Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

somebody damaging tyres

• 14-06-2012 12:39pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭

Met one guy yesterday, somebody sliced his tires night before, now other person contacted me , after tires, also sliced tires. Is somebody damaging tires with purpose, to gain sales or just scymbags walking around.

What is legal action ?

Report to Garda? What about insurance, would they cover new tire fitting ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Insurance replaces like for like so would never cover tyres as that would mean second hand tyres, since its very unlikely the slashed tyres where brand new.

I'd report it to the Gardai of course, they can't know about crimes if people don't tell them.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Mar4ix wrote: »
    Met one guy yesterday, somebody sliced his tires night before, now other person contacted me , after tires, also sliced tires. Is somebody damaging tires with purpose, to gain sales or just scymbags walking around.
    Your guess is as good as anyone else's, except the person doing it.
    What is legal action ?
    It's criminal damage.
    You could take a civil lawsuit.
    Of course in both cases you need a likely suspect and some strong evidence.
    Report to Garda?
    Yes. Definitely. Also if you've any hope of an insurance claim (unlikely) then they'll want to see a Garda report.
    What about insurance, would they cover new tire fitting ?
    You'll need to check your policy documents for the precise answer but it's unlikely. Even some comprehensive policies have specific exclusions for tyre damage not caused by an accident.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

slimjimmc wrote: »
    Your guess is as good as anyone else's, except the person doing it.

It's criminal damage.
    You could take a civil lawsuit.
    Of course in both cases you need a likely suspect and some strong evidence.

Yes. Definitely. Also if you've any hope of an insurance claim (unlikely) then they'll want to see a Garda report.

You'll need to check your policy documents for the precise answer but it's unlikely. Even some comprehensive policies have specific exclusions for tyre damage not caused by an accident.

thanks for extensive replay. ill pass over to lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,238 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Even if insurance did cover tire damage the excess on the policy would almost certainly rule out any benefit in claiming (unless the entire set was damaged and would cost over a grand to replace).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,864 ✭✭✭langdang

Happened a friend or min one night in college days.
    Can't figure out why anyone would stab two tyres on a old Fiesta student car, but that's what happened.
    Just plain scumbags, although we kinda wondered at the time was there something they wanted in or on the car so they disabled it to come back later for something?

Unfortunately it could be just be straightforward hating on foreigners too if that's the common link?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

langdang wrote: »
    Happened a friend or min one night in college days.
    Can't figure out why anyone would stab two tyres on a old Fiesta student car, but that's what happened.
    Just plain scumbags, although we kinda wondered at the time was there something they wanted in or on the car so they disabled it to come back later for something?

Unfortunately it could be just be straightforward hating on foreigners too if that's the common link?

well, yesterday, to whom i sold wheels with tires, was pure Irish . His c3 all 4 tires was damaged. he bought off me alloy wheels with tires , what is half cheaper, if he wanted replace all part worn 4 tires.
    other guy car tires (and car keyed much also ) - he is foreign lad. Day before that, he was arguing with somebody , all about money, with one who he knows, so he recons that person done this damaged. All info already in Garda.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

langdang wrote: »
    Or white guys or men with brown hair while you are at it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,864 ✭✭✭langdang

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Or white guys or men with brown hair while you are at it..

What's your problem? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 18,872 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Where were they parked?

Some people are very protective of the road outside their house as they think they own it. Others aren't happy with commuters parking in their estate, as again they think they have sole use of the roads.