Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCN Links & Resources

• Registered Users Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭m_stan

www.provideforswords.com - a blog site setup to inform people of the rezoning and development of lands beside Castleview and Bunbury Gate housing estates in Swords. Very few people know what's happening here, and people need to be informed so they can help ensure the necessary resources are put in place before the developer gets permission to build thousands of houses.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Link from fingalcoco.ie as above but I thought I'd link if seperate

http://www.fingalcoco.ie/LivingInFingal/Planning/PlanningSearch/

Search all the planning applications and associated documentation of your neighbourhood, some decent aerial photos too.

Balbriggan, Balscadden and Balrothery Parish www.balbrigganparish.net

Balbriggan & District Historical Society www.balbrigganhistory.net

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭aniascor

• Registered Users Posts: 32 Daisymay2007

www.neighbours.ie

Check it out, its alright. Still a bit slow to take off but each estate has its own section :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Latest train timetable courtesy of gillo.

See here.

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭mortimer33

http://swordstown.com
    Contans News, Links etc for Swords.

Right folks, I thought we could have a sticky with any annoucements/events that ye think the users of the forum might be interested in.

Stuff like charity events, town/estate meetings, festivals etc.

Please don't use this thread to make a profit. If you want to advertise on boards.ie you can pay for it.

Also, can we try and keep the chat to a minimum in order to keep the announcements clear and easy to read. If you want to discuss a certain event feel free to start a new thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Does anyone have any info on this years Balbriggan Arts Festival - or has its been cancelled/postponed????

As far as I know the festival won't be happening this year.

There's a free Kid's halloween party happening in Balbriggan library tomorrow from 2pm.

There'll be face-painting, treats and prizes for best dressed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭cailinoBAC

Robert Laird and Sarah Brookes plan to climb Mount Kilimanjaro, the highest mountain in Africa, in aid of Bothar, in February. They are paying their own costs and all funds raised will go directly to Bothar. See www.bothar.org for information on the work of Bothar, an Irish charity, throughout the developing world.

A table quiz is being held in the Bus Bar, Skerries on 28th November in aid of this event. Tables of four, €40 a table. Starts at 8.30pm.

From the 'Celebrate Festival' brochure:
    Women of Multi-culture Balbriggan (WOMB) are celebrating their first year anniversary with the ‘Taste of Nations’ food fair. Everyone is invited to sample foods from around the world as well as admire traditional clothes in the fashion show. There will also be a talent competition and entertainment from various performers, including the newly formed Balbriggan Gospel Choir. There will be a supervised children’s corner. This event also took place last year and was a huge success with everyone enjoying the fun and ‘craic’ from around the world. This year it will be even better!

Entry Fee: None Balbriggan Town Hall: 12-5pm

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cathy01

COPING WITH STRESSCourse
    This is open to anyone careing for a person with a disability.It could be your son/daughter/husband/wife/mother/father etc etc
    There is NO COST, which is great

Living in Balbriggan, Lusk/Rush areas

1.5 hours fortnightly.

No cost
    Balbriggan Liebrary

Contact Tina/Fiona @ 8413444

This course designed help you look after yourself and identifey your needs.

Its where you can have a rest.

Boys for Fathers Parenting module

Raising Boys for Fathers- Link with Suicide Prevention:
    The Raising Boys for Father course that is one of the ten initiatives in RehabCares the suicide prevention project. This course has been developed by the North Western Area HSE area Health Promotion Department and has been successfully delivered in that region for the past few years.

The reason RehabCare are implementing this course is due to the fact that recent research has found that:
    Early father involvement with a child is associated with continuing involvement.
    Father involvement is associated with good parent child relationships in adolescence.
    Children with involved fathers are less likely to be in trouble with the police.
    Father involvement is strongly related to children's later educational attainment.

More specifically:
    Father involvement protects children in separated families against later mental health problems
    Father involvement can protect against low levels of wellbeing even when maternal involvement and risk factors were accounted for. Results showed that although both father and mothers involvement contributed significantly and independently to offspring happiness, fathers involvement had a stronger effect.
    A study reported on in Crisis investigated the protective role of parental involvement in adolescent suicide. Results show that the adolescents who had attempted suicide were more likely to have been in trouble with the police, report low levels of parental interest and academic motivation, report suicidal ideation and use alcohol and illegal drugs when stressed. As seen from the above research, parental involvement has an affect on all of the listed characteristics.

It must also be noted that the above characteristics do not predict suicide, but have been shown to be associated with suicide. One of the many protective factors against suicide is the presence of a supportive caring adult in a young persons life. As RehabCare are taking a mental health promotion approach to suicide prevention, in that risk and protective factors associated with suicide are being addressed, this course fits well with the RehabCare suicide prevention project. It produces beneficial effects for both father and son by enhancing the relationship, sense of belonging and communication skills between father and son.

What is Raising Boys for Fathers?
    Raising Boys for Fathers is a two evening training course for fathers. It was developed in recognition of the fact that fathers were not attending generic parenting programmes. As a result the course, was developed specifically to address the needs of Irish fathers.

The course consists of two evening session. Each session lasts two hours. A breakdown of content of the Raising Boys for Fathers course is outlined below

Session Activity Aim
    Evening 1 Welcome and Introductions To remind fathers of their importance to their sons.
    How has boyhood changed over the last 20 years? To get fathers to think about boyhood in general and to break the ice in the group.
    What are your concerns for boys? To bring the fathers attention to the present, to get fathers to start to share their concerns about boys and make the discussion more personal.
    Input on statistics about boys To inform fathers about recent research about boys and young mens lives.
    What do Dads do? To get fathers to think about the roles and activities of a father.
    Me and my boys To give the fathers a chance to look at what they do with their sons. It gives fathers the opportunity to look more honestly at their fathering.
    Homework: Questions about my Dad. To make the link between the evenings activities and their lives at home and to get them to listen to their sons about themselves as fathers.
    Final round To give fathers a chance to say what they thought of the evening.
    Evening 2 Welcome Feedback from last week.
    Review of homework To let fathers talk about how they got on with the homework.
    Boys becoming men To offer one way of understanding what is happening for boys as they grow into men.
    Helpful hints To offer fathers hints that they can do to build and maintain close relationships and be of use to their sons as they grow up.
    Final round For fathers to set a goal for themselves and to get a chance to review their experience of the two evening.

Link to Reach Out National Strategy for Action on Suicide Prevention.
    This Raising Boys for Fathers course fits with the national strategy for suicide prevention by meeting the following action areas:

Level B: Targeted Approach
    Acton Area: Young Men.
    Objective: To develop services and initiatives that will help young men to cope with changing roles in society and involve them in the development of policy and services that affect them.

Level A: General Population
    Action Area: The Family
    Objective: To improve support for all families in Irish society, especially those socially excluded and those in crisis.

TO BOOK A PLACE ON THIS RING TINA/FIONA at the North Fingal FADE ciloffice@ 8413444

Just some info for yous.
    There is the North Fingal adhd/add parent and Adult support Group.www.adhd.ie
    The North Fingal Autism and Aspergers Support Group.
    The REMEMBER US.
    for more information on either of these contac tTian or Fiona @ 8413444
    All are located in Balbriggan.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,748 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

The AGM of the Hills & District Residents' Association will take place on Thursday 10th January at 8:30pm in The Hills Cricket Club.

The Skerries Community Alert committee has recently set up a website for members, but may contain information useful to all.

http://skerriescommunityalert.com/

FYI - This site is still a work-in-progress.

GREEN HOMES MEETING on WED 16TH JAN, from 8.30-10pm

LITTLE THEATRE, SKERRIES.

As part of An Taisce’s Environmental Programme called Green Home, this is a free information seminar. The topics covered on the night will be: REDUCING ENERGY USE.

RENEWABLE ENERGY TECHNOLOGIES -Solar Panel’s, Wood pellet stoves/boilers and heat pumps

GREENER HOMES GRANTS and how to avail of them.

Everyone Welcome . You can register with www.greenhome.ie

Coffee Morning in Balbriggan Library next Wednesday 23rd January at 11am.

The library is celebrating its first anniversay next week and the coffee morning is just one of the events that will be happening. I'll post the rest when I have confirmed the details.

http://balbrigganparents.activeboard.com/

does as it says, its a nice friendly forum.No badness and the people are very helpful.
    cathy

Here's the full list of events happening in the library this week.

The New Balbriggan Library
    First Anniversary Celebrations
    Programme of Events
    Monday 21st-Saturday 26th January 2008

As the new library opened on 20th January 2007 we will be celebrating our first anniversary with a week of activities-
    We hope you can join us!

Author Visit
    Best-selling Children’s Author Joe O’Brien will entertain an invited school audience on Tuesday 22nd January at 11.00am

Coffee Morning
    Join us for a tea or coffee and a slice of homemade cake!-our way of saying thank you for all your support during our first year!
    Wednesday 23rd January 11.00am

Colouring Competition and Face Painting

A Colouring Competition for children of all ages - we want you to design and colour a birthday themed bookmark. There will also be free face painting for all the children who attend
    Thursday 24th January 5.00pm

Saint Brigid’s Pagan Fire
    A talk, with slide show, on the history and traditions associated with Saint Brigid and her connection with the Celtic Spring festival of Imbolg. Guest Speaker Seán Gilmartin.
    Interspersed with poems from the early Celtic period, read in translation by well-known poet and performer Máighréad Medbh. All are Welcome!
    Wednesday 23rd January at 7pm

Chess Display with Irish Chess Champion

Stephen Brady “FM” 6 Times Irish Chess Champion will compete against numerous opponents of all ages at the same time. All are Welcome to come along and play or watch.
    Thursday 24th January 6.30pm

The Balbriggan Creative Writers’ Group
    has produced a pamphlet featuring new work by current members. Copies of this new pamphlet will be available free to all library users during our anniversary week

“The Other Side of the Coin”
    An exhibition of contemporary art by local artist Ciara Grant. This exhibition will be officially launched on Wednesday 16th January by Trevor Sargent, Minister of State for Food and Horticulture

15-18 Film Club
    The film club for 15-18 year olds continues its trawl of film history with a classic film from the sixties: 2001: A Space Odyssey. All 15-18 year-olds (or thereabouts) welcome.
    Saturday 26th 1.30pm.

“A Day in the Life”
    An exhibition of photographs featuring just some of the many events and activities that took place in the new library during its first year.

All Library Events are Free
    For more information on any event
    please contact the library
    Tel: 8704401
    Email: Balbrigganlibrary@fingalcoco.ie

ANGEL CLASSES

STARTING MONDAY 25 FEB IN SKERRIES.

CLASSES WILL START FROM 7.30 UNTILL 9.30.EACH WEEK.

ALL ARE WELCOME TO JOIN .

LEARN TO WORK WITH YOUR ANGELS AND GUIDES.
    LEARN `TO READ THE ANGEL CARDS.

USING GUIDED MEDITATION IN A SAFE RELAXED WAY YOU WILL LEARN HOW TO MEET YOUR OWN GUARDIAN ANGELS AND BE MORE AWARE OF THE ANGELS IN YOUR DAILY LIFE, AT WORK REST AND PLAY. WE ALL HAVE A PURPOSE IN LIFE HELP YOURSELF TO MOVE FORWARD ON THIS JOURNEY WITH YOUR ANGELS.

For more info phone Josie @ 0877759747

FYI - The St Patrick's Day Parade in Skerries is on Monday at 3:00.

The North Fingal ADD/ADHD Parent and Adult Support Group are hosting a information evening.
    Quest Speaker is Dr Ann Prosser, clinical Educational Psychologist.

Dr Prosser will discuss the area of Adults with ADD/ADHD

Monday 14 April,

Bracken Court Hotel.Balbriggan,Co.Dublin

7.30-9.00

Cost €10 payable at the door.To include copy of the adults guide to ADD/ADHD.

Booking essential.

Please ring 8413444
    or e-mail adhdinfade@eircom.net

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 drjenbren

The Fingal Chamber Choir, with Helen Smith, soprano, David Bremner, organ and the Fingal String Quartet, will perform "Music for a Summer's Evening" on 23rd May in Swords at 8pm. The venue is the Swords Church of Ireland Church on Swords Street (take turn off Main Street at Eddie Rockets and then next right, church is on left past the Lord Mayor's car park).

Programme includes Haydn's "Little Organ Mass", Mozart's Laudate Dominum and many other choral favourites. Tickets are €15 on the door or phone 087 2909536

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭swordsinfo

Hey try out www.swordslife.com

Its a new site I launched for the people in the swords area. Hope it helps people find info!

if anyone has any feedback I would be really interested

www.swordslife.com

THanks
    B

Feedback...is it a FFwebsite.
    Cathy

cathy01 wrote: »
    Feedback...is it a FFwebsite.
    Cathy
    How do you know that? It has a strong FF flavour, but it also has articles sourced from Labour, Socialist Party, local residents, etc.

No not at all - just that currently most of the news feeds are coming from local councillors. Am trying to get in contact with local residence associations for some news a little closer to home. Is it a little bit one sided?? Dont want it to come across that way at all maybe I will try limit the news feeds from a particular source ?? Any thoughts?