Plugs
    • Deoderant
    • Shower Gel
    • Lip Balm
    • Massage Oil
    • Antibacterial Gel
    • Travel/baby wipes
    In Labour Bag for Baby:
    • 1 vest
    • 1 Onesie
    • 1 Hat
    • 1Scratch mitts
    • 1 Socks
    • Vaseline (to stop the first poo sticking!)
    • Cotton Wool
    • 2 Newborn Nappy
    • Disposable changing mat x 2
    Ward Bag - Me:
    • PJ’s x2
    • Cotton Dressing Gown
    • 2 Nursing Bras
    • 5 x Knickers
    • 5x Socks
    • Going home outfit
    • Vest tops
    • Black Leggins
    • Bath Towel
    • Slippers
    • 1 pk Pigeon Breast pads
    • 1 pk Always Maxi Maternity pads
    • Lanisoh Cream
    • Arnica Tablets
    • Squeezy bottle
    • Nipple shields
    • Carrier bags
    Ward Bag - For baby
    • 5 Vests
    • 5 babygros
    • 2 Scratch mitts
    • 1 pack Muslins
    • 1 hat
    • 1 baby towel
    • 1 baby blanker
    • 1 going home outfit
    • Snowsuit
    • 5 x Bibs
    • 1 pk Nappies
    • 1 Huggies pure wipes

I will probably pare down the quantites and leave them on the spare bed because we live very near the hospital and Dad can bring in any extra things I need.

Carrier bags are for gifts or laundry to send home.
    Buy travel size toiletries to save on space
    Toilet bag will go into labour bag but then into the ward with me so I kept that separate.
    Pack baby outfits in sandwich bags so you have everything you need in the one packet without rooting around for it. (also handy for dad if you are laying out extra clothes in spare room for him to bring in.
    Squeezy bottle is for squirting on your stitches (if you have any) while peeing so it doesnt hurt as much!

Now, I do have to warn you, this is all new to me, so I may be going waaayy overboard :p I got the list from compiling a few lists from here and there and wise tips from mammies who have been down this road.

I have an app on the I phone called BabyBump and on it you can bring up and edit a list of newborn essentials. I plan to upload the list there too so I can tick them off while I shop for them.

I wouldn't bother packing baby wipes, as you can only use water and cotton wool when doing nappy changes to start with. Plus the baby won't be bathed for a few days, to keep in babies natural oils.

I personally, don't think i packed enough baby vests, ended up sending mum out for some.

Hospital provided maternity pads are not great, i'd recommend the 'always' ones.

don't forget Phone charger, camera charger.

Maybe pack a small lock for your bag, just in case, as sometimes things do go walkabout.

A plastic bag for dirty laundry.

If i can think of more, i'll post later.

Baby wipes are for me mostly :).

The lock is a really good idea. As is the maternity pads. Probably the baby washing stuff can be left on the spare bed for Dad to bring in if required - we live very near anyway. But will add more vests!

Thanks Chirogirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Dad's Bag - For Labour
    • My birth Plan
    • Card/Gift for midwife
    • Spare Socks
    • Spare T-shirts
    • Granola Bars/Snacks
    • Isotonic Drinks
    • Pen
    • Puzzle Book
    • Book
    • Camera
    • Camera Lead
    • Batteries
    • I pod
    • Ipod Charger
    • Phone Charger
    • Toothbrush
    • Toothpaste
    • Mouthwash
    • Deodorant
    • Wipes
    • Hand Towel
    My labour Bag:
    • Shortie PJ’s for Labour x 4 (or t-shirts /boxers that I can throw away afterwards)
    • Nursing Bra
    • Knickers
    • Post Birth PJ’s
    • Flip Flops
    • 2 x Maternity Pads
    • Dark Hand Towel
    • Carrier Bags
    • 2 x Breast Pads
    • Kindle
    • Maternity Notes
    Toiletries:
    • Moisturiser
    • Toothpaste
    • Toothbrush
    • Mouthwash
    • Makeup
    • Hairbrush
    • Hair Bobbins
    • Ear Plugs
    • Deoderant
    • Shower Gel
    • Lip Balm
    • Massage Oil
    • Antibacterial Gel
    • Travel/baby wipes
    In Labour Bag for Baby:
    • 1 vest
    • 1 Onesie
    • 1 Hat
    • 1Scratch mitts
    • 1 Socks
    • Cotton Wool
    • 2 Newborn Nappy
    Ward Bag - Me:
    • PJ’s x2
    • Cotton Dressing Gown
    • 2 Nursing Bras
    • 5 x Knickers
    • 5x Socks
    • Going home outfit
    • Vest tops
    • Black Leggins
    • Bath Towel
    • Slippers
    • Lanisoh Cream
    • Arnica Tablets
    • Squeezy bottle
    • Nipple shields
    • Carrier bags
    Ward Bag - For baby
    • 5 Vests
    • 5 babygros
    • 2 Scratch mitts
    • 1 pack Muslins
    • 1 hat
    • 1 baby towel
    • 1 baby blanker
    • 1 going home outfit
    • Snowsuit
    • 5 x Bibs
    • 1 pk Nappies
    • 1 Huggies pure wipes

omg :eek::D

Why not leave the going home stuff in a bag, where your other half knows where it is, to bring in when you're leaving?

omg :eek::D

Why not leave the going home stuff in a bag, where your other half knows where it is, to bring in when you're leaving?

Oh ya, as I said, I will probably pare down the list and leave a lot at home in a place himself can bring it in. Once I have it all assembled and see the mountain of stuff I will have to!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

One tip I got was to buy the cheapest Pennys nightgowns/PJs/towels/big knickers and throw them out when you're finished with them after labour and each morning. Saves on washing going home and means you've less to pack and sort out. Also wash everything, even just a rinse, before you pack it to save on fluff getting all over!
    I was also told to pack squeezee bottles of water for peeing post labour as it relieves the area if you've stiches.

The main thing though is to keep your file on top of the labour bag beside the door (not in the boot of the car, cars can be stolen or broken into!), the MOST important thing to have is your file.

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭elaney

This is the official maternity booklets list. This is all i brought as i was only in two days.

For labour ward
    • 1 old nightie
    • 1 pack sanitary towels
    • baby grow
    • vest
    • nappy
    For baby
    • 5-6 baby grows
    • 5-6 vests
    • 2 dozen disposable nappies
    • hat/cardigan/scratch mitts
    • 2 baby towels
    • 2 baby blankets
    • cotton wool
    For you
    • 3 nightdresses
    • dressing gown
    • slippers
    • Hand towel
    • Face cloth
    • 2 bath towels
    • 2 good supporting bras or nursing bras
    • 6 pairs of panties
    • support tights or stockings if you wear them
    • toilet requisites e.g shampoo , toothpaste
    • 4 packets of maternity sanitary towels
    • pen and paper
    Also bring your hospital notes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,865 ✭✭✭✭January

chirogirl wrote: »
    I wouldn't bother packing baby wipes, as you can only use water and cotton wool when doing nappy changes to start with. Plus the baby won't be bathed for a few days, to keep in babies natural oils.

I used baby wipes on my second and third babies from the very first day, the Huggies pure ones (cream packet), got some "looks" from the midwives, but they can't stop you doing it.

Hospital provided maternity pads are not great, i'd recommend the 'always' ones.
    The green maternity pads are much heavier but I find they are great, think it's just personal preference but I brought boots maternity pads and always into the hospital and ended up sending himself down to get me some hospital ones in the hospital shop

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭silly

Dad's Bag - For Labour
    • My birth Plan
    • Card/Gift for midwife
    • Spare Socks
    • Spare T-shirts
    • Granola Bars/Snacks
    • Isotonic Drinks
    • Pen
    • Puzzle Book
    • Book
    • Camera
    • Camera Lead
    • Batteries
    • I pod
    • Ipod Charger
    • Phone Charger
    • Toothbrush
    • Toothpaste
    • Mouthwash
    • Deodorant
    • Wipes
    • Hand Towel
    My labour Bag:
    • Nursing Bra
    • Knickers
    • Post Birth PJ’s
    • Flip Flops
    • 2 x Maternity Pads
    • Dark Hand Towel
    • Carrier Bags
    • 2 x Breast Pads
    • Kindle
    • Maternity Notes
    Toiletries:
    • Moisturiser
    • Toothpaste
    • Toothbrush
    • Mouthwash
    • Makeup
    • Hairbrush
    • Hair Bobbins
    • Ear Plugs
    • Deoderant
    • Shower Gel
    • Lip Balm
    • Massage Oil
    • Antibacterial Gel
    • Travel/baby wipes
    In Labour Bag for Baby:
    • 1 vest
    • 1 Onesie
    • 1 Hat
    • 1Scratch mitts
    • 1 Socks
    • Cotton Wool
    • 2 Newborn Nappy
    Ward Bag - Me:
    • PJ’s x2
    • Cotton Dressing Gown
    • 2 Nursing Bras
    • 5 x Knickers
    • 5x Socks
    • Going home outfit
    • Vest tops
    • Black Leggins
    • Bath Towel
    • Slippers
    • Lanisoh Cream
    • Arnica Tablets
    • Squeezy bottle
    • Nipple shields
    • Carrier bags
    Ward Bag - For baby
    • 5 Vests
    • 5 babygros
    • 2 Scratch mitts
    • 1 pack Muslins
    • 1 hat
    • 1 baby towel
    • 1 baby blanker
    • 1 going home outfit
    • Snowsuit
    • 5 x Bibs
    • 1 pk Nappies
    • 1 Huggies pure wipes

This list scared me.

I agree January, Its all down to personal choice and experience. I initally used a wipe on my baby, and got told to use only water and cotton wool. As for the pads, I found the hospital were like wearing a mattress, though I got away without having any stitches down below, so the 'Always' ones did the job. Oh talking about all this , makes me want to do it all over again! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭angelll

I just packed my bag today,due in 5/6 weeks. (am hoping to go early :)) I had forgotten plastic bag for dirty clothes and flip flops,cheers for those :D
    I've packed:
    Dressing gown
    slippers
    Pj's
    Dark purple always
    5 pack of ordinary knickers from dunnes in a bigger size
    1 pair bed socks
    2 pairs ordinary socks
    6 vests
    10 nappies
    2 bibs
    2 hats
    1 pair mittens
    5 babygros
    cotton wool
    Nappy bags
    baby wipes for cleaning around me and for myself :)
    Shampoo
    Shower gel
    Face cloth
    Towel (big for shower after labour)
    Deodorant
    Toothbrush & paste
    Vit D drops for baby
    2 sterilised soothers

That's it :D

I can ring my mum to bring me in spare pj's if needed,going home clothes can wait til i am going home,visitors will usually bring heaps of vests and babygros,will feck the charger into my handbag before i go in. Have the kindle app on my iphone and music on it too so can use that for phone & entertainment. My partner will bring in snowsuit when we're going home along with carseat,no need for going home outfit as he will be in snowsuit. Labour will be wearing whatever i went into hospital wearing,usually a pj top or t-shirt. Antibacterial gel usually on the wall of ward. Never used disposable mats for newborn,change them on a sheet,lift up legs,wipe while holding up legs,have clean nappy ready and slide it in. Buut,i'm planning on staying for only one night,2 max,any more and i would have a lot of extras on there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭kildareash

Neyite, what a comprehensive list! I think you're only missing the kitchen sink!

Great idea to include Dad's labour bag...I never would have thought of organising him, especially extras like t-shirts and toiletries.

We're only 40 minutes away from hospital, and there will be plenty of people popping in and out that can bring over bits and pieces to me anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭cyning

Neyite I showed my husband that list: he went pale!

Kinda how I felt when I read it too! Never thought of stuff for hubbie at all...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

chirogirl wrote: »
    ....As for the pads, I found the hospital were like wearing a mattress, though I got away without having any stitches down below, so the 'Always' ones did the job.

Perfect description of them. Double bed mattress at that :D

I had some pretty strong braxton hicks one morning last week before I went to work.
    To be on the safe side I chucked my labour ward bag in the boot of my car & it's been there ever since.
    It's peace of mind in case I do go early (some chance :rolleyes:) though God help the person that dared rob my car with that in it. Hell hath no fury as a contrary pregnant woman scorned :D
    Wouldn't they be disappointed to find a bag of nappies/breast pads/pj's? :D

I have pretty much everything Neyite listed packed between my small labour ward bag & my bigger ward bag. It doesn't seem like quite so much when you pack it all up, seriously!

When I was in hospital last I was fascinated when I seen the amount of stuff the woman in the bed opposite had.
    One extra bag just for her make up/hair straighteners :eek:

kildareash wrote: »
    Neyite, what a comprehensive list! I think you're only missing the kitchen sink!

Great idea to include Dad's labour bag...I never would have thought of organising him, especially extras like t-shirts and toiletries.

We're only 40 minutes away from hospital, and there will be plenty of people popping in and out that can bring over bits and pieces to me anyway.

cyning wrote: »
    Neyite I showed my husband that list: he went pale!

Kinda how I felt when I read it too! Never thought of stuff for hubbie at all...

He gets a bag so I dont have to lug his stuff :D He is a hoor for putting stuff into "our" handbag, I end up like a pack mule!

I just had my first antenatal class - they have an early release scheme for women who live nearby so lots of that stuff will be laid out on the spare bed and not brought in until they make me stay. I really will have a small bag, honest!

But if he does have to bring in stuff it will be laid out for him to grab. I'm still crossing my legs over the story either on this forum or another one about the guy who was asked to bring in extra underwear for is wife and brought her in thongs :eek:

Believe me, you'll pack loads for the first, a bit less by the second and by the time you have your third, your ward bag will be half the size of the one you brought on the first one :p or at least that's the way it worked for me ;)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Pack an extra bag with extra stuff and leave it at home, in the event that you need a C section.. happens a lot unfortunately..

I had to keep sending my OH out around town buying extra this, that and the other as I was kept in for a week :o

Best of luck :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

He gets a bag so I dont have to lug his stuff :D He is a hoor for putting stuff into "our" handbag, I end up like a pack mule!

My OH does this, drives me mad. Definitely going to get him a nice man bag.

I'm planning a homebirth but have to have hospital & ward bag ready in case have to transfer to hospital. If I don't transfer *touch wood* at least I'll have all my needed bits & pieces in one easy bag and won't have to go searching for things!

It's definitely all going to feel very real when I prepare these bags!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭silly

Not sure if anyone has mentioned witch hazel.
    Witch hazel is great for them blasted stitches.
    You put it on your maternity pad and it tones the skin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I would recommend a couple of plastic bags for dirty clothes to give the dad to bring home...i had meconium covered towels, and the t-shirt i wore while giving birth. it's nice not to have that stuff stinking your room up til you get home!

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭annamcmahon

Everything I sent home had blood, milk or baby vomit on it so I was really glad that my husband took them home every day and washed them. I wouldn't like to think of the smell after 3 days. Also the maternity hospitals are all really warm so I'd recommend having very lightweight clothes. My daughter was born at the end of last year's big freeze I still spent most of the time in a stringvest and pj bottoms and slept on the bedclothes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Everything I sent home had blood, milk or baby vomit on it so I was really glad that my husband took them home every day and washed them. I wouldn't like to think of the smell after 3 days. Also the maternity hospitals are all really warm so I'd recommend having very lightweight clothes. My daughter was born at the end of last year's big freeze I still spent most of the time in a stringvest and pj bottoms and slept on the bedclothes.

Oh yes I agree about the heat. Also, when the milk comes in, you are often a bit feverish, so that makes you even sweatier!

Yet despite the heat in hospitals, and that I'm due in May, and that she should know better having had a scatter of us in the hospital, my mother bought be a big fluffly fleecy bathrobe. I will look like a knocked up yeti if I wear it. A sweaty yeti :D

Why do grannies always want to heat you up? I can take the heat, 35 -40 degrees abroad is no bother to me, but in pregnancy I havent felt the cold once over the autum/winter. Yet my partners mammy hiked up the heating, and put on the electric blanket, and had 2 fires roaring so I wouldnt get cold the last time I visited. We were melting.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

My little fella will (hopefully) be born at the end of June. Will it be too warm for one of those padded suits? For leaving the hospital etc. I'm just dying to buy one of them! lol

Quite possibly too warm... I have October, December and February babies and had to have a snow suit each time because of the weather but in June I reckon a vest, babygro and a fleece babygro over with a blanket would suffice for leaving the hospital.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,624 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

I agree, plus they are a night mare to get a newborn into and worse to get the straps in the baby seat closed over!! I always went with vest babygro, cardigan with hood and hat. You can always put a cellular blanket over his legs. I have loads of snowsuits with the tags still attached...