Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

29-08-2011, 23:43   #1
Karen100

BMW 318ci leaking water.

Hi! I'm new to Boards so hope I'm posting this in the right section.
I was driving my BMW 318ci today when the warning light came on indicating that the coolant level was low. I pulled into a roadside garage to get coolant. The engine had steam coming off it and when I examined it there was water lying under the engine, not very much but the area was damp. I drove the final 15 miles home and when I parked up there was a lot of steam coming from under the bonnet. I checked on the car 20mins later and the engine was still steaming, although not as much. What could be causing this? The engine temperature display is normal. It doesn't seem to have effected the car's performance which been perfect since I got it fully serviced in March. I'm really hoping it's something minor that wont cost a fortune to fix. Any help would really be appreciated, thanks!
Advertisement
29-08-2011, 23:50   #2
RoverJames
Banned

Burst hose, leaking rad, loose hose clip or something I would think, might be the water pump too, if you can see damp outside the engine its almost a good sign, don't drive it until its sorted though.you might cook it.
29-08-2011, 23:57   #3
Karen100

Cheers! That sounds promising. Do you reckon it would be safe to drive to a garage? Its about 10 miles away
30-08-2011, 09:07   #4
Greyfoot

Inadequate coolant level can cause the remaining fluid in the system to produce steam. Be careful when topping up that cold coolant can crack the engine due to heat stress so keep that in mind. As Rover James said the loss of coolant might be due to burst hoses.
Also worth checking the viscous fan clutch. Simple method is to start the engine then try to stop the fan with a rolled up newspaper. If you can stop it then the viscous fan is fooked and causes the car to lose coolant.