Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Science

• 23-08-2006 10:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭

Whats TCD Science like for 1st 2nd 3rd and 4th year, whats the workload like, I know they accept around 270 people, so there could be 100 people per class??
    What's the hours like each of the 4 years, whats the workload like and what times do ye finish?

Whats Biology, Physics and Geography/Geology like in first year?
    Whats Biology, Physics, Geology like in 2nd year?
    Whats Physics like for 3rd and 4th years?

Don't give links to the website or prospectus as I ave read them 1000 times.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Dave Larkin

What I'm wondering about Science is which subjects I should pick to begin with. Firstly, I considered Math Methods plus Biology, Chemistry and Physics. However, I'm now thinking about taking Mathematics as a full subject along with Biology and Chemistry, as I believe they are the subjects I'll need to specialise in what I want to do.

From the experience of people on the boards who have done or are doing Science in TCD, how did you find each subject individually?

I would really appreciate any advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

what do you want to specialise in?

I'll probably specialise in something like Microbiology, Neuroscience, Physiology, Biochemistry, Genetics.

With those, I'm sure the obvious choice is Biology and Chemistry, but what about the Mathematics? It's always an advantage to have, I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

You have to do Biology and Chemistry for all of those subjects IIRC. The classic subject choice in first year for all those people wanting to go into those areas is either maths, bio and and chemistry (which I did) and maths methods, geography, bio and chemistry. I'd go with the full maths because as you said it's an advantage to have. A lot of people seem to be afraid of maths once they get to college, I only got a C in honours maths in the leaving but my top mark in first year was in maths, the course is quite easy and well taught.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Whats Biology, Physics and Geography/Geology like in first year?
    Whats Biology, Physics, Geology like in 2nd year?
    Whats Physics like for 3rd and 4th years?
    If you have read the prospectus/other information then you'd know you can't do physics in 2nd year without doing maths as a full subject. And you can't do maths in 2nd year unless you did it in 1st year. So if you're not going to specialise in a biology subject it's advisable not to do biology.

1st and 2nd year science, if you do maths as a full subject (no labs so less hours) is about 25-30 hours a week. The workload in 1st year is fine, especially if you've done the subjects for the leaving cert. 2nd year it gets quite a bit heavier. And if you specialise in physics/astrophysics (they're practically the same) it gets absolutely ridiculous in 3rd year. I'm going into final year physics and the general consensus I've heard is that 3rd year has the more heavy workload but you're under more stress in final year.

As Neitch says, reaed the threads listed under science here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054901993
    A lot of useful info there I believe, might answer some of your questions.
    What I'm wondering about Science is which subjects I should pick to begin with. Firstly, I considered Math Methods plus Biology, Chemistry and Physics. However, I'm now thinking about taking Mathematics as a full subject along with Biology and Chemistry, as I believe they are the subjects I'll need to specialise in what I want to do.

From the experience of people on the boards who have done or are doing Science in TCD, how did you find each subject individually?

I would really appreciate any advice.
    I'd advise taking maths as a full subject. It's just handier and more useful for you. It's a subject with no labs and is fairly handy. Do you like calculus? Cos that's 80% of it. But if you don't like LC maths then don't take it.
    If you're going into one of the "harder" biologys (genetics, neurosci etc.) though it would definitely be an advantage

Thanks for all your help, lads.

I'll probably be going for Maths, Biology and Chemistry now. I haven't actually done Chemistry since Junior Cert, but I will do a bit of work on it over the next month to hone my skills. I believe there's a one week course for Chem in TCD from September 25th, so I'll attend that.

Again, I appreciate all the advice.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,234 Mod ✭✭✭✭Edwardius

it's nearly an advantage not to have done chemistry for the leavin'. That way you don't sit in the first few weeks of lectures thinkin' "this is easy", slack off and fail the year (i did in 1st year!).

Dead Ed wrote:
    it's nearly an advantage not to have done chemistry for the leavin'. That way you don't sit in the first few weeks of lectures thinkin' "this is easy", slack off and fail the year (i did in 1st year!).
    Yes and our friend too, A in a-level chemistry (he's a narthener), has never passed a college chemistry exam.
    1st year, fail (pass by compensation), 2nd year annuals: fail, 2nd year resits: fail. Botany dept go "ah its grand come over to us, we dont need chemistry ;).

Then our other mate who didnt do chem for the leaving cert and reckoned he'd give it up in 2nd year. Just started a PhD in chemistry...

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Yes and our friend too, A in a-level chemistry (he's a narthener), has never passed a college chemistry exam.
    1st year, fail (pass by compensation), 2nd year annuals: fail, 2nd year resits: fail. Botany dept go "ah its grand come over to us, we dont need chemistry ;).
    The ****. If you're reading this, you're a ****! Suppose he didn't need it, I reserved the right to be bitter about it though!
    ApeXaviour wrote:
    Then our other mate who didnt do chem for the leaving cert and reckoned he'd give it up in 2nd year. Just started a PhD in chemistry...
    Who?

Dead Ed wrote:
    The ****. If you're reading this, you're a ****!
    Ah he's a lovely man. You're just jealous cos he channels the hate better than you recently ;)
    Dead Ed wrote:
    Who?
    Em.. Joe of course

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Ah he's a lovely man. You're just jealous cos he channels the hate better than you recently ;)
    Nah, he got a better place to stash the bodies!
    ApeXaviour wrote:
    Em.. Joe of course
    Oh right, shit. Didn't know he didn't do chemistry. Learn somethin new everyday, no matter how useless it may be!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Dead Ed wrote:
    I did the exact same in JF Attempt One, AND I failed it again in JF Attempt Two. And I'll fail the supplementals too, because I'm just that jaysus mad.

(Actually because I'm horridly lazy and hate any sort of work, but whatever.)

Right, so not having done Chemistry for the Leaving will make me more pro-active in my work for first year. Good stuff. I'll keep that in mind. :D

Pet wrote:
    I did the exact same in JF Attempt One, AND I failed it again in JF Attempt Two. And I'll fail the supplementals too, because I'm just that jaysus mad.

(Actually because I'm horridly lazy and hate any sort of work, but whatever.)
    For **** sake ronan... DO SOME ****ING STUDY!!! 1st year chem is a piece of pooh. Do actually want to actually drop out because of that stupid bloody subject???

Jazus, you're a bright one. Stop moping/playing with yourself and do some damn work. It's not that bloody difficult. You got what? two weeks now? Just do some eight hour days, drink yourself sideways at the weekend and start again. If you do fail at least you'll have bloody tried. Otherwise give up and get bitter at the fact that people who you slagged off for dropping out of school at 13 are earning more cash than you are (they will be) and cry into your pint.

And I'm sure if you need a hand one of us would be more than capable of pointing you in the right direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 bombus

Science is a good course, it's bit of a head wrecker in the middle bit because it can get quite demanding, especially if you odn't manage your time right. you'll be grand. unless you're stupid, cos if you are, you're ****ed.

Pet wrote:
    And I'll fail the supplementals too, because I'm just that jaysus mad.
    Pet banned until supplementals are over. If you're reading it means go study now or I'll send the deathsquads.

lol, see what happens when you don't study?

What happened to the rant/non rant threads? Is this something to do with Ronan's banning. Weeeellll far be it for me to kick a man when he can't defend himself..... the smelly grumpy hippy.. KICK. Another incentive to study would be a sock full of snooker balls so just remember that the next time you start prattling round on the drums!

Big threads may be bad for database, so they've been temporarily deleted. Might be back soon.