Computerised Tills - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
20-02-2012, 21:52   #1
Itzy
Cowboy Coder
 
Itzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Athlone
Posts: 6,857
Computerised Tills

I was going to lob this into Computers and Technology, but this has more to do with building and hardware issues than anything else. Basically I have been trying to troubleshoot touch screen tills like you would see running in any shop.

The machines in question I'm having a little trouble with runs Windows XP. All is working fine bar the touch screen, after spending an entire day getting it this to a working state. It basically has an E1 board and nothing really tricky to get ones head around, but it's wrecking my head as the problem seems to be: 'Com port not attached'. I've poored over the hardware issues, replacing components and checking them in other machines to ensure they work and they do.

I'm sure there's something I'm missing, a silly little problem. I can't quite figure it out at the moment. I've tried downloading vendor drivers and may spend tomorrow morning doing much of the same to see what happens.

Anyone have any ideas regarding what I maybe missing or should check for?
Itzy is offline  
Advertisement
20-02-2012, 22:31   #2
Unregistered.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsThatManAgain View Post
Anyone have any ideas regarding what I maybe missing or should check for?
Did you check if the com port was attached?
Unregistered. is offline  
20-02-2012, 23:29   #3
Itzy
Cowboy Coder
 
Itzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Athlone
Posts: 6,857
While it might seem like the done thing to do, I have checked and my efforts have been to no avail.
Itzy is offline  
20-02-2012, 23:33   #4
Unregistered.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsThatManAgain View Post
While it might seem like the done thing to do, I have checked and my efforts have been to no avail.
And a reboot didn't fix it?
Unregistered. is offline  
20-02-2012, 23:36   #5
Itzy
Cowboy Coder
 
Itzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Athlone
Posts: 6,857
Nope. I'm replacing a few more components tomorrow and giving new drivers a lash to see if it works as it should.
Itzy is offline  
Advertisement
21-02-2012, 10:34   #6
Nothingbetter2d
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,961
is the com port enabled in the bios settings?
Nothingbetter2d is offline  
21-02-2012, 20:24   #7
Itzy
Cowboy Coder
 
Itzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Athlone
Posts: 6,857
Yeah it worked. Required one or two parts being changed out and a few bios settings altered.
Itzy is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet