Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ok so how do you join Civil Defence.

• 15-09-2003 2:43pm
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Redshift, you're convincing me but I have a few questions

1. Is there an age limit on joining CD? I was kinda suprised to find that there are age limits (quite low!) on joining just about any of the rescue/garda units and the army and navy. I'm 33 fyi.

2. Whats the time implications of it? How much time will it take on an average month? do you get paid or do they cover travel expenses if you have to travel somewhere?

3. How do you go about joining?

4. Do you pick from the areas you've outlined in your other post?

5. Do you get secret spy gear? No seriously I mean, do you get to drive powerboats etc (I mean you... not a new recruit :) )

6. Any restrictions/ other stuff a candidate needs to be aware of?

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Runfree

Originally posted by DeVore
    Redshift, you're convincing me but I have a few questions

1. Is there an age limit on joining CD? I was kinda suprised to find that there are age limits (quite low!) on joining just about any of the rescue/garda units and the army and navy. I'm 33 fyi.
    If I am correct the age limit on joining is 16.

2. Whats the time implications of it? How much time will it take on an average month? do you get paid or do they cover travel expenses if you have to travel somewhere?

You can join on a voluntary basis where you can set your time that you do work and things like that. Travel expenses are covered if you are travelling in a vehicle owned by the civil defense.

Just step into your local Civil Defense office and get an application form. (don't know where these are situated unless you want to come to Tipperary town)
    4. Do you pick from the areas you've outlined in your other post?
    Sorry what do you mean with this??

[quot]5. Do you get secret spy gear? No seriously I mean, do you get to drive powerboats etc (I mean you... not a new recruit :) )[/quote]
    You will if you put in enough time. They will send on courses for this.

DeV.
    Not too sure about this.

Hope this help.

RunFree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭Redshift

Dev I wil get in depth with this when I come back I am in
    florida at the mo and I just got internet access for a couple of mins.
    \
    seeya next week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 cisboss

erm, flog me if you wish, but tell me more about the civil defence (I know *of* it, just not about)

• Registered Users Posts: 41,022 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Its not a great website but there is some information on

www.civildefence.ie

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Sweet, I'll check back then RS.

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭dogs

I've become kinda interested in finding out more about this myself. Mailed the contact listed in the city council and he replied with the name of someone in the fire station. ... would like to know a little more myself before I start calling people up.

Anyway, found this site myself, its got forums and such, where I guess I should be posting my questions :)

http://www.irishcivildefence.org/

HTH

Ok Dev I will tackle your questions

There is a lower age limit of 16 too low IMO it used to be 17 untill recently, the upper age limit is 65 and members must retire and resign from the organization at that time save where special permission has been granted for a member to remain for a fixed duration after 65.

Training usually takes place on one evening a week in our unit it's approx 7:30 pm to 10:30pm on Tuesday nights for the water rescue unit and Wedensday nights for the auxilliary fire service. from time to time there are training weekends away and all food accomodation and transport is provided. also there are public service duties which are performed in the water resuce division we provide water safety cover at events like skyfest, slane, charity swims and regattas and things of that nature.

Simply turn up on the training night at the unit and service you want to join and fill the the membership application form, an officer will usually have an informal chat with you to answer any questions you have and once your application is accepted by the officer in charge you are a member form that point.

5. Do you get secret spy gear? No seriously I mean, do you get to drive powerboats etc (I mean you... not a new recruit )

No spy gear but you will if you stick at it get lots of neat training and yes if you join a unit with a water resuce division there are powerboats our units has four boats two R.I.B (rigid inflatable boats) those ones are fairly fast and two D class avon inflatable boats which are a much smaller and relatively slower boat we mainly use them for shallow work like rivers and Slane concert as they can operate in just a few feet of water and can be manhandled into the water whereas the ribs are so big and heavy they must be launched and recovered on a slipway from the trailer. Unfortuantley both our R.I.Bs are out of service right now our main boat the really fast one went in for a service recently as it was seriously down on power last time we used it and it was discovered that there was a crack in the engine block so we are now fighting tooth and nail to have it repaired ASAP the other boats trailer was deemed to be unroadworthy so we are not allowed to use it we are supposed to be getting a new trailer for that soon though I will belive it when I see it coz it's the city council we are dealing with and they are slow to get things sorted. So we only have the two small boats that are in operation right now fortunatley they are due for replacement this year as they have a 10 year lifespan and we have them 9 years now and they are starting to show their age though they have serviced us well over the years with many thousands of hours on both of them.

Generally Civil Defence is more relaxed and informal than the Army though it has a rank structure.

Which runs as follows

Probationary
    Volunteer
    Asst Leader
    Leader <
    My current rank
    3rd officer
    2nd officer
    1st officer
    commander
    Commandant

Only Commandant is a commisioned rank they are full time paid employees.

Members do not have to sign up for a minimum period and are free to resign at any time though they are expected to turn up for training and duties if they are available. Other than that it's alot of fun it can be a bit of a thankless job sometimes especially when dealing with the public in last years Skyfest I got a coin in the head from some kind individual on the quay side, left a nice bruise too (we have helemets now)

As a volunteer you do not get paid though transportation and food are provided except for training nights you have to make your own way there and back thoug if someone is going your way or close to it you will usually get a lift I usually end up dropping a coulple of people home after training.

Hope that answers your questions and if you or anybody else has any more let me know./

Cheers

Ryan

Originally posted by dogs

Anyway, found this site myself, its got forums and such, where I guess I should be posting my questions :)

http://www.irishcivildefence.org/

HTH

I'm the admin of that site it's only a new site which is still being built when I can find the time so you can post questions here or there I will see them probably better over ther if you want more responces.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Thought I'd reanimate this topic.

January is often a good time to join Civil Defence as most units start their training cycle then so you can fit in easier.

The national CD website - www.civildefence.ie has had a bit of a revamp lately, worth a look, as is the www.irishcivildefence.org discussion forum or the www.dublincivildefence.com site.

If anyone has further questions, I'll be happy to try and answer them here or by PM.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭ando

I've joined the aux fire service there a while ago, we should be starting training over the next few weeks :) looking forward to it, should be completly the opposite of my IT job

Just to update, the Irish Civil Defence site is up nad running, and if anyone out there is interested, it has contact details for all the counties' respective Civil Defence Officers.

www.civildefence.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 631 ✭✭✭FatB

Just thought I'd let ye know about an organisation I'm in, its Civil Defence...

To me this is definitely one of the best organisations, but to be honest, it dosn't make much difference who you volenteer with as we all do basically the same work, some things are different from organisation to organisation, but all will try to help you to get something from what you do! E.g. A better understanding of what you are interested in and a training to a recognised standard in whta you are doing!

Civil Defence will train you in whatever you are willing to put the time into.

Its aged from 16 up... Which is a bit unfair for younger volunteers, but it makes up for this in what you can do, you can learn and become fully trained in, but not limited to:

* Fire Fighting
    (We serve as a back up to the fire brigade and in some place's, we are the fire service!)

* Radio Communications
    (This is someting that is covered very professionally in Civil Defence)

* First-Aid/Casualty
    (This is probably the biggest part of the organisation! This is what I currently train in, but will be doing some more rescue soon! Our 1st Aid certs are highly regarded and are in different levels, e.g. Life Saving 1st Aid (Basic), Intermediate, Advanced and also Instructor levels, Instructor means you can legally teach 1st aid)

* Radiation Monitoring
    (This is what Civil Defence had started out as, it was in the time of the cold war, America and Russia we're aiming nuclear missiles at each other and we served as the primary neclear war emergency service! Times have changed now and so has Civil Defence, Civil Defence will always change with the times!)

* Rescue
    (This is the other big part of what we do, it covers a very large amount of stuff, from heights rescue (where you will learn professional absailing and how to save people from a height), to water rescue (where you can learn kayaking and how to man a powerboat) and also the imoprtant task of productivly searching for people that are missing!

* Welfare Provision
    As provided from the website ...

The welfare service could be described as one of the most important services provided by Civil Defence. The welfare service provides a very valuable service in emergency situations by providing for the basic physical needs of victims such as hot meals, drinks or psychosocial support. Civil Defence is unique in that it is the only volunteer based organisation trained in this area.

Considerable suffering and further loss of life in emergencies could result if proper aftercare is not provided for disaster victims. The members can also provide food for other Civil Defence teams and emergency personnel on a disaster site.

Food preparation is carried out in accordance with HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points) standards. The training provided and equipment used for the provision of this service now includes the use of Mobile catering units.

In short, there is something for everyone with Civil Defence, they are a government body and are funded by the department of defence, we are the 1st reserve for almost all emergancy services and cover things like the special olympics and slane to car rallys and tournaments, we are also called upon for searchs and anything taht we are trained to do!

Sorry if this is going on, its cust that I wanted to throw Civil Defence's hat in the ring! :)

That Civil Defence is also fun! I know it sounds corny and all that, but I have fully enjoyed my 6 years with them, we go for sessions every so often and are like a family in our unit, I'm sure most units are the same!

Sorry folks for making a new topic bout this, I only saw this now, didn't have time to look around here before posting as I wanted to put somthing up quickly! :( Once again, sorry! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭ando

well I'd just like to say I'm now in the auxiliary fire service about 6 weeks now, enjoying it greatly. Made a lot of new friends and its a good socializing scene. Have to get fit though :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

heights rescue appeals to me a great deal! Would I be able to start training in that staright away if I demonstrated necessary fitness level and head-for-heights? Would it matter that I've no driver's licence?

Drivers licence is only necessary if you want to drive, you could start on heights rescue straight away (I presume) ... As long as the unit that you are joining does heights rescue, e.g. the unit that I'm in does casuality, but one up the road does rescue (from heights and other forms of rescue) ... Civil Defence will train you in anything you want as long as they see a purpose in them doing it e.g. your going to become part of a heights rescue team.

I wouldn't expect everything to happen straight away (although, it has been known to happen)... Sometimes you will have to obtain certain qualifications through civil defence before your allowed to train in some things.

Maybe some of the Dublin lads could shed a bit more light on heights rescue, we don't have any round here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

"The Rescue Service are trained to rescue people trapped in collapsed buildings or crashed vehicles. They also administer First Aid to the casualties. Emergencies such as aircraft crashes, train crashes, explosions and collapsed buildings are recreated to make training as realistic as possible. After achieving competence in the above, members are selected to undergo specialised training in "Heights Rescue" and "Water Rescue" techniques."

http://www.dublincivildefence.com/services.php

wonder if there is much competition to do the heights rescue.

edit:

Apparently they don't train or recruit for heights rescue in dublin any more. :(

http://www.irishcivildefence.org/forums/showthread.php?p=620#post620

Your best bet to find out about heights rescue in Dublin is to give them a ring. The setup varies around the country. In general terms height is normally considered a "specialist" rescue discipline, so you will have to achieve competence in basic rescue and first aid before moving onto it. I'm not based in Dublin though, so you're better off talking to the people there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭8bi1ctzegfouva

i am interested in joining the civil defence in dublin. i am a national powerboat certificate instructor and a safety boat instructor, and have an rya vhf licence and rya first aid cert. been doing rescue through my yacht club for about 6 years or so, and i drive big ribs at the weekends - Click Here To See A Pic - not me, but it's one of the boats i drive. just wondering if anyone knows who i need to speak to in dublin about joining the water rescue unit?
    also, i was reading a post about how the boats weren't in the greatest shape, but the post is years old, just wondering what the story with the boats now is?
    also, can you do water rescue and auxiliary fire service? or only one?

Probably your best bet is to ring the following:

DUBLIN CIVIL DEFENCE HEADQUARTERS,
    THE ESPLANADE,
    WOLFE TONE QUAY,
    DUBLIN 7.

Tel: (01) 6772699
    Fax: (01) 6772511

Not being from there, I don't know what state Dublin's boat's are in at the moment, but nationally there has been a lot of investment in the boats and equipment in the last few years - though at ~4.6m they're a lot smaller than the ones in your pic (small is good for inland work).

By the sounds of it your qualifications will stand you in good stead - the CD standard is to have Level 2 and Safety Boat certs to be a cox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭8bi1ctzegfouva

cheers for the reply. i should be doing an advanced powerboat course soon enough, just gotta touch on my nav.

I have my advanced 1st aid exam coming up this tuesday...

Never got much chance to study for it since 3 months ago when we went on our break for the summer as work commitments have took up a lot more of my time...

I don't even think that I will pass (I would have been 90% sure before the break) but now I'm lost lol

Will let ye know how it goes anyway :)

I'm reanimating this one again, are any other Boards members in the CD, or interested in joining?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,354 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I'm in the Casualty service, best thing I ever joined :)

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Karmacode

CivDef, I am joining, I just have to wait till the 3rd Sept, next month to join!
    Im from Athlone, do you think I will be able to join the rescue unit?!

Thanks!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Dunno what your going through all this for just join the order of malta :p

Only messing, your new uniforms are a hell of alot nicer and more practical then ours

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

FatB wrote:
    I have my advanced 1st aid exam coming up this tuesday...

Never got much chance to study for it since 3 months ago when we went on our break for the summer as work commitments have took up a lot more of my time...

I don't even think that I will pass (I would have been 90% sure before the break) but now I'm lost lol

Will let ye know how it goes anyway :)
    In the same boat have my first responder exams tommorow, should be studying but just off duty and laptop is way more fun lol

Good luck on the exams youll be fine

• Registered Users Posts: 37,297 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

OK, due to the eyes and ears, I'm not eligible for the RDF or PDF, so I'm wondering: is there a part of the Civil Defence that uses computers? I like computers, but if not computers, is there anything hands on, but you need to think about? As in: fixing stuff?

I'm based in Leixlip, Co. Kildare, but within a 45 minute bus trip on Dublin Bus to the city centre.

The extent to which computers are used depends on the unit in question, but we all have radios, and people who are into comms are a definite asset.