Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wedding Vendor Review

• 01-08-2015 1:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭

So the dust has settled, we are back from honeymoon, everything went perfectly so I was thinking it may be a good idea if people wanted to post their experiences with their suppliers for the various things that they used for their weddings, links to the websites etc. Mods, feel free to close if you guys feel this isnt acceptable.

Photographer - Bronte Photography.
    Absolutely brilliant service from Tanya. She was there from 10 am up until just before dinner. Aside from when we were having the posed shots we barely noticed her around which is massively important for a photographer, she was in no way intrusive and we could not be happier with her, cannot wait for the official pictures.

Flowers - Bronte Bouquets
    This is the photographers sister, Tracey. He work was out of this world. From the button holes to the bouquets, the church pew ends and lanterns, bay trees, the centre piece for the unity candle, all were beautiful. She also decorated our venue with papers lanterns and bunting which were stunning and everyone that was there raved about them.

Videographer - David Stokes Video Production.
    Absolutely faultless. He was there from around 11 am up until the third dance at around 10 pm. Like with the photographer we barely noticed him around the place, top top bloke.

Hair & Makeup - The Powder Room Girls.
    Obviously I didnt see these guys on the day but the o/h was delighted with them so Im taking that as a good sign.

Cars - Heffernan Wedding Cars
    Cars were immaculate, punctual and relaxed throughout and an unbelievably comfortable journey.

Dress - The Town Bride
    Obviously I didnt have any dealings here but the missus raved about them, she couldnt have been happier with the service and the dress.

Suits - Aston Formal and Protocol Menswear.
    Professional and helpful staff in both places.

Band & DJ - Perfect Day.
    Fantastic from start to finish. We had a very tough crowd but Catherine and the team kept it going throughout and adjusted the set list accordingly based on some of the more difficult attendees, very happy.

Venue - Rathsallagh House
    We love this place anyway so one could accuse us of bias but it really was amazing. We had the drinks reception in the walled garden, there was ample finger food and scones for everyone, nobodies glasses stayed empty for long, there were lots of service staff posted strategically around so nobody went thirsty or hungry. There was no pressure from them for anything, even when the dinner bell went and myself and herself asked could we have 10 minutes to ourselves to catch our breath, they gave us 20 and asked if it was enough. The meal was out of this world and anyone that spoke about it to us said it was as good a meal they had anywhere, never mind at a wedding. The service throughout was completely on point and anyone that wanted seconds was happily obliged. I couldn't recommend this venue highly enough.

Honeymoon - We booked through Travelmood on Duke Street. We did Vegas for 4 nights, San Francisco for 3 and 8 in Cancun and they were the best price we could find. We priced booking all ourselves but the price difference was nominal.

Hotel in Vegas - The Aria
    Beautiful, modern Hotel & casino resort, just off the strip. Great service, not as cheesey as some of the resorts around, spotlessly clean with fantastically attentive staff. Their breakfast / lunch buffet restaurant (all you can eat for $25) is a sight to behold!

Hotel in San Fran - Handlery Union Square
    Hotel accommodation in San Fran is ridiculously expensive so this is very much a 3* place however we couldn't fault it for what it is. Comfortable, clean rooms, good if not particularly friendly service but the location is what really pushes this up. Its a 2 minute walk to the cable car that links to Fishermans Wharf, 5 minute walk to Chinatown and one minutes walk to some cracking bars and restaurants, the best of which we saw was Mortons Steakhouse. Its pricey (around $250 incl tip for 2 mains, a good bottle of wine and a few gin and tonics) but my God it was without a shadow of a doubt the best steak Ive ever had, and Ive eaten alot of steak. The 12oz filet with the lobster "surf & turf" option was to die for, perfectly cooked with attentive but not intrusive staff, if you like steak then you NEED to visit this place.

Hotel Cancun - Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun.
    A 5 diamond, adults only, all inclusive resort. Gorgeous place. Excellent service, some fabulous on site restaurants - the Italian and Japanese ones being highlights. All the staff were brilliant from housekeeping to the check in and everything in between. Sadly when we were there the beach was pretty much covered in seaweed throughout, they said its something they have not seen in many years and was due to tidal changes so that took away from it a bit as you couldnt really go into the sea but of course, the Hotel cannot be blamed for tidal shifts! The entertainment staff were excellent and really tried their best to get everyone involved. There were different shows on every night with the Beatles tribute being a particular highlight. One disappointing aspect is that I has booked an on the beach dining experience for us for our second night as it was our anniversary and for what we paid ($379) it was in no way worth it. The service was grand but the waiter wasn't particularly helpful or friendly, the food was average at best - what we ate in the Italian was miles ahead we thought - so I wouldn't be too quick to recommend it. Overall though, its a cracking spot for living like a king for a week or so!

I think thats the major things covered anyway, hope this was helpful!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,638 ✭✭✭Milly33

Great idea thanks business cat..will be back in a few weeks

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,905 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Congratulations Business Cat! This is a good idea for a thread - I'll stick my vendors in too, although I got married in 2010, still might be of some use.

Venue: The Glenview Hotel.
    We were delighted with the venue and how the reception went. Right from when we went to view it the first time, the service was brilliant, they couldn't do enough for us. The food was fantastic (we had sea bass and roast lamb) so much so that people still mention it to us 5 years later, everyone was offered seconds of what they'd had or they could have some of the other option. There were so many little nice touches, like one of the barmen bringing my bouquet down to the cold room for the night, so it would stay fresh. Not to mention the head chef saving the day with our wedding cake when the top tier nearly fell off (see review of cake supplier). They tailored a package for us, taking bits out of existing packages and mixing them together, so that it would work out cheaper for us. It was all paid for before the wedding, and when we were checking out the following morning my parents got reimbursed money because there were some bottles of wine left that hadn't been drunk!

Car: Leinster Wedding Cars
    These guys were great, punctual, friendly and very professional. We had the Rolls Royce which was really lovely, completely immaculate. We saw them at one of the wedding fairs at our venue, and booked them based on that - it was nice to have seen the car in person.

Photographer: Darren Purcell - Visionary Photography
    Darren was absolutely fantastic, very professional to deal with and responded to emails etc promptly. He was really helpful on the day as well, with tips etc, and perfectly wiping out a footprint from the back of my dress when someone stood on it :pac: He does candid style, but I also wanted some 'posed' shots, and he had them done super fast - no boring hanging around. The photos are amazing, and we had them back within less than 8 weeks of the wedding. I was on crutches at the time, so wasn't sure when I could get to the studio to collect them. It was the week before Christmas, so Darren delivered them to my parents' house (his parents live in the area) so that I'd have them in time for Christmas!

DJ: Tommy Greene - Mobile DJs
    I still recommend Tommy to anyone who asks about a DJ. He was brilliant! He's the resident DJ for the hotel, so that was why we booked initially, because when it came to bands/djs we were totally clueless. Our wedding co-ordinator assured us that Tommy was great, and she was absolutely right! The dance floor was full from start to finish.

Ceremony Music: The Miller String Quartet
    I've still got people asking me for their contact details 5 years later. We were delighted with them! Marcus was so pleasant to deal with, and very helpful with advice on what bits of the ceremony I'd need to pick songs for, etc. I know for a fact that they learned at least 3 new songs for my wedding, and they also had to shorten/rearrange them a bit for the ceremony (I walked up the aisle to a Led Zeppelin song that was originally about 5 mins long). We had them for the ceremony and then for 2 hours at the drinks reception. Our guests raved about them, and I know that a few of our guests booked them for their own weddings after hearing them play at ours.

Flowers: Dundrum Blooms
    Again, delighted with the flowers, they were beautiful! Eva was really helpful in the whole planning process. I had wanted a specific type of rose, but I didn't realise that they cost an absolute bomb. She was able to get me a different sort of rose that looked virtually identical and was half the price. I love my bouquet, and I dried it and have it in a cabinet in my living room.

Cake: Amazing Cakes
    The cake was the only part of the day we weren't happy with. Taste-wise it was lovely, but it wasn't exactly what I'd asked for, and for €700+ I don't think that was on. (We'd had a very detailed consultation and I'd provided pictures etc) Plus, the major issue was that the top tier of the cake started to fall off. It was one of those topsy turvey cakes (there's a pic of it in the Post A Pic of Your Wedding Thread) and it looks to me like the top tier was put on the wrong way around.

It was just lucky that we went in with the photographer to take a posed 'cutting the cake' photo when we were getting our photos done, because from the looks of it the top tier would have been on the floor if we'd left it until dinner. My SIL was with us, so she went off to get someone and came back with the head chef who managed to sort of reinforce it so that it would hold up a bit longer, although he was limited in what sort of repairs he made because they couldn't be too visible. While we were waiting for everyone to get sitting down before we went in as 'Mr & Mrs' our wedding co-ordinator said that the chef was recommending that we do the cake cutting before the dinner, so that they could get the cake out of the room. He said it could get warm in the room with so many people there, and he was concerned that with the heat that the cake wouldn't last through the dinner.

We considered complaining about it when we got back from our honeymoon, but at that stage we didn't see what good it would do and we didn't want to ruin our post-wedding buzz with a load of hassle about it. It was really disappointing, because they had come very highly recommended and have won a good few awards. That being said, going by our experience I wouldn't use them again, or recommend them.

Honeymoon: Hotel de Banville
    We went to Paris, so we booked it ourselves without a travel agent. My parents had stayed in the same hotel on their honeymoon, so that was why we booked it - we didn't really have any ideas of what hotels were good (aside from the really famous ones which obviously were for the mega-rich)

The hotel was really something special, all the rooms are different and have their own individual theme. The staff were lovely, they gave us a great upgrade, and on the first night we lost the run of ourselves and drank the €175 bottle of champagne that was in the mini-bar, but when we were checking out they told us it was on the house :D The location was great because we were in a quieter part of Paris, but a 2 minute walk to the metro so getting around was easy. And we had a lovely little balcony, so we could sit out for our coffee in the morning, and then have a glass of wine at night and see the Eiffel Tower lighting up.

• Registered Users Posts: 833 ✭✭✭amor3

Great idea! I have powder room girls booked for hair and makeup, so I'm glad they got a good review ☺

Toots i know you don't want to complain but id definitely let them know you weren't happy with the cake!

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,905 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Ah sure it's 5 years ago now, so I'm not bothered anymore. The gas thing is they have my cake on their website gallery!!

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭westernlass

Really helpful thread idea, thanks so much. I'll be following closely for the next while. It'd be great if others posted their experiences :)

• Registered Users Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Pistachios & cream

Married July 2015

Venue -Ballyroe Heights Tralee. Could not praise the hotel more. The staff are amazing and bend over backwards to help. They really understand hospitality. When we first viewed the place, Jonathan the assistant manager said to us that we could treat the hotel as our own and they would help us carry out any ideas they had. I definitely took them up on this offer and they were fantastic at executing our ideas.

They have fantastic all inclusive packages with no hidden charges.
    We were able to provide our own alcohol for the drinks reception at no extra charge. I wanted to personalise our drinks reception by doing afternoon tea and they were happy for me to bring in home baked goods and items from other bakeries. We also ordered vintage china and the staff looked after the setup and return of these. The hotel provided the savoury food for the drinks reception and were happy to add things in at no extra charge to us. The honey mustard cocktail sausages were fabulous.

The Food was very good. It's quite traditional but it is the best quality and very well prepared. Many guests commented on how their wine glass never went empty and i know of some guest who ordered fish for thie main course and then got beef after when they were asked would they like an extra helping. I couldn't praise them enough.

Macaroons (afternoon tea) - Jody's. I ordered 50 macaroon for him and they were gorgeous. people are still commenting on them. They were very reasonable too.

Cupcakes - Zest. I've gotten cupcakes from here many times andthey are always gorgeous. Really interesting flavours and they look fabulous.

Photographer - Kevin Murphy Photography. Kevin has been the photographer at my sister, Sister in law and another friends weddings. He is amazing. He is so easy to deal with nothing fazes him. We had some serious atlantic winds to deal with and he still got fabulous shots. He does lots of candid style shots but before the day he asked what posed shots did we want so we could get family photos etc.

Hair & Makeup - Sean Taaffe tralee. I was very happy with my hair and makeup. I have hair that is hard to work with and the girls did a great job. My makeup was exactly what i wanted and it lasted the whole day. They are also very nice and we had a lovely morning getting ready.

Church Music - Cadenza wedding music. We had a 3 piece including piano, violin and a singer. They were beautiful and learnt 2 songs that we requested. Very easy to deal with and they sound amazing.

Dress - Lilac Rose limerick. DOnna has stunning dresses in beautiful fabrics. She is so easy to work with and gives great advice. I wore my motheres veil and she very kindly steamed it to get the wrinkles out. She also wrote me a lovely card when i picked up the dress.

Groom suit - Louis Copeland. A beautiful suit, expensive but the quality is clear to see.

Band - Showtime. They were great, they played until about 3am as our venue didn't close the bar. Really easy to work with and worked hard to get everyone on their feet dancing.

China - Vintage China Hire Bernie was a pleasure to deal with. All China was delivered to the hotel the night before the wedding so they had plenty of time to arrange it. It looked bautiful and was really appreciated by my older relation who love a china cup.

Honeymoon - Cancun, New Orleans and Chicago. I booked this myself as i found better deals than the travel agents.

Cancun Hotel - Hyatt Zilara Cancun. We stayed in a swim up suite for 11 nights. THis hotel is in the hotel zone and close to shops and clubs which meant we could take a break from the resort when we felt like it. Its a smaller resort than others in cancun which i liked as its very accessible. All rooms face the oceansoeveryone has a great view. The swim up suites are amazing so relaxing to have your own semi-private pool this connected to the main pool so you couldjoin the fun out there or go to the swim up bar. Waiters served us wherever we were, on our balcony, beach, in the pool. Also included was a reserved cabana on the beach for the duration of our stay.

Food was good quality though the asian restaurant is heavily influenced by Japan so the thai dishes were not very good. Overall very happy with the hotel and wish i could go back.

New Orleans Hotel - Dauphine Orleans Hotel. We stayed 5 nights. THe hotel is perfectly located in the french quarter just off bourbon. Staff were really friendly and on checkin gave us drink tickets for 6 free drinks in the bar. We stayed in the carriage hose and the room was a bit small. IF staying agin i would probably stay in the main building as these rooms are bigger and better for a longer stay with lots of luggage. THe carriage house is very charming though and if i had less luggage/ was staying a shorter period i might stay here. Hotel includes breakfast for all guests. A big bounus in the US

Chicago Hotel - Hampton Inn Downtown/Magnificent mile. Excellently lcated hotel just off the magnificent mile. Room was a great size with fabulous views of downtown chicago. Seemed to be newly renovated. Breakfast was included also. I'd definitely stay here again.

So back from our own big day getting ready to hit work again tomorrow.. Here are my few for any Cork ladies

TS Events in Cork - for wine glasses, wine buckets etc are great value and they deliver to you. They only thing is sometimes you must chase them up and the delivery is a little not on schedule, but it could be down to a few being on holidays. Other than that they are great value and have great produce.

Blackwater Castle - for the main event. It is fantastic if you want someplace just to do what you like with.. Lots of room to stay for people there. I would think we had a 100 people and that was just enough.. Patrick and Sheila who run the place are just fantastic.. And they can recommend lots of others to help there.

Emmas Mobile Hair Salon - based in Cobh but she will travel to the venue. Absolutely fantastic so she is... So cool and calm on the day itself when I was driven nuts and the styles she can do are great. I would highly recommend her..

Traditional Cheese Company - for a cheese wheel cake... Kieran Busteed is a great man who will help you with all you need to know.

Rosscarbery Products - They are just great if you need to bring produce in. Avril there is a gem..

Last but least is Ephinany Weddings and Events - which all I will say is stay well away from them if you hear their name mentioned. Not worth the hassle at all.

I was thinking of more last night. Not all wedding related but things we used..

Annies Roasts http://anniesroasts.ie/ for next day bbq food or if you were having a smaller wedding.. Fab burgers and salads and so lovely...

Elite Valeting Cork - Chap called Foster for any car cleaning services.. Great if you have your own car and want to use it on the day....

Band Also

Buniscionn - Wow they are fab!! For anyone looking for a trad band with a difference. I mean the play everything from sets to fresh prince of bel air... They are fantastic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Celt Clan jewelry repairs in Pearse Street in Dublin 2 are great for any cleaning polishing or repairs. My engagement ring is antique and I needed it resized and dipped in Rhodium. It was reasonably priced and the two lads I dealt with were just lovely. I have my eye on another antique ring as my wedding ring and sent on pictures to see if it could be resized and they were really helpful. They have apparently just started making wedding and engagement rings and from a little nosey around the shop, they seem really well priced.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭emzolita

So just back from my honeymoon and thought I would give my tuppenceworth.

Dress. Justin Alexander bought in Baldoyle Bridal Outlet.
    They were very nice to deal with. However, be patient, as the dress takes a good while to come in from the States. Theyre not great at answering phones either, but I got the dress I wanted and it was perfect. I would recommend them.

Suits Dorian Black
    Would definitely recommend. Very professional and helpful. The suits looked sharp and of high quality.

Hotel Portmarnock Golf Links
    I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. The food was out of this world. Everybody was raving about the food, even the evening food was of really high standard.
    They made us feel so special and gave us two tastings to pick the menu. The room looked beautiful and the wedding planners helped to complete the theme of the wedding.

Hair http://www.alison-weddinghair.ie/contact
    Allison was brilliant, from the trials to the day, she did exactly what I wanted and was very professional. The hairs stayed in place all day

Make Up http://www.laurakinneymake-up.com/
    Laura was amazing. I changed my mind on a style I wanted and she did another trial on me, doing exactly what I had in mind. her makeup and brushes are of the highest quality and hygiene standards.

Band Good Times I was really picky for my band, as I am a wedding singer myself. I chose this band purely on how good the two vocalists were. There is no ""crooning" in this band, and they had the floor full all night.

Cake Cocoamoiselle If you're in doubt about your cake supplier look no further. Be aware of bogus people selling cheap cakes that look nothing like their advertising pictures.
    We got macarons and a three tier cake. (Choc Bis Cake, White Choc and Rasberry and Carrot cake) It was an outstanding piece of art. It was one of my favourite parts of the day seeing the cake. If you're ordering a cake , you get to go to her lovely little cake studio too for a consultation. that alone, is worth the booking :)

Flowers and Candleabras- Frogprince
    I enjoyed the booking process with Frogprince, going to their showroom etc.
    They were helpful and flexible when I wanted to alter my booking.
    The candleabras were stunning and really set off the room
    The flowers were exactly what we wanted colour wise. the bouquets were generous and overflowing with the colour scheme. The only negative thing I could mention is where they placed the altar arrangements. they werent visible from the congregation. I actually thought they were missing for the whole wedding.

FairyLight DanceFloor. _ Gers Covers
    I really researched this one. There are cheaper options out there, but they are cheaper dancefloors with badly dispersed lights and missing tiles. I would definitely recommend getting this. It really added to the effect of the room

Vintage Ice Cream stand Rockfield Ice Cream
    Unfortunately, due to my own fault, the time I had this at the wedding, I didnt really get to see it at all. However guests raved about it and loved the icecreams. they were very pleasant to deal with and gave me a choice of 5 flavours of handmade icecream.

Photographer http://www.dokphotography.com/
    She was lovely. So nice, in fact, that two weeks before the wedding when I realised I had booked the wrong date, she rearranged her own holiday so she could photograph our wedding. I would definitely recommend her. she has a real passion for photography that you can see when she's taking photos.

Videography David Stokes
    100% would recommend this guy. He is very reasonably priced and has the nicest attitude. So unobtrusive too. youd barely know he was there.

Invitations Design of Affection meghan is lovely. She meets up with you to design your own personal invite.
    We had a completely bespoke design and she did it no problem. They arrived in plenty of time, and she was very nice to send me a few extra envelopes when I had ran out them. I would definitely recommend

Honeymoon Trailfinders I would only half recommend these. Having just returned from our honeymoon, the parts of the trip that we booked ourselves turned out smoother than the Trialfinders part. I think they just tried to get us the cheapest deal on flights etc, when it's not always the best option as far as stopovers, airline choice and baggage fees are concerned. I would suggest trying to organise it yourself.
    Trailfinders are handy however, for booking numerous flights in the one holiday with car rentals included. Maybe sort the accommodation yourself and double check all the airlines and stopovers they may get you .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Jwacqui

I am bumping this if anyone has any other ideas or recommendations. I am currently on the hunt for photographer and florist. :D

Where are you based

• Registered Users Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Jwacqui

Milly33 wrote: »
    Where are you based

Based in [snip] however we are getting married in [snip].

Ah sorry cant be of any help to you down the other side.. Well I do know a photographer she does travel Berit Atlis

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

Jwacqui wrote: »
    I am bumping this if anyone has any other ideas or recommendations. I am currently on the hunt for photographer and florist. :D

Best photographer I have every worked with is Julie Cummins

• Registered Users Posts: 35 DollyDumDrops

got married on NYE and Suzanne from Circus Photography was our photographer, she was brilliant, highly recommend.

Florist - dealt with two Melanie from Fussy Peacock, she was amazing & did everything exactly as wanted. Then Magic Moments did our reception and Jenny & Dave there were great too, would have no hesitation recommending either

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭SecretBride

I can totally recommend Leanne Keaney....she's just done our wedding and was lovely to deal with both in advance of and on the day.

Flowers....I did my own so can't help, sorry :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭hotmatottie10

Milly33 wrote: »
    Ah sorry cant be of any help to you down the other side.. Well I do know a photographer she does travel Berit Atlis

Milly have you recommendations for florist?

Hello well a little biased by Chriss Bailey is great based South side, will travel.

Who else, it would depends on budget Fox Flowers are very good I would think a little pricey
    Malcolm Kitt is fab too not sure what he does now if he even does weddings.

What style are you looking for

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭hotmatottie10

wild flowers or spring flowers a country style i think

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭StarBright01

Such a great idea!

Dress- bought in Anabel Rose Dublin. http://www.anabelrose.com/home.html
    Great experience, they were lovely to deal with & would definitely recommend.

Suits- Simply Suits http://www.simplysuits.ie/
    Great bunch of lads, very professional and nothing was a problem. We bought the suits.

Hotel - West Cork Hotel http://www.westcorkhotel.com/weddings/ I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. A great experience and everyone was raving about the food. Staff were very helpful in the lead up to the wedding.

Make Up- Kate Noonan- http://www.katenoonanmakeup.com/Home.html
    Kate was amazing, great fun on the morning of the wedding and she relaxed everyone. Great fun and we loved the make up. & it lasted all day! Which sometimes is not the case!

Band- the Panoramics. http://www.thepanoramicsweddingband.ie/
    Everyone danced the whole night and the floor was full constantly, which is a fantastic sign of any band. Would definitely recommend them to anyone!

Photographer http://www.dkphoto.ie/
    I would definitely recommend him. A true gent and ever the professional. We loved how our pictures turned out!

Invitations http://minted.com/ We actually ordered ours online and were very pleased with how they turned out!

Wedding Gift Directory- http://www.meadowsandbyrne.com/ we just bought a house and a lot of people got us house related gifts from here and it was just so brilliant to have the helping hand towards our new home!

Honeymoon https://www.mahlatini.com/ They were amazing and dealt very efficiently with every query I had! & I had a lot of queries!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Alright, I'll throw up ours :). All done in Cork, but the band and photographer travelled to us.

Ceremony: Triskel Christchurch. We had a Humanist ceremony and having our ceremony here meant we got all of the pomp and splendor of a church wedding, with no religion :pac:. They were lovely to deal with and made everything very stress-free. They have a sound system with a guy working on the day, as well as a baby grand piano that your musicians are welcome to use.

Reception: Fota Island Resort. They were so helpful and accommodating. From the moment we viewed the place, we just knew they'd do a great job. Service and attention to detail are very important to us, and they exceeded our expectations. The food was OUTSTANDING. We stayed for a couple of days after the wedding, and all of the staff were greeting us by name and congratulating us. They honestly could not do enough for us.

Hair: Upstyle Junkie. Audrey is incredible. She's so laid back, she knows exactly what you want and she just makes it happen. She's also great fun on the day! My bridesmaids were over the moon with their styles (we gave Audrey only the vaguest of instructions so we didn't know how it would turn out). Several of our guests asked for her details afterwards.

Make up: Porcelain. Colette was also wonderful. I just loved my makeup on the day, and she really nailed all of the bridesmaids' looks too.

Photographer: Moat Hill Photography. One of the standout suppliers, for sure! Paul came to my house in the morning and Elaine went to my husband. Paul is a legend. He is so calm and funny and relaxed and helpful. You can't help but feel at ease with him. I didn't get to know Elaine really, but she seemed lovely. They were both so creative and open to hearing all of the mad things we wanted to do with pictures, and they took them a step further. The photographs are just stunning. We ended up with close to 700 amazing photographs, and I could not recommend them highly enough.

Dress: Rice N Roses. I have slightly mixed feelings here. On one hand, they helped me find the perfect dress. The woman who worked with me took a lot of time listening to what I wanted, and when she brought The Dress to me, she told me before I even tried it on that she knew it was The One. And she was right! She was so patient and kind and spent about 90 minutes with me. On the other hand, their website is poor and I can't find the link on the first page of Google (I think it's gone?). It was hard to get through by phone to make an appointment. They didn't return voicemail messages or Facebook messages. And worst of all, I booked my alterations with them, but when my bridesmaid tried to ring to change the date of the first fitting, she couldn't get an answer. She tried for 2 weeks to get through, leaving message after message, before I gave up and found a new person to do the alterations.

Which leads me to... Alterations: Alterations by Kate. She is unbelievable. I live abroad so had hardly any time for alterations. She got everything done in a week, at an amazingly cheap price! I would bring any and all alterations to her.

Flowers: I got a word-of-mouth referral to two women in Cork. I'm not sure they run an official business though; I think it's just their hobby. They were wonderful and really affordable! If anyone wants the details, I can pass them on through PM.

Videography: On Track Films. They were... Okay. We won a competition, so we didn't have to pay for their services, but it's obvious that they're new to the business and I don't think they're overly passionate about it. Communication was really poor, and there was a lot of back-and-forth and delays about getting the wedding video itself.

Band & DJ: The Bentley Boys. Music was really important to us. We had a wide range of guests and we wanted to cater to them all. The Bentley Boys absolutely exceeded our expectations! They were brilliant. After every single wedding my mum has ever been to, she has complained that the music was too loud for older guests to still talk, but the day after ours, she could only rave that "the music was great, and not too loud!". So that's the highest praise available there :D. So many guests asked for their details afterwards, and I still get people talking about how great they were.

Wedding Car & Ice Cream Cart: Butlers of Dungarvan. We got a gorgeous 1955 Bentley and an adorable artisan ice-cream cart from them for a really good price. The more services you get with them, the greater the discount they'll offer :). Our driver was so nice, and as is usual in Ireland, we pretty quickly established that we're distantly related through marriage :D

Suits: Tom Murphy's. I haven't got too much to say here, other than they were very helpful and we got gorgeous suits for a really reasonable price :).

I've left some of the more minor details out, obviously, but I hope that's helpful to someone.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭MaryMD

Great idea, wish this was possible before I got married!

Suits- The lads rented theirs from Morleys in Cork. Did the job for the day! http://www.morleys.ie/

Dress- bought in Adare Bridal in Limerick. Brilliant selection of dresses in all styles and very efficient in the shop would recommend! http://www.adarebridal.ie/

Hotel – Carrigaline Court http://www.carrigcourt.com/ they leave no stone unturned and nothing was a problem or an issue. Everything I wanted was facilitated and would definitely recommend.

Make Up- Jennifer Keating- https://www.facebook.com/JenniferKeatingMUA/
    Jennifer worked wonders on us, & such a professional!

Band- the Boogie Band http://www.theboogieband.com/
    Played a mixture of everything which suited young and old!!

Hair- Upstyle Junkie http://upstylejunkie.com/ what can I say she works wonders with hair, especially my poker straight hair which never seems to want to go into an upstyle- it stayed put all day long!
    Photographer http://www.davidclynchphotography.com/
    Brilliant photographer we were absolutely thrilled at how brilliant our pics turned out.

Invitations http://www.lovinginvitations.ie/ Do great quirky designs for those looking for something a little different.

Honeymoon http://www.trailfinders.ie/ Such a great selection and great customer service, they really helped me create my tailor-made honeymoon.