Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Taking the Bus Really a Matter of Consumer Choice or the Last Resort?

• 27-07-2006 12:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭

Now before you accuse me of bus bashing (I am not) - I was doing some research on the new "Superbuses" which are being rolled out as alternatvies to light rail investment (mainly in the UK) and it turns out that these QBCs, E-Ways, B-Ways and so forth are failing miserably whereever they are being set up. (Cork take note)

By contrast whenever a light rail system is built (as we know this by Dublin) the citizens for the most part fall in love with it (with Sheffield Supertram being the odd man out).

This love of Light Rail/Metros is very true in the USA were light rail is bringing back public transport usership in US cities with long dead public transport cultures. Even though buses were provided by the local transit authorities and quiet often with comprehensive and reliable services, they ran empty most of the day. A light rail system or metro is built and HEY PRESTO... the trams are packed...urban regeneration and extentions to the system soon follow.

The bus does not do this. It does not capture the public by choice. It does not regenerate cities...it does not have any loyalty - only dependence.

So this brings me to the title of this post. Is bus based public transport really only for people who have no other option in public transport?

If a city really wants to develop public transport, then is the bus only for the non-car users, and therefore Light Rail/Metro and Commuter Rail the only real carrot to woo the car commuter out of their cars? The anecdotal evidence would suggest an overwhemling YES. Bus transport for urban public transport is the transit of last resort from what I can tell. I would be interesting in hearing what others think.

After this research, I am starting to wonder if buses, and the more sexed-up versions such as QBCs and so on - really just a waste of money and over the long-run and would investment in commuter rail and in an urban setting Light Rail/Metro the only real sensible option, in 21st public transport choice?

Bus based public transport seems to be most sucessful in regional and inter-city transport as a rival to the train. But in an urban setting, there seems to be no real loyalty to the bus unless the person cannot drive for some reason and the bus is the only way they can get around.

Either way, this "Superbus" concept seems to be a complete turkey doomed to failure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

I have no car. I hate taking the bus. I live some distance from the nearest dart station (4km) and often go out of my way to take a dart rather than a bus. However, the bus does the job.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

So this brings me to the title of this post. Is bus based public transport really only for people who have no other option in public transport?

Yes, but with one caveat, many car drivers take the bus due to the high cost of city parking.

BTW About Cork, a relatively minor investment in buses in Cork would vastly improve the service. This would only cost a fraction of a Luas line and be far more beneficial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭markf909

I dont own a car and I despise taking the bus, I will go out of my way to ensure I catch the train when I make trips to the city.
    The bus is just too slow with stops every 50m (literally in some places) and the potential to have low-lifes ruin the journey too great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Navan Junction

A light rail system or metro is built and HEY PRESTO... the trams are packed...urban regeneration and extentions to the system soon follow.
    I agree. But jeez it's expensive.

I have to say apart from being stuffy, the big problem I used to find with buses was leg room - and I'm about average in height.

I used to prefer to stand.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

I'm bus ridden here in limerick. I don't think I have any great affinity to trains over buses except for long haul travel across the country. If buses were more sensibly timetabled with the scumbags shot on sight things would be a lot better.
    I really don't think the whims of people are worth the extra expense of a light rail system when buses can be as effective. Look at Germany - excellent combination of light rail and buses in most cities. The two services complement each other rather than compete. Take for example Wuppertal, a quite small city. Its located in a river valley and essentially consists of two old smaller cities grown into one so its quite long. They've build an inverted monorail over the river which services transport across the city. The excellent bus services then feed in and out from the two main city centres to the suburbs. The tickets are the same for everything and they're quite cheap but the main point is that the different services work as part of a greater system. The monorail has quite a lot of charm too I suppose...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭MiniD

The bus does not do this. It does not capture the public by choice. It does not regenerate cities...it does not have any loyalty - only dependence.

I don't think the fact that people depend on the bus gives it any less importance. Infact, I would say that because people depend on the bus service, this should make it all the more prominent when getting funding and priority. While your comments on the performance of QBCs in the UK may be true, here in Dublin the QBCs have proved to be successful.

I would agree that when making long journeys the train is much better, because of comfort and speed. But this option also comes with a higher cost, and for many people needing to travel long distance at a cheap price, the bus is a far better choice.

On the topic of passengers loyalty to their bus, I have seen many people and community groups kick up when any changes to their route were being made.

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭thewing

I'd sooner walk than take the bus, I cycle/drive/walk to luas(bout 15 min walk away).

• Registered Users Posts: 6,184 ✭✭✭Archeron

Now that I live outside Dublin, and commute, I would always choose the Bus Eirreann bus where possible. Sadly, as I need my van for my job, this is really only feasible when I go into Dublin to socialize.

However, when i did live in Dublin, taking the bus really was the last resort, simply down to the fact that so many sh*tbags do be on the bus and they make everybody uncomfortable. Not to mention their smoking, anti social behaviour and the sheer stink of unwashed bodies. This doesnt really seem to happen with the Bus Eirrean coaches, hence the reason I enjoy being driven to the city by someone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,254 ✭✭✭markpb

I think it's an unfair question since most people in Ireland have never seen a decent bus service. The obvious exception are people living along the 46A route in Dublin ;)

Based on what I've read and no statistical proof at all, I think you're right that in most places, rail has a stronger ability to draw people out of their cars than buses do. Cubrito is the most common example of this. The LA MTA Orange line is the exception.

Given that a decent QBC (not like those in Dublin) can be built for a fraction of the cost of even a light rail system, most cities will have to chose a combination of the two.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭Red Alert

i think ideas like guided busways and buses are just silly to be honest. it's the tail trying to wag the dog.

the 'trouble' as i see it with QBC's etc is that they stifle anything further. for example UCD would warrant even an on-street tramway from dublin city centre, but since the 46A has a QBC there we'll never see that.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,048 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

The problem with buses I find is that the only realiable ones seem to be in and out of the city. I live in Dundrum, work in Terenure and socialise often in Cabinttely/Sallynoggin. If I'm going not going to town have to walk for 30/40 minutes just to get to the bus-stop. NAd that's beofre you deal with the unrelaibility of the 17/75 in mid-route.

With this weather, though, it's been walking all the way...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Now before you accuse me of bus bashing (I am not) - I was doing some research on the new "Superbuses" which are being rolled out as alternatvies to light rail investment (mainly in the UK) and it turns out that these QBCs, E-Ways, B-Ways and so forth are failing miserably whereever they are being set up. (Cork take note)

Either way, this "Superbus" concept seems to be a complete turkey doomed to failure.

buses do there job for thousands upon thousands, their biggest problem is too much traffic, its just your prejudices shouting again.

Buses serve thousands of people in Dublin because there's no real alternative. Between a mixture of silly routes (bad city planning) and lack of priority or bus lanes (city councils fault), it's frustrating trying to get anywhere. Just because people use them doesn't make them good.

markpb wrote:
    Buses serve thousands of people in Dublin because there's no real alternative. Between a mixture of silly routes (bad city planning) and lack of priority or bus lanes (city councils fault), it's frustrating trying to get anywhere. Just because people use them doesn't make them good.

but T21 arguement is so silly , he saying alot people take the bus because they don't have a car... of course they bloody do, if convience were the only factor then T21 might be right. Of course he not.

I prefer to take the train rather then bus to town, cos its quicker etc, it amazing how I choose to take the bus if its not near the dart, well blow me down? :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭Slice

I think the Stillorgan QBC proves that busses can be quite successful - Maybe I'm wrong but isn't the patronage on that route greater than Luas Green line?

I think this shows that buses as a mode of transport can be successful and that when they fail elsewhere the failure can be put down to the implementation over the mode of transport used?

I don't see the point of guided buses to be honest - there just isn't a big enough differentiation from ordinary busses compared to tram against bus that makes them any more attractive.

Are guided buses planned for Cork? I think more importantly Belfast should take note since their plans for guided buses are far more advanced.

but T21 arguement is so silly , he saying alot people take the bus because they don't have a car... of course they bloody do, if convience were the only factor then T21 might be right. Of course he not.

I guess you could read lots of things into his post but I have a feeling he's trying to convince us that building super-QBCs instead of light rail is a bad idea because it won't convince as many car drivers to change to mass transport.

In that respect, he's right but I don't think its as simple as that because (in Ireland), building a bus lane is much easier than building a super QBC because politicians are less likely to interfere so its more likely to ever get off the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭paulm17781

markpb wrote:
    I think it's an unfair question since most people in Ireland have never seen a decent bus service. The obvious exception are people living along the 46A route in Dublin ;)

Every day on the 8.20 145 from D'Olier St. The same skanger gets on and rolls a joint at the back. I would complain to a driver but they are different ones each morning.

145 and 46a are similar routes.

paulm17781 wrote:
    Every day on the 8.20 145 from D'Olier St. The same skanger gets on and rolls a joint at the back. I would complain to a driver but they are different ones each morning.

Each morning I can wait anywhere from 5 minutes to 30 minutes (depending on traffic) for the bus to get the 1.5 miles from the bus depot to my house. It might take another 15 minutes to get the next 1/4 mile to to get off the main road so we can spend the next half hour meandering round some housing estates. We usually spend between 5-15 minutes sitting in one of them because the timetable states the time we leave that estate. After all that, we make our way slowly down the slightly-too-narrow bus lane on Malahide road as far as Clontarf where I get off.

When the 46A reaches pitiful levels of service like that, let me know so I can feel some sympathy for you :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

By contrast whenever a light rail system is built (as we know this by Dublin) the citizens for the most part fall in love with it (with Sheffield Supertram being the odd man out).

This love of Light Rail/Metros is very true in the USA were light rail is bringing back public transport usership in US cities with long dead public transport cultures. Even though buses were provided by the local transit authorities and quiet often with comprehensive and reliable services, they ran empty most of the day. A light rail system or metro is built and HEY PRESTO... the trams are packed...urban regeneration and extentions to the system soon follow.

If a city really wants to develop public transport, then is the bus only for the non-car users, and therefore Light Rail/Metro and Commuter Rail the only real carrot to woo the car commuter out of their cars? The anecdotal evidence would suggest an overwhemling YES. Bus transport for urban public transport is the transit of last resort from what I can tell. I would be interesting in hearing what others think.

After this research, I am starting to wonder if buses, and the more sexed-up versions such as QBCs and so on - really just a waste of money and over the long-run and would investment in commuter rail and in an urban setting Light Rail/Metro the only real sensible option, in 21st public transport choice?

Bus based public transport seems to be most sucessful in regional and inter-city transport as a rival to the train. But in an urban setting, there seems to be no real loyalty to the bus unless the person cannot drive for some reason and the bus is the only way they can get around.

Jaysus, I thought you were supposed to be a public transport consultant!!

The answer is simple and you should know this as a consultant, Every urban transport is based on a multi-modal means of transport combining bus, light rail, heavy rail, sometimes ferry and so on. Each has it's advantages depending on the application, availability and demand. Therefore a heavy rail link with feeder buses might be appropriate in one situation or a QBC might be appropriate for another. Indeed, in some instances a QBC may suffice present demand with a planned replacement in the future with another transport mode. Unfortunately, we don't plan this infrastructure in a proactive way we simply react. There are other instances where the use of one means of transit is physically impossible. You also have to look at demand ... replacing, say, all our QBC's would not be efficient given the low density sprawl of Dublin. In fact, bus is best suited to Dublin because of this factor unless there is a defined spatial strategy of 'bulking up' the city. Indeed, some times, as in the case of the DART the increase in density followed the line.

Obviously some modes are more attractive than others in inspiring people to use public transport. A case in point would be the tram in Dublin (though if you ever wanted an example of two turkeys here you are) which is highly visible, modern and speedy means of transport. This may not always be true but it is a perception. I believe that motorists who have a public transport alternative available will always be harder to persuade. They have a door-to-door mode and will be looking for a speedier and more convenient journey by transport. Therefore their expectations are higher (though not always justified) than those who rely on public transport only.

It also depends on how it is marketed and the heritage of the bus company. Despite having a modern fleet, Dublin Bus does not have a particularly good heritage. We think strikes, old and dirty buses. This is also the case in the UK. Although this may have changed the perceptions haven't.

It is interesting, that in many cases in Dublin, buses did replace light rail in the past so in some cases we are just bringing back what we had before We are only bus dependent because this is the only mode that we have invested in.

For me, public transport will always be multi-modal and the key is placing it under the one brand name and that every aspect of it is integrated. There is certainly no grasp of this in the RPA who see themselves in competition with all other providers.

markpb wrote:
    When the 46A reaches pitiful levels of service like that, let me know so I can feel some sympathy for you :-)

I agree that the 46A is the best route in Dublin. It really suffers from too many stops though. It can take an hour to do 6 miles because it stops so frequently. Most of the stops aren't even needed ffs.

3 at RTE!
    2 in Stillorgan!

I could list more.....

• Registered Users Posts: 17,848 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

I think the bus routes need to be simplified, with fall less stops, 1 stop every Km, and live timetables to ones mobile.

The main problem with buses is the uncertainty, you don't know if you have just missed one and you might have to wait 30min for the next one.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Transport21 Fan

markpb wrote:
    I guess you could read lots of things into his post

According to another thead lostexpectation proudly announced he ignores my posts. Now he reads them....:rolleyes:

Anyways, I now consider Dublin to be a post-bus public transport situation. Transport 21 more or less ended Dublin Bus as a monoploy provider across huge segments of the city.

On a completely unrelated matter, why are so many fellas on this board madly in love with blokes in CIE uniforms? There is nothing wrong with having a kinky sex life and enjoying all aspects of human sexuality among consenting adults. That's cool with me. But read this board, one often gets the impression that some of the people here who have the hots for CIE bus and train drivers tend to confuse this sexual desire for CIE staff with public transport provision and devlopments.

I wish these lads well in their CIE uniform fetish, but please do not be confusing that with what other folk want from public transport. Please bear this in mind. Love is beautiful, sexual kinkiness for CIE uniforms is fine, but that's not what we fund public transport for.

Mind you, even this place is not too bad compared to other boards. On other bus and train message boards are literally endless love letters to bus and train drivers (CIE bus and train drivers ONLY of course). This whole sub-culture of romantic feelings for CIE staff and defending them no matter what, and in an almost Victorian Rudyard Kiplingesque/Enid Blython way, which is very interesting.

I get the impression that half these people are pissed off they never grew up as plastacine figures in Trumpton or Campbell Wick Green.

silverharp wrote:
    I think the bus routes need to be simplified, with fall less stops, 1 stop every Km

Make it 500m and I think it would be a winner. 1km is too much.

T21Fan, must you attack people's sexuallity if they disagree with you? It does little to strengthen an argument and makes you look like an 8 year old. Most of your posts are quite witty, there is no need for such childish rebuttles*.

* I said butt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Transport21 Fan

I am not attacking their sexuality at all! Jesus, there is enough dirt on me out there FFS. I make no bones about the fact I often feel aroused by the sight of model trains running around in a ciricle. I just don;t expect taxpayers to fund it that's all.

In fact I am encouraging them to be more open about their feelings and desires for CIE staff. It's a beautiful thing. I just wish they would not confused this love for CIE staff with public transport development - that's all. Keep the two seperated.

If some people hang around Donnybrook garage at closing time in the hope to get a lick of Anto and Deco's arse-sweat residue off the 46a driver's seat, then god bless them. Just please realise it is Transport21 not Transport69.

Alright, the moderators can ban me now.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,683 ✭✭✭jd

paulm17781 wrote:
    T21Fan, must you attack people's sexuallity if they disagree with you? It does little to strengthen an argument and makes you look like an 8 year old. Most of your posts are quite witty, there is no need for such childish rebuttles*.

* I said butt!
    Damn you, I think you've woken up Victor ..:)
    jd

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 24,924 Mod ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Even though buses were provided by the local transit authorities and quiet often with comprehensive and reliable services, they ran empty most of the day.

You have to take into consideration the "car" culture of the US, plus the fact that bus transport is/was usually considered the domain of the "poor".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭Chris_533976

I use the bus if I have to, but as we all know Cork buses are a disaster.

One of the things with a Luas type system is that IT has priority, so you can be guaranteed of the timetable.

Then in Cork, the time for the bus to go 2 miles is exactly the same as it takes to walk those 2 miles, mostly because of morons parking in the bus lane.

Tram lines for the win. Lets have one in Cork plz.

According to another thead lostexpectation proudly announced he ignores my posts. Now he reads them....:rolleyes:

that was months ago, did you re-register? thanks for reminding me, I can't read any more of your tripe. T21 > ignorelist I hope you get knocked down by a bus :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Anyways, I now consider Dublin to be a post-bus public transport situation. Transport 21 more or less ended Dublin Bus as a monoploy provider across huge segments of the city.

I think you are being slightly biased here. While the DB unions were quite happy to maintain the monopoly in terms of being the sole provider of bus transport, they did not create the situation where bus was the only form of public transport. It was successive governments - the people we elect - that created and perpetuated the situation. You can't really blame DB for that. The current government has decided to increase investment in existing and new modes of public transport and this is to be welcomes. Transport 21 is merely the title for the policy and DB and other parties all have a role to play in this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭shltter

markpb wrote:
    I guess you could read lots of things into his post but I have a feeling he's trying to convince us that building super-QBCs instead of light rail is a bad idea because it won't convince as many car drivers to change to mass transport.

In that respect, he's right but I don't think its as simple as that because (in Ireland), building a bus lane is much easier than building a super QBC because politicians are less likely to interfere so its more likely to ever get off the ground.

You could read it as T21F as is usual trying to rile people with nonsensical arguements and then reduced to abuse about peoples sexual preferences when he fails in the first effort.

Dublin Bus carries 150 million people

Obviously people will choose the quickest most reliable mode of transport availsable to them and rail based transport has an advantage over bus transport in that respect. However when bus based transport is done properly or semi properly it attracts people and numbers using the service increase.

The big point that is overlooked is that the vast majority of people using the LUAS have transferred over from using the bus because of the reliability issue so we spent hundreds of millions of euro to move people from buses to trams for far less money the issues of providing a more reliable bus service which would have improved public transport for far more dubliners could have been addressed

The suggestion that we are in a post bus transport era is nonsense Buses do and will continue to provide an important part of the public transport infrastructure of this city in some areas they have an advantage on light rail for example in flexibility.

The fact that buses were not included in T21 has more to do with the government still being in disarray about what they want to do with the bus market and wanting to use fleet improvements as a bargaining tool in future negotiations with the trade unions.

It should not be forgotten that the Dublin Bus fleet has stayed pretty much static whilst the city has undergone massive growth as each new tranport minister has had a completely different policy Mary O Rourke had done a deal with the Unions which Brennan promptly unilaterally scrapped and went off on his 30% idea which Cullen promptly dropped and now has his own proposals that are going back towards the O Rouke deal of 5 years ago.