Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

14-01-2010, 12:33   #1
Johnick

Water is finally back except in shower (Triton t90si), possible airlock ?

Like a lot of people my water went last weekend but came back Tuesday night, everything now works except the shower. Tank in the attic is full so I'm suspecting an airlock maybe ?. I used to be an electrician 3 & a 1/2 years (never qualified but know how to do 99% of domestic electrical work) but unfortunately my plumbing knowledge is limited, so I asked an old work friend how to fix the lock, got a couple of problems though.

First, I turned off the RCD/trip switch for the shower to isolate it and took the cover off, I was told to trace the pipe leading to the shower in my attic back to the tank and turn it off then remove the filter from the unit (Filter is number 15 in the guide).

http://www.showerdoc.co.uk/shower-sp...si-pumped.html

I have tried turning this with my hand but its too tight, I could use a pliers but its made of plastic and am afraid Ill break it. I was told if I do get it off to remove a small mesh inside, clean it if needs be, turn the water in the tank back on and water should flow eventually out the filter. Once done turn the tank off again, put the mesh back in and tighten the filter, then put the cover back on and turn back on the tank and RCD then it should work once powered up. I was also told I may need to put the shower on the cold and the lowest pressure setting, then gradually raise it, is this true ?.