boards.ie

Go Back   boards.ie > Games > Poker

Notices

Old 25-01-2008, 09:44   #1
Ste05

Send a message via MSN to Ste05
Q&A with nicnicnic

nicnicnic has agreed to do a Q&A session.

So thanks Nicky and I'll get the ball rolling with a few simple and standard Q's:

1) What games are you currently playing online? Stakes/sites?

2) How good is your bankroll management?

3) How could the poker forum be improved?

4) If you could ban one person from the forum who would it be?

5) Are you Busto?

6) Will Valor ever win a tournament?

7) Would HJ be able to sustain a good MTT record if he was so inclined.

8) What is the story with yourself and Valor, you coach him how to be a donk and he coaches you how to play Poker??

9) Tell us a story from the old days.... it doesn't have to be Poker related, it could even be how you had to walk 27 miles through broken glass to get to school with no shoes or socks everyday, or a rant about the youth of today.

Thanks again Nicky, and good luck in your "Well" as goodluck2me says "old people have loads of stories" and I'm looking to hearing a few of them.

www.irishpokerboards.com
Ste05 is offline   Reply With Quote

To remove these adverts, please create an account, or log in! You must have an account to post anyway :-)
Old 25-01-2008, 10:09   #2
Flipper

Send a message via MSN to Flipper
Fair play for doing this Nicky. We've known each other well for a good few years now so I don't think I have much to ask but here's what I can come up with:

1) What do you think of my game? What improvements could I make?

2) Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

3) What is your biggest leak?

4) What has been your biggest mistake in your poker life so far?
Flipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 10:38   #3
Ste05

Send a message via MSN to Ste05
I have another one for you actually, it's a hypothetical:

It's day 1 of the WSOP ME, and you are at the table and the tournament hasn't started yet. All the other players at the table are chatting and they decide that they are all going to push in on the first hand and the winner of the monster stack will split any winnings between them. But for some reason they don't like you and so you are not allowed to enter the deal. (even if you wanted to)

So it's your BB and they have all pushed in as per the agreement. You look down and see AA. Do you call??

www.irishpokerboards.com
Ste05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 11:27   #4
The Improver

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste05 View Post
I have another one for you actually, it's a hypothetical:

It's day 1 of the WSOP ME, and you are at the table and the tournament hasn't started yet. All the other players at the table are chatting and they decide that they are all going to push in on the first hand and the winner of the monster stack will split any winnings between them. But for some reason they don't like you and so you are not allowed to enter the deal. (even if you wanted to)

So it's your BB and they have all pushed in as per the agreement. You look down and see AA. Do you call??
LoL very good.
The Improver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 11:33   #5
jackyback

Should be an interesting Q&A Nic,

1. Who's game do you most admire in ireland both cash & tourney
2. Do you play PLO if so how good are you or are you still learning
3. How have you found adjusting from the 9-5 grind to turning a full time poker pro
4. Whats the biggest pot won/lost
5. Whats your VPIP playing STT's
6. Do you have any long term goals outside of poker you want to achieve

Good luck
Old 25-01-2008, 11:35   #6
ditpoker

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicnicnic
in the early stages of a long structured tournament 78 suited has more value than AA
i like this, care to elaborate?
whats your range in the early stages of tournaments?
can you give a thought on early, middle and late stages of tourneys?

and for fun, lets say you win approx €100,000 in 2007 at some tournament, whats the first thing you buy!?!?!!?
ditpoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 12:03   #7
CaptainNemo

• How do you keep your patience and discipline on the tournament circuit in the face of all the terrible play / suckouts / unfair results?
  • Similar to above, how do you control tilt?
  • How do you play in the early stages of a tournament with a decent structure - loose and aggressive and trying to build a big stack, or supertight and patient? Or does it depend on the table?
  • Why tournaments?
  • Do you like being a professional poker player or would you quit if you made a certain amount of money, and how much would that have to be?

Thanks in advance for the answers and thanks for doing this.
Old 25-01-2008, 12:05   #8
con_leche

1. What was your best moment in poker?

2. Do you think any of the Irish on-line specialists, e.g. R4AD, Green_Rizzla, AllInStevie, can book a big live score this year?

3. Most underrated player?
con_leche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 12:13   #9
Flushdraw

Hi Nicky...couple of questions for you

1. How many tables do you play at a time when playing STTs and are they all the same buyin?

2. Around bubble time, do you consciously try to make it into the money by playing solid, or will you still take chances/flips and make moves in order to build a bigger stack?

3. Whats the longest winning streak you've had in STTs?

4. If you could look into the future and you saw that if you stopped playing STTs and MTTs and played cash games exclusively , you'd make 10% more in your lifetime from poker, would you make the change?

5. Whats your poker expectation from 2008?

Cheers Nicky and good luck
Flushdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 12:21   #10
Ollieboy

Hi Nicky,

Do you think you can support a family and make a long term living from playing poker?

Whats your plans for the future as a poker player?

Do you set yourself a monthly, yearly target?

Do you count rake in your profit/loss for the year?

Whats your high point in Poker?

Whats your low point in Poker?

Who's your favourite Irish Pro Player and why?

Describe your style?

Whats the most important skills required for MTT online?

Whats the most important skills required for MTT Live?

Gl with this.
Old 25-01-2008, 12:22   #11
Taxipete29

1, What would you say has been the biggest help to you in developing your game over the years e.g books, forums or just playing alot??

2, Do you ever think that you would make the switch to becoming a predominantly cash player or do you just prefer tourneys?

3, At what point during your playing time did you feel you were good enough to turn pro?

4, If someone felt that in time they had the skills to turn pro, playing mostly tourneys, would you have any advice for them?

Thank you in advance.
Taxipete29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 12:49   #12
nicnicnic

right I'll have a start on these. Its the first time I've seen daylight in over two weeks Boogeyman rang me at 11.18 i misread my clock/phone as 16.18 and jumped up as I'm playing in cork tonight. As it was after 8 when I went to bed dont expect the answers to be to coherent

i apologize now for all my spelling and grammatical errors that will follow in the tread

http://nicnicnicnic.blogspot.com/ http://twitter.com/_NickyPower_

Last edited by nicnicnic; 25-01-2008 at 12:53.
nicnicnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 12:58   #13
jbravado

Send a message via MSN to jbravado
First of all nicicnic thanks a million for doing this.
We have played together once in a lively cash game In Waterford fwiw.Gentleman.

Anywho q.

Have you ever wished that you never started playing poker?

What do you think you would be doing if you hadnt?

Do you have a mortgage/ property? It always amazes me amount of poker players who have all this loot but no real possesions or assets.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years-pokerwise?

Updated 30th/Mar/2009.
jbravado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 13:04   #14
strewelpeter

Thanks for doing this Nicky.
I still think the funniest thing I ever saw at a poker table was a couple of years ago was out in citywest with you acting about five times drunker than you actually were and putting this English 'pro' on monkey tilt and him calling for a ruling on you for playing with a dirty stack, he got the ruling after which your stack kept getting accidentally knocked over, You probably had to be there but I still laugh every time I think of it and I see you putting on your cheeky monkey face and yer man turning redder than a tomato.

Anyway a couple of questions to start off:
In a large buy in Tourney are you willing to take a race for all your chips in the early levels?
What do you think of the proposition that even for very well bankrolled pros regularly playing $5000 + events that the only way to level the variance is to satellite into them?
You can hide behind a veneer of politeness, behind artificial walls of procedure and chain of command. What that leads you towards is the worst type of corporate feel, the most stinted and inflexible type of discussion ...
Mostly, I'm just disappointed at this whole sorry business.

where all the cool kids hang out
strewelpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 13:21   #15
bops

good morning nicholas and gl with this

you played a small 50 quid tourney last night, from the 32 runners, at a guess, how many of them knew the basic fundamentals of NLHE?

where did you finish?

you then choose to play snooker for $$$ against an unknown opponent, how did that fair out?

you then turned your attention to a cash game, from the 10 players at the table, how many of them knew the basics of NLHE?

3 limpers to you in the cutoff and you look down at 9c2s, you forget yourself for a minute and think you're playin blackjack, or you remember reading something about position and you raise it to 11 and get 3 callers

Flop comes Js 8h 3s (pot 47)

The 3 callers check to you and you bet 25

Fold Fold and the final player anounces allin for 48 ie 23 more

what do you do and why??

What was the end result in the cash game?

a) get felted in some riduculous hand and leave? or
b) trebble up in one/two riduculous hands and leave? or
c) the 1st part of b) followed by a)?

And finally, my mini-challange starts today, do you think i will be playing in the IO this year? are you playing?

cya later in cork buddy

bops!

bops is offline   Reply With Quote
  boards.ie > Games > Poker Top