Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thamsk to the guy on the Luas

• 22-01-2008 10:50am
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Just wanted to say thanks to the guy on the luas on saturday night going from tallaght to town.

Basically I got on at tallaght about 10.45 going into town to meet some friends but was running really late. As for that time there wasnt many people, just before the door closed 2 girls and 2 guys got on(probably all around 20)(me 22), Even though I'm from tallaght these people looked really rough. They sat in the 4 seats across from me, I had my Ipod in and just kept looking out the window, the took out bottles of vodka i think it was and were knocking them back.

So they one of the girls was standing in the aisle and as we went up the hill to to the tallaght hospotal stop she fell on me, then the s##t hit the fan as people say, she said i was laughing at her and that she was going to bottle me , obviosly i was terrified then one of the lads start telling the girl to get my ipod so she came over and sat across from me and start screaming at me to give he my ipod she tried to grab my headphones but i pushed her hand away then one of the lads jumped across the aisle and grabbed my jacket and tried to put his hand into my bag, I was pretty much in tears when this guy appeared out of nowwhere and pretty much threw this guy across the carriage and told the girl he'd do the same to her if she didnt f##k off so she went but the 2 lads squared up to the guy bottles in hand, but they backed down. The guy sat with me the whole way into town and walke dme to where i was going. But as i was so upset i didnt even get his name and i am not even sure i said thanks,

so here it is: thank you, It is good to know that there are still some decent people out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Its not a PI.
    I will move to AH, greater covergae :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 33,519 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Well done to that guy, whoever he was. He deserves some serious praise.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

That's great. It's good to see there are people out there who will stand up to those scumbags. Fair play to your man.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Aye, knight in shining armour.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

Fair play to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,715 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Fairplay to him, im from tallaght and there can be some little f*****rs on that Luas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

Further proof that there actually still some of us good guys left in the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

It was me.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

bah, i once did something similar on the 19A recieving a dig in the head for me troubles, and did i get me own AH thread thanking me?

did i f**k :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Ah fair play to him!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Bambi wrote: »
    bah, i once did something similar on the 19A recieving a dig in the head for me troubles, and did i get me own AH thread thanking me?

did i f**k :mad:
    I've only ever been beaten up twice, both times while trying to help someone out. I'd still help again though.

OP, you should ring Ray D'Arcy or one of those shows, they lap that sh1t up, plus you might get to actually thank the person.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Glad to hear that the scumbags didn't get free reign. You should also make a formal complaint, hopefully with the cameras on the luas they can be identified and prosecuted, might also help you meet your hero again so you can thank him properly.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

This is like the start to a really bad romantic comedy.

Next thing you need to do is put an ad in the Evening Herald looking for him. But alas despite your best efforts you don't find. You eventually give up waiting and marry some other guy. Bout ten years down the line your husband dies in some sort of a freak accident but you meet the same guy in the hospital minding disabled kids. After a few nervous dates ye both fall in love and live happily ever after.

The End

COPYRIGHT KEVMY

Seriously though, fair play to the guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Magic Pips

BaZmO* wrote: »
    I've only ever been beaten up twice, both times while trying to help someone out. I'd still help again though.

OP, you should ring Ray D'Arcy or one of those shows, they lap that sh1t up, plus you might get to actually thank the person.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Good to see the scummers dont have it all their own way. Always nice to see them put in their place.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

god love you that was an awful experience, hope you're ok now. Fair play to that guy!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,056 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Fair play to the guy, its not an easy thing to do. Three drunken scumbags bottles in hand....I'd like to think that I would do the same but unfortunately, probably not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

This happens in Hollywood all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭mossyj

Hi Op,

Im really glad that situation worked out well for you, it could have been really horrible. My brothers girlfriend was not so lucky about 6 months ago...... she was in a pub in templebar and 2 scumbag girls attacked her becasue they thought whe was laughing at them!!! My brother wasnt in the vacinity at the time but his friend was and he tried to break it up by pulling the girls off of her. One of the girls smashed 3 empty bottles over his head and tried to shove the broken end of the last botte into his face! A bouncer stepped in and grabbed the girls hand before she could do the damage. Long story short - the 2 scumbags got away with it because they threatened to say that my bros m8 had assaulted them!!!!!! Also Sarah(bros g/f) had to go a hair specialist afterwards because they actually pulled huge clumps of her hair out + there were 2 larges bald patches on her head after it! It cost her over €1000 on treatments for her hair to grow back!

Oh and b4 anyone asks - there was no camera cover around this particular area of the pub + no witnesses would come forward!

Good to hear that your ok and fair play to that guy.

I've been mugged once in town when I was 18. Coming out of the Fitzwilliam casino after winning a poker tournament. Took everything, the guy was Eastern European & much bigger then me plus he looked like a well dodgey **** so I wasn't going to try defending myself as I normally would put up some sort of fight. This is were my dislike for people from this part of Europe spurned from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Not really a good idea.

Let the bloke stay anonymous, as he may bump into those dirt birds again when they are mob-handed.

Fair play to him though, and I'm glad it all turned out OK OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

stovelid wrote: »
    Not really a good idea.

Let the bloke stay anonymous, as he may bump into those dirt birds again when they are mob-handed.

Fair play to him though, and I'm glad it all turned out OK OP.
    Ah now come on, you're getting a little bit Hollywood there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Ah now come on, you're getting a little bit Hollywood there!

Maybe, but If was the bloke, I'd rather hide my light under a bushel.

Would be embarrassed by the attention, and you can never guarantee that some of your details might not go public if you got a fool like RD or Joe Duffy on the case.

The guy may get the Luas regularly, so the OP could see him again.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

And after all that you couldn't be bothered spelling thanks properly!

Ah na, that's great what he did for you. Can't say I'd have the courage to do the same.

mossyj, that's a pretty bad story, hope it's the only one of those you ever have to tell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Fair dews to the lad in question. As said, go onto Ray D'arcy or some similar show and he's more likely to receive your message!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,586 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Gerry Ryan could have done with this story a few days ago. He was doing a piece about bystanders not doing anything to help and only had the bad stories.

Himself or as someone else has Ray D'arcy can help you find the guy. D'arcy does it all the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭blah

Fair play to the guy, I love these "have a go hero" stories.

I'd love a good reason to knock around a few scummers, except I couldn't punch my way out of a paper bag :o

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

luaswoman wrote: »
    Just wanted to say thanks to the guy on the luas on saturday night going from tallaght to town.

Basically I got on at tallaght about 10.45 going into town to meet some friends but was running really late. As for that time there wasnt many people, just before the door closed 2 girls and 2 guys got on(probably all around 20)(me 22), Even though I'm from tallaght these people looked really rough. They sat in the 4 seats across from me, I had my Ipod in and just kept looking out the window, the took out bottles of vodka i think it was and were knocking them back.

So they one of the girls was standing in the aisle and as we went up the hill to to the tallaght hospotal stop she fell on me, then the s##t hit the fan as people say, she said i was laughing at her and that she was going to bottle me , obviosly i was terrified then one of the lads start telling the girl to get my ipod so she came over and sat across from me and start screaming at me to give he my ipod she tried to grab my headphones but i pushed her hand away then one of the lads jumped across the aisle and grabbed my jacket and tried to put his hand into my bag, I was pretty much in tears when this guy appeared out of nowwhere and pretty much threw this guy across the carriage and told the girl he'd do the same to her if she didnt f##k off so she went but the 2 lads squared up to the guy bottles in hand, but they backed down. The guy sat with me the whole way into town and walke dme to where i was going. But as i was so upset i didnt even get his name and i am not even sure i said thanks,

so here it is: thank you, It is good to know that there are still some decent people out there.
    That's great, but are you hot?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,586 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Terry wrote: »
    That's great, but are you hot?

i suspect she is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

thats fantastic.

its great to see people stepping in to help...not many people do anymore