Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Clamped for Parking in Parent & Infant Space or was he?

• 22-07-2009 06:16PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,179 ✭✭✭✭

There I was in Galway today at shopping centre X. I wont name them for fear there is going to be a court case.

I was there personally so I do not need to provide a link to the story.

Anyway, I come out to find this guy on the phone complaining to somebody and notice he is standing next to his clamped car.

He was parked in Parent & Child parking spot outside the place. He comes off the phone and spots me.

"Hey you, what does that sign say?"
    I say, "Parent & Infant"
    Back on phone "You hear that, yeah it better be 5 minutes"

He tells me the whole story of being clamped whilst clamper turns up. I know whats going on at this stage so I was damned If I was leaving. This was going to be funny.

Clamper arrives(4 letter acroynm company) and proceeds to tell the guy he wants €110 to unclamp the car. The guy is not paying saying he is entitled to park their as in the back seat in the child seat is the Infant and he is the parent. = Parent & Infant Parking.

OH NO says the clamper. Please come over here and see this and points under neath the car to where the paint over the space is. Im standing right there listening to this and looking as well.

The picture is of a stick woman and stick child. The clamper proceeds to tell the man the parking space is for women and children/infants only and not a man with infant/child and said he saw the man parking so clamped him.

Seriously WTF. The guy proceeded to argue then shout and scream to where I left at this point.

Can you seriously believe these companies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Pay fine and court case for discrimination would be my choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,829 ✭✭✭phill106

Parker was totally in the right, they are parent and child, not mother and child. Blatant sexual discrimination. I park in those spaces all the time (with my child) and god help any ignorant clamper who tries to clamp me.
    I expect to see it on joe duffy/gerry ryan/indo tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,082 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Pay fine and court case for discrimination would be my choice.

Why do they have to pay the fine? Simply by telling them that it's mother and child parking that's discrimination.

OP, I hope you gave the person your contact details for when they sue the clampers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,179 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Del2005 wrote: »
    Why do they have to pay the fine? Simply by telling them that it's mother and child parking that's discrimination.

If you do pay would you not hand over your right to appeal by agreeing to have been parked illegaly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Should have just removed the clamp himself. It's simple really ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭EasyFold

I guess that clamper finds it difficult to admit a mistake but apart from that if he can't think further than a dress and a drawing on the floor the I rest my case :D

Come on tell us where this happened :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

Maybe this is a stupid question but, I couldn't see in the OP if the guy parked there actually had a child or just had a child seat in the back? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭seclachi

If I was that guy and it was the case, I wouldnt have bothered past the 110 euro, clampers are sneaky feckers and arent gonna give up there booty that easily.

Instead I would have gone into the supermarket, demanded to see the manager, tell him the situation, and then tell him if my car wasnt unclamped immediately you`d be off to to the local paper or radio station, and the off to your lawyer. I would imagine they would be desperate to avoid stupid press anyway, and let you off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

high horse wrote: »
    Maybe this is a stupid question but, I couldn't see in the OP if the guy parked there actually had a child or just had a child seat in the back? :confused:
    Berty wrote: »
    Clamper arrives(4 letter acroynm company) and proceeds to tell the guy he wants €110 to unclamp the car. The guy is not paying saying he is entitled to park their as in the back seat in the child seat is the Infant and he is the parent. = Parent & Infant Parking.

It seems like he had the kid with him!

By the clamper's logic - if a fella turned up with a kid, he'd be allowed park in the space so long as he was wearing a dress and had long hair? :)

The driver seems to have been completely in the right, I'd say the clamper realised it too but was too stubborn to back down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,090 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Angle_Grinder.jpg

For about 50 quid, this "park anywhere" permit could be yours. You need not worry about those pesky clampers again. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

It seems like he had the kid with him!

D'oh! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Buffman

For about 50 quid, this "park anywhere" permit could be yours. You need not worry about those pesky clampers again. ;)

This is the ultimate parking solution, no plug needed!:D

dpc6410.jpg

The below is a general 'signature' and not part of any post:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Public transport user? If you're sick of phantom ghost services on the 'official' RTI sources, check bustimes.org for actual 'real' RTI, if it's on their map it actually exists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭scudster

This is class! Keep us updated Berty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭siobhank

how did the clamper know the driver was a man and not a woman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Shoulda called the guards.

unauthorised Interference with the mechanism of a motor vehicle, sec 113 road traffic act 1961.

Since he was were illegally clamped the clmaper would have been fecked...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

siobhank wrote: »

Re-read the OP's post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,426 ✭✭✭testicle

The clamper proceeds to tell the man the parking space is for women and children/infants only and not a man with infant/child and said he saw the man parking so clamped him.

I think you can tell the difference for most people by looking at them. Could be wrong of course...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,179 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I distinctly remember him lifting up the guys leg to see was it an inny or an outy! :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

I actually would of attacked the clamper - brain dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

probably gave the person a good shake, then nothing wobbled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭siobhank

oh right, because I didn't understand how the clamper clamped the car with the guy standing there?! I would have attacked him too!

obviously this is discrimination though and a good one for Joe Duffy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Is there an actual law covering the provision of parent and child spaces? I know there's one for disabled spaces and you need a sticker/permit to use them, but the parent and child ones are open to some "interpretation" as we've seen from the OP. What defines a child? Do you need to carry their birth certs in the case where a child who may look big for their age, still needs a pushchair etc?

I park in parent&child spots all the time if the car park is quiet (awaits angry mob with picthforks) but if I thought it would be treated like a disabled spot, ie with fixed fines, clamps, towing, then I wouldn't (wouldn't park in a disbaled spot on principle anyhow)...
    Anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 629 ✭✭✭cashmni1

and people wonder why there is a hatred for clampers....

Seriously though, supposing he was in a real rush or something happen at home. The company should be sued along with the supermarket for allowing suc a practice on their property. Ultimately the owner of the property is responsible for the clampers.
    Gob Sh1tes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭blossom180

the clamper saw him park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

blossom180 wrote: »
    the clamper saw him park

I got the impression that the question was meant to enquire as to whether a physical examination had taken place, or whether a masculine woman also ran the risk...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

If you do pay would you not hand over your right to appeal by agreeing to have been parked illegaly?
    By paying I'd have a receipt and proof I was illegally clamped and detained.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

By paying I'd have a receipt and proof I was illegally clamped and detained.

I would think this is the case

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

actually this reminds me of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

How the hell can it depict a stick woman? Is there boobs on it? Stick heels?

Wertz wrote: »
    Is there an actual law covering the provision of parent and child spaces? I know there's one for disabled spaces and you need a sticker/permit to use them, but the parent and child ones are open to some "interpretation" as we've seen from the OP. What defines a child? Do you need to carry their birth certs in the case where a child who may look big for their age, still needs a pushchair etc?

I park in parent&child spots all the time if the car park is quiet (awaits angry mob with picthforks) but if I thought it would be treated like a disabled spot, ie with fixed fines, clamps, towing, then I wouldn't (wouldn't park in a disbaled spot on principle anyhow)...
    Anyone know?

I often park them as well especially if I have my grandmother in the car. I always thought it was really just a normal space with no law governing them.

If I had a child or had my grandmother with me and I was clamped it would be the auld lad id ring(not the clampers) to bring me in the con saw and id make bits of it regardless of the consequences. Talk about blatant discrimination. It makes my blood boil.