Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AIB bank occupied by students

• 29-02-2012 5:53pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,029 ✭✭✭

Link

Saw this when going through Shop Street today, banners blocking the door to the bank with red flags and the Socialist Worker copies being hung in the window.

Thoughts?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Your own thoughts?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭inisboffin

I posted about it in the Rag Week thread, just saw this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

“The march finished at the office of Fine Gael TD for the area Brian Walsh.

Isn't Labour TD Derek Nolan's office nearer to that AIB bank? I wonder why the likes of Labour Youth don't seem to give him any hassle regarding the fees...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,029 ✭✭✭Lockstep

c_man wrote: »
    Isn't Labour TD Derek Nolan's office nearer to that AIB bank? I wonder why the likes of Labour Youth don't seem to give him any hassle regarding the fees...

His office is down at the docks, NUIG students (including Labour Youth members) protested there a couple of months ago and again last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Right, so Nolan's is closer. Haven't heard about those protests, maybe the roof was too high up for them :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

I find that far more irritating than anything that happened during rag week.
    The account also claims that “parents and primary school children” had arrived to support the occupation
    Wonder is that yer woman that turns up at all the protests with her kids in tow!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭orangebud

on loacation

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭factual lies

Wonder is that yer woman that turns up at all the protests with her kids in tow!!!

yes it was!!!! lol

• Registered Users Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭inisboffin

yes it was!!!! lol

In fairness there are a more than a few things going on in this country to be p*ssed off about and want to protest. I wouldn't be surprised seeing the same people at some different stuff tbh :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

I don't get how people expect free education. Someone needs to pay for the teachers and buildings. yes there are some students who wouldn't be able to go to college if they had no grants or whatever but the majority can afford it. I'm a student with no job, get the grant (not the full one) but could still afford more cuts. I don't waste my money, so have about 120 euro maybe less a month left to spend on stuff like tax or whatever along with some help from parents.

tl;dr

Don't protest about cost of education if you waste your money on stupid things as it is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

Is it not enough for these parasites that they get free education through primary and secondary school?

Who is supposed to pay for everyone's life long free education? What about employed people who go to training courses or night classes, should these also be free?

The graduate output from our third level education system is nothing short of dire.

Lecturers seem tired, uninspired and often have an outdated unmaintained knowledge of the subjects they teach (especially in IT).

Students seem more interested in trying to live up to the "mad hoor" student lifestyle and are overly image and social status conscious attention whores which distracts them from the actual purpose of higher level education, and that is to learn.

Even when they do try most of them are just too thick to gain any kind of worthwhile qualification.

Absolute waste of money providing free / cheap third level education. Just does not work.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Is it not enough for these parasites that they get free education through primary and secondary school?

Who is supposed to pay for everyone's life long free education? What about employed people who go to training courses or night classes, should these also be free?

The graduate output from our third level education system is nothing short of dire.

Lecturers seem tired, uninspired and often have an outdated unmaintained knowledge of the subjects they teach (especially in IT).

Students seem more interested in trying to live up to the "mad hoor" student lifestyle and are overly image and social status conscious attention whores which distracts them from the actual purpose of higher level education, and that is to learn.

Even when they do try most of them are just too thick to gain any kind of worthwhile qualification.

Absolute waste of money providing free / cheap third level education. Just does not work.
    You dont half talk a lot of nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭celty

Occupy Hole in The Wall

Occupy Supermac's

Occupy AIB

.... where next? (Is there some pattern here?):D

Perhaps this ain't the best week in the year for students to campaign for 'free fees' after hundreds of them were seen drinking all day, holding a rave in a fast food joint, and celebrating at a fella letting off a flare in Eyre Square just last week

• Registered Users Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

A small minority of muppets who claim to represent us all. They should learn some basic Economics. I'm a student, I don't want fees to go up, but they have to! What is blocking the entrance to one of Galway City's busiest banks going to achieve?

Those protestors, especially one or two prominent ones, are just Ireland's future professional protestors. Wasters in other words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Manco

Fair play to FEE. Hopefully just the beginning.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭barryd09

Can anyone confirm or flatly rubbish something for me...

Was there a group of student protestors outside the mercy primary school at the bottom of eglinton street this morning hassling parents and kids going into the school about 'free education'???
    At about 8.15am? Because somebody told me that this happened & i am really finding it hard to believe that anyone would do that (and also that students were protesting at 8 in the morning :D )

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Lockstep wrote: »
    with red flags and the Socialist Worker copies being hung in the window
    Not students.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭sgthighway

Had the biggest post ever done up several times but could not hit Submit Reply.

I'm sick of Protests. Don't mess up my day by causing my bank to close after me taking time off to go there. You upset a lot of people today. You don't represent me. Put as much effort in studying or getting a job. The world is one big competition out there.

Mods: Sick of Topics on Politics. This is not a Galway problem;its National/Global and IMO anybody interested in it should move over to Politics group. The Galway City Forum should not be host to this crap. My 2 cents. Maybe not the right one. I respect your job is a voluntary one but this place has turned into one Big Rant Forum. Maybe setup a "Rant Topic" that I can ignore. Our City is getting a bad name from potential Tourist/Investors from this Forum.

Rant Over.

Regards,
    Long Time Poster

• Registered Users Posts: 10,208 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

What makes people think they deserve 'free education'? - by default, you don't. If you truly deserve 'free' education, you'll excel in school and earn a scholarship. Otherwise, you'll save your bollix off from part-time work in your secondary school time and pay your way through 3rd level education (says he from his high horse). From then, you'll realise you earned your place, do your utmost and genuinely excel... there's a reason I got top of my class when I did my undergrad, and let me tell you it wasn't from being given a free ride (monetary speaking)

People who feel they deserve full on free education are akin to those who feel they full on deserve the dole ... sort yer ****e out. If ye were in the US, unless Daddy was paying for tuition, the only way you were getting free education was from putting the extra effort in (scholarship)

Might seem rude, but worked for me, and (god forbid) should I ever had kids, they'll earn their place in 3rd level education, they will not be given the 'god given right' of college; they will earn it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Nok1a

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Not students.

nor workers(by choice),

nor contributors to the nation in any way(by choice),

=> Freeloaders

Right, so Nolan's is closer.
    Slightly closer. Then again, it's not like Bohermore is miles away and the docks is right beside Lynch's so I dunno what your point is!
    Haven't heard about those protests, maybe the roof was too high up for them :)
    Really? Both were in local media. Maybe they just slipped your notice.
    One
    Two

They're protesting different TDs, not just Nolan ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 94 ✭✭Phenomenally Phrank

Woohoo!This little gathering will bring thew might AIB crashing to it's knees, with any luck!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

sgthighway wrote: »
    I'm sick of Protests. Don't mess up my day by causing my bank to close after me taking time off to go there. You upset a lot of people today. You don't represent me. Put as much effort in studying or getting a job. The world is one big competition out there.r
    What a truly tragic attitude. Sometimes I read and hear things like this and actually think no, I'm glad for these problems, because some people in this country deserve them.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

It might not - but if no-one protests on the streets to make news headlines, how will the powers that be know people are unhappy?
    As much as I'd like them to read boards and change political decisions based on posts here, I just don't think that actually happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,208 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Walking through NUIG earlier and I see a big banner "FREE EDUCATION IS A HUMAN RIGHT" - For the first time ever I was ashamed to say i'm NUIG alumni.

What fecking land are these people living in? Cuckoo altogether

biko wrote: »
    Your own thoughts?

My thoughts on it are mixed. Great to see students getting up and doing something apart from frolicking during Rag Week but I dunno what they hope to achieve occupying AIB on Lynch's Castle. Especially as quite a few of the protesters are not students.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

JohnCleary wrote: »
    What makes people think they deserve 'free education'? - by default, you don't. If you truly deserve 'free' education, you'll excel in school and earn a scholarship. Otherwise, you'll save your bollix off from part-time work in your secondary school time and pay your way through 3rd level education (says he from his high horse). From then, you'll realise you earned your place, do your utmost and genuinely excel... there's a reason I got top of my class when I did my undergrad, and let me tell you it wasn't from being given a free ride (monetary speaking)

How would you suggest prospective 3rd level students from rural areas may find work in their locality to earn money to go to 3rd level.
    Where I'm from, I would need to walk 3 miles along a national road without a hard shoulder to reach the local village, where there wouldn't be a job for me anyhow.
    Scholarships are great. Do you know how many are up for grabs?. Enough to ensure a sufficient annual turnout of graduates for the economy?.
    Did you win a scholarship?.
    People who feel they deserve full on free education are akin to those who feel they full on deserve the dole ... sort yer ****e out. If ye were in the US, unless Daddy was paying for tuition, the only way you were getting free education was from putting the extra effort in (scholarship)
    Bit of a generalization.
    Lots of different people for lots of different reason may feel that deserve free education, and you're equating all those people, with to people who feel they full on deserve the dole?.

Are you suggesting that we should look towards the US as a model of third level education?.

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Paddyfield

I was in the AIB when this happened. I could hear chanting of "Revolution Revolution Revolution Revolution" by what I would describe as amplified teenaged voices. At no point did any of these wannabe revolutionaries enter the main Bank hall. A male Bank official closed the door that divides the foyer with the main Bank hall. After a while, all of the customers were allowed leave via a side entrance onto Abbeygate Street. There was a bunch of people with banners outside the main entrance of the Bank with banners including girls in Salerno school uniiforms.

They have every right to protest but their names shouldn't be tarnished as if they are criminals. They certainly didn't 'occupy' but they did 'occupy' the footpath outside the Bank. The Bank seems to have taken a decision to shut the door.

If this was a football match, this incident would be described as 'handbags'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Manco

Walking through NUIG earlier and I see a big banner "FREE EDUCATION IS A HUMAN RIGHT" - For the first time ever I was ashamed to say i'm NUIG alumni.

What fecking land are these people living in? Cuckoo altogether
    So seeing drunken NUIG students harass and assault others leaves you unmoved, but students putting aside their time to campaign for they and their peers in financial difficulty to have access to education leaves you 'ashamed'. Warped logic.

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Paddyfield