Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€300 BMW Banger Rally Across Europe

• 31-08-2010 12:09am
    Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭

Check out our photos of our €300 Banger Rally Car with Tax & Nct,getting ready for Europe here
    http://www.facebook.com/battensbangerrally?v=app_4949752878

45172_146449732054819_100000693795915_268486_3453020_n.jpg

5 countries, 5 days, 1 charity

We are raising money for the Bee For Battens charity by entering the European Banger Rally. all proceeds go to the Bee For Battens charity so please Follow us on Facebook and here also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭bongi69

Not a bad banger for €300.
    Best of luck!

Great cause :)
    A lady I work with was doing some fundraising for that too.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭peltor

Thanks Lads,def not a bad banger for the money was very lucky to get it :D

Fair play to http://www.celticlinkferries.com For sponsorship on the Ferry to France only 2 days to go can't wait

41130_146470245386101_100000693795915_268524_2232101_n.jpg

Key in Reg no of BMW into http://www.cartell.ie Fair play to them lol

http://www.beeforbattens.org/

For those wondering about the good cause :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Did one of these last year in a 95 golf up to the Arctic Circle.. great craic.

Best of luck with it. :)

Tox

All ready to go rosslare tomorrow night,meeting 96FM in cork tomorow at 1.30 on patrick st in cork then on to rosslare,Spin SW will be following us as well as Radio Kerry check out http://www.facebook.com/battensbangerrally

In the middle of the ocean now nice, boat sea very calm, Car sitting on top deck ....58548_105227546205335_100467056681384_45748_4730434_n.jpg

Check out http://www.facebook.com/battensbangerrally

To see more photos and news

Landed in St Omer France,just covered over 480km in the Bmw from the ferry tis a real motorway bruiser ,feck the french and all their toll roads you think tis bad in Ireland way worse over here good roads mind.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭projectgtr

oh you soon learn your first french " paige de toll" (sp) its unreal the amount of them, good luck on the trip

First Day very relaxing, Registration complete all teams present - had a scout around St Omer huge market on here today 7;45am start in morning Garry has voluntered to drive in morning to Koblenz in Germany. Weather is Fantastic, All team members had a chance today to look at each others handy work.

57913_105668596161230_100467056681384_49160_2571466_n.jpg

Check out http://www.facebook.com/battensbangerrally
    For more photo's and click LIKE to follow us.

What a day yesterday was,,we traveled from France to Belgium to Koblenz Germany,The Nurburgring was class,helped out other lads who broke down,sampled the wine at Wine & Beer Festival made some new German Friends,Bye Bye Germany, Austria Here we come......

Check out our Facebook page and click Like for more photos

The wine festival in Koblenz was great craic last night with huge fireworks display albeit was a bit worse for wear this morning,fair play to Eoin for stepping up and driving this morning,we go along the Rheine river today then Motorway all the way to Austria

Arrived in Austria this evening with all challenges completed with no time to spare to hand over proof of photo's of various objects located at 4 Castles along the Rheine River hopefully should do well in todays challenges

The Selvio Pass tomorrow, probably the worlds most testing road section with over 60 Hairpin bends oooh can't wait,bed early tonight, to be ready for action in morning,Absolutley wrecked long day with nearly 500 Km traveled

47967_106410299420393_100467056681384_55788_2607636_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

peltor wrote: »

The Selvio Pass tomorrow, probably the worlds most testing road section with over 60 Hairpin bends oooh can't wait,bed early tonight, to be ready for action in morning

Looking forward to those pics ;)

Day 4 – Feldkirch to Ritten / Rennon

8 Sep 2010
    There was huge excitement in the group this morning for what is one of the highlights of the trip, the “Stelvio Pass”. The teams were setting off from Feldkirch and heading to Ritten / Rennon near Bolzano in Italy.
    The journey from Feldkirch to Ritten / Rennon is around 220 miles and nearly all the teams managed to avoid the motorways today, and stick to windy roads up in the mountains, which really pushed all the cars, along with completing the interesting challenges for the day.
    What an amazing effort by the teams today up the cloudy Stelvio Pass. We got some awesome photos from the summit. The teams have two choices to get to the top of the pass, firstly the shorter route using the Umbrail Pass which leads on to the Stelvio or secondly using the beginning of the Stevio near Bormeo. If you are wondering what this famous pass has to offer take a look at some of the teams photographs.
    thumbs_DSCF3213.JPGthumbs_DSCF0745.JPGthumbs_DSCF0280.JPG

thumbs_DSC_0103.JPGthumbs_DSCF3182.JPGthumbs_IMG_0068.JPG

thumbs_DSCF3163.JPGthumbs_IMG_0112.JPGthumbs_IMG_0176.JPG

thumbs_IMG_0329.JPGthumbs_IMG_0332.JPGthumbs_IMG_0345.JPG

thumbs_IMG_0344.JPGthumbs_P1010871.JPGthumbs_IMG_0909.JPG

It was great to see the teams along the way from our journey to Rennon. We caught up with “Piston Broke” and “Booze Brothers” going the opposite direction to the Stelvio, but soon corrected them with a quick lesson on map reading!
    “Call the Cops” left the hotel at 8am and decided to visit Lichtenstein and various other passes along the way and rolled up to the hotel at 9pm, one of the longest journeys of the day! Incidentally the earliest team back to the hotel was “Moonraker: Live and Let Drive” at 3.30 p.m, a great effort.
    As the drive was so long and hard on the cars, we extended the check in time for the competition so everyone could get their results in. Well done yet again to “Blue Waffle” who were the winners for the day and they bag the £100 prize!

The town of Rennon (also known as Ritten) is a beautiful historic town perched in the fabulous Dolomites. Many of the teams enjoyed a heavy night in the hotel bar sampling genuine Italian beers and of course various “Sherberts”. A few of the teams decided to take a late dip in the pool (around 1.00 a.m) despite the fact that the place was in pitch dark. The hotel owner, did see the funny side of it!
    Tomorrow we head to Rimini, which is the end of the trip for some teams and everyone is looking forward to the complimentary meal tonight, followed by a night out in Rimini. Find out how we got on tomorrow!

For more photos http://www.facebook.com/battensbangerrally

Day 5 – Ritten / Rennon to Rimini

In: 2010 Rally
    9 Sep 2010
    Following on from the magnificent drive on the Stelvio pass,the teams pressed on from Rennon to Rimini (which is a relatively short journey). This was the last day of the Motoscape Rally for Team Batten Bee's

The journey from Rennon to Rimini is around 260 miles, with the option to travel on the motorway, with most teams doing this and then having time to relax on the beautiful Rimini beach, and even go for a dip in the sea. The teams staying on for the Prague rally were busy out and about completing the challenges, as well as visiting the wonderful car museums on the way, including the Ferrari museum and the “Classic Boys” discovered the Masserati museum, which has a mix of Masseratis and other classic cars.
    These museums are excellent whether you are into your cars or not. The Ferrari museum allows anyone to take a drive in a number of different Ferraris and prices start from 40 Euros, that has to be the bargain of the trip, and highly recommended by all the teams. Kieran from “Batten Bees” was blown away with his Ferrari experience, I think we know what Kieran wants for Christmas this year! Take a look at images below:
    thumbs_IMG_0104.JPG thumbs_SDC11398.JPGthumbs_SDC11402.JPG

In the evening, the teams on the Prague rally hit the town for a bite to eat and a few brewskies, and the organisers arranged a complimentary meal and presentation of prizes with all the Rimini teams, a fitting finale to the rally. What a great night for everyone to get together, and well done to “Monza or Bust” for winning the 2010 Motoscape Roll on Rimini Rally!
    After the meal and presentation the teams hit the town of Rimini to celebrate the end of an amazing experience for all the teams, and one that many teams said they would love to do again. We also had a first for the Motoscape Rally, Scott from “Team Aerodynamicsmtih” flew his girlfriend Nikki out to meet up with him and the other entrants on the final night, then proposed to her in the bar in front of all the Motoscapers! She said YES, and everyone was in great spirits for the rest of the night in the Rose and Crown bar on Rimini beach, which had a great live band and awesome banter amongst all the teams.
    thumbs_SNV30621.JPG thumbs_SNV30622.JPGthumbs_SNV30623.jpg

thumbs_SNV30626.JPG thumbs_SNV30625.JPGthumbs_SNV30627.JPG

thumbs_SNV30628.JPG thumbs_SNV30633.JPGthumbs_SNV30639.JPG

thumbs_SNV30632.JPGthumbs_SNV30634.JPGthumbs_SNV30636.JPG

The spirit, camaraderie, convoys, banter, togetherness and general enthusiasm of the entrants on this years rally has shone through. Peter, the other half of “Team Aerodynamicsmtih” on the Rimini Rally, has decided to cancel his flight home, and carry on to Prague with Mike and Mike from “Confused and Chinglish” because he’s having such a great time, he didn’t want to go home! Many Rimini teams wished they were carrying on to Prague, but hey-ho there’s always next year !

Roll on Rimini 2010 Winners

9 Sep 2010

So 2010 Motoscape Roll on Rimini Rally has come to an end! And I’m sure you all want to know who’s won?
    Well we won’t keep you waiting, congratulations… Monza or Bust! Father and Son team Gerard Sr and Gerard Junior, they walk away with the £700 cash prize. A really great effort by all the teams, and it just goes to show how great the spirit of the rally has been, Gerard and Gerard bought beers, for everyone and then donated some of their winnings to the “Batten Bees team” Raising money for Bee For Battens The Saoirse Foundation very worthy charity from Castlemaine Co Kerry, Ireland.
    thumbs_snv30632.jpg thumbs_snv30506.jpg

Final Rimini Top 3:
    1st Place: Monza or Bust
    2nd Place: Super Mario Brothers GTI
    3rd Place: Batten Bees

Well Done to all the teams!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

IMG_0068.JPG

my god that is some road:eek:

It was mostly Foggy on way up and it cleared for about 5 minutes near the top and we got an awesome photo of what the Stelvio Pass is all about,by the way it is the Second highest paved rd in the Alps.....:D

Check out or facebook page for a video of the Stelvio Pass

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Great reports OP - keep 'em coming!

If anyone would like to donate anything via Paypal to Bee for battens ,you can still click on the Please Donate button on the top of our face book page.

All donations received to date and in the next week or 2 while the page is still going will go straight to Bee For Battens The Saoirse Foundation

http://www.facebook.com/battensbangerrally