Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Marty Whelan: should he be on RTÉ lyric fm?

• 12-09-2012 11:42pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭

What to say, or rather where to start with this individual's position as a presenter on Lyric FM. The fact that he has the prime drivetime slot every weekday morning makes it so much worse.

I have long since abandoned commercial radio and its tiresome predictable formulae and bland music. In particular, I find personality-based radio to be as woefully offensive as personality-based television.

In this context, I've always looked for an alternative on the radio. Lyric FM offered that in bucket loads. I barely know the names of the presenters, or at least I'd have to think about them. I do know, however, that if I turn on Lyric at a certain time I will get a mood, a theme, an atmosphere. It will almost invariably be calm and understated. The presenter will be in the background; the music will be in the foreground. That, to me, is the proper order of good radio. It will often enrich my life by playing a piece I had forgotten about. Better still, it will recurrently introduce me to new music, be it Spanish Renaissance music from Montserrat Figueras singing Este Galapaguito or Dors mon enfant or sublime music from somebody named Dustin O'Halloran, to take two of many examples. It is fresh. It's a station which enriches my musical world. The only Irish radio station which comes close to providing such a culturally stimulating alternative, albeit in linguistic terms, is RnaG when conversations are on.

Leaving aside the less frequent "star" appearances by the even more egotistical waffler Gay Byrne, the sole exception to the above culture on RTÉ lyric fm is Marty Whelan. He talks incessantly. Incessantly. His music choices have a singular lack of coherence. At one moment he could be playing, Lord save us, Phil Collins - at another he could, if we're particularly lucky, choose the sublime Una Furtiva Lacrima. Mostly, though, he chooses to talk. Always, by his thoughtless, vacuous, trite, distended waffle he destroys the beauty of any tune or song he may have just played. Silence has its own beauty, and this presenter just cannot seem to capture it. It's as if he feels he would be redundant if he didn't say something, anything. And it is, alas, anything which always triumphs over something. He could step back, use only necessary, appropriate words and let the music in front. Instead, this show is about him, not about music. As such, it might as well be on any other "star"-driven commercial station. This was not what Lyric FM was established for. It was established to cater for people interested in minority music which was not catered for in the mainstream, and in particular to cater for the classical music audience of the FM3 which it replaced in 1999.

The particularly disappointing thing about his presence is that he has made no attempt to acclimatise with the culture of Lyric FM. Culturally, he sticks out like a barely controlled blusterous child every morning, the antithesis of what this calm, reserved station is supposed to be about. He simply seems so self-absorbed, so caught up in his own ego that he has absolutely no sensitivity to Lyric's listenership and why they listen to Lyric.

Over two years since Marty Whelan began this morning slot, do you think he should be a presenter on Lyric FM?

Do you think Marty Whelan should be a presenter on Lyric FM? 120 votes

Yes.
    0%
    leahyl 1 vote
    No, absolutely not.
    55%
    cournioniITV2[Deleted User]Doodah7groovygnialldinhoTony HapplehunterGone WestbbabilityHoochiemamajohnmolloy554superdogTabnabssquonkComhráConquerorDeedsieLeilakRINO87 67 votes
    Yes, but in a less prominent slot.
    43%
    jmccmike65goose2005CalinaVundergroundthiraHoagymburshockwavepwurpleyosser hugheszac8AmiranijayzeeserfboardpinkypinkybanjobongophelixoflahertyDenManRayM 52 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

already a mega thread on Martys tenure

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056013868

I had the misfortune to hear him this morning for the first time (never listen to Lyric esp during the breakfast hours) and he sounded like he'd escaped from, well 2FM. Utterly out of character with the station.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

mike65 wrote: »
    already a mega thread on Martys tenure

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056013868

I had the misfortune to hear him this morning for the first time (never listen to Lyric esp during the breakfast hours) and he sounded like he'd escaped from, well 2FM. Utterly out of character with the station.

Yeah, I was contributing to it almost from the start, when Whelan started, but the poll is a bit dated now (as I mentioned in it a couple of weeks back).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

New poll is needed I think. He has had two years. He seems so uncomfortable with it still. I just don't understand how he hasn't settled into his stride yet. The monologues and put-on posh accents are awkward for radio. He seems more comfortable when there is someone else to talk to.

And for gods sake, stop mumbling the information about the pieces of music and competitions. I should listen to a playback some day and write down what he is saying word for word. I just can't decipher it. This morning was some smart-aleky routine about a hotel "Do you know the one I'm talking about..... but of course.... goes without saying and such... you know the one I'm sure, nod nod wink wink"

WTF? I have no clue what you are talking about Marty. Just fecking say it straight.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 sdaniel

Having Marty in the Morning on Lyric FM has changed all my radio listening, which is I guess good in its way. I just can't stand him. Worst for me, worse than his peculiar taste in music, is that he always sounds anxious. His voice is filled with anxiety, the way Gay Byrne's is filled with malice. The last thing I need first thing in the morning is an uncertain program run by a guy who seems to have no self-esteem. I think he may be a secret classical music lover. When he does commercials for the Met in HD, he sounds confident. Is that because it's just a commercial, or because he likes opera? Who knows? But during the program he is fully capable of playing something wonderful by Joshua Bell, for instance, and remarking afterwards, "That's a pretty good fiddle." As though he is embarrassed to be caught possibly enjoying the sound of a violin. Anyway, having Marty piloting that important slot in the morning has changed everything. We get into the car about 6:30 am for an hour-long drive to work. Just before 7 I quickly grab a CD I have handy, whatever seems good to listen to, and we finish the drive that way. I listen to lots less of Lyric FM since Marty. I hear more of the news. I have more silence. I burn more playlists to disk. At home I have another classical station on the internet radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭hawley

Lyric FM's Marty In The Morning was coming live all week from Italy, and very pleasant it was too, though is it just me or is the balance between classical and popular music on the show sliding a bit too heavily towards the latter?

As well as the usual jazz standards from Frank Sinatra and Ella Fitzgerald, which are always welcome, Monday's show alone featured songs from Art Garfunkel, the Mamas and Papas, Santana, Van Morrison, Christopher Cross, Kim Carnes of Bette Davis Eyes fame, even, troublingly, the theme from EastEnders.

If regular listeners wanted that much pop music first thing in the morning, we'd listen to Breakfast Republic.
    http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/music/irish-radio-swears-by-the-silly-season-31404120.html#ts1t3

People who don't like classical music are even beginning to complain about how little he plays of it now.

hawley wrote: »
    Lyric FM's Marty In The Morning was coming live all week from Italy, and very pleasant it was too, though is it just me or is the balance between classical and popular music on the show sliding a bit too heavily towards the latter?

As well as the usual jazz standards from Frank Sinatra and Ella Fitzgerald, which are always welcome, Monday's show alone featured songs from Art Garfunkel, the Mamas and Papas, Santana, Van Morrison, Christopher Cross, Kim Carnes of Bette Davis Eyes fame, even, troublingly, the theme from EastEnders.

If regular listeners wanted that much pop music first thing in the morning, we'd listen to Breakfast Republic.
    http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/music/irish-radio-swears-by-the-silly-season-31404120.html#ts1t3

People who don't like classical music are even beginning to complain about how little he plays of it now.
    I've never listened to Marty Whelan on Lyric FM so I'm quite surprised at the playlist.

The artists you've mentioned don't really fit in anywhere on mainstream RTE radio anymore. 2FM have decided to focus on teenagers and young adults. So where should older pop and AC music go? RTE Gold doesn't have the penetration and most of the time is little more than an iPod on shuffle - even the weekend shows sound pre-recorded. But Lyric FM isn't the place for it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭serfboard

Karsini wrote: »
    The artists you've mentioned don't really fit in anywhere on mainstream RTE radio anymore. 2FM have decided to focus on teenagers and young adults. So where should older pop and AC music go?
    As I've said many times on this forum - onto a new channel called RTE Radio 1 Music (or some other branding), which would basically be a BBC Radio 2 knockoff. You could have a great line-up featuring Marty, Ronan Collins, Larry Gogan, Dave Fanning, John Creedon and with the odd muso presenting a guest show every now and then (people like Glenn Hansard, Imelda May etc.).

serfboard wrote: »
    As I've said many times on this forum - onto a new channel called RTE Radio 1 Music (or some other branding), which would basically be a BBC Radio 2 knockoff. You could have a great line-up featuring Marty, Ronan Collins, Larry Gogan, Dave Fanning, John Creedon and with the odd muso presenting a guest show every now and then (people like Glenn Hansard, Imelda May etc.).

Sorry, I don't regularly venture into this forum so I wouldn't have seen your previous posts. I do agree, scrap RTE Gold in its current form and introduce something like you say. But it needs a place on FM in order to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

No, absolutely not.
    I love listening to Marty in the morning on the way to work-his naturally warm presenting style and choice of tunes send me in to work in great form.

honeybear wrote: »
    I love listening to Marty in the morning on the way to work-his naturally warm presenting style and choice of tunes send me in to work in great form.

2FM has an embargo on music composed before 1990 being played on their station during peak listening times. Why can't Lyric, which was set up to cater for classical music and art music audiences, have an identity that fits in with the remit the station was given. There are plenty of stations playing the likes of Bruce Springsteen, Van Morrison and Phil Collins; if he wants to play those artists then maybe he would be better suited to Radio 1 or a new station as outlined by serfboard above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,709 ✭✭✭squonk

No, absolutely not.
    Any time I've heard him he sounded like a breath of fresh air on Lyric which has always sounded like a radio station set up to cater for those impatient for the arrival of death. Anytime I've heard any Lyric shows they sounded like the most depressing joyless enclaves of monotony available on radio today. Fair play to Marty for daring to put a bit of personality and life into his show amidst the panoply of shows all sounding like the presenter is sleeping between tracks.

No, absolutely not.
    Think Marty did grand in jnlrs today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

No, absolutely not.
    Think Marty did grand in jnlrs today

He sure did and that won't go down well with the MWKWA ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 27 rosebud8

Enjoy listening to Lyric, but Marty Whelan's voice, accents, affectations and irritating twitterings just get my goat. RTE, please, time for a reshuffle. The other stations are always being re-jigged in terms of presenters. He has had a long shot at this. Time for a more soothing, less irritating and irksome presenter at that time of day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Expunge

bbability wrote: »
    He sure did and that won't go down well with the MWKWA ;)

An audience of 43,000 each day?
    A presenter with Saturday night prime time TV profile?
    This is 'grand'?
    After six or so years in the slot, doing his best to destroy a Public Service radio station because he seems to be hostile to Classical music, he climbs to the lofty heights of 43 thousand listeners.

Doing grand in the JNLRs or no, RTE continues to betray the licence fee payers who care about having that absolute dross on Lyric. Anywhere else on RTE, probably ok. But Lyric? It's not right.

No, absolutely not.
    Expunge wrote: »
    This is 'grand'?
    After six or so years in the slot, doing his best to destroy a Public Service radio station because he seems to be hostile to Classical music, he climbs to the lofty heights of 43 thousand listeners.

Doing grand in the JNLRs or no, RTE continues to betray the licence fee payers who care about having that absolute dross on Lyric. Anywhere else on RTE, probably ok. But Lyric? It's not right.

Well that didn't take long...

Have you ever looked at the figures pre Marty? It's pretty awful stuff.

Yes I have, they were lower.
    Like R Na G, Lyric is supposed to be a pure public service provider in specialist music and arts and not a numbers game.

With the absolute dross that MITM is allowed to put out, I'm surprised that there are any listeners left for the real raison d'être of the station.

Fair play to you for not locking down this Marty thread as you have with so many others in the past.

No, absolutely not.
    I think the criticism of Marty is very harsh. It is the only programme on Lyric FM that I regularly listen to. When Marty is absent for the day, I automatically know by the music choices. The sub presenter sends me switching for the other channels as his presenting style & choice of music do not appeal to me.

Yes I have, they were lower.
    Like R Na G, Lyric is supposed to be a pure public service provider in specialist music and arts and not a numbers game.

With the absolute dross that MITM is allowed to put out, I'm surprised that there are any listeners left for the real raison d'être of the station.

Fair play to you for not locking down this Marty thread as you have with so many others in the past.

Most of the people who defend Marty never even listen to any other content on Lyric. I won't go back to Lyric until they remove him from the schedule, I haven't listened to Lyric in five years having previously being a devotee of the station(although I had to avoid him at midday too) but giving him the prime morning slot was the last straw for me.

I think the criticism of Marty is very harsh. It is the only programme on Lyric FM that I regularly listen to. When Marty is absent for the day, I automatically know by the music choices. The sub presenter sends me switching for the other channels as his presenting style & choice of music do not appeal to me.

Fine, you love Marty, his music, his great craic etc. and you dislike Lyric. You are exactly the sort of person now being recruited as listeners to that station. And it's people like you - Marty lovers and Lyric haters who will destroy that public service.

The management of the station have introduced a cancer which will probably ultimately kill it as it was supposed to be. They won't be handing us back our licence fee, though.

I might actually give him a go to be honest, I'm too young to be listening to Morning Ireland. :(

No, absolutely not.
    Fine, you love Marty, his music, his great craic etc. and you dislike Lyric. You are exactly the sort of person now being recruited as listeners to that station. And it's people like you - Marty lovers and Lyric haters who will destroy that public service.

The management of the station have introduced a cancer which will probably ultimately kill it as it was supposed to be. They won't be handing us back our licence fee, though.
    I am NOT a lyric hater-where did I say that?

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭anmhi02

I have to say , I love him in the morning. I use to listen to 2fm or Today fm but got tired of the rubbish the presenters came out with. I love his daft jokes and selection of music. But that's just my personal opinion, each to their own ☺

I am NOT a lyric hater-where did I say that?

You are, mate. The stand in presenters always play a straight classical list when he's not there and you scurry away like a wounded animal. That's the type that are coming to lyric now and good luck to you. Soon enough you'll have an all day diet of Val Doonigan, Lonnie Donegan seventies soft rock and low rent Terry Wogan impressions. Hopefully the licence fee won't be paying for it.

No, absolutely not.
    The Marty Whelan Keyboard Warrior Association (MWKWA) need to put it to bed now. He's doing a fine job and he's more than paying his way.
    Always remember there are only two types of music in this world, good and bad, he plays good music and he can certainly hold his own with the mic ro fone.
    So please, he's won, you've lost, let's move on, he's staying, doing a fine job, should never have lost that Tesco Gig and he's the most listened to show on Lyric.

As broadcaster, Whelan is proudly old-school. He picks whatever music he likes, without regard to playlists or focus groups.

Marty Whelan - “This morning, I played something from Bob Dylan’s new album and some classical music. They should be on different shows. Instead, they were side by side. I’ve been given a free hand."
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/lifestyle/artsfilmtv/marty-whelan-is-bringing-out-a-cd-of-his-favourite-tunes-315591.html

The Marty Whelan Keyboard Warrior Association - that's a good one. It should be up there with the Sneering Moderator.

It's a small point but I believe Classic Drive with Liz Nolan to be the most listened to daytime show on Lyric at the moment.

That'll probably change in the coming books though as Marty continues to 'win'.

Public Service Broadcasting and value for money is certainly the loser.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 rosebud8

I dont actually have a problem with the music he plays, I just wish he could keep his mouth shut between tracks, so that we didnt have to listen to the most annoying banter with himself and the awful fake laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,263 ✭✭✭bobbyss

I don't mind him too much. I am not a huge classical music buff by any means. I listen to Lyric for some quiet time and when I don't want to listen to any news.

Do you have to have a knowledge base to present on Lyric? I know George Hamilton well from the football and on the occasion I hear him on Lyric he seems to know well and love his classical music. In short, he seems to know what he is talking about.

As I said, I don't know too much (or care too much either) about classical music but does Marty Whelan know his stuff? Can those of you who dislike him fault him on that score? I find it strange that someone who presented pop music programs could all of a sudden turn into a Lyric presenter. Could Larry Gogan turn up tomorrow and present classical music on Lyric? Would that necessarily be a good or a bad thing?

No, absolutely not.
    This is 'grand'?

How could you suggest that Daphne and Hugo are dross? Loved the morning he read out what was basically "Sylvias Mother". There's a gentleness and innocence about those segments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 The John Greene Show

Marty Whelan has only 6 months left as host of the lyric FM breakfast show, he is RTE staff so will be required to retire on his 65th birthday next June.

It doesn't matter. In the same way it's said that Donald Trump is the first of a steady stream of 'Trump like' characters, he'll just be replaced by some other character roaming the corridors of RTE on full pay in need of a gig.

Ronan Collins, Will Leahy, Rick O'Shea and whoever else loses a gig in Gold or 2FM will be in the frame.

The brand is bust and a format change or closure (which is/was the top brass preference) might be the kindest thing now.

Those of us who wanted at least light, consistent and informed classical content have long moved on at this stage.

No, absolutely not.

Those of us who wanted at least light, consistent and informed classical content have long moved on at this stage.

Where to though....? I actually like Marty and listen to him regularly but he's in a particular vein. I never seem to know where to find good light classical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Tork

inthehat wrote: »
    Where to though....? I actually like Marty and listen to him regularly but he's in a particular vein. I never seem to know where to find good light classical.
    You could ask the same "where to though?" question about a lot of presenters and shows. RTE is trying to be all things to all men so you get oddities like Dave Fanning and a sports show on 2FM and Marty Whelan on what was originally meant to be a classical station. I've never listened to him because he isn't my cup of tea but I know people who do and who enjoy him. It isn't going to happen but RTE could do with another FM station to cater for the people who are too old for 2FM and would like to listen to music rather than the talk Radio 1 mostly offers during the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Don Duck

I realized the world was gone mad a few months ago when i heard Marty Whelan playing girls aloud on lyric FM .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭shtpEdthePlum

No, absolutely not.
    I think he's terrific.

Finally an AA presenter who can keep up with him in Johnathan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭serfboard

I think he's terrific.

Never really thought much of Marty until I heard him doing a bit with Shay Byrne on Risin Time - made me realise how sharp the guy is, and gave me a whole new appreciation of him.

Still don't listen to him on Lyric, though. The odd time I have heard him, he was way off the Lyric brief of Classical music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

serfboard wrote: »
    Never really thought much of Marty until I heard him doing a bit with Shay Byrne on Risin Time

A Cringefest any time that happens. worse than Shay Byrne's hyperactive banter with Des Cahill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭RINO87

No, absolutely not.
    While not perfect, Marty has been a great oasis away from the deluge of current affairs in the past year. I had not listened much before covid, but will certainly miss this show if he does indeed get the boot in June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭twinklerunner

I think he's terrific.

I really despise AA Roadwatch reports on national radio. Complete waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭RINO87

No, absolutely not.
    I really despise AA Roadwatch reports on national radio. Complete waste of time.

"traffic is busy on all the usual routes"

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭blondeonblonde

No, absolutely not.
    RINO87 wrote: »
    While not perfect, Marty has been a great oasis away from the deluge of current affairs in the past year. I had not listened much before covid, but will certainly miss this show if he does indeed get the boot in June.

Is there talk of him getting the boot in June?! I really hope not.

I think Marty is absolutely fantastic. I never took to him on TV, always annoyed me and didn't enjoy the programmes he presented however on Lyric he is wonderful.

He's exactly what the doctor ordered when looking for an escape from the usual dreary news cycle and endless talk or if you don't want to listen to rubbish pop. He has great timing and I have been introduced to so many different kinds of music, particularly opera, since listening to his slot.

Admittedly he can be an acquired taste but I find his mix of corny Dad jokes, musical styles and general banter a tonic in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

He's a pro on the radio.

Hard to believe between Century 100 shutting down and his return to radio in 2005, it was 13 years.
    Although he filled in on Radio 1 Rising Time in 1998 for a week or so, that was a long time away from radio.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭Trebor176

No, absolutely not.
    I think he's great on his current slot. I certainly hope he's not given the boot when he turns 65 in June.

I enjoy his presenting, the banter, and the music. It's one of the better breakfast shows around.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 seekenee

No, absolutely not.
    Marty is all I can handle first thing in the morning, he's great, good selection of tunes and agreeable banter.

Oh Christ, there's the Banter word again.

Lyric originally was not intended to be a space for a presenter who was not wanted elsewhere in RTE to carry out "banter" for a relatively small audience.

It was supposed to be a little bit more high minded than that.
    Anyway, it's gotten worse with each passing year. We now have John 'This is That was' Kelly sometimes playing 10 reggae tracks in a row and The Blue of the Night seems to be stuck in a 1970's student bedsit with a lot of Led Zepplin every evening.

It sounds like a free for all in there these days - worse than student/hospital/community radio at a cost of about 6 million euros per annum.

Anyway, you could argue that none of these are Marty Whelan's concerns. He just does what he does - it shouldn't be on Lyric, I'd argue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,847 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I am aware of John Kelly’s show (I’m a fan but on final consideration it probably should be on either radio 1 or one of the digital offerings)

but has the blue of the night gone down the led zeppelin route?

It was strictly classical up to recently I thought !?

No, absolutely not.
    Oh Christ, there's the Banter word again.

Lyric originally was not intended to be a space for a presenter who was not wanted elsewhere in RTE to carry out "banter" for a relatively small audience.

It was supposed to be a little bit more high minded than that.
    Anyway, it's gotten worse with each passing year. We now have John 'This is That was' Kelly sometimes playing 10 reggae tracks in a row and The Blue of the Night seems to be stuck in a 1970's student bedsit with a lot of Led Zepplin every evening.

It sounds like a free for all in there these days - worse than student/hospital/community radio at a cost of about 6 million euros per annum.

Anyway, you could argue that none of these are Marty Whelan's concerns. He just does what he does - it shouldn't be on Lyric, I'd argue.

I think you're being a bit hard on Marty there. I feel there is a place on Lyric for him and for John Kelly. The Lyric schedule includes ample "real" classical, in all its forms, baroque, contemporary, choral, chamber etc. When you say it was supposed to be more high minded, it shouldn't be to the exclusion of lighter offerings, for those of us who are not die-hard classical followers.
    I will admit.... the Nevin Maguire slot is a step too far.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,278 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

I'm not going to vote as I've got to like the silly jokes reads out in the mornings, corny as they come, but they make me smile. Admittedly he'd drive you crackers if you had to listen to him for too long, but I have a selection of other Classical stations, so I just jump ship when he gets on my nerves.

Lyric FM
    Radio 3
    Classic FM
    Linn Classical
    Scala Radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Tork

BBC radio has half a dozen national stations that cover most bases. RTE is trying to be all things to all men and the result is a mishmash of stations with random programs shoved everywhere. 2fm has Dave Fanning and the sports show sitting in the middle of its music for youths schedule. Lyric has the likes of Marty and John Kelly. By rights, these shows should all be on a separate station aimed at people who want to listen to music but aren't 21 any more. That's not going to happen of course.