Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where are the good IT guys?

Options
  • 07-10-2007 11:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭

Hi there,

Been struggling in the past months to find good IT guys for different projects.
    I had to end up with people from UK.

You would probably answer me that the good IT guys are probably very busy working and are not on the market, fair enough, but I have been seeking for the last 3 months and all I found (Even with the help of the main agencies in Dublin) is a bunch of chancers, making their resumes up, not willing to travel (Irish ones only, which I found weird, non national had no problem to travel).

Several of my customers have the same problem as well.

I am usually looking for senior people with large scale experience, but I found it impossible to find people who have worked in environments with more than 5 servers and 50 desktops.
    Fair enough this is the majority of the Irish businesses, but there are so many Irish people who traveled in the US, Australia etc...and I was expecting a bit more.

Anyway all the people I have met are very poor technically (Even when they got 2 MCSE), are not willing to travel, etc...

Comments

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,359 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

It depends on what your actual spec and salary is. I'm coming from an environment of 25,000+ workstations in a forest of 250,000 and I don't know how many servers but I wouldn't be considered as senior. I reckon that's fairly common at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭mick.fr

feylya wrote: