Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Emigration Set to Rise again

• 01-09-2010 5:34pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭

Emigration is set to Rise once again!

Latest figures show that 92,000 Irish people under the age of 25 are unemployed. It is estimated that 70,000 young Irish people emigrated last year and this figure is set to increase this year.

On Saturday, a festival called "Reclaim the City", focused on the massive unemployment figures in Ireland and criticized the government for what they called a "demoralizing situation for Ireland’s youth”.

Cllr Richard Boyd-Barrett, from People Before Profit, told the crowd that the anger in Ireland and among the young people was huge. He called on the government to try and stop the mass emigration which has overtaken Ireland.

Sinn Feins, Cllr Dessie Ellis asked for “greater action to be taken that will get people off dole queues and back into the workforce.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

It's like the 80's all over again but without the dodgy clothes & haircuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

My cousin's moving to Australia. He was in Edinburgh, then Galway, but there wasn't work in either, so Sydney it is.

It's not really restricted to Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Sadly OP, this comes as no surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

easyeason3 wrote: »

It's the 80's with a mountain of debt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ldxo15wus6fpgm

Superbus wrote: »
    My cousin's moving to Australia. He was in Edinburgh, then Galway, but there wasn't work in either, so Sydney it is.

It's not really restricted to Ireland.

Family friend moved out there a few months ago. There's nothing out there either.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

The two brians are all for emigration, it's there only solution so far to the huge figures on the dole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Cumann de Barra

Cllr Richard Boyd-Barrett - lol :pac::pac: That nutter should be in a mental institution.

At the end of the day emigration is not as bad these days as it used to be in the pastwith so many flights and ryanair etc it's easy pop home to say hello, not to mention Skype and all that video chat malarky etc.

Lads we're a small country, it's good for our young people to get out and see the world. Hopefully they'll send home some money to help get our banks up and running again. Once that happens and NAMA works out and when the global recession turns around we'll be back on our feet flying high again and those emigrating will be able to come home and get on the property ladder no bother hopefully.

Cllr Richard Boyd-Barrett - lol :pac::pac: That nutter should be in a mental institution.

At the end of the day emigration is not as bad these days as it used to be in the pastwith so many flights and ryanair etc it's easy pop home to say hello, not to mention Skype and all that video chat malarky etc.

Lads we're a small country, it's good for our young people to get out and see the world. Hopefully they'll send home some money to help get our banks up and running again. Once that happens and NAMA works out and when the global recession turns around we'll be back on our feet flying high again and those emigrating will be able to come home and get on the property ladder no bother hopefully.

Lovely jubbly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

These people have turned their backs on Ireland and its values.

Joe.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Emigration is how we are slowly taking over the world. It's all in the plan. Don't worry about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

Once that happens and NAMA works out and when the global recession turns around we'll be back on our feet flying high again and those emigrating will be able to come home and get on the property ladder no bother hopefully.

think happy thoughts :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

RobitTV wrote: »
    Emigration is set to Rise once again!

Latest figures show that 92,000 Irish people under the age of 25 are unemployed. It is estimated that 70,000 young Irish people emigrated last year and this figure is set to increase this year.

On Saturday, a festival called "Reclaim the City", focused on the massive unemployment figures in Ireland and criticized the government for what they called a "demoralizing situation for Ireland’s youth”.

Cllr Richard Boyd-Barrett, from People Before Profit, told the crowd that the anger in Ireland and among the young people was huge. He called on the government to try and stop the mass emigration which has overtaken Ireland.

Sinn Feins, Cllr Dessie Ellis asked for “greater action to be taken that will get people off dole queues and back into the workforce.”

richard boyd barrett and dessie ellis organising the protests , any wonder people would want to emigrate , cowen and lenighan and co may be useless but if thats the alternative !!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Emigration is how we are slowly taking over the world. It's all in the plan. Don't worry about it.
    This is true.
    We have sleeper agents all over the world.
    They are integrating into local societies, marrying locals, having half Irish kids and so forth.

Once the number of people with Irish blood has reached a significant percentage, we will strike.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭lord lucan

fontanalis wrote: »
    It's the 80's with a mountain of debt!

QFT.

The prospects for this country look bleaker now than it did in the 80's.

so the hugely popular "reclaim the streets" events have been rebranded ?
    Cllr Richard Boyd-Barrett, from People Before Profit, told the crowd that the anger in Ireland and among the young people was huge.
    and in 10 years time he'll probably be doing the same thing.

Terry wrote: »
    This is true.
    We have sleeper agents all over the world.
    They are integrating into local societies, marrying locals, having half Irish kids and so forth.

Once the number of people with Irish blood has reached a significant percentage, we will strike.

Yes, and start Fianna Fail parties in every country on the planet!

lord lucan wrote: »
    QFT.

Irish Times reading liberal rubbish. Look at all the roads that have been built. You can drive from Dublin to Limerick in 2 hours. It took twice that time in the 80s.

danbohan wrote: »
    richard boyd barrett and dessie ellis organising the protests , any wonder people would want to emigrate , cowen and lenighan and co may be useless but if thats the alternative !!!!!!!!!!

The both of them should be in either prison or a mental asylum.

The sooner people cop on, realise NAMA is the only game in town, Anglo had to be saved despite the moaning, stop the moaning, put the head down and show a bit of entrepreneurial spirit we'll start working our way out of this recession.

All international finance magazines and economists praise the tough action this government has taken. The experts recognise that it was needed. The moaners on the likes of joe duffy and forums such as these need to put up and shut up.

The government has done its part, now it's time for the people to stand up and be counted - cut out this feckin moaning, get positive and help out in their business, places of work, communities, schools etc. grab a shovel lads and we'll be out of this in no time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Joe.
    I'd say they are upholding one of this countries oldest traditions

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Im gonna stay and fatten up for the winter then i will strike off around April, to Canada JONJO to Canada:D

Joe.

They may be turning their back on Irish values alright, doesn't mean the values are good though.

lord lucan wrote: »
    QFT.

yeah forget about all the nice infrastructure we have now..
    the knowledge economy hadn't even been thought of back then. this is an area that we can possibly compete in.
    international travel and communications are much cheaper.
    the "troubles" are to all intents and purposes over.
    and finally we can buy contraceptives without a prescription.

Yes, and start Fianna Fail parties in every country on the planet!

the infrastructure is already in place.. the irish bar!

• Registered Users Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Rebel021

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Some of the clothes and haircuts I've seen recently are far worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

They may be turning their back on Irish values alright, doesn't mean the values are good though.

Even better.

Joe.

Even better.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Irish Times reading liberal rubbish. Look at all the roads that have been built. You can drive from Dublin to Limerick in 2 hours. It took twice that time in the 80s.

Great,we've better roads,most built with EU funding. The level of debt is what i mean by bleak prospects. It'll take an inordinate amount of time for this country to recover from this based on how heavily laden we are with debt.

And i don't read the IT.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

All international finance magazines and economists praise the tough action this government has taken. The experts recognise that it was needed. The moaners on the likes of joe duffy and forums such as these need to put up and shut up.

The government has done its part, now it's time for the people to stand up and be counted - cut out this feckin moaning, get positive and help out in their business, places of work, communities, schools etc. grab a shovel lads and we'll be out of this in no time.
    Those publications are mainly for consumption in larger markets that are being softened up for tough love. The people whose opinion really matters, those that we need to lend to us, are not impressed and are demanding higher premiums on our borrowings.
    I'll be positive when I know what I can be positive about. So far Sean Fitzpatrick has evaded prosecution for misleading his investors when he admitted as much, I'm not investing anything in a society that doesn't value accountability. My money stays out.
    The problem with sticking your head in the sand is that your ass is very exposed. But then again maybe you like leaving your self open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

The both of them should be in either prison or a mental asylum.

The sooner people cop on, realise NAMA is the only game in town, Anglo had to be saved despite the moaning, stop the moaning, put the head down and show a bit of entrepreneurial spirit we'll start working our way out of this recession.

Get off boards Fianna Fail person, we don't like your kind here ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Since when did Sinn Fein's and Richard Boyd Barrett's followers work anyway.

One of the Sinn'ers a while back was sounding off very racist stuff also about the immigrants in "our country" and how they should return. Now the boot is on the other foot there is not a peep about our masses emigrating yet again.

yeah forget about all the nice infrastructure we have now..
    the knowledge economy hadn't even been thought of back then. this is an area that we can possibly compete in.
    international travel and communications are much cheaper.
    the "troubles" are to all intents and purposes over.
    and finally we can buy contraceptives without a prescription.

Knowledge of what, paying over the odds for a shoebox!