Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

*TY OFF-TOPIC THREAD* 2014/2015

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭ElmW13

Liordi wrote: »
    That sucks. We're not getting too much homework but..
    I need to find another safety symbol other than the following 10 but not having any luck.

new_hazard_symbols.png

Biohazard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mr Rhode Island Red

Laser Radiation

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭MissCupcake

That sucks. We're not getting too much homework but..
    I need to find another safety symbol other than the following 10 but not having any luck.

new_hazard_symbols.png
    Jesus that looks like almost all of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭Liordi

Yipee. Going to UL on Tuesday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Xgracie

I am loving TY so far! Doing lots of stuff and ploughing next week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

my ty's been ok so far. We've gone on one trip and have had one guest speaker. Apart from that all we're really doing is class projects and presentations. Started my community involvement but thinking of changing it to a nursing home by a hospital.

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭Eims14

my ty's been ok so far. We've gone on one trip and have had one guest speaker. Apart from that all we're really doing is class projects and presentations. Started my community involvement but thinking of changing it to a nursing home by a hospital.
    What are you doing now?I had my first day in a nursing home recently and found it really sad.In saying that I'm a bit of a softy so :P

Xgracie wrote: »
    I am loving TY so far! Doing lots of stuff and ploughing next week!

We're going to the ploughing too!

Eims14 wrote: »
    What are you doing now?I had my first day in a nursing home recently and found it really sad.In saying that I'm a bit of a softy so :P

i had mine in a charity shop but the place was a mess and really dusty and i sort of have allergies/reactions to dust so afterwards i felt like a mess. What did you do in the nursing home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭nanook5

Yipee. Going to UL on Tuesday :D

For what ?

We're going to the ploughing too!

Were going too! What day are ye going?

ElmW13 wrote: »

Thursday.wbu?

Thursday too. Leaving at half six:eek:

:0 leaving the ploughing at half six.or leaving your county at half six?I dont know what time were leaving.Our school is more last minute so ill probs know Wednesday evening :rolleyes: :P

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭Msrebeckyxo

We randomly went to Glendalough on Wednesday which was great craic, and we're going the ploughing on Thursday, leaving the school at 7 in the morning :((((

Also I'm going to Carlingford in two weeks time, and the school told us we need 150 euros in by the end of October to secure a place for our Uk trip:( Too early to get that money sorted ughh

:0 leaving the ploughing at half six.or leaving your county at half six?I dont know what time were leaving.Our school is more last minute so ill probs know Wednesday evening :rolleyes: :P

Leaving the school at half six... Were the on,y class group in TY going. Were doing ag science at the moment and they needed numbers to fill the bus

I'm going on the wednesday! And leaving the school at 8:30!

nanook5 wrote: »
    For what ?

Oops, meant UL activity centre. It's some place in Killaloe? I think.
    Bit of canoeing and kayaking with some land activities, pretty decent tbf. :)

Oh were going to Carlingford in two weeks to do the same kinda stuff! Really excited for it!

Found out were leaving at quarter to six on Thursday for the ploughing, the rest of the family went today and left at half four!

Oh is it Dromineer? :D

nanook5 wrote: »
    Oh is it Dromineer? :D

Killaloe. :)
    About 40? minutes from Dromineer.

Found out were leaving at quarter to six on Thursday for the ploughing, the rest of the family went today and left at half four!

Jaysus why are ye leaving so early?we're leaving here at 7 and leaving the ploughing at 4 so at least well get a good while there.

Was at the ploughing today it was pretty good craic!

Xgracie wrote: »
    Was at the ploughing today it was pretty good craic!

Any places youd recommend?

Jaysus why are ye leaving so early?we're leaving here at 7 and leaving the ploughing at 4 so at least well get a good while there.

Three hour trip without traffic so itll take us a while...

Anyone else doing young scientist?

Me!

Do people do young scientist on their own accord or is it affiliated by the school?
    Our school hasn't even mentioned it to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭thetalker

Do people do young scientist on their own accord or is it affiliated by the school?
    Our school hasn't even mentioned it to us.
    Our school mentioned it to us, but its purely up to you if you want to do it.
    I decided not to since i don't have any ideas

I was just wondering, I've got no interest in partaking. :)

So today I finished my last Friday of work experience in tommy Hilfiger, I was really sad leaving:( the staff were actually so nice! No freebies unfortunately but the manager said she'd gladly take me on for Christmas work (paid) and maybe part time after that!

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭pianoperson

Lads, did anyone else here get a letter for the IJSO ? :---)

I did :)

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭pianoperson

I did :)

Yay well done :-) are you preparing for it or just gonna wing it?

Also did here. Gonna wing it.

Are ye going to apply for the IJSO or EUSO? I dunno which one I'm going to do...

Anyone here doing the concern debates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭IrishLassie26

Are ye going to apply for the IJSO or EUSO? I dunno which one I'm going to do...
    How do you get picked for these or do you have to apply?

I think you have to get over 95% in Maths/Science

Is anyone doing the Reellifescience video competition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭IrishLassie26

Does everyone have the letters by now or can you still get them? I got 95 in my mocks and As in all for the JC so I'm wondering will I get one.

so how are people's ty going so far. For me it's been alright but definetely not as good as I wanted it to be, but then again we still have a lot of events and trips coming ahead so hopefully things will turn around

Mediocre enough. Then again TY in our School is known to be rather poor for the first 2 months, generally things take off after Halloween.

Bit boring at the moment, its good but the amount of projects that need to be done is ridiculous, the trips are decent and ive gone out of my comfort zone so much within a month

I'm literally doing nothing at home in the evenings I have activities but still. TY is okay but I wish i were doing more tbh

Seems like last years T.Y was right about this thread dying hard. :(

How was everyone's Halloween? :D

Non existent! On work experience at the moment so it's nice having the extra week off in a way

Good! Went to town and watched films. TY is good enough for me. We were working on fashion show for ages and I feel weird now its done. Mini company all the way now lol