Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ye Olde Pub Thread

• 19-01-2012 11:34am
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Righto, here's where you can recommend fine drinking establishments in London (or warn about dreadful ones).

Last night I was in The Porterhouse in Convent Garden http://www.porterhousebrewco.com/

I've never been to the one in Dublin so didn't know what to expect. It's actually a lovely pub, spread over a few floors. There's a fine range of ales, stouts and lagers and a great atmosphere. The bathrooms were clean and the staff were friendly.

Pricing: Got two pints of Porterhouse Red for £7.20

At the weekend I went to The Roadhouse
    http://www.roadhouse.co.uk/

The decor is very American. There are harleys behind the bar and hanging off the ceiling, lots of neon signs etc. The barstaff are clad in white shirts and leather waistcoats. There is a good food menu and happy hours every night of the week. Probably good for a birthday or fun drinks after a day trekking around London with visitors.

And....just saw on the website that they do Rockaoke twice a week!! :D

Pricing: 1 beer, 2 G&T, 1 chips, 1 cheesy chips - £15.50

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭iambrazil

a few of my favourites that I've come across so far. For anyone who likes their ales/craft beer - the Camra Good Beer Guide app is a lifesaver! £6 but it usually leads somewhere good.

The Euston Tap (and The Cider Tap although I haven't been in that one yet) - usually 27 beers on as far as I remember. Hours of fun to be had working your way through the menu.

The Rake (Borough Market / London Bridge) - (the one I visit most. Usually 7 or 8 kegged beers and 3 or 4 casks on. They post what's tapped on twitter / facebook every day)

Craft Beer Co - a ridiculous amount of kegs, casks and bottles to choose from

Brewdog Camden - haven't been yet but they make great beers so I'm looking forward to it

The Market Porter (London Bridge) - the above bars all deal in craft beer and real ale - The Market Porter serves the best (or worst) of both. Something to keep everyone happy anyway.

The Harp (Covent Garden) - just a great little pub. Always busy.

Should anyone ever find themselves in Eltham - The Park Tavern is a great little pub

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Tiny pub, about a minute from TCR station and an absolute gem. They have a lovely old vinyl jukebox. Warning - get here early if a Friday/Sat night. http://bradleysspanishbar.co.uk/

If you find yourself in Knightsbridge/Belgravia area - take a little detour into the mews where this pub nestles. All manner of showbiz types have passed through the door here over the years - and Peter (who's Dad owns the pub) used to be Pogo Patterson in Grange Hill. Fabulous pub - and keep your mobile switched off. http://www.pubs.com/main_site/pub_details.php?pub_id=150

This is one of my old haunts; not a great selection of beer but a traditional no nonses old boozer for the local Notting Hill folk
    http://fancyapint.com/Pub/london/uxbridge-arms/562

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

old hippy wrote: »
    Tiny pub, about a minute from TCR station and an absolute gem. They have a lovely old vinyl jukebox. Warning - get here early if a Friday/Sat night. http://bradleysspanishbar.co.uk/

Argh. Too many memories of an ex about that place. This is me acually, outside it.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/703/bradleys.jpg/

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

Some suggestions of late bars would be great too, many pubs in the West End seem to close at 10.30/11pm :eek:

That roadhouse place is open till 3 on Thursdays and weekends.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭bill_lehane

Looks like some great tips on here already! I'm too busy trying pubs out for the first time to generate any favourites yet but ones I have liked so far include Ye Old Mitre, The Bell, The Old Bell and The One Tun, to take Fleet St/Farringdon & surrounds as an example. The latter serves cask ales, Guinness and Thai food cooked by a girl upstairs (not kidding, nice too).

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭bill_lehane

Last night I was in The Porterhouse in Convent Garden http://www.porterhousebrewco.com/

I've never been to the one in Dublin so didn't know what to expect.

It's pretty close to being identical as you can get to the first one in Dublin (there's about four of them there now) without actually being the same, a bit like two different jigsaw puzzles perhaps!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

I've been to Dirty Dicks a couple of times (first time because of the funny name :pac:)

http://www.dirtydicks.co.uk/

Great atmosphere and very close to Liverpool Street station.

In Camden I like The World's End because it plays rock music and has plenty of space.

http://www.theworldsend.co.uk/

The Crobar in Soho is a rock bar. It's small, the toilets are dingy but it has cool music, is in a good location and serves wine in a tumbler /classy

http://www.crobar.co.uk/

I've been to Dirty Dicks a couple of times (first time because of the funny name :pac:)

http://www.dirtydicks.co.uk/

Great atmosphere and very close to Liverpool Street station.

In Camden I like The World's End because it plays rock music and has plenty of space.

http://www.theworldsend.co.uk/

The Crobar in Soho is a rock bar. It's small, the toilets are dingy but it has cool music, is in a good location and serves wine in a tumbler /classy

http://www.crobar.co.uk/

Ah, the World's End. You used to be able to drink outside (circa 88/89) this was before they opened the place up. Used to meet there every Friday and end up going to parties those summer days long ago!

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Argh. Too many memories of an ex about that place. This is me acually, outside it.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/703/bradleys.jpg/

Ach, sometimes it's good to reclaim old haunts.

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭duffarama

It's the first thing I do if I'm single, go back to "our" places and take them back, or better still go there on a date...

I'm awful!

duffarama wrote: »
    It's the first thing I do if I'm single, go back to "our" places and take them back, or better still go there on a date...

I'm awful!

But you don't want to be going to places where the unmentionable person might show up do you?

I've done it before!

Everybody deals with these things differently though

Anyway! Bradley's a nice little boozer. Anyone go to the Toucan by Soho Square? Mean pint of Guinness.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Anyway! Bradley's a nice little boozer. Anyone go to the Toucan by Soho Square? Mean pint of Guinness.

I'm not a Guinness drinker but I have been rather snooty anytime I see my Irish mates have it over here "Guinness? Doesn't travel well lads, that probably tastes rotten"

I have been noting where the good Guinness is via this thread though.

While I'm here:

This is rapidly becoming my local, although Herne Hill is a bit of a walk away

http://www.halfmoonpub.co.uk/

This was the first pub I drank in after getting a flat here and I still drop in occasionally, great place, in Tulse Hill

http://www.therailwaytulsehill.co.uk/

You must live near me. Do you know the Elm Park Tavern? It's between Brixton hill and Tulse Hill

Ten Thanks Chinese of Tulse Hill by the way, love it!

I'm in West Dulwich so I may be close, I don't hang out around where I live as there's nothing to do around my way!! Don't know the Elm Park but I'll check it out

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭OhThePenguin

iambrazil wrote: »
    a few of my favourites that I've come across so far. For anyone who likes their ales/craft beer - the Camra Good Beer Guide app is a lifesaver! £6 but it usually leads somewhere good.

The Euston Tap (and The Cider Tap although I haven't been in that one yet) - usually 27 beers on as far as I remember. Hours of fun to be had working your way through the menu.

The Rake (Borough Market / London Bridge) - (the one I visit most. Usually 7 or 8 kegged beers and 3 or 4 casks on. They post what's tapped on twitter / facebook every day)

Brewdog Camden - haven't been yet but they make great beers so I'm looking forward to it

The Market Porter (London Bridge) - the above bars all deal in craft beer and real ale - The Market Porter serves the best (or worst) of both. Something to keep everyone happy anyway.

Should anyone ever find themselves in Eltham - The Park Tavern is a great little pub

Probably, the exact list I would have posted.... freaky!

I've been to Brewdog Camden, nice bar with a good selection of beers (not just BrewDog) and seems to be getting better.

And would probably add Mason & Taylors on Bethnal Green Rd in Shoreditch as well. Good selection of, mainly British, craft beer. Food looks good here too, never tried it though

• Registered Users Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

old hippy wrote: »

If you find yourself in Knightsbridge/Belgravia area - take a little detour into the mews where this pub nestles. All manner of showbiz types have passed through the door here over the years - and Peter (who's Dad owns the pub) used to be Pogo Patterson in Grange Hill. Fabulous pub - and keep your mobile switched off. http://www.pubs.com/main_site/pub_details.php?pub_id=150

great pub that, great in the summer and a good pint of Guinness.

there are plenty similar pubs in that part of the world hidden down various mews, and many with the "no mobile phones" rule which is great!

From my part of town would recommend the Auld Shilleleagh on Church St, Stoke Newington http://www.theauldshillelagh.com/ good beer, lots of live music great spot to watch the six nations!

The Faltering Fullback in Finsbury Park : http://thefullback.co.uk/ 2 bars, massive outside space, real mix of people and a great pint.

The Swimmer off Holloway Road : http://www.viewlondon.co.uk/pubsandbars/swimmer-at-the-grafton-arms-userreview-11717.html gastro pub, great food, good selection of beers, off the beaten track.

The Canonbury, near Highbury / Islington : http://www.thecanonbury.com/ good food, massive outside space for summer afternoons

I've been to Brewdog Camden, nice bar with a good selection of beers (not just BrewDog) and seems to be getting better.

I spent a few hours there on Saturday afternoon and really enjoyed it. The pizzas look amazing! And of course there's the beer...the Winter Porter was excellent.

Also for anyone who goes and is a bit intimidated by the choice of beer on tap, the staff are more than happy to hand out tasters of whatever they have on tap for you to sample.

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭OhThePenguin

I spent a few hours there on Saturday afternoon and really enjoyed it. The pizzas look amazing! And of course there's the beer...the Winter Porter was excellent.

They hadn't started with the food when I visited, I did get to try a tiny sample of pizza though and it was tasty. The burgers are supposed to be good as well, cheap too.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,024 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

In no particular order:

The Black Lion (Kilburn High Road) - a lovely pub with a fireplace and a bunch of couches, along with an attached food/restaurant area. Reasonable prices, a good selection of beer, and mostly good craic without doing that "pub pretending to be a nightclub by turning up the music so you can't talk" thing.

The North London Tavern (Kilburn) -a great pub though usually jammers after about 7 on Friday or Saturday nights. They also do food (including a dedicated food/restaurant area) as well as being home to a pub quiz on Mondays where you'll find a few of us in attendance. Great selection of beers at mostly good prices.

The Westbury (Kilburn) - a nice place to relax, though it gets a bit too busy for my liking at weekends. It has high ceilings and loads of sofas for chilling out, along with a bunch of board games. They also have a pub quiz on Wednesdays, and a pool table at the back. When it's busy it has a tendency of getting a bit too loud and crowded for my liking, but if you're looking for somewhere to get a bite to eat and relax with a drink or two it's a good spot.

The Garden Gate (Hampstead Heath) - a great pub with a great beer garden, though it gets very busy when the weather's good. They have a great selection of beers, and do good food as well. If you're hoping to head out for Sunday lunch you'd do well to book a table, though - they're busy enough that you can't expect to just rock up and find a table free.

The Edinboro Castle (Camden) another nice place with a great beer garden, though sadly one of the most unfortunate and crappy bar-area setups I've ever seen - the bar is too small for the venue, cramped and almost always crowded 3-deep or more, so that if it's at all busy when you go there you should expect to queue for the bar. The beer garden is large and well set-up, though, with barbecues in summer and plenty of space.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Louche Lad

You have good taste! I don't know the Brewdog Camden or that place in Eltham, but you're spot on about the others! I always go to the Harp when in London, and try to get to one of the others if I have the time.

Two other places I like are the Southampton Arms in Kentish Town and the Jolly Butchers in Stoke Newington.

Louche Lad wrote: »
    You have good taste! I don't know the Brewdog Camden or that place in Eltham, but you're spot on about the others! I always go to the Harp when in London, and try to get to one of the others if I have the time.

Two other places I like are the Southampton Arms in Kentish Town and the Jolly Butchers in Stoke Newington.

I've been meaning to head to those two for ages. Might try and visit them over Easter.

I've paid a brief visit to The Cider Tap - thumbs up. Also somehow managed to leave The Bree Louise at Euston off my original list. Loads of beers and 50p off every pint for CAMRA members.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,024 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Also somehow managed to leave The Bree Louise at Euston off my original list. Loads of beers and 50p off every pint for CAMRA members.

Yeah, that place is great - almost always jammers when I try to pop in for a pint, though :(

Fysh wrote: »
    Yeah, that place is great - almost always jammers when I try to pop in for a pint, though :(

Luckily for me it was fairly empty and quiet on Sunday evening...except for the ten lads who were singing and downing pints of Stella at an impressive pace.

If anyone is up for it maybe we could have a mini pub crawl around some of these fine establishments some time. Euston Tap, Cider Tap, Bree Louise are all beside the station and if I remember correctly the Doric Arch is a decent spot there as well. Or just sit in the Euston Tap and start at no. 1 on the menu. Either way there will be many fine beers to drink.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Louche Lad wrote: »

The Southampton Arms is a grand spot, a pub I discovered recently before a gig at The Forum in Kentish Town.

No frills, proper ale (cider for the ladies) and pork pies. What's not to like?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Louche Lad

A great new place for ales is the Cock Tavern in Hackney. I guess they haven't had the time to do a proper website — two photos, and that's it! http://www.thecocktavern.co.uk/

Bit more info at http://www.yeahhackney.com/groups/hackney-beer-ale-drinkers/forum/topic/the-cock-tavern-e8/

Address: 315 Mare Street, E8 1EJ. Hackney Central on the Overground is the nearest station, and on lots of bus routes too I'm sure. 16 real ale pumps, 8 other pumps (German, Czech beers etc.).

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭woof im a dog

the jolly butchers in stoke newington thats my favourite pub in london

• Registered Users Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

2 years ago it was one of the dodgiest pubs you could ever have the misfortune to be in after midnight, gone all trendy lately !!