Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Welcome, UCD humanist society

Options
  • 09-04-2009 3:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭

I've been talking about it for 2 years, but it is finally done.

UCD's newest student society, the humanist society, has just been approved by the societies board, and I hope it will take its place in the freshers tent next year.

IF you're interested in getting involved, PM me and we'll talk. Suggestions also most welcome. Although I'm very dedicated, I'm less than experienced in running a society.

The aims of the society will be, in short, to promote atheism, and secular humanism in particular, as an alternative to theism, and to encourage science and reason.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Sounds interesting. What kind of things would the society be doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Tom65 wrote: »
    Sounds interesting. What kind of things would the society be doing?

Lots of crazy-ass nihilist orgies I hope:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Awesome, congratulations!

The one piece of advice I'd give you as regards society running is to try and get your committeee sorted now, so you can make solid plans for freshers week and the coming year in general over the summer holidays. Having that kind of stuff sorted before you come back can make a huge difference.

Sean_K wrote: »

I'm intrigued...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I for one welcome our new, humanist overlords....

• Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo