Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

My Spinal Fusion - A little run through!

• 24-11-2012 6:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭

hi all
    thought i'd post up here my experiences of my spinal fusion (how things are going, how i feel etc). i can't seem to find much information on aftercare and how things are on irish sites. american sites are good but very dramatic - OMG etc lol

quick history is (i already added to some threads here) i had a discetomy end of may due to a badly prolapsed disc. got that done but it popped out again. i have degenerative bone disease and spondylolisthesis. got a nerve root block injection but no joy. its pretty bad so on monday going for a spinal fusion. they are going to take out 2 discs, get a bone graft put in and screws and rods. its a big operation and i'm bricking it!

i've been out of work the last 6 months and have had to restructure my mortgage etc and i've been in a really pissed off state. this procedure might not work but at least i tried. if i don't i will be left stuck in this rut. i am 34 and want to get back out there and be the little terror that i am :D

anyway i just thought this would be useful for people going through the same thing as its hard to find people in a similar situation. i would have liked to know what to expect and how things go.

so there ya go. thought i'd do a little blog here if thats ok. stay tuned......................................................................

edit - sorry for lack of caps but i simply can't be bothered and only do them on business mails and such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Best of luck apache ! you know we've been watching your progress or lack of it over the last few months, we'll keep the fingers crossed for you, lets us all know how you get on.

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭jdee99

good luck with this apache - it seems as if this has been a long time coming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭apache

Thank you very much guys. Will give you a glimpse into the life of a spinal fusion :)

(Jeez look at that - when replying from phone it automatically does the caps job!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

Big decision to make, hope it goes well for you.

I'm 33 and have been told not to even dream about getting it done though you sound a hell of a lot worse than I am.
    Have a L4-L5 central disc bulge since mid 2010 which regularly hits nerves on either side (mainly the right).
    Have had everything from epidurals & multiple steroid injections to new procedures like micro discetomy with ozone injection, which unfortunately didn't work for me even though it was touted as a 80%+ success rate...guess I was part of the 20%.

Been constantly doing physio/training programs and have actually gotten back to decent fitness once or twice, I could do 50km cycles without pain, and then back to shooting stabbing pain down my legs again.

It's very hard in your early 30's to cope with this as we're still use to being active and for me having 2 kids under 3 is a serious task as something as simple as lifting one of them the wrong way and I end up in bits again.
    My son was in the park with me a few weeks back and decided to make a run for it, I can't run or I'm in agony and he was getting away from me luckily a passer by grabbed him before he made it to the gates but I spent 3 days in bits recovering from just that...I'm sure you know what I mean!

I did it in work but I've taken very little time off. I'm not that type of person possibly to my own detriment. I'm sure you know the way most people think when they hear you're off work with a bad back....chancer etc. I get loads of slagging/sly digs over it when I do take time off or have to take it easy in work and it sickens me to think my peers think I'm taking the piss but it's just another thing I have to adapt to.

Hope it goes well for you, will keep reading!

Lafors its a right pain. I hope this works out for me and i know exactly what you mean.
    Re the workers thinking you're slacking etc you made me laugh :) i was one of those who always thought "oh there he/she goes with the bad back - bloody chancers"! It actually got a bit vicious in my job with some people having a vendetta against others.
    There are a few in my job on light duties ie cushy numbers but thats all changed now with the new restructuring of the public service. If or when i return to work i can only take a maximum of 3 months on light duties and if still not able for it have to take early retirement. I am legally not allowed to return to work anyway. It all rests on the outcome of this operation!

So because this time i am a private patient in a public hospital i had to wait for a call today to see if there was a bed available. I thankfully got one and was at hospital at 4pm. This sure is no hermitage. Although thankfully i have a private room to myself the tellys broken, the bed is banjaxed (don't know how i'm going to get in and out of it on day 2 when i start physio), everythings missing and it stinks :(
    I sound a bit spoilt saying that - i AM happy to be here.

I haven't slept since friday when i finished my prescription and have been in great pain. So all over the shop!

Things didn't go well from the start here. The intern (hadn't a clue) insisted i was having a discectomy. The nurses insisted i was having a discectomy. So with lack of sleep and no meds and in pain oh and off the smokes 2 days they were all really starting to annoy me!! Nobody seemed to have a clue what was going on.

But an hour ago 2 members of the team came around for the consent so i asked them. They thought i was getting a discectomy too! Ah here!
    Its all sorted now. I'm getting a single level fusion L5-S1 and a decompression on the disc above. Everybody automatically thought it was a discectomy as it just said L5-S1 on the theatre list.

Lol that was exhausting!

So i'm going at 7.30am tomorrow for the fusion. Everythings sorted now thank god but christ lack of communication is dire - its like that in every hospital though!

Prob won't be able to post here tomorrow but when i can i will.

Best of luck for apache tomorrow :)

Good luck for tomorrow apache

• Registered Users Posts: 18 keira143

Best of luck with the surgery. I am in the same boat. 24 years old and have had epidural and 3 nerve root block - no joy!!! L5s1 is herniated and pressing on sciatic nerve, Chronic Pain and no pain relief from any tablet/injection. I feel your despair as I can't see the light either. I am too young for them to do the spinal fusion so I have to stay in this pain for the foreseeable future. I have no health insurance and of course what company would insure me now!!! I am out of work and have a 2yr old depending on only me. Life can hit you hard sometimes. I hope this surgery gets rid of your pain...let me know. Best Wishes

I'm in a better place now so i can post on my progress. I have to stress that this is just my experience and everybody differs. I think i was just unlucky.

As soon as they woke me up after surgery i was in agony so they pumped me full of drugs to take down an elephant. The problem with me is because of long term pain and procedures i have been on opiate based drugs for quite a while. I'm finding very little pain relief although they are giving me loads.

That evening about 7pm i started getting a pain in my stomach and it was distended. I have a drain and a catheter also (thank god as i couldn't move in the bed never mind get out for a wee)! I was in the high dependancy ward and as the night wore on the stomach was reaching unimaginable pain - so much so that i forgot about my back! For 24 hours i was like this with noone knowing what was wrong.

Yesterday evening i went for an xray to check if the position of the screws were ok. On the xray bubbles could be seen in my abdomen. They were going to send me for an emergency abdominal scan as my colon and intestines were swollen full of gas and i couldn't relieve it. They tried strong laxatives and i got lots of manual manipilation by several surgeons and nurses :(

During the night the gases slowly released (thanks to the various things tried) and the stomach pain reduced a lot. This morning i felt a lot better. So much so that i got drains and catheter removed(neither sore coming out as i feared) and got a bed bath. I feel good again. My stomach pain was by far the worst!

A few hours ago i moved out of high dependancy and am in a stepdown ward. The physio came around. I have a walker beside my bed and did a little walk earlier for the first time :)

My main issues were the stomach gases (still gas there but slowly coming out) and also my tolerance for the drugs they give you. I find them not helping much and the pain is bad.

But i'm much much better than i was this time yesterday - vast improvement and hopefully i will improve each day.

apache wrote: »
    I'm in a better place now so i can post on my progress. I have to stress that this is just my experience and everybody differs. I think i was just unlucky.

As soon as they woke me up after surgery i was in agony so they pumped me full of drugs to take down an elephant. The problem with me is because of long term pain and procedures i have been on opiate based drugs for quite a while. I'm finding very little pain relief although they are giving me loads.

That evening about 7pm i started getting a pain in my stomach and it was distended. I have a drain and a catheter also (thank god as i couldn't move in the bed never mind get out for a wee)! I was in the high dependancy ward and as the night wore on the stomach was reaching unimaginable pain - so much so that i forgot about my back! For 24 hours i was like this with noone knowing what was wrong.

Yesterday evening i went for an xray to check if the position of the screws were ok. On the xray bubbles could be seen in my abdomen. They were going to send me for an emergency abdominal scan as my colon and intestines were swollen full of gas and i couldn't relieve it. They tried strong laxatives and i got lots of manual manipilation by several surgeons and nurses :(

During the night the gases slowly released (thanks to the various things tried) and the stomach pain reduced a lot. This morning i felt a lot better. So much so that i got drains and catheter removed(neither sore coming out as i feared) and got a bed bath. I feel good again. My stomach pain was by far the worst!

A few hours ago i moved out of high dependancy and am in a stepdown ward. The physio came around. I have a walker beside my bed and did a little walk earlier for the first time :)

My main issues were the stomach gases (still gas there but slowly coming out) and also my tolerance for the drugs they give you. I find them not helping much and the pain is bad.

But i'm much much better than i was this time yesterday - vast improvement and hopefully i will improve each day.

Wow, sounds like a nightmare! Hopefully you're on the mend now.
    Keep us all up to date on your progress.

Hi Apache - glad to here your on the other side of this now. Also pleased wasnt anywhere near the hospital with all those gases around! Slow road to recovery now but keep on smiling!

Lol funninly enough no smell - pure gas.

Got transferred again back to a private room as i'm doing so well. I can get in and out of bed on my own :)

I think i am so grateful that the stomach pain is gone i feel i can take on anything.

each day gets easier trust me (dont over do it though) - what did they do in the end?

"Special" stuff shoved up the back passage and manual manipulation.....

Back v sore this morning. Couldn't get out of bed. Really struggling because of my immunity to the opiates :(

a pain specialist came around today and organised a different cocktail. It worked because i feel much better.

I'm up walking with a walker. The plan is for me to go home tomorrow.

LOL too much information - didnt want to know about the gas release :-) I meant your spinal stuff!

• Registered Users Posts: 2 vonserelli

This is my first time posting here and I just felt that I wanted to offer some light to those of you that are worried about recovering from this surgery. I had my first spinal fusion as a 24 year old and my second as a 27 year old. I cant say either was easy and apparently I was very young to have them performed but difficult as they were I worked very intensively for a year in rehab in each case and I returned to full health. I think that the biggest risk during a surgery and recuperation like this is to keep your spirits us as depression is common when you are so heavily medicated and restricted. If I can offer any advice at all just ask. Thinking of you Apache and hoping you feel better soon... hang in there !!

jdee99 wrote: »
    LOL too much information - didnt want to know about the gas release :-) I meant your spinal stuff!
    Ha ha **** sorry!

fusion of L5-S1, decompression of level above.

@Vonserelli - i can imagine it will be a difficult road. Its great to hear positive inspiring stories like yours. Everyone says stay positive but its easier said than done.

Got home on crutches this morning. Well staying with the parents just for a night or two.

Have great pain relief since pain specialists sorted me out yesterday. Baclofen (super muscle relaxer working great for me in combination with DF118).

Go back to see consultant in 6 weeks. Stitches come out next friday. Have a break from physio for 6 weeks then the work begins. I have to only use the crutches for a week. They want me to bring them back to the hospital next friday and while i'm there have a quick physio session. They don't want me to become reliant on them. They said i walked in without anything - i should walk out without anything! I'm glad i have them. I just feel safer and more supported. Also its a visual aid to others not to push into me. I can see why he says that i could become reliant on them and long term use could affect my posture as i heal. But i have them for a week anyway :)

Great news apache - just take things easy

• Registered Users Posts: 18 keira143

Hi apace, so glad you have come out the other side and doing the physio..WELL DONE!! Whats your pain level since the operation? God love you getting thoes gas bubbles on top of everything else, my heart went out to you when reading your post. I have also been on opiates for a very very long time and have also become immune, may I ask what they gave you to make you feel much better? I have not slept in 5 nights and am at my witts end with the pain- feel like a prisoner tortured constantly and am at breaking point (don't mean to be dramatic it's just the only way I can describe the intensity of it all). The pain management team god bless them are always ringing me and I know they want to help..but nothing is working. any suggestions apace?
    Your on the road to recovery..Keep up the good work :)

Kiera i know exactly what you are going through. Its not being dramatic. The constant pain and lack of sleep can drive you demented!

The pain is more manageable now as as i said they changed my concoction. My pain seems to be more muscle based than nerve based now. Giving me a strong muscle relaxant has helped me a lot. (Mentioned the name in last post). I was very tense before and in terrible pain but since given it my muscles are not as tight and screaming in agony and i am a lot more comfortable.

No joking though - this is a tough ride. I am only able to get in and out of bed by myself since friday. It just feels when i move that my back is going to split open! But i think each day i am improving and the pain subsides a little.

I know of people who have had spinal fusions in their 20s so don't know why you were told you were too young. I know at 34 I was considered young but if it has to be done it has to be done as its only performed anyway after every other avenue has been exhausted. The age thing I find is an important factor. I think they reckon if you are young they are reluctant to do it as if it dosen't work the implications are worse but then of course things won't change if you don't get it done so which is worse? Depending on your situation would more possibly be achieved by trying it or leaving things as they are? I know everybodies situation is different but at the stage I was at I had little to lose and a whole lot to gain.

I was hoping to move back to my apartment today but not ready yet. I went around there for a few hours earlier though to chill out and loved the bit of time out to myself :)

Its raining today but yesterday me and my crutches went around the block a few times for a walk.

I hope you get sorted painwise soon. Because of the high tolerance levels to drugs in our case its a case of constantly trying to juggle different types and trial and error. Its bloody disheartening and i hope you get the correct combination soon. Keep on trying and don't lose heart although i know its easier said than done.

I'm having problems sleeping still. Side effect of the drugs causing insomnia but then i can't remember the last time i slept all night. If its not the pain then its a side effect of the drugs so its a vicious cycle.

i am now 9 days post op. i will never forget this pain i am going through. i'm still finding the pain factor and mobility difficult as a result of my tolerance level to the pain meds but i am thankfully having an ok day today. its like a person with normal pain tolerance being given paracetomal after the fusion.

i'm sure other people won't find it this tough but then again most people who are getting this have reached the end of the road and already have been on a lot of opiates so maybe they will. i hope not.

i have decided not to talk about the problems i have had in hospital as i hope they are not indicative of our health care system but somehow i doubt that. anyway it wouldn't be fair to others who are reading this who are going to go through this and also i suppose for legal reasons as i am taking this further.

i found this forum very helpful though and it was a good idea to post in it as i have found great insight in reading other peoples threads on similar subjects. also the poster jdee i have to give a big shout out to as because he has been through it and unfortunately has to face it again i have found his insight and advice invaluable and he has gone above and beyond by helping me via pm. he has helped me loads. i don't know anyone going through this so he has been an invaluable lifeline.

i have got appointments for physio and to see my consultant in 6 weeks time. (2nd week in january).
    it is very difficult to sleep at night but i can sleep on one side with a pillow behind my back so thats a big improvement. also i have to take a muscle relaxant (it helps a lot with painful muscle spasms) before i get out of bed as i find it impossible to get out if i don't take them. tip - leave your stash nearby within easy reach on your bedside table :D but because i can only lie on one side (my left) my left hip is getting sore and its very hard to move to get a comfortable position.

i'm not as sensitive today. if you touched me anywhere on my body i was sore. i guess its just the nerve endings firing in disgust at the invasive surgery. i find that the more i walk around i loosen up. i am very stiff if sitting for a while or lying. i try to get out for a walk with the crutches each day. i can get to a place but i can't get back lol so need someone to give me a lift home. i started going down to my apartment for a bit of head space. its about a 15 minute normal walk from my parents but i always need a lift back. all this will just take time. its very easy to lie down and get depressed but if you push yourself you will see the benefits. there are times it all seems hopeless and i do get down from time to time. each day i can do something more. i can dress and shower now grand by myself just not able to put my right sock and runner on for some reason. i can't lift that foot up. its still numb anyway - my right foot and leg - but hopefully feeling will return to it in time. also its freezing cold - probably because not getting enough circulation.
    i need to push myself as i am determined to get back to work but because of the physical nature of my job i don't know if thats possible. legally it will take a lot for them to accept me back but there is always hope :)

the stitches come out friday. dreading that :( i can feel them getting a bit itchy so thats a sign of healing. also they are getting a bit tight. i got waterproof dressings so i can shower without them getting wet - very important!

i think thats all for the mo - will continue posting on my progress :pac:

edit - oh and smoking. still off them since the day before the procedure. its vital you don't smoke as a large proportion of fusions fail because of them - not enough oxygen getting in bloodstream and harmful chemicals impeding recovery and bone graft growth. although i must admit i had a sneaky one yesterday as there was a box in my apartment. after smoking it my legs felt real weird and sore so won't be doing that again - i hope!

Its eighteen months since I had my three level done and I am still not right apache - a lot better then I was but still not right. I cant put on shoes unless i get down on one knee to do up the laces, hate anyone touching me when I get in bed as my back is hyper sensitive. I can manage to get my socks on - Just but its interesting to see a middle aged bloke hoping on one foot with sock in hand! Have to sleep with pillows behind my back and between my knees, get really cold which I never did pre-op and still have problems with my sciatic nerve going into my right thigh. Have to say if this is what I have to live with for the rest of my life then I reckon its been a fair result compared to how I was before the op.

I hope and pray you continue to improve with each passing day Apache - it does get easier - best thing I found was walking to be honest - small steps to start with but just keep going that little bit further each time.

And leave the bloody smokes alone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

got the stitches out today(10 days later as directed). they felt very tight the past two days and i felt my back was going to explode. the skin had grown over half the stitches and the skin had to be cut with a scalpel to get to the stitches. horrific pain :(

my Gp put paper stitches over the wound as it looked like splitting in some places (the stitches that were not embedded in skin) and the holes that the stitches came out of bled a lot. he wants to see me monday week to check on the wound.

jesus i hope to be on the road to recovery soon as i'm finding the whole thing very traumatic from start to finish. i think i am just unlucky :rolleyes:

edit - GP gave me a break until i see him monday week and gave me a supply of baclofen (lioresal), xanax and df118 so i am feeling a bit better and more relaxed. my main problem is painful muscle spasms. i've had them since my discectomy 6 months (which my disc reherniated days after that procedure) ago but as i healed from that they were obviously less painful, more annoying as its difficult trying to sleep when my muscles are twitching and playing loop the loop at night when i am trying to sleep. i was put on muscle relaxant (xanax) for that. also df118 which i found very difficult coming off from.

so now i'm dosed up again on baclofen, xanax and df118 but hopefully when i see GP again i will come off some of these. the muscle spasms are obviously very painful again after the spinal fusion with a raw wound. i find the side effects of the baclofen terrible. i know its this as i have never had side effects from the df118 or the xanax. i am bursting to go to the toilet every 2 hours which is very annoying when trying to sleep at night and such an effort to get in and out of bed. also dry mouth and very thirsty. i am a junkie on the cans of coke - only thing that relieves my thirst. also terrible savage appetite - i'm eating for ireland! which is very concerning as the last thing i want to do is put on weight and i have put a good bit on over the last week :(
    also very confused at times and get frustrated as i can't think of what i'm trying to say and forget words.

oh and another tip for this diary - make sure you take laxatives as the opiates cause constipation and the last thing you need is to be straining with stitches in your lower back right down to the crack of your ass and also you don't want to be dealing with uncomfortable stomach pain on top of everything else!

apache you have to remember you have had some pretty serious surgery done and its a long road to recovery. Your lower back was opened up and muscles etc moved around, your spine is also recovering as you have had major invasive surgery. You also have significant metalwork inside you now.

Easy for me to say I know but try and take it easy. If you have to be on pain relief then so be it you need to get over this hump and then worry about being on the tablets later. Some people who have had fusion's are on meds for many months post op - different people react in different ways.

Yeah you're right. I need to chill and take it handy.

I'm just frustrated that things aren't moving fast enough and with what you said plus i'm only out of hospital a week today. Lol that was a mad week!
    I'll have to give myself more credit. I'm my own worst enemy......

I'm trying to go around tesco to do my shopping which is stupid! I moved back home yesterday because the folks were doing my head in!

3 weeks post op. getting on ok. ditched the crutches as slowly getting feeling back in right leg and not so wobbly but right foot is still frozen solid. i think this is just a normal process of nerves healing. (6 pairs of socks and a hot water bottle :D)

in bed and getting up is very sore and uncomfortable but once i'm up and walk around a bit i feel not too bad. i think the exercises they give you to do is paramount to feeling better. whenever i feel sore i go on the exercise mat and do gentle stretches and it helps a lot. also going out for walks. sometimes i don't feel like it like today. its a bad time of year to get this done as its so wet and cold and last week or the week before the paths were icy.

still taking the muscle relaxants which help a lot but am taking less. just really need them first thing in morning and last thing at night. starting to sleep better at night but when i wake up i can't move for ages :(

apart from that everything going well and i'm pleased with progress. i can put my shoes and socks on now myself - couldn't reach down before. go for longer walks.

i do feel like the metal hardware is migrating out through my back though. when i lie on my back i feel like i'm lying on steel rods and in the morning very painful on right side. i can nearly feel it through my skin when i touch it but that could be all in my mind but judging by my other experiences i am always right when i was concerned. hopefully this time i am wrong.

7 months now out of work and 2 operations later. i really do hope this will sort me and in time i can return to work but its just a waiting game now.

looking forward to seeing consultant in january and getting xrays to see if hardware is as it should be and to see how much if at all bone graft has taken and grown.

i'm a bit fed up today and don't think i'll venture out of apartment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

Just found this thread and thought I'd pitch in.

I had a microdiscectomy in 2000 (I was 45 then) which helped very little. Fusion of L5/S1 was necessary in October 2005. The method used to fuse was then a new Israeli system of titaniun plugs filled with donor bone that were screwed between bones. So no internal scaffolding! I don't even set off alarms at the airport :p

I have never made a full recovery and returning to work was not an option. I'm a lot better than I was, pain meds are a rare necessity and I can mostly get by on anti-inflamtory type pills.

My feet are a mess of numb bits and odd pains, but I can walk. I was told pre-op that there was a 75% chance of not walking again, but I had complications that most don't have. The state I was in before the op left me with no choice but to go ahead and take my chances.

A good bed is a great help in aiding sleep and pain free comfort and I find that a 100% memory foam mattress does the trick for me. Long handled shoe-horns are a useful tool.

I'm glad to hear that some people achieve a return to normal life after this major surgery. I know people who have put all pain and misery behind them after surgery and I believe that the vast majority do just that. I sure hope you are in that vast majority, Apache.

Summary.... pre op pain score: a solid 10. Seven years post-op pain score: normally around a 2. I call that a qualified success.

Thanks for your insight Gosub. I do hope I make a full recovery and I am quietly optimistic :)

Had a fall on my stairs xmas eve so laid up in bed over xmas with pain and missed family gatherings and festivities so was very upset by that. But i've gotten back on the saddle and doing good past few days.

Next thursday I have physio appointment and the day after I see the consultant for first time since op - 6 week mark. Really looking forward to those appointments as I want to see how I'm doing 6 week post op ie am i better or worse than other people at this stage? As i said i'm quietly optimistic.

I figure in physio it will concentrate on stretching muscles in legs etc? The muscles in my right leg are very contracted (the one i have loss of feeling in) so i'm back to gently stretching them. I have most of the feeling back except part of my right leg and toes. Feeling is slowly coming back and its not as cold as it was. I'm going to concentrate on further stretching this week to give me a head start for physio so it won't be as painful.

I'm coming up to my last term on my 6 month restructure of my mortgage. (Out of work 7 months and started half pay last month). (Failed discectomy 7 months ago and have been unable to return to work since). I have to reapply for a second 6 month restructure term. I think a year is the max they give. I'll have to start appying for that in new year. The banks have been grand. I went to them before i fell into arrears and have worked with them - thats really all they ask.

My job and mortgage are huge stressers in my life so I hope I can return to work soon. My problem is the physical nature of job and the legality of me returning. I'm lucky though to have a job which is secure in this recession and pay me sick rates. I pay less pension related charges and no USC and lower taxes on sick rate so its not all bad.

I need to chill though and stop worrying. Its not going to change the outcome of whatever will be so theres no point.

I'm doing well and continue to make progress. No sciatic pain in left leg or buttocks AT ALL! Just have to see outcome of pain in my back and i was told that its harder to get rid of that. A fusion eradicates leg pain more easily. But I live in hope. Its not as sore as it was preop and my back feels a lot stronger. I hope that a detailed plan of physio and exercise will get me back to fighting fit.

Just be careful stretching your legs. My physio has me stretching my hamstrings by lying down flat on the floor keep your lower back against the floor at all times and use a door frame/wall and put your leg up on that. You may only be able to do it at a 45degree angle at first...maybe less but just make sure you ease it in don't over do it. You might feel tightness behind your knee again take it easy. Don't do the regular bend over forward hamstring stretch.

Day one off all the strong drugs. Going cold turkey. Want to see how I am without them.
    Bloody horrible day. Have flu like symptoms, shivers, sweats and aches and diarrohoeia and feel terrible. I've been through this every time I come off the opiates and now I remember how bad it is!

Toying with the idea of going to GP in morning to get something to take edge off or just riding it out. Taking vitamin C and lemsips.

That is all.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 cheeky2105

hi hope ur recovering well after ur surgery, i had 2 level l4l5 l5s1 fusion with rods and screws in oct 2010 it was a BIG DEAL haha as u know urself but it was the best thing i ever did

I couldnt walk my discs were gone and i was bone on bone with pressing on spinal cord i was left for 6mths like this then the fusion was only option

anyhow im over 2years now and all is good my bone fused within 6mths which was great i was a smoker but gave them up to aid healing so happy days ive been back last year to my ortho surgeon as ive had pain on and off but turns out the muscles at the scar site have issues with scar tissue so causes some pain but nothing like before so i went for phsysio and did pilates and was right as rain after thank god

anyhow wishing u good luck with the recovery take it easy though its long road i was 18mths out of work all in all but in fainress i had crohns too so the opiates messed that up unfortunately

Hang in there apache - how is the back itself feeling now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Coming off opiates cold turkey can be no fun, good luck man and stick with it - it's really worth it to be free of that stuff.

I like to hear those stories cheeky :) 6 mths? Thats brill. I'll get my first xray friday to see how my magic bone is growing. Can't wait!

Day 2 - of course still feel like crap. No sleep last night and sweating buckets :(
    I know the best thing is just get the head down and do it.

I rang GP this morning. He was reluctant to put me back on opiates as was I. He was thinking of a drug (can't remember name) for alcoholics who are going through DTs. That will give more nasty side effects coming off so decided against that. Went for over the counter solphadeine. Just had 2 in water so hopefully take the edge off. Am I failing by taking them? But its a big step down right? Just to make the next few days bearable. I know they bring a whole new set of problems.

Have physio tomorrow. Don't know how I'm going to get through that - the big sick narky head on me ha!

Positive thing to report - little or no back pain. So I don't need pain relief. If I get over this hump I think I'll be home dry :)

Edit - back of right leg still numb but instead of my whole right foot being numb its just my last three toes now with no feeling so hopefully that will keep improving.

Thank you all for the comments on my spinal fusion journey. I appreciate them.

How did physio go apache?

physio went great jdee. was going to post today after my 6 week consult which i am just home from.

i am down to 2 dissolvable solpadeine in the morning - nothing else! after years of being on strong opiates i am on nothing. i canna believe it!! so happy :D i took some over the counter herbal sleep aids last night and slept for 7 hours straight. feel great - first time i've slept all week. all the nasty come down side effects are nearly gone now. i have no pain or very little pain at times.

physio went well yesterday. spent an hour there. she pushed, pulled and prodded me in all directions. i had zero pain so she said that was an excellent sign of course. 100% success. the only problem was the muscle tone in my back and buttocks is very very weak. so monday week i go to a different physiotherapist who will work on strenghtening those muscles. in beween i have more exercises to do. no running or heavy gym yet. mostly walking and exercises i have been given.

went for my 6 week consult this morning. he was very pleased with progress. went down for an xray and brought the results back to him and he showed it to me. hes very pleased with metalwork position. looks cool. took a few snaps on my phone of it :p

so we discussed returning to work. i have to get a few letters together but i'm aiming to go back on light duties in 3-4 weeks. no danger areas etc. he will write a letter up to that effect and then i go see the work CMO and its up to her to let me back. should be ok as i am covered in a "safe zone".

i can't believe even in the last 2 weeks how i've improved. its deadly :D i never thought i would ever be pain free again. i've forgotten what it feels like. i don't want to tempt fate but i'm keeping on doing what i'm doing and being careful and hopefully every day i improve.

i'm actually ecstatic writing this. there are tears in my eyes. i never thought i would ever feel this way. so so happy :D

i go back in 3 months for another consult and more xrays. the consultant is amazing! when i asked him how i fared with his other patients 6 weeks post op he said the same as everyone else. he only has a 100% record and thats the way he wants to keep it :p he is very selective in choosing his patients and i'm so greatful he took me on. he gave me a big hug and i went on my merry way skipping home.

That is absolutely brilliant news apache - keep up the good work and dont overdo things

I'm not so sure about returning to work. Don't know what to do. My muscles are still very very weak and its 12 hour shifts and i can't just waltz off whenever i feel like it for a lie down. It will be a huge change after being off for 8 months. And i tire easily.

My monthly cert is due monday. I was aiming to go back early february as i would have a few physio sessions behind me by then.

It might do me good though to get back to work? I don't know - i'm in limbo.

It is only 6 weeks since the op. I do need to go back very soon though or else i'll have to go back to the bank to restructure which i don't want to do.

am fairly sure your employer runs a return to work scheme after you have been off sick for so long - half days initially and gradually build up to normal working - ask you HR people

none of that anymore jdee unfortunately. anyway there is only one HR department and thats in limerick.

under the new croke park agreement if you are not fit for duty you get compulsory redundancy. you will have to do your 12 hr shifts. you are allowed light duties for a maximum of 3 months and if by then you are not fit for the rat race its redundancy.

i am waiting on consultants report to grant me back for light duties. in the meantime i am waiting on an appointment with the CMO and i will have a clearer picture of where i stand then.

but on the upside i am pain free. i can't believe it! i never ever thought i would have such good results. i am on NO pain meds at all and starting to get into a semi normal sleep pattern naturally.

have physio next monday to start strenghting weak back and bum muscles. go out for walks and during the week i might try the gym - some light stuff to help me along. i'm still being very careful though and consultant has given me go ahead to do that.

its a horrible operation but coming out the other side i am loads better than i was. i think you tend to hear the negative things on forums because naturally if it is a success for people they don't post anymore. thats something for prospective fusion patients to keep in mind.

in 3 months time i will get another xray (i think every 3 months it is) and hopefully will see some bone growth. i'm might enquire in pharmacy about vitamin supplements that will help with bone growth.

i'm determined to go back to work and back to a normal life in the next few weeks. its just a waiting game now where all the legal paperwork is sorted to allow me to do so. if i can't go back to normal duties after 3 months i'm snookered. but no point in worrying about what ifs etc.

i think i've been through every emotion in the past 8 months.

physio again this morning. have teamed up with the same physiotherapist now who will work with me so thats good instead of seeing different people. although the first few times were probably for assessment and that was why.

i've started going to the gym every 2nd day and i feel a lot better but the physio has knocked that on the head today. new tests from holland have shown those after spinal fusion who start intense physio after 6 weeks fare less well than those who start after 3 months. so no no to the cross trainer and no no to some of the leg weights i was doing. i can still go but just use the treadmill for walking and the stationary bike and only one particular leg weight.

she said it would be foolish to mess it up as i'm doing so well. that makes sense. respect the fusion :)
    she gave me more exercises to do and to come back in 4 weeks. she said i'm one of the top successful patients she has seen 8 weeks post op so thats brilliant!

zero pain. not great movement in muscles but can walk normally. you wouldn't even know by looking at me i had surgery. off all painkillers which is the best thing by far for me. myself and the opiates had a very bad relationship. well worth the horror of cold turkey.

so yeah carry on with what i'm doing but cut out the work out that puts stress on my back and the twisting motion of the cross trainer and others like it so thats what i'll do. everything by the book.

when i see her next i will be 3 months post op so there might be good bone growth by then although i won't know for defo until i see consultant again and get xray in april.

happy enough to go back to work and just hanging around waiting for appointment with CMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Squeaky the Squirrel

Did you stay off the cigs?

Regret to say Squeaky I am having major problems in that department. Its foolish and detrimental and I feel very guilty about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Squeaky the Squirrel

apache wrote: »
    Regret to say Squeaky I am having major problems in that department. Its foolish and detrimental and I feel very guilty about it.
    I've heard good things bout vaping, if you wanted to give it a go.

Don't smoke myself so don't know.

Forum here.

Sub Forum of GUS

i know people are mentioning their surgeons but i cannot recommend david o'brien in beaumont enough. i was passed on to him after a failed discectomy by another surgeon.

he is top in his field as a neurosurgeon and a really nice guy to boot. some surgeons have this feeling that they have a gods complex. but seriously this guy really puts you at ease and after 10 years of back pain he has sorted it.

i can't believe i am doing so well after everything i have gone through. he really is amazing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Annuv

Delighted you're doing so well apache!

Annuv wrote: »
    Delighted you're doing so well apache!
    Thanks Annuv.

I have nothing to report. Am still doing well. Will rattle off a post after my next physio apt and xray.

Hope my bone is working away fusing :)
    I'm taking vitamins and minerals that promote healthy bone growth. Might give the process a helping hand.

had physio again this morning.

was doing well until i decided to go out sat night into town and went a bit mad and fell down the stairs at home later when i came home. hit my head and blacked out and a very sore head and back since. not where my fusion is - high up between my shoulder blades.

anyway physiotherapist checked me out and thinks its just a soft tissue injury so hopefully thats all it is. i'm an awful eejit. i'm lucky i didn't break my neck :eek:

physio wise i'm doing great. no problems. more exercises to do and back in 4 weeks. i was told i'm doing too much and to chill out so i better do that. but i can still go to gym - but just do certain things.

i'm going back to work on monday :eek: can't believe it! they are letting me do mon - fri 8-5. no shiftwork or overtime and no conflict post so should ease me in grand. have to say all during this long illness they have been very accomodating.

so after been off for 8 and 1/2 months i'm finally reentering the rat race. really when you think about it its only been 2 1/2 months since my fusion - the rest of the time was a wasted amount of time, energy and pain from a failed discectomy at the end of may.

on the very positive side - still zero pain on L5/S1 site and my posture is amazing! i walk much taller and stronger than i ever did in as long as i can remember. i used to be very slouched and people used to say to me "stop slouching"! it was embarrassing but i couldn't help it. i feel my back is very strong and supported and i am much more confident. only thing now is i am poker straight lol. much much better. i have to repeat i never thought this would be the success it was. i am so greatful to that surgeon. he gave me a second chance at enjoying life.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Teeke

Hi Apache,

I've been reading all your posts on your back over the last week and they've been of great help, so happy to hear you are pain free and on the mend.

I had a mri last week that show a damaged L4-L5 and herniated L5-S1, I've had sciatica on and off since I was 12, (I'm 26 now),but since a flair up in November its taken over my life.
    I have not physically been able to sit right since before christmas. I have had to cut back on work to one shift a week where I can only stand. I can't sit on the bus or the train and it all got on top of me. I got really down about it.

I saw a physio who said I should see a doctor and get a scan, he had told me if I kept stretching that maybe in a year or two I could sit again, this broke my heart. So I saw a doctor, got a scan, surgery was mentioned after the results and am waiting to see a consultant. Organizing that was tough, the one I am being sent to is not fully covered by aviva so if I do get surgery I will have to pay the excess which would be around a grand or more. I was told to find a consultant myself who was fully covered but this involved google-ing which I dont think is the way to do things.
    Anyway I can get a loan if I need to pay the excess and am just going to stick on the path the experienced doctor has put me on.

I know they say bed rest is bad for a herniated disc, but I don't know what else to do bar occassionaly walks/swim. I am in part time college so I have just spent everyday lying in bed studying. Although the pain is distracting so its tough. For a few days I just felt so sorry for myself and hid under the covers. But I'm not dying so I needed to toughen up, I go for short walks but the pain down my leg is doing my head in. Its started going down my right leg now too and I get bursts of a stabbing pain and pins and needles in my feet.

Sometimes after lying down for a day I feel ok and think sure I'm grand now, but as soon as I sit for more than 10 seconds its back with a vengence. I've avoided painkillers, I have tried them all but nothing really made a difference and I have had bad reactions mentally to prescription drugs in the past, so I'm sticking it out by avoiding the situations that cause the worst pain..ie sitting!

I am not opposed to surgery I know someone who had a successful discectomy and I'm trying to understand why so many people just straight out say that they wouldn't get surgery?

ozone therapy was mentioned too but I can't find any reference to it being used in Dublin. Has anyone got this done?
    95% success rate, no side effects, i think the oxygen shrinks the herniated disc by absorbing up the water in the disc.. but you're not supposed to bend or sit for 6 weeks afterwards. Not much of a difference to my life now!

Anyway sorry for the long post I guess I just needed to get all this out! Hoping the consultant is one who will listen and not rush me out, going insane waiting for calls/results/just to be able to sit.

God when I'm better I'm just gonna go sit everywhere! Cinema, restaurants, library, bus, train, cannot wait!!!!!!