Airside security pass - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
19-07-2011, 10:24   #1
Pebe042
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Airside security pass

Hi,

I've a couple of questions re: airside clearance.

How long does it take to get an airside security pass processed for an Irish airport?
How expensive is clearance?

Any help is much appreciated!
Pebe042 is offline  
Advertisement
19-07-2011, 11:02   #2
LadyTBolt
Registered User
 
LadyTBolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 453
Contact the airport police authority who you have applied to for the clearance pass. They will advise you how long this will take.
LadyTBolt is offline  
19-07-2011, 11:43   #3
Rain Dog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 25
Was taking up to six weeks for Garda clearance a few months ago, may have improved since. Forms can be downloaded from the airports websites. Details of charges for Dublin & Shannon here

http://www.dublinairport.com/gns/abo...s-charges.aspx
http://www.shannonairport.com/gns/b2...s-charges.aspx
Rain Dog is offline  
19-07-2011, 12:35   #4
LadyTBolt
Registered User
 
LadyTBolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 453
You will also need to complete an online airside security course in advance of receiving the airside clearance from the airport. Cost of this is a further €50.
LadyTBolt is offline  
19-07-2011, 12:46   #5
Pebe042
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Many thanks for the responses - very helpful and much appreciated.

Assumed that US airside is a completely different kettle of fish than normal (effectively you're on US soil through Dublin and Shannon)?
Pebe042 is offline  
Advertisement
19-07-2011, 12:57   #6
A320
Registered User
 
A320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 611
why do you need to know the cost surely your company provides this? oh wait do you pay @ Ryanair?????
A320 is offline  
19-07-2011, 14:40   #7
Cessna_Pilot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 458
On the subject, how does one go about getting an Irish background check?
Cessna_Pilot is offline  
19-07-2011, 19:41   #8
muppet01
Registered User
 
muppet01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Arse end of 10/28
Posts: 237
You will also need a reason for this clearance.Airside access is also graded with different levels available.Gaining access for the sake of it is a non runner even with a clear security history and BSAT training.
muppet01 is offline  
20-07-2011, 01:38   #9
donkey balls
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cessna_Pilot View Post
On the subject, how does one go about getting an Irish background check?
The Gardai down in Thurles deal with all the back ground checks normally your employer would fill out the form and send it to the vetting office,As for the different grades of airside passes I never heard of that before mine was blue in colour with the different categories of vehicles that I drive while airside.
donkey balls is offline  
Advertisement
20-07-2011, 02:26   #10
Leejo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by donkey balls View Post
The Gardai down in Thurles deal with all the back ground checks normally your employer would fill out the form and send it to the vetting office,As for the different grades of airside passes I never heard of that before mine was blue in colour with the different categories of vehicles that I drive while airside.
Green - Allowed airside but not allowed out on the ramp.
Blue - Allowed on the ramp within certain boundaries
Red - Allowed anywhere - Airport police
Yellow & Other colour - Temp contract?

That's what it is in Dub anyway
Leejo is offline  
20-07-2011, 11:58   #11
donkey balls
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,534
Ah get you now with the different badges for contractors etc and the different areas there allowed in.
donkey balls is offline  
20-07-2011, 19:32   #12
muppet01
Registered User
 
muppet01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Arse end of 10/28
Posts: 237
Not just contractors, airside passes can limit you to buildings with no ramp access etc.As for CBP area no access unless operational crew/security staff or APFS
muppet01 is offline  
21-07-2011, 15:08   #13
pinkfloydian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portmarnock
Posts: 40
Airside Clearance

Is there a website that gives all the details of how to get clearance. I've often seen jobs advertised that state "no applications without airside pass".

I assume you get the pass first and then apply for jobs. However, given the different levels of clearance, this does not seem logical.

P
pinkfloydian is offline  
21-07-2011, 18:46   #14
Goldenegg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinkfloydian View Post
Is there a website that gives all the details of how to get clearance. I've often seen jobs advertised that state "no applications without airside pass".

I assume you get the pass first and then apply for jobs. However, given the different levels of clearance, this does not seem logical.

P
Maybe those jobs were advertised for internal hiring- as in for someone who already works in the airport. As far as I'm aware, you apply for your airside pass when you have successfully got the job.
Goldenegg is offline  
21-07-2011, 18:55   #15
lord lucan
Moderator
 
lord lucan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: EIDW
Posts: 8,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldenegg View Post
Maybe those jobs were advertised for internal hiring- as in for someone who already works in the airport. As far as I'm aware, you apply for your airside pass when you have successfully got the job.
That's what i was thinking too. The badge has to state your employer and job title as well as employee number. They don't just give them out to anyone on completion of a BSAT and background check. Most of the airport companies(operator/concessions/contractors etc.) pay for the BSAT and badge at the beginning though you may have to pay for a new one from your own pocket should you lose it.
lord lucan is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet