Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NTL Problem!

• 30-09-2004 9:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭

I have the NTL 1.5MB broadband connection but I've been getting high pings every night lately could anyone who has NTL broadband do a tracert and ping test to www.jolt.co.uk please. Also could you take a note of the time. Thanks here's my results

C:\Documents and Settings\Michael Farrell>tracert www.jolt.co.uk

Tracing route to clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 33 ms 63 ms 28 ms 10.135.31.254
    2 10 ms 9 ms 10 ms host82-9-146-5.not-set-yet.ntli.net [82.9.146.5
    3 49 ms 41 ms 10 ms dub-core-a-pos1100.inet.ntl.com [62.254.96.137]
    4 30 ms 12 ms 11 ms man-bb-a-atm010-226.inet.ntl.com [62.253.188.82
    5 28 ms 16 ms 65 ms man-bb-b-ae0-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.187.178]
    6 18 ms 19 ms 20 ms win-bb-a-so-300-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.138]
    7 167 ms 158 ms 120 ms gfd-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.130
    8 142 ms 109 ms 120 ms tele-ic-2-so-100-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.74]
    9 129 ms 140 ms 148 ms lon1-10.nildram.net [213.208.106.169]
    10 86 ms 95 ms 103 ms lon1-9.nildram.net [195.149.20.130]
    11 123 ms 144 ms 195 ms jolt-gw.nildram.net [195.149.20.126]
    12 144 ms 145 ms 146 ms clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\Michael Farrell>ping www.jolt.co.uk

Pinging clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=100ms TTL=53
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=99ms TTL=53
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=117ms TTL=53
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=125ms TTL=53

Ping statistics for 195.149.21.11:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 99ms, Maximum = 125ms, Average = 110ms

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 4,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭nava

Hi

I'm on the 750 package, the ping and tracert were done at 23:35 pm Thursday

you can check your speed on http://www.pcpitstop.com/

Just tested with the results:

Download speed: 696 kilobits per second
    Upload speed: 126 kilobits per second

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\computer>ping www.jolt.co.uk

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=109ms TTL=52
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=107ms TTL=52
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=118ms TTL=52
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=132ms TTL=52

Minimum = 107ms, Maximum = 132ms, Average = 116ms

C:\Documents and Settings\computer>tracert www.jolt.co.uk

1 3 ms 2 ms 3 ms 192.168.2.1
    2 15 ms 10 ms 11 ms 10.135.55.254
    3 12 ms 13 ms 11 ms host82-9-146-9.not-set-yet.ntli.net [82.9.146.9]

4 14 ms 14 ms 11 ms dub-core-a-pos1100.inet.ntl.com [62.254.96.137]

5 21 ms 16 ms 17 ms man-bb-a-atm010-226.inet.ntl.com [62.253.188.82]

6 20 ms 17 ms 16 ms man-bb-b-ae0-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.187.178]
    7 22 ms 29 ms 23 ms win-bb-a-so-300-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.138]

8 77 ms 25 ms 28 ms gfd-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.130]

9 39 ms 31 ms 34 ms tele-ic-2-so-100-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.74]

10 27 ms 33 ms 50 ms lon1-10.nildram.net [213.208.106.169]
    11 132 ms 122 ms 106 ms lon1-9.nildram.net [195.149.20.130]
    12 30 ms 28 ms 30 ms jolt-gw.nildram.net [195.149.20.126]
    13 108 ms 99 ms 105 ms clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]

Trace complete.

Regards
    Nava

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

C:\>tracert www.jolt.co.uk

1 4 ms 1 ms <1 ms (none) [192.168.1.1]
    2 10 ms 7 ms 15 ms 10.135.47.254
    3 9 ms 11 ms 12 ms host82-9-146-9.not-set-yet.ntli.net [82.9.146.9]

4 10 ms 13 ms 9 ms dub-core-a-pos1100.inet.ntl.com [62.254.96.137]

5 23 ms 25 ms 22 ms man-bb-a-atm010-230.inet.ntl.com [62.253.188.78]

6 24 ms 40 ms 21 ms man-bb-b-ae0-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.187.178]
    7 23 ms 53 ms 23 ms win-bb-a-so-300-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.138]

8 30 ms 38 ms 26 ms gfd-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.130]

9 26 ms 26 ms 25 ms tele-ic-2-so-100-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.74]

10 82 ms 32 ms 36 ms lon1-10.nildram.net [213.208.106.169]
    11 109 ms 95 ms 76 ms lon1-9.nildram.net [195.149.20.130]
    12 25 ms 65 ms 25 ms jolt-gw.nildram.net [195.149.20.126]
    13 38 ms 84 ms 30 ms clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]

Trace complete.

C:\>ping www.jolt.co.uk

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=52
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=144ms TTL=52
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=158ms TTL=52
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=136ms TTL=52

Minimum = 113ms, Maximum = 158ms, Average = 137ms

On 750 package

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

On 1.5
    Thursday 11:55PM

Looking at my pings are much better than all of yours and tracert is 1 less hop..

1 16 ms <10 ms <10 ms 10.135.7.254

2 <10 ms 16 ms <10 ms host82-9-146-5.not-set-yet.ntli.net [82.9.146.5]

3 <10 ms 15 ms <10 ms dub-core-a-pos1100.inet.ntl.com [62.254.96.137]

4 47 ms 15 ms 31 ms man-bb-a-atm010-224.inet.ntl.com [62.253.187.50]

5 <10 ms 16 ms 15 ms man-bb-b-ae0-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.187.178]

6 15 ms 31 ms 32 ms win-bb-a-so-300-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.138]

7 16 ms 16 ms 31 ms gfd-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.130]

8 15 ms 32 ms 15 ms tele-ic-2-so-100-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.74]

9 16 ms 16 ms 31 ms lon1-10.nildram.net [213.208.106.169]

10 16 ms 15 ms 31 ms lon1-9.nildram.net [195.149.20.130]

11 16 ms 16 ms 31 ms jolt-gw.nildram.net [195.149.20.126]

12 16 ms 31 ms 47 ms clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]

Trace complete.

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=53

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=53

Minimum = 15ms, Maximum = 16ms, Average = 15ms

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Also here is the url for the NTL speed test
    http://homepage.ntlworld.com/robin.d.h.walker/speedtest.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭MickFarr

Thanks everyone for the replies. Here another test I ran this morning at 9:40

1 7 ms 7 ms 81 ms 10.135.31.254
    2 9 ms 7 ms 8 ms host82-9-146-5.not-set-yet.ntli.net [82.9.146.5]
    3 7 ms 7 ms 11 ms dub-core-a-pos1100.inet.ntl.com [62.254.96.137]
    4 8 ms 10 ms 10 ms dub-core-b-fa000.inet.ntl.com [62.254.96.2]
    5 13 ms 14 ms 14 ms lee-bb-b-atm010-225.inet.ntl.com [62.253.187.54]
    6 13 ms 16 ms 17 ms lee-bb-a-ae0-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.187.185]
    7 17 ms 19 ms 16 ms nth-bb-b-so-000-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.101]
    8 18 ms 19 ms 24 ms pop-bb-a-so-100-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.14]
    9 20 ms 19 ms 34 ms tele-ic-2-so-000-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.86]
    10 17 ms 18 ms 19 ms lon1-10.nildram.net [213.208.106.169]
    11 20 ms 19 ms 23 ms lon1-9.nildram.net [195.149.20.130]
    12 20 ms 18 ms 18 ms jolt-gw.nildram.net [195.149.20.126]
    13 19 ms 22 ms 20 ms clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]

Trace complete.

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=20ms TTL=53
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=53
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=53

Minimum = 19ms, Maximum = 21ms, Average = 20ms

As you can see there is a big difference running this is the morning. I have never had this problem before. I will run the same test later again to test. Its giving me alot of lag playing online ! :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Lenny wrote:
    Looking at my pings are much better than all of yours and tracert is 1 less hop..
    That's cos myself and nava are using internal routers which gives us one extra hop, which doesn't really make a difference to our overall speed (<1ms pings) :)

Ahh I see now,
    I'll run another test later aswell about 6 or so to see if it peaks up..

Lenny wrote:
    Ahh I see now,
    I'll run another test later aswell about 6 or so to see if it peaks up..

Cheers Lenny,

My pings where fine from about 10:30 onwards. Here's some screen shots showing the ping times to different places around the world the Bad Ping screenshot was taken at 21:37 last night and the Good Pings at 9:15 this morning just before heading to work :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 sEAMy^

Just thought I'd make others aware of my recent problems so as they don't make the same mistake as me and go with NTL.

I am currently on the 1.5mb Broadband Max connection,been on it now for nearly 4 months I'd say.Everything was fine last 3 months the occasional slow down but thats allowed I suppose,but in the last 2 weeks speeds I have been getting are absolutely terrible to say the least.I have been running lots of different speed tests from uk servers and also purchased one highly recommended one,what I should be getting is 1500kbps 254 upstream as advertised or near enough,what I have been getting last 2 weeks is 350 kbps 111 upstream average,sometimes as low as 250kbps 85 upstream.I finish work at 5 everday probably not on pc till after 6 but this is the speed im getting from thern till late at night when I switch pc off.

I pay 50 euro a month for this service and what has annoyed me more is the reply I got from cable modem support.I won't mention any names beacause I don't want to get anyone in trouble but the atitude I got from him was because he was getting a decent ping from NTL to my pc that the problem was simply "internet traffic" and should clear.I left it for a day and problem was still the same he then ran a few more tests and said he didnt know what else he could do,what he said was no one else from your area has rang and complained about the speeds,which by the way is the Tallaght area.I asked is there anymore we can try beacouse I use the internet for work and gaming etc,he said no he had tried everything and again went on with the whole "no one else has complained so there cant be something wrong with yours" making me more and more feel like he didnt believe me or something.I then explained that I was about to cancel and switch over to Irish Broadband,he gave little to no response to this and said well there was nothing he could do,never once offering to end somebody out to at least attempt to find what problem was,so I was civl and hung up.

I am currently still with NTL 3 weeks on and have been given some one elses name to deal with,but yet when I ring im left on for 30 mins or more and end up hanging up.This thread is solely here to make people aware of my problems with NTL,many people out there may think different,but I STRONGLY recommend going else where as their connection is a joke and there customer support is by far the worst I have ever dealt with.

NTL Broadband Max 1/10

• Registered Users Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

i presume by "kps" you mean kilobits and not kilobytes.

im not with ntl so i cant comment!

There is a government section thought, that you can get onto about issues like this, the name has escaped me at the mo. Have a look around here for it. (my mind has blanked)

We got our lack of broadband sorted by them.Eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 CoolNitro

Yea I have the same problem as sEAMy^ right now my ping to uk servers is about 200 normaly its 16 or so but that was before NTL gave everyone 0.5meg upgrade, I ask you why give out .5 of a meg upgrade FREE when the curent servers cant handle it what were NTL thinking.

Lads, they aren't entitled to upgrade the connection their site, when you signed up the service was working perfectly, more people may have signed up and started slowing the server down, with cable the more that use it the server degradges for everyone and they aren't entitled to keep it up to top notch..
    where bouts in tallaght are yous?
    I'm in tallaght too and post some urls to some sites you did the tests on and I'll rung some too, but I think I am grand this way...
    theres another topic about the ntl ping times from yesterday, check that out..

• Registered Users Posts: 427 ✭✭illumin

Yeah ive noticed my pings being crap for the past week or so. Did anyone ring up ntl and ask them whats up? Altho i doubt they would give a straight answer. :confused:

1 53 ms 51 ms 27 ms 10.135.15.254
    2 15 ms 14 ms 12 ms host82-9-146-5.not-set-yet.ntli.net [82.9.146.5]

3 11 ms 14 ms 23 ms dub-core-a-pos1100.inet.ntl.com [62.254.96.137]

4 20 ms 23 ms 27 ms man-bb-a-atm010-228.inet.ntl.com [62.253.187.122
    ]
    5 18 ms 49 ms 24 ms man-bb-b-ae0-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.187.178]
    6 25 ms 27 ms 56 ms win-bb-a-so-300-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.138]

7 121 ms 144 ms 155 ms gfd-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.130]

8 124 ms 117 ms 174 ms tele-ic-2-so-100-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.74]

9 107 ms 120 ms 116 ms lon1-10.nildram.net [213.208.106.169]
    10 145 ms 129 ms 123 ms lon1-9.nildram.net [195.149.20.130]
    11 146 ms 159 ms 219 ms jolt-gw.nildram.net [195.149.20.126]
    12 148 ms * 113 ms clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]

Trace complete.

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=124ms TTL=53
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=196ms TTL=53
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=144ms TTL=53
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=135ms TTL=53

Minimum = 124ms, Maximum = 196ms, Average = 149ms

Yeah I have rang NTL and apparently everything is fine,problems not with NTL but with "general internet traffic" causing the slow down.I have friends on 512k eircom connections and they are getting better speeds than my NTL 1.5mb connection.More and more people need to get on to them,they've told me nobody has been on read my post in this section.

It gets alot worse than this.

1 36 ms 10 ms 9 ms 10.135.23.254
    2 13 ms 13 ms 17 ms host82-9-146-5.not-set-yet.ntli.net [82.9.146.5]

3 15 ms 8 ms 11 ms dub-core-a-pos1100.inet.ntl.com [62.254.96.137]

4 58 ms 39 ms 18 ms man-bb-a-atm010-228.inet.ntl.com [62.253.187.122
    ]
    5 29 ms 16 ms 19 ms man-bb-b-ae0-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.187.178]
    6 41 ms 71 ms 25 ms win-bb-a-so-300-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.138]

7 180 ms 161 ms 148 ms gfd-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.130]

8 118 ms 164 ms 186 ms tele-ic-2-so-100-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.74]

9 150 ms 147 ms 159 ms lon1-10.nildram.net [213.208.106.169]
    10 132 ms 221 ms 168 ms lon1-9.nildram.net [195.149.20.130]
    11 123 ms 129 ms 126 ms jolt-gw.nildram.net [195.149.20.126]
    12 153 ms 150 ms 140 ms clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\>ping www.jolt.co.uk

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=129ms TTL=53
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=209ms TTL=53
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=131ms TTL=53
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=162ms TTL=53

Minimum = 129ms, Maximum = 209ms, Average = 157ms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 iksaw

don't know what it's like at the moment (not on ntl) but spoke to a friend who was on to them earlier this evening
    he was onto support & they put him on hold to check on info they had just got in on email
    looking at posts in both threads it looks like the problem is not in dublin anyway as the dub / dbln times are fine
    pings seem to increase when they hit gfd / lee / man (guilford / leeds / manchester)

apparently some ISP in the UK (must use part of ntl's network?) made some changes to their systems over the last week or so & that had an impact on some of their servers every evening
    seemingly this had been rectified today but was going to take a while to settle down again (a few hours?)

he was asked to keep an eye on his connection over the weekend & send in tracerts if any problems

mail them into cablemodemhelp@ntlworld.ie if you have any problems

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 16,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

sEAMy^ wrote:
    Yeah I have rang NTL and apparently everything is fine,problems not with NTL but with "general internet traffic" causing the slow down.I have friends on 512k eircom connections and they are getting better speeds than my NTL 1.5mb connection.More and more people need to get on to them,they've told me nobody has been on read my post in this section.

NTL are feeding you lies:) There isnt a problem with "general internet traffic" as my pings are ok on eircom tho they are not quite as good as when I first got the service back in February. My cousin is on NTL and his pings ar normally half mine but in the past week he has been getting 140ms too..time to lean on NTL to fix this

C:\Documents and Settings\Barry>ping www.jolt.co.uk

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=57
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=57
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=57
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=57

Minimum = 37ms, Maximum = 41ms, Average = 39ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Barry>

I hope that is the case and its sorted this weekend.But surely if this is preventing ntl customers from getting the speeds they paid for then it IS an NTL problem,and they shudn't tell the people that ring in otherwise,I was told that no one else had rang in and reported the problem - which is obviously false.And if this UK server was doing upgrades thas fine,im not happy it slows be down what why couldn't they tell me that was the case and not lie by saying they knew of no problems and everything was fine.If me threatning to cancel my account didnt make them tell me anything,just shows how much NTL value their customers.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

Im on 1.5mg ntl too. It seems to go very slow during the evening. 150+ to servers I norm get 40 to. Rang them dis morning , they said it was all fine blah blah.Going to have to ring them and abuse them on monday , because its really bad at the moe and it was fine today before 4pm.

Adam

So clearly lots of people are having the same slow down problem,and its just NTL its happening with,I urge people who are having the problem to get on to NTL and maybe they might get up off their arses and do something about it.

Thanks for that Adam,I know NTL tech staff look at these boards cos one them refered to it in one of my conversations with them,so NTL if your reading clearly theres a problem so sort it fast or your going to loose alot of customers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭MagicBusDriver

It looks like congestion. Was poor this evening but is ok now. (00:49)

1 <10 ms <10 ms <10 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 10.135.23.254
    3 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms host82-9-146-5.not-set-yet.ntli.net [82.9.146.5]
    4 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms dub-core-a-pos1100.inet.ntl.com [62.254.96.137]
    5 30 ms 20 ms 20 ms man-bb-a-atm010-230.inet.ntl.com [62.253.188.78]
    6 10 ms 10 ms 20 ms man-bb-b-ae0-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.187.178]
    7 30 ms 20 ms 60 ms win-bb-a-so-300-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.138]
    8 30 ms 30 ms 30 ms gfd-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.130]
    9 40 ms 40 ms 31 ms tele-ic-2-so-100-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.74]
    10 60 ms 60 ms 60 ms lon1-10.nildram.net [213.208.106.169]
    11 30 ms 30 ms 20 ms lon1-9.nildram.net [195.149.20.130]
    12 60 ms 60 ms 70 ms jolt-gw.nildram.net [195.149.20.126]
    13 20 ms 20 ms 30 ms clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

Seamy

This tracert showed that the problem was congestion around Telehouse London where the Clarity servers are served by Nildram .

It has nothing AT ALL to do with Tallaght or Cable Modems or NTL Ireland. Its a peering router in England that is at fault. With peering it can be difficult to tell which 'side' of the peer is the real problem. Suffice to say there are probably 2 culprits and they need to get together.

Contact Nildram and tell them to upgrade their Gateway to NTL in Telehouse.
    5 29 ms 16 ms 19 ms man-bb-b-ae0-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.187.178]
    6 41 ms 71 ms 25 ms win-bb-a-so-300-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.138]

7 180 ms 161 ms 148 ms gfd-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.130]

8 118 ms 164 ms 186 ms tele-ic-2-so-100-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.74]

9 150 ms 147 ms 159 ms lon1-10.nildram.net [213.208.106.169]
    10 132 ms 221 ms 168 ms lon1-9.nildram.net [195.149.20.130]

M

I rang NTL on Thursday to let them know there was a problem with high pings. They told me that it was not an NTL problem and that it was to do with the website I was trying to access and that there is nothing they can do.

I then told her I was having no problems using Leap Broadband only NTL and asked her to try doing a tracert to jolt.co.uk
    "I can't do that", she said
    "Why", I asked
    "Because we are located in Waterford and don't get NTL here", she said
    "So then, whom do you use there to access the Internet", I asked her
    "Eircom", she said.

At this stage I started to laugh and just ended the conversation. I couldn't believe that they use eircom and she was trying to tell me it was the websites fault and not NTL when she couldn't even test it herself.

Later that night I did the ping and tracert test to www.jolt.co.uk using both NTL and Leap. As you can see below NTL=Crap LEAP=Good very easy to see. It is not just jolt where there’s a problem if you look at the jpg's attached in a previous post you will see that this happens to anywhere around the world!!

I have sent a long email to cablemodemhelp on Friday with the tests I have done showing both NTL and LEAP results. Here's a small example below.

BAD TRACERT & PING RESULTS USING NTL
    The current time is: 21:25

1 33 ms 63 ms 28 ms 10.135.31.254
    2 10 ms 9 ms 10 ms host82-9-146-5.not-set-yet.ntli.net [82.9.146.5
    3 49 ms 41 ms 10 ms dub-core-a-pos1100.inet.ntl.com [62.254.96.137]
    4 30 ms 12 ms 11 ms man-bb-a-atm010-226.inet.ntl.com [62.253.188.82
    5 28 ms 16 ms 65 ms man-bb-b-ae0-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.187.178]
    6 18 ms 19 ms 20 ms win-bb-a-so-300-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.138]
    7 167 ms 158 ms 120 ms gfd-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.130
    8 142 ms 109 ms 120 ms tele-ic-2-so-100-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.74]
    9 129 ms 140 ms 148 ms lon1-10.nildram.net [213.208.106.169]
    10 86 ms 95 ms 103 ms lon1-9.nildram.net [195.149.20.130]
    11 123 ms 144 ms 195 ms jolt-gw.nildram.net [195.149.20.126]
    12 144 ms 145 ms 146 ms clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]
    Trace complete.

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=100ms TTL=53
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=99ms TTL=53
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=117ms TTL=53
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=125ms TTL=53

Minimum = 99ms, Maximum = 125ms, Average = 110ms

---- GOOD TRACERT & PING RESULTS USING LEAP BROADBAND----
    The current time is: 21:26

C:\Documents and Settings\mfarrell.RIVERVIEW>tracert www.jolt.co.uk

1 1 ms <1 ms 1 ms my.firewall [192.168.0.254]
    2 33 ms 30 ms 35 ms 217.67.141.221
    3 38 ms 40 ms 39 ms 217.67.143.45
    4 38 ms 40 ms 39 ms 217.67.131.1
    5 98 ms 39 ms 39 ms 217.67.131.6
    6 43 ms 40 ms 55 ms 212.147.128.49
    7 38 ms 35 ms 39 ms so-4-1-2.ar1.dub1.gblx.net [64.211.206.97]
    8 128 ms 50 ms 49 ms pos2-1-622m.ar2.lon2.gblx.net [67.17.92.146]
    9 53 ms 55 ms 55 ms lon1-9.nildram.net [195.66.224.59]
    10 49 ms 85 ms 85 ms jolt-gw.nildram.net [195.149.20.126]
    11 54 ms 55 ms 55 ms clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]
    Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\mfarrell.RIVERVIEW>ping www.jolt.co.uk

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=52
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=52
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=52
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=52

Minimum = 47ms, Maximum = 54ms, Average = 51ms

• Registered Users Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

Yer, im getting the same problem since wednesday of last week. I rang in to complain to them and was givin the notion that it was a fault on my computer thats making the internet act slower.. I insisited it wasnt, but just to prove them wrong i shut down my machine, unplugged my second HDD, reinstalled windows and it was still the same. Now, not only do i have a wanky connection, i have lost 3 years of VALUABLE data(disk revoery pro do your stuff..)

After being juggled through 3 different 'techies', i was given the promise of a call back - no dice. I didnt see sight nor sound of one. So during the week ive called them about 6 times trying to get on to someone that knows whats going on.

I was just asleep in my bed 10 minutes ago, and i was woken up by an NTL rep on the phone. Nice girl and did the job right, just got the details she needed and left me for my bed/post on boards.ie. During the conversation i started to think to myself 'jesus, have my 2 weeks of moaning finally woken them up?'... No. She said that boards.ie had woken them up! This is nice to know, but imagion i was the only person with this problem... some how i dont think i would have gotten my call back.

I use the internet for gaming and thats about it... with my traceroots passing the gillford switch averaging 150 there is no real competitive play for me.

8 166 ms 160 ms 165 ms gfd-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.130]
    8 143 ms 131 ms 133ms gfd-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.130]
    8 173 ms 172 ms 164ms gfd-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.130]
    8 151ms 146ms 153 ms gfd-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.130]
    8 123 ms 146 ms 145 ms gfd-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.130]

With pings like this i may aswell switch to ISDN..

The lady on the phone seemed pritty confident that the matter would be resolved. I hope it does too.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

red_ice wrote:
    Now, not only do i have a wanky connection, i have lost 3 years of VALUABLE data

Is Simon Travalagia still working for them ?

Muck,

If you had bothered to read the rest of the comments and different topics posted regarding NTL you would have seen that it isn't just the jolt servers thats the problem its everywhere outside ireland.If your telling me that if NTL customers are having terrible problems with slow downs accessing any foreign servers that it ISN'T an NTL problem then your having a laugh.With regards to the UK server problem NTL clearly knew that this was the reason people were having the problems on uk servers but instead told customers nothing was wrong "must be a problem their end",this is terrible customer service....if they are aware of a problem its their duty to inform the customer and do something about it.Rather then make the customer feel like its a problem their end.From phone calls to NTL today i know now that NTL have been aware of this problem for nearly 2 weeks and have been in touch with England trying to sort it.Should be fixed by Monday I've been told.....we'll have to wait and see.....how long before we have this problem again?? watch this space.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,007 ✭✭✭Moriarty

I've merged the two NTL threads into this one.

It simply is an NTL problem. Check the tracert that have been posted. They will have to fix the problem or how can they expect new customers to sign up or existing customers to stay.

If they have known about this problem for 2 weeks how come there customer support know nothing and try to blame it on the website? As I have show in previous post it is not limited to jolt.co.uk its the whole world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

sEAMy^ wrote:
    Muck,

If you had bothered to read the rest of the comments and different topics posted regarding NTL you would have seen that it isn't just the jolt servers thats the problem its everywhere outside ireland.If your telling me that if NTL customers are having terrible problems with slow downs accessing any foreign servers that it ISN'T an NTL problem then your having a laugh.

Seamy.

EVERY PING IN THS THREAD is to Jolt . A few servers in Telehouse in London do not constitute " everywhere outside ireland" as you described it and prove fúck all bar what I stated above and will repeat below.

Forget pings, the traceroutes give the correct information. When your pings are crap there is a concurrent slowdown at or around the peering point between NTL and Nildram. Nildram were taken over recently and will be up in the air when it comes to ordering extra capacity if they are maxing out , thats bad news if this is a nightly problem .

I won't bother with a Peering 101 lesson but the problem IS a Joint NTL and Nildram one and need to be sorted out between them . Jolt may not be aware of it .....although they damn well should be. Ask them if they are having problems with Nildram .

Next time you have this problem with clarity/jolt can you tracert to

www.bbc.co.uk
    www.colt-telecom.com
    www.tele2.co.uk

and paste the tracerts in here along with your usual Jolt one with a time of trace. Maybe ping them too but dont always expect an answer .

Also register with NTLHellWorld or
    NTL Hell and ask UK NTL customers to replicate the problem as well and post the results. Dont bother tellling them where Tallaght is :)

M