Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do serving gardai have medicals on an ongoing basis throughout career

• 15-04-2008 4:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭

Lads is there some kind of med screening in place on an annual basis or something or is it a case of once you're in you're in?

any comments very much appreciated, kinda important...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭FGR

From what I understand is that you're only required to have a medical if you're applying for certain courses which require a standard of health/fitness (eg Driving Course, Bicycle/Motorcycle etc). That medical will last for a period of two years and will allow you to take as many courses as can be provided.

That said, however; if it is deemed by your superiors that you are unfit for duty (And with that I mean you are ill on a frequent basis/after undergoing major surgery and the like) you will again be required to undergo a full medical by the Garda Surgeon.

There are a few exceptions to the above but it tends to be the general rule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

grrrrrrrrrrrr thought so.

basicaly i failed the med in the recruitment process due to "not reaching a required standard of hearing" , something im pretty sure most of the top brass would probably fail on, granted they'd prob fail on bmi aswell

• Registered Users Posts: 5,270 ✭✭✭source

grrrrrrrrrrrr thought so.

basicaly i failed the med in the recruitment process due to "not reaching a required standard of hearing" , something im pretty sure most of the top brass would probably fail on, granted they'd prob fail on bmi aswell

Yeah you see the thing is that the brass have office jobs, where running and wrestling with criminals isn't a normal occurrence whereas the job you're applying for would involve just that. so it doesn't matter what they'd fail on it's all about you. lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭manaka

Im on the same boat itsallabouttheL. I failed the ol hearing test too. What irates me is that they don't tell you what standard they have compared to the boys across the border. They list loads of disorder and gives you an idea of what to expect. Took 2 months for the CMO to make the decision too. Is there an appeals process I wonder? I flew through everything and the medical was my biggest worry, alas I was right. :mad:
    I applied again recently and thank god that the process is half the time now. If at first you don't succeed..cheat! lol just kidding!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

In fairness lads you have to appreciate that if you have not got the standard level on application what are you going to be like in 10 or 20 years? Blind, deaf or a walking heart attack!

But dont dispair, lots of people fail first time and make a better go of it on the second or third try. If its the job you have always wanted then its worth working for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

In fairness lads you have to appreciate that if you have not got the standard level on application what are you going to be like in 10 or 20 years? Blind, deaf or a walking heart attack!

Thanks man thats nice of you :rolleyes:, my point is that you could be walking around blind deaf etc a u put it and would anyone know because ye dont seem to get any annual med check done.

Also ive a report from a specialist saying that whatever hearing loss i do have is not going to get progressively worse, and its affects cant be felt within the parameters of normal hearing.

Soo im going to appeal, and make lots of noise...........(even if i cant hear it!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Thanks man thats nice of you :rolleyes:, my point is that you could be walking around blind deaf etc a u put it and would anyone know because ye dont seem to get any annual med check done.

Also ive a report from a specialist saying that whatever hearing loss i do have is not going to get progressively worse, and its affects cant be felt within the parameters of normal hearing.

Soo im going to appeal, and make lots of noise...........(even if i cant hear it!!)

Well thats unlikely isnt it? If at 25 years of age or whatever your sight ands hearing is perfect then theres nothing to suggest its going to get worse and Im pretty sure being blind or deaf would be noticed and therefore you would be sent for a medical and declared unfit to continue.

Anyway, what your suggesting means that Gardai would have to pass every year and get sacked so there goes the one good thing in this job, a bit of security.

With applicants like you who needs an ombudsman!