Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

opel kadett cead info required for resto

• 14-11-2011 8:54pm
    Registered Users Posts: 16

im after a couple of pictures of the kadett cead there were only 100 sold in ireland .they were black and had stripes down the sides i cant seem to get my hands on any pictures i am nearing the end of restoring one and need pics to get the stickers made up .any pics welcome and info thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Is this your car?
    TotalOpelPic.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 16 andy 85

thats actually the 1 iv got theres no stripes on it and i cant get a pic of one with the stripes

This is the 'Ultra' Kadett, similar supposedly? And also a special edition?
    opal1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭Meleftone

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭hi5

From memory it had the cead on the tailgate in gold in celtic style font .
    Sorry,but it was almost 30 years ago:)

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSWDXorzQZk1WDW6q4wAmw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 sid131

here ya go
    02-09-2010190622.jpg
    27-08-2010182926.jpg
    01-09-2010194950.jpg

052.jpg

A you sure that 412NZL is a cead, the badging seems different on the back?

That is one retro '80s pic sid131!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Is this your car?
    TotalOpelPic.jpg

Nice Saab in the background.

Genealogy Forum Mod

its defo a cead had it verified by the dealers who sold it it was resprayed 15 or so years ago hense no badges and y i needed the pics its great to finally see a pic of one fair play sid131.if anyone else has any more feel free to put them up

• Registered Users Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

Andy, who are you getting to make up the stickers/stripes?
    I need similar work done soon.

i dont know yet to be honest i suspect some of the crowds that do the writing on vans are you doing a kadett aswell i needed a couple of bpics for something to go by so ill just drive the car and bring the pictures with me and c what happens

last one
    14-03-2010180725.jpg

Great pic - lovely collection.

Genealogy Forum Mod

sid131 wrote: »
    last one
    14-03-2010180725.jpg

All cubic now I guess? How old is the pic?

1980 or 1981
    the cead was stolen & recovered a while later kinda trashed dont know what ever happened it, just cant remember!

All cubic now I guess? How old is the pic?

Ah, I thought it was a recent pic.:(

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭JabbaTheHut

You still looking for pics, Andy? I know a guy that was passionate about his one, and took a lot of photos of it. I can suss him out if you want.

yea all the pics i can get my hands on that would be great see what u can do

Leave it with me. Might take a couple of days.

For sale in DoneDeal

Would make a nice replica Cead:)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/2328764

Full?id=7091369

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Looks to be nice and clean the way it is. I'd keep it original tbh. Theres plenty of modded fake classic cars out there, RS2000's , Mexico's and so on. You would need a new interior as well, and either way the Cead wasn't the most well known edition either. Just keep it the way it is, it looks grand.

I managed to get my hands on a few. The GPI reg pics are of an untouched Cead I told. The rest are of the Cead owned by the guy that gave me the pics. He said the gold stripe was added to a good few by their owners. Also, TIC 286 was one of 2 sold in Carlow, the other being TIC 284.

[IMG][/img]cead9.jpg

cead10.jpg

cead1.jpg

cead2.jpg

cead3.jpg

cead4.jpg

cead5.jpg

cead6.jpg

cead7.jpg

cead8.jpg

Thanks to Tommy Nog for the pics.

What happened to TIC in the end?

Shame really. The lads in the first pic were owners at different times. I know two others that had it too. She was never pucked or buckled in any way, although was well driven on. Iirc, she never had a respray. But the last I saw of her was about 10 years ago, and she looked exactly like someone took an iron bar to her and bet the sh1t out of her. Not a straight panel on left. Not really that it was in an accident, but actually bet with bars, kinda like Christine. Except the Cead never was able to repair itself. I heard shortly after that she was sent to the breakers yard. Maybe she still is sitting somewhere, but I doubt it. R.I.P. Cead.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

My brother used to take a note of Kadett Cead reg plates when he spotted them. I found it recently and it goes as follows:

464 GPI
    489 GPI
    909 FZB
    992 FZB
    152 GZB
    IZB 100
    JZB 100
    ZB 9517
    ZF 11
    933 PHI
    993 RHI
    70 SHI
    9839 FI
    9750 FI
    9850 FI
    3444 KI
    OWI 628
    8606 TI
    731 HIP
    839 HIP
    ZCI 842
    VZN 323
    973 HZL
    91 MZL
    589 UZL

100% accuracy can't be guaranteed but he was pretty eagle eyed in those days. Wouldn't it be nice to see how many of the 100 cars people remember to complete the list further?

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭podgee

mb1725 wrote: »
    My brother used to take a note of Kadett Cead reg plates when he spotted them. I found it recently and it goes as follows:

464 GPI
    489 GPI
    909 FZB
    992 FZB
    152 GZB
    IZB 100
    JZB 100
    ZB 9517
    ZF 11
    933 PHI
    993 RHI
    70 SHI
    9839 FI
    9750 FI
    9850 FI
    3444 KI
    OWI 628
    8606 TI
    731 HIP
    839 HIP
    ZCI 842
    VZN 323
    973 HZL
    91 MZL
    589 UZL

100% accuracy can't be guaranteed but he was pretty eagle eyed in those days. Wouldn't it be nice to see how many of the 100 cars people remember to complete the list further?

You can add 101 UIZ to your list. They tried to get 100 UIZ but it was already gone - on what I've no idea.

P

ZF11, a 1946 Cork city 80s re-issue. Neat.
    ZB9517 is also a 40s reissue.
    IZB 100 and JZB100 were originally 1960s issues too.

podgee wrote: »
    You can add 101 UIZ to your list. They tried to get 100 UIZ but it was already gone - on what I've no idea.

P

100UIZ was a Ford Fiesta. 101UIZ was scapped pre 1993 it would seem.

great stuff lad thanks for all the help this will get me well on the way im waitin on it back from the sprayers ill stick up a few pics when its doen