Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

None of them would make great photographers.....

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Saw part of one of the chases the other week in Dublin, the ones that were going on for hours. The car in this case was a Toyota Vitz/Yaris I think.

There was an unmarked focus hatchback hot on its heels and an X5 armed response unit, well at the end of the road there was a 90degree right turn and it seemed like the X5 barely made it round!

Scraping the Door handles..
    Must eat tyres, don’t get why they would choose them over an estate.

They are only getting X5s for ASU over the Q7

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

I don't understand why it wasn't forcibly stopped much earlier. Letting it drag on is dangerous to anyone on the roads. Same situation as the scrambler bikes, they know they won't be stopped and can ride dangerous to break off pursuits.

Maybe the Gardai didn't have an opportunity, or have been warned not to wreck cars.

Just seems they are making trouble for themselves.

Looked like the US with every car they have in the chase.....

Was a stinger not used?

Plenty of opportunities.

Looked like the US with every car they have in the chase.....

Was a stinger not used?

Plenty of opportunities.

No idea of circumstances of the case but first you need someone trained in the use of the stinger and second you need a spot with hard cover. Other factors to take into account too.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭Bigus

I don't understand why it wasn't forcibly stopped much earlier. Letting it drag on is dangerous to anyone on the roads. Same situation as the scrambler bikes, they know they won't be stopped and can ride dangerous to break off pursuits.

Maybe the Gardai didn't have an opportunity, or have been warned not to wreck cars.

Just seems they are making trouble for themselves.

Definitely wouldn’t inspire confidence with law abiding folk , and worse makes the Gardai look like muppets to the young criminals.

It Would certainly encourage me if I was a youth to try my chances fleeing, especially if you can get that result in a Toyota Vitz.

Policing is a lot about optics , and that chase is very very bad optics , sure they even have the Benny hill music dubbed in , to good effect.

Surely it wouldn’t take much out of the budget to have half a dozen specialist persuit cars in Dublin and another 6 posted around the country, with trained drivers to suit. Even Focus ST diesels if you were budget minded.
    Or Hyundai i30 N s , seeing as they have the contract and can’t give them away to private punters ?

So how should a chase be ended without endangering the Gardaí, members of the public, the patrol cars, the pursued car and the gougers in the car? Because if it goes wrong the Garda will be investigated. And the budget will be screwed if they start ramming cars.

Tactical contact, the longer these chases go on the higher the risk....

If there is enough cars they should be used to cut this risk.....

Obviously we are going to be broke so it will be like with the avensis they will have to last.....

Tactical contact, the longer these chases go on the higher the risk....

If there is enough cars they should be used to cut this risk.....

Obviously we are going to be broke so it will be like with the avensis they will have to last.....

Sounds easy to do but so much goes into your decision of how and when to do it. Speed is a big factor too. Yanks don't do it over 40 mph I believe. Roads theses chases are on won't be suitable most of the time.

P.i.t in the states....

The UK would probably be more suited as they will use the car pin it in or if really warranted like in this case they will ram the car off the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Cars are lethal weapons (look at the Islamic State's use of them when they don't have access to AKs) so why don't we treat some of these fail-to-stops as we would a fella running around with a gun?

The recent death of a pedestrian in Shankill shows once again that fleeing vehicles are a danger to innocents.

The Gov should think seriously about criteria and a process allowing Gardai to ram or shoot dead criminals who demonstrate that they could cause death or serious injury to the public if their vehicle is not brought to a halt.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,495 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Walker Texas Ranger there pinging off rounds at cars going 100km/h ^^ will ya wise up for fook :pac:

You're not playing GTA here. Pursuits are dangerous at the best of times without ramming cars off the road.

A lot of that pursuit is through residential areas with people out watching. Where was safe to ram there? In the US pits are done on straight streets/roads which there are plenty of. How many do we have here? How many are wide enough or long enough?

Every action has to follow the core principles of force, is it justifiable, necessary, proportionate?

More pursuits are stood down than continued for safety reasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Witcher wrote: »
    Walker Texas Ranger there pinging off rounds at cars going 100km/h ^^ will ya wise up for fook :pac:
    foreign wrote: »
    You're not playing GTA here. Pursuits are dangerous at the best of times without ramming cars off the road.

A lot of that pursuit is through residential areas with people out watching. Where was safe to ram there? In the US pits are done on straight streets/roads which there are plenty of. How many do we have here? How many are wide enough or long enough?

Every action has to follow the core principles of force, is it justifiable, necessary, proportionate?

Witcher wrote: »
    A few more drivers to engage in pursuits would be a fine thing:pac:

'CBD1'

'Stand down'

Well duh.

What I am saying is that we should define failing to stop as an activity warranting a fleeing driver's safety being set aside where there's;

- no innocent passengers in the fleeing vehicle
    - absence of a risk to the public i.e. the same criteria which provide for PIT or TPAC or the likes
    - no significant risk to Gardai i.e. the same criteria for throwing a stinger out

It might even deter criminals from fleeing in this way (i.e. overtly and at high speed) if they know that the Guards are capable of and entitled and prepared to do them harm if they do flee and pose a huge danger to the general public.

Box them in... Dundrum Garda done it many moons ago with a pajero, both vehicles destroyed but they did stop it..... Wasn't any loss was a clapped out corolla....

• Registered Users Posts: 14,495 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

donvito99 wrote: »
    Well duh.

What I am saying is that we should define failing to stop as an activity warranting a fleeing driver's safety being set aside where there's;

- absence of a risk to the public i.e. the same criteria which provide for PIT or TPAC or the likes
    - no significant risk to Gardai i.e. the same criteria for throwing a stinger out

It might even deter criminals from fleeing in this way (i.e. overtly and at high speed) if they know that the Guards are capable of and entitled and prepared to do them harm if they do flee and pose a huge danger to the general public.

Grand, never gonna happen.

donvito99 wrote: »
    Well duh.

Yeah, i have to agree - if I was after committing a serious enough crime, and the Gardai showed up; i'd be more inclined to deliberately drive as dangerously as possible, knowing they'll be told to call the chase off.

It's like the moped gangs in the UK. Have crime rates involving mopeds not dropped a fair bit since the Police became so public about ramming them?

Yeah, i have to agree - if I was after committing a serious enough crime, and the Gardai showed up; i'd be more inclined to deliberately drive as dangerously as possible, knowing they'll be told to call the chase off.

It's like the moped gangs in the UK. Have crime rates involving mopeds not dropped a fair bit since the Police became so public about ramming them?

The moped thing went from not engaging to full intervention with specially trained teams. We don't have that level of criminality.

This fellas are mostly kids joyriding.

Sorry @foreign had to this 😂

https://youtu.be/8-W9npgp7Hc

Font forget the Golf R was used to stop the Merc on the motorway.... Glad to see it back, love the sound ....

Better video of the flashy chase

It sounds lovely... nice to see Audi unmarked out too 😉
    https://youtu.be/cH4KzYTe6Nk

• Registered Users Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

POGAN wrote: »
    Better video of the flashy chase

It sounds lovely... nice to see Audi unmarked out too ��
    https://youtu.be/cH4KzYTe6Nk

You have to feel sorry for the lads in the van. Its like the fat kid on the bike in the snapper! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭Bigus

You have to feel sorry for the lads in the van. Its like the fat kid on the bike in the snapper! :D

The van is useful for blocking the road in an estate.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

Bigus wrote: »

That chase will be over by the time that van catches up!

Bigus wrote: »

I'd use a bus, dog van perhaps or even public order unit, can't see but could well need the back up in a certain area.

Bmw 5 series estate from the college are out and about now saw one at checkpoint on Facebook there

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Focus RS seen on the 'inside the K' tonight, looks class with the rear reds flashing.

carzony wrote: »
    Focus RS seen on the 'inside the K' tonight, looks class with the rear reds flashing.

OP IV unit... few them around some nice Gucci cars

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Anyone watching Inside the K tonight? Noticed a blue Golf R in the background of some video footage (when they were looking for the knife in the bottle banks)

Have they another R so?