Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

wrestlezone?

• 12-05-2010 10:37pm
    Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭

sorry folks i'm not too sure if i can restart this after the last time just thought without the slagging that was going on the last time maybe it wouldn't be a bad idea to try again, 1 i'm not acting on behalf of alan nor has he asked me to, tbh i'd just seen the genious video on the website and thought i'd post up here to see if anyone's had a change of heart or opinion on the actual event i do know there's quite a lot of tickets booked for the sat already so maybe he'll do ok from it after all myself personally am quite looking forward to it as is my son,
    www.wrestlezoneireland.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Nah his credibility is shattered.

Lying will do that tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

wayne76 wrote: »
    sorry folks i'm not too sure if i can restart this after the last time just thought without the slagging that was going on the last time maybe it wouldn't be a bad idea to try again, 1 i'm not acting on behalf of alan nor has he asked me to, tbh i'd just seen the genious video on the website and thought i'd post up here to see if anyone's had a change of heart or opinion on the actual event i do know there's quite a lot of tickets booked for the sat already so maybe he'll do ok from it after all myself personally am quite looking forward to it as is my son,

Plus the fact that he's your mate has zero to do with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Lads, lets not make this a slagging session again. The guy asked a genuine question. If you have nothing to add, please do not reply.

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭wayne76

thanks gimmick i'm trying to be genuine, yes alan is a friend of mine i deal with him more on a business level than a personal one as i organise dart's exhibition's and alan's the agent for the players, he lives in meath me in wicklow so i dont be socialising with him at all so you's now know the level of our friendship! and yes i do agree he didn't handle himself in the best manner before but i also believe there was no malice or intent to decieve anybody, really lad's i'm sure if you's were doing something like this event you's would try get your mate's to try drum up support, but for anyone that maybe new to the forum they might like to make up their own mind without all the last lot of crap being dragged up, now i'm entitled to post here as a registered member of boards i'm being genuine so if you dont like it well then dont post on this thread simple?

The Vid with the Genius on their website is pretty cool, he comes across very well.. I still think the auld price is a bit much.. Especially the family of 4 pass thats damn near 600 quid..

yeah i like the vid mate, i fully understand people's opinion on the price as myself a public service worker but i wont complain as i'm working:o but i just looked at the breakdown of maybe 13 quid per wrestler to help justify paying, i also just put by a few quid each week we're in an overpriced country at best ie petrol etc. but these thing's are 1 of a few thing's during a year i justify the cost as a treat to myself but i'm also glad i dont have 4 teenage lads that want to go too lol

Ah absolutely i wouldn't imagine there's much room for profit margins even at such a heafty entrance fee.. Still i hope its a success..

well these thing's are all learning curves which i learned a couple of week's ago with a big darts exhibition we fell short on cost's and had to pay the balance ourselves but i took a lot from it and wont make the same error's again but everyone had a super time so it was worth it, so maybe after this alan may have a better idea as to the market over here and the demand for stars ie maybe less stars with bigger fees or less popular stars to keep ticket prices down i'm sure there's a happy medium to be found but it'll be trial and error i think over here but generally anything he does he does his homework on so i'm fairly sure this will succeed but time will tell:)

ppl can anybody tell me the line up is not top notch, in all honesty the line up is top notch i mean mick foley????? need i say more??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

€159??? Are you for real? Its a half decent line up for anyone over the age of 20. 10 to 16 yr olds won't have a clue who The Genius or The Beefcake are, or care. Foley, Candice Michelle and Lillian are not worth the money he's looking for. €60-65 then maybe(big maybe) i would go.

Another thing, if i decide to go both days do i get to see 6 wrestlers on Sat and six different wrestlers on sunday? Or will i see the same 12 both days? 6 per day would take up about 2 hours max.

If he wants this to work the he needs to lower his price(a lot) and/or add some more (big)names to the card. Also he should let people pay at the door on the day, it might convince people he's not a scam artist.

super-rush wrote: »
    €159??? Are you for real? Its a half decent line up for anyone over the age of 20. 10 to 16 yr olds won't have a clue who The Genius or The Beefcake are, or care. Foley, Candice Michelle and Lillian are not worth the money he's looking for. €60-65 then maybe(big maybe) i would go.

Another thing, if i decide to go both days do i get to see 6 wrestlers on Sat and six different wrestlers on sunday? Or will i see the same 12 both days? 6 per day would take up about 2 hours max.

If he wants this to work the he needs to lower his price(a lot) and/or add some more (big)names to the card. Also he should let people pay at the door on the day, it might convince people he's not a scam artist.
    just to clear up a couple of your issues if i can all wrestlers will be there both days so ppl will either attend sat or sunday, also included in the price is some merchandise and lunch on the day, and most importantly your concern regarding it being a scam are you for real do you honestly think for a minute that someone could just contact the likes of ted dibiase and he'll record a video for an event that he's not contracted too also lanny poffo i mean come on! also a new video will be added in the next couple of weeks from lilian garcia, but anyway i spoke to alan today and he's told me the tickets are going well at the moment so regarding the reduction in price i dont think that will happen i'm afraid, but like i said in an earlier post i'm sure after this one if there is to be another he'll weigh up the pro's and con's of this one before the next as i say it's a first over here of this kind so it'll be trial and error, also please take into account the huge cost's in undertaking the organising this event, cheers wayne:)

This still needs some relevant(to today) names added to the list to justify the price. When will Mick Foleys video be added? Will TNA allow Foley to come over?

Being honest with you, i won't be spending €159 on this and i doubt many other people will. We're in the middle of a recession remember.

super-rush wrote: »
    This still needs some relevant(to today) names added to the list to justify the price. When will Mick Foleys video be added? Will TNA allow Foley to come over?

Being honest with you, i won't be spending €159 on this and i doubt many other people will. We're in the middle of a recession remember.
    to be honest if at all possible to aquire some of todays big stars would be near impossible due to contract's and even if there was a chance the cost's would be a lot bigger therefore a bigger entrance cost! foley is confirmed and is now under contract for the event, regarding a video i'm not sure i'll ask alan about it, and regarding the price the fact your not willing to pay it is fine but i just ask you not to coming on posting about scam's or other rubbish thats misleading to other's i came back on here about this to be genuine and see if there was any interest in it.

regarding the price the fact your not willing to pay it is fine but i just ask you not to coming on posting about scam's or other rubbish thats misleading to other's i came back on here about this to be genuine and see if there was any interest in it.

Where did i say i thought he was a scam artist?

This is what i actually said
    Also he should let people pay at the door on the day, it might convince people he's not a scam artist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,500 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

I really like the sound of it, and I appreciate that Ireland isn't America, and thus getting these guys over here is quite expensive, but €159 is waaaaaaaaaaaay outside my price range and any wrestling heads I know and old-school wrestling heads. I mean you're talking as expensive as the most expensive Ticketmaster tickets I've heard of.

It's a nice idea, but persuading people to pay up front to attend an event (which wrestlers being wrestlers, are NOT guaranteed to always follow through from stories I've heard before) is just a pipe dream in my opinion.

I respect the guy for trying it, and I imagine the costs are very high, but €159 up front when people are trying to save/reel in on expensive purchases isn't even close to the ballpark maximum I'd pay (and I'm a Million Dollar Man nut). There must be some seriously wealthy people who have already bought tickets to the event, willing to put up that amount of money up front. I hope it goes well, but the price is absolutely insane.

ok fella's i've spoke to alan briefly today as he's away in austria at the moment with the darts but he has asked me to post up that if there's an issue regarding paying on the door, if people are to contact him he has no problem holding up to 20 tickets for each day but need's concrete numbers as you can understand.

he also assure's me there's over 200 tickets gone already between the 2 day's.

also just on the ticket cost to give people an idea of the cost's involved as someone was wondering about today's stars this might put their fee's into context, the ultimate warrior was considered for this but proved not suitable on 2 front's 1. his fee's were $25,000 and then he wanted business class travel and accomodation which would cost around the 4k mark 2. him and ted dibiase dont get on at all so alan's loyalty was with ted who he's known for the past couple of years after meeting at a family do in the states, ted has since helped alan enroll the stars for this event.

just to point out too blood stained memoirs from the uk have come on board with alan recently to help out with the promoting of this, again they've close association with mick foley, so any questions regarding the fact of wrestlers not turning up or the event taking place should be forgotten imo.

so to contact alan direct his ph. 0863346732 or email celebrity.promotions@ireland.com,
    alternatively if i can answer any of your queries i'll gladly help if i can, cheer's wayne:)

Wayne. Can you please punctuate and or paragraph. Your posts are incredibly hard to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭brick tamland

The Genius looks like he's had a few facelifts and been at the botox. Does he still throw Frisbies out into the crowd I wonder.

lol not sure about the frisbie's mate,

but on the other hand i've spoke to alan today and he's informed me of another addition to the line up after a few week's trying he's confirmed none other than chyna now there's an interesting one for a Q&A lol.

hopefully this is a welcome addition which i'm sure it will be.

lad's i'm not biased but surely ya think it's some line up forget the cost for a min and look at the names there, classic imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,046 ✭✭✭✭cena

it is some since line up. stone cold would of been better than chyna. haven't got round too buying one yet. well see how the money is in the next 2 months or so

lilian garcia video to be added to the website soon... will keep you's posted:)

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭noisenotmusic

Whatever I think about the event personally I just find it quite odd that the main promotion for this thing seems to be here, a single message board. An event like this should have a higher caliber of promotion (print advertising at the least in newspapers, maybe even tv/radio ads etc) than a single person posting updates here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,500 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

lad's i'm not biased but...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

ppl can anybody tell me the line up is not top notch, in all honesty the line up is top notch i mean mick foley????? need i say more??????

I'm pretty sure I could hire Mick Foley to hand out snacks at my house at the next ppv showing if I paid him a few quid and put him up for the night, thats guys credibility is long gone. I've met him a few times for free, why on earth would i pay for it?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

krudler wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure I could hire Mick Foley to hand out snacks at my house at the next ppv showing if I paid him a few quid and put him up for the night.

Make this happen Krudler, I'm counting on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

Whatever I think about the event personally I just find it quite odd that the main promotion for this thing seems to be here, a single message board. An event like this should have a higher caliber of promotion (print advertising at the least in newspapers, maybe even tv/radio ads etc) than a single person posting updates here..

Apparently there are posters up in Maynooth too.

Only 120 tickets left for Wrestlezone Ireland.
    Don't forget to get yours at www.wrestlezoneireland.com before advertsing campaign kicks off next week throughout the Country.

A big thank you from all at Wrestlezone Ireland to those who have contacted us and bought tickets and are looking forward to the day. Especially those who are booked to travel from the UK to one of Europes biggest ever conventions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

If there are only 120 tickets left, why are you spending money on a nationwide advertising campaign?

I'm still thinking about purchasing a ticket, i really like the line-up and i'm sure it will be a great day.

Will there be alcohol on sale? I would like to say that I bought Mick Foley a beer!

Has Jimmy Hart been confirmed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

Stall on, ye only have 120 tickets left and ye haven't advertised it at all to the public yet. Honest question and I'm not trying to be nosey here but how many to tickets were originally on sale??

Btw, I did a google on this and found out that Alan fella running this was giving tickets away to a UK forum in a contest. Seeing as this site was his main source of advertising in Ireland, how come this contest wasn't run here???

^ because he got banned for multiple accounts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭RAMPAGE1

Charisteas wrote: »
    If there are only 120 tickets left, why are you spending money on a nationwide advertising campaign?

I'm still thinking about purchasing a ticket, i really like the line-up and i'm sure it will be a great day.

Will there be alcohol on sale? I would like to say that I bought Mick Foley a beer!

Has Jimmy Hart been confirmed?

You'll probably have too because there's little chance of Foley buying his own beer

gimmick wrote: »
    ^ because he got banned for multiple accounts.
    what has your post got relevence to ?
    i was asked to post up a comment on how thing's are going and i obliged, so what has your comment got to do with anything?
    and for the post regarding the ticket's for a comp i'm sure if alan got some respect for what he's trying to achieve he'd prob run a similar comp here but at the moment what's his point?

what has your post got relevence to ?
    i was asked to post up a comment on how thing's are going and i obliged, so what has your comment got to do with anything?
    and for the post regarding the ticket's for a comp i'm sure if alan got some respect for what he's trying to achieve he'd prob run a similar comp here but at the moment what's his point?

Firstly, Gimmick was telling me that he was banned. It's relevant as I asked why he didn't run a comp on this without remembering that Alan was banned and couldn't reply (yep, stupidity on my part there)

Anyway, you asked what's the point of running a comp on this and going on about lack of respect.

Well, firstly on the respect part, the reason that Alan has lost respect is that he had to create another account to hype up the event as well as using his own and IMO he couldn't take it that people were outraged at the price (plus the petty comments on users)

On the competition part, that could generate some hype on this for people who can't afford to go (there is a recession going on so money is tight for people). IMHO, if you're going on about what's the point In this due to respect etc... Then what's the point I'm hyping it if you're going to get all uptight on gimmick commenting to me or that Alan has a lack of respect??

All I can do is wish ye the best

It begins.... (again)

23m7tjd.jpg

geeky wrote: »
    It begins.... (again)

23m7tjd.jpg

I'm not trying to provoke Wayne or Alan at all. I asked a simple question, that's all.

BTW, I've got to use that pic of MJ sometime.

I'm not trying to provoke Wayne or Alan at all. I asked a simple question, that's all.

BTW, I've got to use that pic of MJ sometime.

I know, it's a very reasonable question - my comment was more directed at how reasonable (albeit sceptical now) questions are being met with quite defensive responses from Alan / Wayne.

as a wrestling fan and a friend of Alan's I just feel sorry for all those who are so negative and bitter that they will miss the show, and we are officially out of recession.
    Its funny as Alan said to me last week that he has got enquiries from fellas on boards identifying themselves by their post ID telling him who they are and buying or ordering tickets.
    he knows 90% are positive but getting banned off here was something he was pleased about, in the end i guess we will always have negatives and it definetly explains why we have less negatives this time then last time.
    and to answer an earlier question as to why he is advertsing nationally with only 120 tickets left as far as I know Alan paid for advertising nationally early in the year to go live in July so we will have to wait and see. he is heading to new york now so i won't talk to him for a few weeks.

as a wrestling fan and a friend of Alan's I just feel sorry for all those who are so negative and bitter that they will miss the show, and we are officially out of recession.
    Its funny as Alan said to me last week that he has got enquiries from fellas on boards identifying themselves by their post ID telling him who they are and buying or ordering tickets.
    he knows 90% are positive but getting banned off here was something he was pleased about, in the end i guess we will always have negatives and it definetly explains why we have less negatives this time then last time.
    and to answer an earlier question as to why he is advertsing nationally with only 120 tickets left as far as I know Alan paid for advertising nationally early in the year to go live in July so we will have to wait and see. he is heading to new york now so i won't talk to him for a few weeks.
    Right.. course he was:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Right.. course he was:rolleyes:

You'd wonder who it was that was forcing him to post here in the first place tbh, if he was that happy to be banned.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,851 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Im going to state right now that he was banned for multiple accounts and lads can I ask you to not discuss a banning, and why it happened or how happy someone might be that it happened. It wont lead to anything good

He was banned and that was the original point used to answer why further activity perhaps in the form of a competition was mentioned nothing more.

Nobody wishes this thing to fail, this forums members have been honest however and you have to take the misgivings people will have about an event (people have them with any event no matter what it is) with a pinch of salt, not take them personally and continue to promote if you wish because responding to them can often turn into an arguement (and if you say something bad in an arguement as part of your promotion it doesent exactley look good as a result) unless you are happy to just say that you appreciate that pricing (or whatever aspect of the event is focussed on) may not be for them but that enough are showing an interest at this point that its what it will be etc. You said that people have contacted you from the promotion here and bought tickets, well good for you and them if thats the case be happy and focus on that and things should run smoothly.

So what the official line-up now? focus on issues like this. post where any remaining tickets can be got and when they can no longer be got. Stick to things like this and this thread will not go the way of the other thread which although im sure did get a lot of views didnt look good

Spoke to Alan today and once again thanks to all who have supported Wrestlezone Ireland .( The biggest European Convention ever )
    As Alan has planned both Ted and Virgil will pull up outside the Glenroyal hotel with speakers raoaring Ted's song
    ( and to think this will be at 8.50am with 7 hours entertainment ahead ) I can't wait.....lets get it on...... 300 people each day will get to sample this legend and a whole host others"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vm4TG56KGZ4
    once again fella's i didn't mean to upset anyone with my last post,
    i'm sure alan respect's your view's and opinion's as i do,
    cheers wayne.

and yes just thought the colours would brighten thing's up a bit:)

Anyone seen any ads for this yet?

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

I live near Maynooth and have seen some flyers I think. I vaguely remember seeing them in my barbers.

If he gets Billy Gun I'm sold. :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,046 ✭✭✭✭cena

is there many of ye guys going too this. i'm still not sure about buying a ticket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

I'll need to see more information first tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

gimmick wrote: »
    Anyone seen any ads for this yet?

None of my wrestling friends have seen ads for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Willie Stroker

I have seen ads in a eurospar . Tbh i bought tna tickets for 70 quid front row seats and meet and greet and the tour is headlined by Ric Flair so im quite excited makes no sense for me to buy it . Awesome deal and I cant wait . I can stare at Velvet Sky's Boobs dont need Candice Michell ;)

Good luck though