Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

will an irish hero emerge?

• 24-03-2012 12:00am
    Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭

the country is in the state its in, we all know how, why and whom are to blame so i wont have to rehash all that. the thing that strikes me sometimes is how everybody, will gladly give out about the situation with a negative feeling about everything. very few seem to have a mainly positive outlook on the immediate future.
    the main point for most people is ovb the lack of trust in anyone in the dail, with the typical "arragh sure it doesnt matter what shower of gobsh*tes is in there, theyre all the one" statement being thrown about.

maybe its all a bit marvel comics of me, but is theyre any hope for someone, some charasmatic, forward thinking, HONEST person, to take centre stage and grab the publics attention and create an all encompassing shift in public thinking. it just seems like ireland is lost for someone to devote their lives work to the betterment of their countrymen.
    ireland i feel needs a new inspiration.....

cause enda kenny is a w@nker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Ming!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Not a hope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

will an irish hero emerge?

Send them all plutonium and see what happens. Ye never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

One man's hero is as another man's wanker...and vice versa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Big Johnson

John Joe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

maybe its all a bit marvel comics of me, but is theyre any hope for someone, some charasmatic, forward thinking, HONEST person, to take centre stage and grab the publics attention and create an all encompassing shift in public thinking. it just seems like ireland is lost for someone to devote their lives work to the betterment of their countrymen.
    ireland i feel needs a new inspiration.....

In the world of politics ,words and phrases like 'Charasmatic ' 'Forward Thinking ' and ' Honest ' can mean different things to different people and not what ' your average honest Joe ' might think or assume them to mean .

FFS ..even Bertie used them ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

James McClean come July?

This guy

He can crush a single mandarin between his legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Dana Rosemary Scallon riding a unicorn over the embers of the Beacon South Quarter whilst waving a tricolour in slow motion to the theme of Harrys Game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Doom and Gloom... :( makes me sad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I am liking Enda so far. I think he is doing a good job, I would defo vote for him and his party if the election was tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Sacramento wrote: »
    This guy .........]3baXAGy6Ho4[/YOUTUBE]

He can crush a single mandarin between his legs.

He should leave them Chinese fellahs alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

Would love to see a real-life Slaine: The King roam the Emerald isle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

Nope. And even if one did, he'd be shot down by the idiotic double-think in this country of "We want change! No! Wait! We want things the same!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

The idea of an all powerful hero is bull**** - it feeds into this 'saviour will come' nonsense. It's a subtle message that we need a leader to deliver us from oppression/evil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Giovanni Trappatoni , he will play it safe and make sure Irelands defence forces are bolstered.

Riamfada wrote: »
    Dana Rosemary Scallon riding a unicorn over the embers of the Beacon South Quarter whilst waving a tricolour in slow motion to the theme of Harrys Game.
    I think Beritie riding around on the Dublin tour bus to the soundtrack of 'Goodfellahs ' would have more appeal tbh
    cloptrop wrote: »
    Giovanni Trappatoni , he will play it safe and make sure Irelands defence forces are bolstered.
    Then when it all goes pear shaped (a fcuk up ) he can blame outside negative influences like Dunphy ,Brady and Giles and leave with a nice pay cheque .

Is big Jack still alive and sane , hed just stick two big men up front and play the long ball. Economy would sort itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

All the people getting up early in the morning and doing an honest days work or school are heroes. I'm retired so my contribution is visiting my mother in the nursing home and stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Phil Hogan.

I believe Kenny Dalgleish will need a job soon.

BBC NEWS: Kenny Dalgleish has thrown his hat into the ring .

Dalglish ....it's Dalglish !

Latchy wrote: »
    Dalglish ....it's Dalglish !

IT DOESNT MATTER WHAT YOUR NAME IS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

We need a phyco killer like France - ill throw my hat in the ring-I'll start in Jervis Centre

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Rowanvella199

Maybe, But they sure as hell wont be from government!

cloptrop wrote: »
    IT DOESNT MATTER WHAT YOUR NAME IS.
    High caps and incorrect name spelling does !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I want in on this one! Long story short you're looking for a return to the garden of eden which was the state that exists in childhood for everyone. The whole blaming those in the public eye for people's unhappiness is not going to solve anything really. My main hope is that none of the more powerful countries do anything stupid in their persuit of another political hero person. (which is what this thread is looking for really.. Just like ireland wanted with bertie)

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

We get the politicians we deserve .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

here I am *waves* I just need around 65% of the country to support me to get into power, then I will change things from within, like a christian brother wielding his stick (or a wavin pipe wielding farmer at the mart) hunting them out of the Dail bar and taking their expenses/pensions from them.. no better buachaill either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

Samich wrote: »
    Ming!

He has long hair, he smokes weed.

He's not a gombeen on the make.

In Ireland, the long hair and weed thing over-rule the "gombeen on the make" thing. So we shall have the same nonsense for another hundred years and several more gombeen tribunals like Mahon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Riamfada wrote: »

This is powerful imagery. I'm not ashamed to admit I felt a semi coming on.

Artists impression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Sheamus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

The barman mick from savage eye.

ARE YA FU¢KIN JOKIN ME!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭James T Kirk

The name's Browne... Vincent Browne. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I doubt it very much. The Irish Republic is in a deep decline and it will take at least 2 generations before you can visibly see some improvement. The current generation can do nothing about it to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

KeithAFC wrote: »
    I doubt it very much. The Irish Republic is in a deep decline and it will take at least 2 generations before you can visibly see some improvement. The current generation can do nothing about it to be honest.
    You'd better start figuring out ways to make it better Keith since you'll be reunified with the Republic long before that time.

On the new leader thing, can we just pick someone at random and use peer pressure and internet sarcasm to humiliate them into becoming an Irish hero? I nominate cloptrop, I like the cut of his jib.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    You'd better start figuring out ways to make it better Keith since you'll be reunified with the Republic long before that time.

On the new leader thing, can we just pick someone at random and use peer pressure and internet sarcasm to humiliate them into becoming an Irish hero? I nominate cloptrop, I like the cut of his jib.

I'd like to second Cloptrop.This is where it could start at 9.30am on sat 24 th.
    VIVA LA ,REVIREVOLUTSHUN ATART

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Wait, I'm just putting on my shoes..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Kurz wrote: »
    He has long hair, he smokes weed.

He's not a gombeen on the make.

In Ireland, the long hair and weed thing over-rule the "gombeen on the make" thing. So we shall have the same nonsense for another hundred years and several more gombeen tribunals like Mahon.

But he talk so well :( The diction is something to behold and the chinese ring leader beard adds to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Gerry Adams could pull out the aul' armalite next time he steps into the dail and get hero status...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Daftendirekt

If Batman has taught us anything, it's that the emergence of a hero will lead to the rise of a new breed of supervillain, more deadly and dastardly than anything we've seen before.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Hopefully Fianna Fail get their act together and return to government, They will drag us out of it, the Blueshirts and champagne socialists have no answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

Jimmy MacCarthy is the Irish hero.

You just need to believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Declan Ganley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,121 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

dirtyden wrote: »
    Declan Ganley

AKA Lex Luthor.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

What do you think were living in OP, some sort of movie? This isn't the Matrix you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

I dont think he or she will be a public figure