Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

At about 4.30 pm Europe will land a lump of metal on a lump of rock and ice

• Registered Users Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

KungPao wrote: »
    Is Bruce Willis on it?
    Bruce was asked to be part of the mission but declined when told it would be quite chilly and he'd have to wear more than a vest while shooting up anything that moves!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Well, 2 Irish companies lent a big helping hand.

Space Technology Ireland Ltd designed a critical piece of hardware, the Electronic Support System processor unit, that helps it communicate between Rosetta and the probe and CAPTEC then developed the software for that purpose and support for other systems built by other companies.

Until the processor fries itself or the software glitches, then we can shout "Up yours Germany" like we planned it all along...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

It's like a planet corpse isn't it? Or a zombie one.. earthhhhhhhh earthhhhhhhhhh, terraaaaaains, terraaaaaaaains!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Its landed apparently

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭wildefalcon

Its landed apparently

Oh, good. Amazing technical achievement, that can only promote new technologies that will trickle down into other more mundane things.

More science, more potential benefits for us all!

Plus it means we have another source of resources if and when we need them.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,025 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

is the camera and the drill working?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

I'll be very disappointed if there is no alien goo.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Oh, good. Amazing technical achievement, that can only promote new technologies that will trickle down into other more mundane things.
    That would have already happened, this satellite was launched 10 years ago. It's basically out of date.

Warn the people of Buenos Aires!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Does this mean someone has won at a game of Civilisation? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Kay Burley will be there with her space suit on.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

It left the immersion on... balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Space exploration is just about the only thing left that fills you with the same sense of excited wonder as you felt as a kid.

Sorry, serious bit.

Pun.

Interestingly the Philae Lander twitter account tweeted

https://twitter.com/Philae2014/status/532564514051735552

In a number of European languages, except Irish of course

• Registered Users Posts: 25,418 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

rizzodun wrote: »
    Interestingly the Philae Lander twitter account tweeted

https://twitter.com/Philae2014/status/532564514051735552

Did it tweet in Latin?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

They spent 13 years programming Irish into it but for some reason it can't say anything more than basic sentences and "pog mo thoin".

Did it tweet in Latin?

Ahh you got me, no, not that I know, it did Romanian though??

Mission should be scrapped for this.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Looks like Europe has just won the Science Victory :pac:

iYBYKeH.jpg?1

anncoates wrote: »
    Mission should be scrapped for this.

Tis a disgrace Joe....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Fcuk this unmanned sh1t I wanna see actual people landing on these things.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

iDave wrote: »
    Fcuk this unmanned sh1t I wanna see actual people landing on these things.
    Without finding out what's on these things in the first place? Not to mention that it would be a 20 year return journey....

Lol, a serious guy saying 'Landing on foreign bodies' in a strong French accent on the livestream brought a smile to my face...

Without finding out what's on these things in the first place? Not to mention that it would be a 20 year return journey....

Less of the serious responses please, there's an Astronomy Forum for that! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 17,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Sure, give them wifi. Be grand, like

• Registered Users Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

RTE have assigned Dermot Mulooly to cover the event live from the comet ( or from the viscount if the darts are on in the comet)

Tis a disgrace Joe....

Ta se uafasach, seosaimh.

I know, I know it's probably arseways...

Joe prim wrote: »
    RTE have assigned Dermot Mulooly to cover the event live from the comet ( or from the viscount if the darts are on in the comet)

Presume your a Drumcondra/Santry resident?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Pfft...it would have been more impressive if the comet had landed on Philae.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Fair play to them, its not easy to execute a long term technical project successfully.