Brothers wreck pub,90k bill in Damages....WTF??

• 08-07-2010 02:49PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭

Hi folks dunno if its already been posted but...

Seven brothers were among a group of people who violently took over a pub and caused €90,000 of damage in a scene like a battle zone, a court heard yesterday.
    After over an hour, the pub in Balbriggan, Co Dublin had to be recaptured by a garda riot squad. The men are to be sentenced later this month at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court.
    Martin (41), David (37), Brian (31), Christopher (27), Paul (26), William (25) and Stephen (24) Lawrence all pleaded guilty to violent disorder at John D's Pub, Dublin Road, Balbriggan, on Monday, May 4, 2009.
    The Lawrence brothers comprised four Balbriggan men: David, of Gardiners Hill; Paul, of Hamilton Terrace; William, of Milara Court; and Stephen, of Pinewood Green Road; along with Martin, of the Dunes, Enniscrone, Co Sligo; Brian, of Talbot Hall, Applewood, Swords, Co Dublin; and Christopher, of Mourne Park, Skerries, Co Dublin. Sergeant Liam Donahue told Garrett Baker, prosecuting, that the pub had been under the control of the group for about an hour-and-three -quarters before being reclaimed by force by the garda public order unit.
    Damage
    The damage to the pub cost €90,000 to be repaired. He said William Roe had taken the lease on the pub 11 months beforehand and spent about €45,000 decorating and fireproofing it.
    He told gardai the scene inside the pub was "similar to a battle zone" after the incident.
    Sgt Donahue said there were no physical injuries caused but William and Sinead Roe are unemployed as a result.
    Televisions, furniture, beer pumps, shelves and plaster work were smashed and 103 panes of glass had to be refitted. A snooker table was pushed up against a back door to prevent gardai gaining access.
    Mr Roe told gardai the Lawrence family had been in the pub since afternoon and drank around five pints each.
    Sgt Donahue said Mr Roe received a phone call from a member of staff at about 6.30pm that day to say that David Lawrence, who was barred from the pub, had been refused a drink.
    Mr Roe said he would come down to the pub and on his way met a garda and told him of the situation. Mr Roe waited outside while the garda went inside. He heard furniture being smashed and people calling out: "Travellers' rights."
    A barman working in the pub said that, when David arrived in the pub, he was aware he had been barred. Mr Roe's niece, Rachael McDonagh, heard him say: "F**k Willie and f**k his bar, I am the barman now".
    David Lawrence was observed on CCTV behind the bar helping himself to drinks.
    Sinead Roe said she told David to get out from behind the bar and he threw a bottle which smashed against a wall.
    Gardai retreated until the public order unit arrived at 8.20 pm and while they attempted to gain entry David sprayed a fire extinguisher out through a broken window. They successfully reclaimed the pub at 8.45pm.
    Defence counsel for the seven men expressed remorse and brought to court sums of money as compensation which totalled approximately €9,000. The men had entered guilty pleas and counsel asked the court to show what leniency it could.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/euro90000-bill-for-repairs-as-brothers-wreck-local-pub-2250264.html

Question[B[/B]

wtf is wrong with people?

i assume they're travellers.....

do they deserve their bad reputation?..

..whats your view?

only 9k compo between them....*gets violently sick*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

the ole travellers really dont do themselves much favours do they?

ill give any individul as much chance as anyone else but is it a coincidence the same surnames keep popping up over and over?

i hope they get a few years but they wont and they know it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Cream Crackers + alcohol = lots of damage.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Did they finally get that Sarah Connor bitch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭thebullkf

tx for the views....

don't discriminatre myself but is it any wonder pubs close whenever
    a jojo dies....

or

gets married.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

Never fear the PC police will be along any minute to tell us straight. That these people have been oppressed all their lives and that we should in fact pay them 9,000 in compensation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,610 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

skelliser wrote: »
    Never fear the PC police will be along any minute to tell us straight. That these people have been oppressed all their lives and that we should in fact pay them 9,000 in compensation.

Even if they were oppressed they're still criminals. I don't think anyone would argue otherwise. As for them being shown leniency, that's the court's problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,385 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

And yet they scream and cry foul when publicans don't want to serve them in bars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_WNvNQUYAU

Coincidentally I had seen this clip on YouTube a few weeks ago, when I heard about it on the news driving home last night I thought it MUST be the same incident. Poor bar owner, place was destroyed by all accounts. there are always three sides to every story but no one has the right to do this to someone elses property

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Let them all batter the ****e out of each other....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

90k worth of damage? Whimps.

When the Nolan sisters were touring England in the mid seventies, 90k worth of damage would of been considered a 'quite' night.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_WNvNQUYAU&feature=fvw
    Coincidentally I had seen this clip on YouTube a few weeks ago, when I heard about it on the news driving home last night I thought it MUST be the same incident. Poor bar owner, place was destroyed by all accounts.

fcukin animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Skelliser's rebel... with a devil may care attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,610 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Coincidentally I had seen this clip on YouTube a few weeks ago, when I heard about it on the news driving home last night I thought it MUST be the same incident. Poor bar owner, place was destroyed by all accounts. there are always three sides to every story but no one has the right to do this to someone elses property

Feckin scobes screaming in the background should have been jumped on by the Gardai next

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I DEMANDSZ THE RITE TO DISKRIMINATEZ!
    I PAYZ MEIN TAXES!

one of the few occasions i feel sorry for a publican.

and because of these inbred,smokey-bellied pi$$ ant fúcks

both he and his wife are unemployed now...:mad:

{i'm not a publican/related in ayway btw.}

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I think they are all lovely little lads and and were misunderstood! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

Feckin scobes screaming in the background should have been jumped on by the Gardai next

Thats what got me most about the clip, it was like a favourite episode of some comedy to them and they were cheering and laughing at the Gardai. It's amazing what makes sense to some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭professorpete

two thirds of the way down the article before it mentions 'Travellers'... ooohhhh I geddit now!!
    <snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

10 year ban on alcohol consumption.
    10 year ban from any venue that sells alcohol.
    And then send them to some strict islamic country.

Now that's justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

That's the incident alright. I witnessed what happened that evening and the scobies screaming and shouting were :o to say the least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭LarrytheLantern

"no one has the right to do this to someone elses property"
    How can you say such a thing? It's their CULTURE, so they have every right!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,891 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

haha, nutcases! Say that was some hangover

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

I hope they get a suspended sentence. THERE I SAID IT

which ones are the knackas?
    the ones in the pub, or the ones on the street with the phone-cams?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Tiny Explosions

which ones are the knackas?
    the ones in the pub, or the ones on the street with the phone-cams?:confused:

The guys with the camera phones weren't breaking any laws or destroying anybody's property.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

rovert wrote: »
    I hope they get a suspended sentence. THERE I SAID IT

you have taken quite well to trolling

i know, can you imagine if the other lot got in!;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

aDeener wrote: »
    you have taken quite well to trolling

Im not trolling just making fun at people's outrage over a type of sentence that is more serious than they think.

I bet they're granddad died 15 years ago and now these lads will get a suspended sentence because of the trauma and loss in their lives.
    It's sad that the judge would rather go home, forget about it and take their chances that a different judge can deal with it when they go ruin someone elses livelihood again.