Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CAO choices

• 06-01-2011 6:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭

Now that the CAO list is drawing close I think it's time for a CAO thread to see what everyone else is applying for.

I've registered for the CAO but still haven't inputted my choices just yet. Still thinking about the order but my preliminary list is

1. TCD Medicine
    2. RCSI Medicine
    3. UCD Medicine
    4. TCD Pharmacy
    5. RCSI Pharmacy
    6. NUIG Medicine
    7. UCC Medicine
    8. UCC Pharmacy
    9. Unsure
    10. Unsure

As for Level 6/7 I amn't sure if i'll even fill it in as none interest me too greatly.

For Choices 9 and 10 i'm still quite unsure. I'm thinking TCD Science and failing that Medicinal Chemistry.

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Bbbbolger

So far mine is:

1 and 2: Medicine in RCSI and UCD (can't decide on the order)
    3: Medicine NUIG
    4: Radiation Therapy TCD
    5: Physioterapy UCD
    6: Physiotherapy RCSI
    7: Physiotherapy UL (likely to drop it though)
    8: Occupational Therapy TCD
    9: Occupational Therapy NUIG
    10: Science TCD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 rage against the leaving

1. Actuarial and Finance studies UCD
    2. Actuarial Maths DCU
    3. Actuarial Maths Common entry DCU
    4. Financial Maths & Economics NUIG
    5. Mathematical Science NUIG
    6. Maths and Physics UL
    7. Maths and Economics UL
    8. Arts (Maths and Economics) UCD
    9. Science NUIG
    10. Finance and Investment WIT

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭DaveMur1

Anyone who didn't apply yet get thinking!

Online Discounted Rate€30Ending
    20 Jan 2011 (17:15)

Only want my first choice not interested in anything else.

1. BIS in UCC
    2.Maybe ,Commerce UCC

• Registered Users Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Bottleopener

Still deciding, got a lot of options going through my head right now :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭paddy978

Is this free to change?

paddy978 wrote: »
    Is this free to change?

Ye, free to change your mind up to 1st july, just make sure you apply before 20th January or at least 1st Feburary!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,969 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

1. Commerce - UCD
    2. Finance - UCC
    3. Commerce - UCC
    4. Business Information Systems - UCC
    5. Business and Law - UCD
    6.Arts - UCC
    7. Law and Accounting - UL
    8. Journalism and New Media - UL
    9. Arts - Economics / Politics and Intl Relations - UCD
    10. English with Drama - UCD

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭Marthaa

1. Business and Law - UCD
    2. Law - UCD
    3. Commerce - UCD
    4. Law - UCC
    5. Law Plus - UL
    6. Law and Accounting - UL
    7. Business Studies - UL
    8. Civil Law - NUIG
    9. Corporate Law - NUIG
    10. Commerce - NUIG
    Think I'll leave it at ten :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭theowen

Now that the CAO list is drawing close I think it's time for a CAO thread to see what everyone else is applying for.

I've registered for the CAO but still haven't inputted my choices just yet. Still thinking about the order but my preliminary list is

1. TCD Medicine
    2. RCSI Medicine
    3. UCD Medicine
    4. TCD Pharmacy
    5. RCSI Pharmacy
    6. NUIG Medicine

7. UCC Medicine
    8. UCC Pharmacy
    9. Unsure
    10. Unsure

As for Level 6/7 I amn't sure if i'll even fill it in as none interest me too greatly.

For Choices 9 and 10 i'm still quite unsure. I'm thinking TCD Science and failing that Medicinal Chemistry.
    Why arn't they the other way around :S

• Registered Users Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

theowen wrote: »
    Why arn't they the other way around :S
    I'd happily take Medicine or Pharmacy. Both appeal to me just about the same so I put it more in order of university preference than course preference.

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭Dave_Kilkenny

I have applied to the CAO but yet have been asked for my exam number (haven't got it yet mind you) so did I **** up somewhere?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,969 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

I have applied to the CAO but yet have been asked for my exam number (haven't got it yet mind you) so did I **** up somewhere?

Nope your grand , we dont get them for another while !

• Registered Users Posts: 23 Ricky92

Bess TCD 475*
    economics & sociology TCD 445*
    Economics & sociology UCD 365
    Economics & sociology UL 330

Thats its :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭niamhallen

Science- Galway
    Science- Maynooth
    Biotechnology- Galway
    Physics and Medical Physics- DCU

Aaaaaand that's about it :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭ConstantJoe

Mine are:
    1. NUIM Computer Science & Software Engineering
    2. NUIM Science
    3. UL Multimedia & Computer Game Design
    4. UL Computer Systems

I've got another 6 I'm vaguely interested in, but I'll probably go for one of those four, most likely numero uno. At UL they tell me that if you put one of those two courses down on your CAO they'll invite you in during the Easter Break to try it out for a day, so I figure it's well worth at least putting it down for now.

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭River Song

1. Aeronautical Engineering - UL
    2. Engineering Choice - UL
    3. Science Education - DCU
    4. General Science (Maths & Physical Sciences) - UCD
    5. Mechanical Engineering - UL
    6. Science Education - NUIM
    7. Maths - TCD
    8. Aviation Technology - DIT
    9. Mechanical Engineering - UCD
    10. Science Choice - UL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 elarkla

1. Primary Teaching - Pats
    2. Primary Teaching - Froebel/Maynooth
    3. Primary Teaching - Marino
    4. Journalism and Irish - DIT
    5. Journalsim and Irish - DCU
    6. Arts (Geography and Irish) - UCD
    7. Arts - Maynooth

• Registered Users Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

1. General nursing - UL
    2. General Nursing - NUIG
    3. Intellectual Disability Nursing - UL
    4. Industrial Biochemistry - UL
    5. Science Choice - UL

That's all I got so far :o
    Not particularly sure about pharmecutical and industrial chemistry in ul yet. Bleh. Deciding is hard :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Grindylow

1. CK203 Business Information Systems
    2. LM050 Business Studies
    3. TR082 Business and Computing
    4. TR084 Social Studies (Social Work)
    5. CK102 Social Science

Noel2k9 wrote: »
    1. CK203 Business Information Systems
    2. LM050 Business Studies
    3. TR082 Business and Computing
    4. TR084 Social Studies (Social Work)
    5. CK102 Social Science

Nice to see someone with similar ambitions,BIS FTW! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Grindylow

DaveMur1 wrote: »
    Nice to see someone with similar ambitions,BIS FTW! :D

Funny thing is, it wasn't on my CAO until I read your post.. Then I remember it and put it to #1! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭EverybodyLies

1. Science-Trinity
    2. Medicinal Chemistry-Trinity (I know it has a higher points req, but I thought I'd stick it down anyway)
    3. Computer Science-Trinity
    4. Science - Biological, Biomedical and Biomolecular Sciences.-UCD
    5. Computer Science-UCD
    6. Biomed Science-Galway
    7. Biopharmaceutical Chemistry-Galway
    8. Science-Galway
    9. Biomed Science-DIT
    10.Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Chemistry-Maynooth

Tbh, really just aiming for number 1. I'll take whatever I get though. :D

Ha, Ye that is fairly funny I actually had just done the same & put

TR082; Business and Computing- Trinity College Dublin.

Never actually seen this course available ,thanks !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

1. European Business (French) DCU
    2. Business studies International DCU
    3. Commerce International (French & Spanish) UCD
    4. International Business and Languages DIT
    5. Applied Language and Intercultural Studies DCU
    6. Arts (Business and French) NUI Maynooth
    7. Arts (French and Spanish) UCD
    8. International Business Blanchardstown IT
    9. European studies Tallaght IT
    10. Business NCI

8,9,10 are kind of on the safe side things

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭ruadhan

1. DCU **European Business (Transatlantic Studies)
    2.*TCD **Business, Economic and Social Studies (BESS)
    3.*TCD **Management Science and Information Systems Studies
    4.*DCU **Business Studies International
    5. UCD **Commerce International*-*Chinese*/*French **
    6. NUIM **International Finance and Economics
    7. UL ** Business Studies with a Modern Language (Japanese)
    8.*UCC **Commerce (International) with Chinese Studies
    9. WIT **International Business
    10. WIT **Business

Sort of similar to the poster above.. Not sure about the order of like the first four. Still unsure about which I really want to do. Depends as well if I get my choices on UCAS

• Registered Users Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

were you at the DCU open day's business talks? transatlantic studies sounds amazing

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭NSNO

1) TCD - Computer Science
    2) TCD - Business & Computing
    3) DCU - Computer Applications
    4) DIT - Computer Science
    5) DIT - Computing

Haven't quite decided how I'll fill out the rest of it yet or if I'll bother with the level 6/7. Probably should to be sensible, I suppose. Although I am very, very confident about getting my first choice. Aiming for 500, so the only thing that might possibly trip me up is an abysmal showing in my Maths exam, but on average over the 7 exams I should do well enough.

Oh well, this really marks the beginning of the end of this school lark, doesn't it? Have to say that I won't be missing it!

• Registered Users Posts: 49 emzz

*psychology - UCD
    *psychology-NUIM
    *Primary teaching- Marino
    *Primary teaching-Pats
    *Arts- NUIG
    *Arts-NUIM
    *Journalism and irish-DIT

anyone applying for psychology in DCU? it's not yet an accredited course so i'm kinda iffy about it!

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭ruadhan

were you at the DCU open day's business talks? transatlantic studies sounds amazing

No I wasn't there. What were they saying? All about two years in Boston and stuff? That's what attracts me mainly to it

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

At the moment I've only got the medicines on my form sorted out...I have still have to fix up my second choices but it's looking likely to be radiation therapy in TCD for number 6 and after that biomed, health + life sciences in UCD, science in TCD, and some of the biomedical stuff in UCC and NUIG to fill the rest. The industrial and pharmaceutical chemistry will probably be moved down the form (it's a nice course though).

1. Medicine (NUIG).
    2. Med (UCC).
    3. Med (TCD).
    4. Med (UCD).
    5. Med (RCSI).
    6. Pharmaceutical + Industrial Chemistry (UL)