Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Experience in the Jackpot tonight

• 21-11-2009 3:45am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭

I am going to outline in as much detail as possible what happened to me in the Jackpot this evening.

I arrived in and bought in for 120€.

This was at around 12ish, I was one of the players that started the second table.

I had consumed no alcohol on the night.

I took a pretty bad beat when I lost with a full house (99) v (A8) on a A9QA turn, all in. Guy spiked the 8 on the river. I did make ANY bad beat moans whatsoever against anyone. Anyone at the table will tell you this.

I played on for another 2ish hours. Play became quite slow. A new dealer arrived at the table. She said because play was slow and there was no large pots everyone would have to throw in a euro chip, with no value added to the pot! I was the only one that declined. I was told the whole table would face a larger rake on procedding pots. Some of the people at the table started out right giving me abuse.

I planned on leaving after the next hand as I was UTG and my friends (who were waiting on me) were leaving then. The dealer gave me some abuse which encouraged other players particularly the player to my left who had just sat down. I felt fairly intimidated.

I stood up to leave, which I had always intended to do after I folded the UTG pot. Two huge security guards ran into the poker area as my mate saw watching from the background. They stood beside me, they DID NOT touch me. But the threat was there. The middle aged woman who was in charge of cashing out chips informed me "if I couldnt take losing I shouldn't play!", this was despite the fact I only lost half a buyin and I actually wanted to leave. I continued to take alot of abuse from the new player at the table in the background.

I will never play at the Jackpot again. Very annoyed at the whole incident.

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭pgodkin

wow, The jackpot posts here so i say they'll come back to about this post!

Its not an ante game, so u shouldnt be forced to put anything into the pot besides blinds without seeint your cards!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

A good player will never say ''I will never play at the Jackpot again'' cause the value is there on weekends.

I have been attacked in the Jackpot twice and the security has been top notch.

Theres no way you didnt moan after you first beat.

The throwing in a euro cause the action was slow sounds like BS, the dealer prob pocketed the goons money as tips, if so WP dealer.

Folding unless you have AA, AK KK etc UTG then leaving is gay. I have often been few hundred down if not 1k etc and never left UTG see the blinds thru then leave, im not bothered reading your post again to see if this is what you did but I reckon you did and are monaing about it.

Drunk post tldr

Cliffs, Jackpot=value, lol, dont not go back, you had a normal session.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

that happened before to me where they asked everyone to put a euro into the pot

cuterob wrote: »
    that happened before to me where they asked everyone to put a euro into the pot
    Really? never happened me and i have played there alot, and i would gladly put a euro in to play there tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭jack90210

CHD wrote: »
    Really? never happened me and i have played there alot, and i would gladly put a euro in to play there tbh.

I was on my last hand so I wanted to leave. Not be subject to abuse from all angles.

yep.. i just threw it in to avoid hassle and keep the game going even though i knew it was wrong but some young D4ish guy who had bought in for a fiddy was all like "i'm not wasting my money" etc etc he was prob right tbh, but the game was stopping so i paid for him and his friends.. "sound man yea i'll buy u a heino next time your out etc bs" so him and his friends continued to play redic tight.. they sat there for the next hour until blinded out

yep.. fairly pointless story right there

cuterob wrote: »
    yep.. i just threw it in to avoid hassle and keep the game going even though i knew it was wrong but some young D4ish guy who had bought in for a fiddy was all like "i'm not wasting my money" etc etc he was prob right tbh, but the game was stopping so i paid for him and his friends.. "sound man yea i'll buy u a heino next time your out etc bs" so him and his friends continued to play redic tight.. they sat there for the next hour until blinded out

yep.. fairly pointless story right there
    Well if thats the situation you should have left before that crap. Didn't know that crap happens. Dont blame you paying for them!

expected value was too high not to

A good player will never say ''I will never play at the Jackpot again'' cause the value is there on weekends.

Well right now value means nothing to me. When you feel intimidated physically by the people running the club, value is not something at the top of your priorities. I'm just glad to be out of there.

Seriously? was it that bad? Did you nearly get raped? Or was it that you ran bad and wana moan?

Neither. Two security guards standing over me. Abuse from the woman on the till. Abuse from the table.

Just wanted out tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

CHD, read the OP and stop with the rubbish please. I don't get the vibe that this guy/gal is complaining about a bad beat. I'm sure both sides of the story as to what happened will come forth soon.

I know I've never felt physically intimidated in the jackpot.

Ste05 wrote: »

neither have I.. if thats any help to the thread.. though i was physically felt up before in there.. but it turned out to be just me.. physically feeling myself up..

i presume the security guys op is talking about are them bouncers? i've never even seen them in the poker room.. though i don't play there that much tbh

Ste05 wrote: »
    CHD, read the OP and stop with the rubbish please. I don't get the vibe that this guy/gal is complaining about a bad beat. I'm sure both sides of the story as to what happened will come forth soon.

tbf in my state i shouldnt be posting, as regs know dont read my posts, and they wont.You should know this :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭colquhom

sounds disgraceful, id be pretty pissed off if this happened to me too.

Dunno what you can do really though. Letting people know about it is certainly right, just don't know what kind of redress you can get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭gigetheman

there is no way that i would but in extra to the pot just because the play at the table was slow thats a joke are they not happy enough with the rake

• Registered Users Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

I have been attacked in the Jackpot twice and the security has been top notch.

Theres no way you didnt moan after you first beat.

The throwing in a euro cause the action was slow sounds like BS, the dealer prob pocketed the goons money as tips, if so WP dealer.

Folding unless you have AA, AK KK etc UTG then leaving is gay. I have often been few hundred down if not 1k etc and never left UTG see the blinds thru then leave, im not bothered reading your post again to see if this is what you did but I reckon you did and are monaing about it.

Drunk post tldr

Cliffs, Jackpot=value, lol, dont not go back, you had a normal session.

worst post ever, drunk or not

Mr.Plough wrote: »
    worst post ever, drunk or not
    No its really not, but i like how you hate me! Keep it up!

Does very drunk count, cause it should here if worst ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭pgodkin

The boys on the door have always been good and i would be glad those lads are there if i ever got in touble! They may have been told something else and are often workin off second hand info when they come runnin into the JP! i would wait till the JP reply to this thread before anything else is said really!

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Tight Ted

Everything aside, making everyone stump up a euro because the game is running slow is absolute dick.

We're living in an age of internet and thus a lot of people knowing the rules very well. This means dealers/casinos can't just do random sh1t because they feel like it, without p1ssing people off.

Jackpot, when you read this, if one good thing comes of this thread, it's if you tell your dealers to stop this BS.

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭peteypop

jack90210 wrote: »
    I am going to outline in as much detail as possible what happened to me in the Jackpot this evening.

I arrived in and bought in for 120€.

This was at around 12ish, I was one of the players that started the second table.

I had consumed no alcohol on the night.

I took a pretty bad beat when I lost with a full house (99) v (A8) on a A9QA turn, all in. Guy spiked the 8 on the river. I did make ANY bad beat moans whatsoever against anyone. Anyone at the table will tell you this.

I played on for another 2ish hours. Play became quite slow. A new dealer arrived at the table. She said because play was slow and there was no large pots everyone would have to throw in a euro chip, with no value added to the pot! I was the only one that declined. I was told the whole table would face a larger rake on procedding pots. Some of the people at the table started out right giving me abuse.

I planned on leaving after the next hand as I was UTG and my friends (who were waiting on me) were leaving then. The dealer gave me some abuse which encouraged other players particularly the player to my left who had just sat down. I felt fairly intimidated.

I stood up to leave, which I had always intended to do after I folded the UTG pot. Two huge security guards ran into the poker area as my mate saw watching from the background. They stood beside me, they DID NOT touch me. But the threat was there. The middle aged woman who was in charge of cashing out chips informed me "if I couldnt take losing I shouldn't play!", this was despite the fact I only lost half a buyin and I actually wanted to leave. I continued to take alot of abuse from the new player at the table in the background.

I will never play at the Jackpot again. Very annoyed at the whole incident.

jack are you sure u didnt consume copious amounts of alcohol,because your view of things seems quite distorted.
    i was at this table when this happened,u lost that hand,u didnt complain,thats poker bad beats.
    new dealer arrived the next 5-6 hands,never went over 10euro in pot size.
    the dealer said the rake was to small,ie the casino has to make money for providing the service,1 euro each didnt seem excessive,everyone paid except u,this was 15 mins after your so called bad beat.
    the fellow next to u said something to you,YOU LOSTthe plot,security was called.
    at the cash desk u continued to shout,you stated the dealer had ruined your night,and when leaving shouted at the fellow to watch his back and that u would never play in the jackpot again.Which is your call.
    To come on here and say u felt threatned is a joke,u told the other fellow to watch his back in a threatning manner.Pay the euro,dont pay the euro i dont care,was the way u carryed on all down to your bad beat,i would say most definetly.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

The rake is x per player per half hour, the alternative would have been to take 30%+ of the small pots, probably fairer to ask everyone for a euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Regardless what happened the mean fcukers asking for a bloody euro a man can they not take the hit for just a few minutes?
    I mean how much rake would they be getting if you all left?

Personally i dont like the way the rake is taken in the jackpot you see 3 or 4 different stacks of chips one for rake, one for tips, one for bloody cash league
    not saying everything is not above board but can be confusing.

peteypop wrote: »
    jack are you sure u didnt consume copious amounts of alcohol,because your view of things seems quite distorted.

First off thank you for posting. Yes I am sure I had not.
    i was at this table when this happened,u lost that hand,u didnt complain,thats poker bad beats.

Thank you for confirming that. It shows I am not aggressive and mouthing off etc. I think anyone who played with me there will agree with this.
    new dealer arrived the next 5-6 hands,never went over 10euro in pot size.
    the dealer said the rake was to small,ie the casino has to make money for providing the service,1 euro each didnt seem excessive,everyone paid except u,this was 15 mins after your so called bad beat.

It wasn't fifteen mins after the bad beat. It was a lot longer then that.

The only reason I even mentioned the bad beat was because thats what everyone seemed to think I had the problem with.

This new dealer arrived at the table and her first hand demanded the euro. I refused because I was leaving after the next hand UTG. Wasn't going to pay the blinds for another round. I probably would have paid if I was staying longer (wouldn't have been happy about it though).
    the fellow next to u said something to you,YOU LOSTthe plot,security was called.

The guy to my left made a very smart and insulting comment. He only did this because of dealer putting pressure on me and because she made it out as if I would be punishing everyone else if I didn't pay. The rest of the table started making comments but the guy to my left took it to extreme. At this point things were still relatively calm I didn't really respond to him. Then the next hand was dealt, my UTG hand. I got rags so folded and got up to leave as I was always going to do.
    at the cash desk u continued to shout,you stated the dealer had ruined your night,

As I got up the two very large security men, to the horror of my non-poker playing friend watching, ran in to the jackpot. All the time the dealer and the guy to my left in particular are giving me abuse. At this point I obviously begin to feel very intimidated. It felt like everyone had turned on me and I was backed into a serious corner.

I did say that to the dealer and I don't regret it. Fair enough shes is just doing her job asking for the euro as thats obvisouly the Jackpots policy. But she should have not berated me in front of the whole table and attempted successfully to turn people against me.
    and when leaving shouted at the fellow to watch his back and that u would never play in the jackpot again.Which is your call.

Yes I did say that and I regret that. I was getting escorted out for no reason as I was never going to cause any sort of scene. I was dressed in a suit after work for gods sake and I'm not stupid, why would I take on like the 20 people in the poker room over a euro?? I told the guy to watch his back because other people might have taken the way he was carrying on differently and sometimes he might pick on the wrong guy. Not inferring I was that guy! Although I accept thats how it might have come across, and I apologise for that.

Although I think its important to say that I only said that at the very last second when I was walking through the door out, i.e. security were called long before that, they were called after I failed to pay the euro. The decision was made at that point to kick me out.

The guy had continued to abuse me from a height as I was at the cash desk and when I was walking out. I was also taking abuse from the middle aged lady at the cash desk as per post above.
    To come on here and say u felt threatned is a joke,u told the other fellow to watch his back in a threatning manner.Pay the euro,dont pay the euro i dont care,was the way u carryed on all down to your bad beat,i would say most definetly.

IT WAS NOT DOWN TO THE BAD BEAT. Caps for emphasis not shouting.

It was down to the fact I was leaving anyway didn't want to pay the euro, dealer turned everyone against me, security called for no reason, escorted out with a physical threat there that if I didn't leave without incident I was probably getting thrown out on my ear.

Note: I see thejackpot posted their tournament results at 7am this morning and did not respond to this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

Ive only ever played in the jackpot 1 time and finished 3rd that nite. I found the place to be a little dingy and very clicky hence i never returned there.
    Having read your post i can see how you would feel intimadated as the place has that feel about it in general. The dealer should not be acting in this manner and the club should not be encouraging their staff to heckle their customers and maybe cause a volitile situation. You done the right thing by leaving quietly as the 2 goons would probably have had a field day with you .
    I cant say that i would have reacted in the same manner and composure that you have shown here . In the first instance i would have been giving out like fuk about the bad beat all fkn night and threatening the dealer if they done that sh1t again. When the new dealer sat down and looked for a euro from everyone, my first reaction would be to tell her to fcuk off ya scabby biatch and deal the cards , i probably would have appologised shortly after that (if she was cute) and tried to talk her into a roide before the end of the night:eek: .( if she was a hag the abuse would continue until she went to the cash desk and asked for her own P45).
    As for the prick beside you , well all i can say is they wouldn't be getting any more rake out of him for the forseeable future. At that point the table would have been broken anyway (Most likely in 2 to 3 pieces). I wouldnt have bothered going to the cash desk as the money i had in chips probably wouldnt come close to the damage that was about to be caused.
    Now the 2 goons at the door would be a different story, ( im not totally silly ) I am a mad cnut but not mad enough to take on 2 toothless silverbacks that hadn't had their lunch yet. I would have calmed down and talked them into letting me leave of my own accord peacefully. However this would be to their own detriment as i would have returned from my car with the peacemaker and sorted their asses out Pale Rider style (love that film).
    Anyway your approach was good too. ( go to the fitz from now on , that sh1t dont happen) .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

I wasn't there last night and I'm not going to comment on whatever went on. I would say that the bouncers do an excellent job in general, and seem to be really nice guys, even if they do look a bit intimidating.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭BobSloane

Damo goes to town for a game of poker

• Registered Users Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

DAMO72 wrote: »
    Ive only ever played in the jackpot 1 time and finished 3rd that nite. I found the place to be a little dingy and very clicky hence i never returned there.
    Having read your post i can see how you would feel intimadated as the place has that feel about it in general. The dealer should not be acting in this manner and the club should not be encouraging their staff to heckle their customers and maybe cause a volitile situation. You done the right thing by leaving quietly as the 2 goons would probably have had a field day with you .
    I cant say that i would have reacted in the same manner and composure that you have shown here . In the first instance i would have been giving out like fuk about the bad beat all fkn night and threatening the dealer if they done that sh1t again. When the new dealer sat down and looked for a euro from everyone, my first reaction would be to tell her to fcuk off ya scabby biatch and deal the cards , i probably would have appologised shortly after that (if she was cute) and tried to talk her into a roide before the end of the night:eek: .( if she was a hag the abuse would continue until she went to the cash desk and asked for her own P45).
    As for the prick beside you , well all i can say is they wouldn't be getting any more rake out of him for the forseeable future. At that point the table would have been broken anyway (Most likely in 2 to 3 pieces). I wouldnt have bothered going to the cash desk as the money i had in chips probably wouldnt come close to the damage that was about to be caused.
    Now the 2 goons at the door would be a different story, ( im not totally silly ) I am a mad cnut but not mad enough to take on 2 toothless silverbacks that hadn't had their lunch yet. I would have calmed down and talked them into letting me leave of my own accord peacefully. However this would be to their own detriment as i would have returned from my car with the peacemaker and sorted their asses out Pale Rider style (love that film).
    Anyway your approach was good too. ( go to the fitz from now on , that sh1t dont happen) .

Damo post of the year you big tree, we must fight soon I need toughening up before cristmas at da mudders.

Jack, don't play drunk, it's a pity what happened but in the long run you'll lose all your dough.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭thejackpot

Dear Sirs

Please note that we have read this thread and will be looking into what happened this evening as soon as possible. We endeavour to ensure that all customers are treated fairly and with respect at all times.

All customer complaints are discussed by management and we will address this problem in due course and revert with a response after we have spoken to the staff who were working that shift.

Kind regards

The Jackpot

• Registered Users Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭smurph

Personally,
    I think it is ridicolous to ask a table for a euro per hand, because the rake is too small... Over the night im sure the rake would have been made up. If anyone asked me to do that I would have told them to F**k off..

Sorry but that is ridicolous...