Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Speeding Fine?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭RosieJoe

brencork wrote: »
    I wish I was 15!

More than double that now. 5 years undergrad and eight years post grad has aged me though :(

I didn't spot the cars as they were coming up from behind. presumably a safe distance behind. Realistically, if I wasn't safe, then the gardaí would/should have pulled me sooner, no?

Any idea what this is? rearview_mirror.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭billie1b

Toll plaza, not bridge.

i must say I was pretty impressed that the Gardaí kept up with me...what happened was, I was tipping along, nice and handy and saw some madman coming up behind at a crazy speed (!). I pulled in to the slow lane (I was in the fast lane) and next thing the blue lights came on on the front of the avensis. I presume I must have overtaken them at some stage. Was going to say to the garda how impressed I was that the avensis was able to keep up, but thought it best not to.

ironclaw, I'm not sure why you feel i owe you proof of my occupation, but if you really are that ****ing interested, I'll email you my name and you can check the fellows of the college of emergency medicine in London and cross reference with employees of my current employer online.

You do know a lot of these Garda cars (unmarked) have 3.5 and 4.0 litre engines in them and are re-mapped, they'd walk all over your hair dryer GTI, its only marked Garda cars that are bog standard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,590 ✭✭✭tossy

RosieJoe wrote: »
    Any idea what this is? rearview_mirror.jpg

Thanks to my years in medical school i can confirm that is in fact a bed pan :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

• Registered Users Posts: 45 brencork

billie1b wrote: »
    You do know a lot of these Garda cars (unmarked) have 3.5 and 4.0 litre engines in them and are re-mapped, they'd walk all over your hair dryer GTI, its only marked Garda cars that are bog standard

There's no avensis on the market with that size engine mate.

I can confirm 100% that the avensis following me did not have a 35.-4.0 engine.

My GTi may be a hairdryer car, but it's got a decent amount of torque, doesn't look too boy racery and is enough for me at the moment.

I'm sure you meant hairdresser though.

For those wondering, i'm sure boardsies have a magical way of detecting what is and isn't a unmarked garda car in the rearview mirror.

For those not believing me, as I said, FCEM and current employer crosscheck, post up your email and you'll be able to see my credentials. Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭paddydriver

This guy is trolling...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I call bolllix on this, simply due to the years you've mentioned training and the fact you say you're under 30.

Lets say you leave school at 17, spent 5 years undergrad and 8 years post grad (that would make you 30) and after a while working as a doctor you decided to go for a career in finance which you've been successful as thus far.

The fact that the numbers make you over 30 yet you profess to being under 30 makes me slightly suspicious.

Now on to the shyte you've posted about being stopped, you would have been arrested by the Gardaí for that speed, no question, unless you had a genuine reason for doing it. If the Gardaí started the chase from a standing start they couldn't have caught up with you, or at least if your speed was varying it would have taken them a great distance to do so.

If they were already on the move they could have caught you quicker but as you mention it was the drugs squad it's highly unlikely unless you were being a complete bollix that they would have bothered to pull you in the first place.

Upgraded tyres and brakes too is a bollix story however if you genuinely have these I hope you've informed your insurer about these upgrades before you stand before the judge.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

There are no Garda cars with 3.5 or 4.0 litre engines in them and there are no Garda cars that are re-mapped to improve performance.

The Dagda wrote: »
    There are no Garda cars with 3.5 or 4.0 litre engines in them and there's no Garda cars that are re-mapped to improve performance.

I think the poster was being sarcastic ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

OSI wrote: »
    I wonder what kind of GTI he has. Probably a 106. Or a Mk4 Golf non-turbo.

Toyota Tercel GTI???
    Mk 7 Golf :smug:

Leather seats.

I do miss the beamer though. Had an M3 but the tyres nearly broke the bank at over €500 a corner. Had to sell it in the end :(

Was it a supercharged M3 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

I never said this. Just wondered if anyone had some helpful advice so that I could avoid penalty points.

Drive within the speed limit like all the rest of us. You'll find that method works a treat.

Hi OSI

What other site would this be?

I'm intrigued

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Actually the M3 has 3/4 lanes in parts (depending on whether you consider the hard shoulder a lane).
    I wish I was 15!
    Mk 7 Golf :smug:

Leather seats.

I do miss the beamer though. Had an M3
    All divisible by 3

Golf mk7 announced 2012. 12 is divisible by 3

HALF LIFE 3 CONFIRMED.

All divisible by 3

rain-man-screenplay-04.jpg

Can we have a pic of the Golf now that you've passed 40 posts?

not right now...bit busy. would have to actually take it/ will do asap

Don't take too long, actually two pics as I'd like to see the ceramic brakes up close in a separate image :)

Ah here. do you want me to take the ****ing wheel off as well while i'm at it?

Ah come on now, it's not surgery. :pac:

Not trolling. Wasn't on way to emergency this time. Have been previously and had the use of a Garda escort. That was when I was still working as a doctor. (I initially trained in Emergency Medicine and did memberships in Anaesthesia and the FCEM. I worked extensively in prehostpital care and retrieval med in oz), I've left medicine now (mostly...on the register but not in paid employment as a doctor but offer voluntary services when needed...I currently work in finance where the money and t&C are much better and the work is a piece of piss tbf)

Um....

I'd love to have the brains and the dedication to be a doctor!!

Ah here. do you want me to take the ****ing wheel off as well while i'm at it?

Two images is hardly going to kill you :rolleyes:

And tbf you did bring the ceramic brakes into this along with the upgraded tyres so it's natural people would like to see them on a motoring forum.

No need to take the wheels off, I'll see all I need to see through the alloys.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,585 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Ive got leather brakes and ceramic seats! Thing goes like a wet donkey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Thread delivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Is it this one....

f9fa45fafcdbcef4f60627daf2190d20_zps721846a4.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

antodeco wrote: »

Stop you're killing me! Think I need to see a doc :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,464 ✭✭✭✭blade1

djimi wrote: »
    Im calling shenanigans on this tbh. If a Garda saw a car doing 220km/h, even if they couldnt officially verify it, there isnt a hope in hell that the driver is getting away with a ticking off on the side of the road and a simple fine and 2 points.
    I think the Garda is bluffing!
    IMO he's trying to put the sh*ts up you.
    If he didn't tell you exactly what speed you were doing, chances are he doesn't know.

However, if he's not bluffing, pay the fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭billie1b

There's no avensis on the market with that size engine mate.

I can confirm 100% that the avensis following me did not have a 35.-4.0 engine.

My GTi may be a hairdryer car, but it's got a decent amount of torque, doesn't look too boy racery and is enough for me at the moment.

I'm sure you meant hairdresser though.

For those wondering, i'm sure boardsies have a magical way of detecting what is and isn't a unmarked garda car in the rearview mirror.

For those not believing me, as I said, FCEM and current employer crosscheck, post up your email and you'll be able to see my credentials. Fact.

No I meant hair dryer, as in it only blows hot air! It is a hair dressers car aswell now that you mention it. I can tell you that there is a goid few Toyota Avensis and Camrys in the fleet with 2.5/3.0l engines, aswell as Mondeos, 5 series BMW's, Subaru Legacys and Mitsubishi Lancer estates. They all look bog standard, not bot racerish like a GTI. Man up, take your points and fine and be glad your not losing your license for excessive speed and dangerous driving

dgt wrote: »
    Stop you're killing me! Think I need to see a doc :pac:

Killing you? You should get your finances in order too...

Why not combine both services into one handy package :pac:

blade1 wrote: »
    I think the Garda is bluffing!
    Entirely possible but the OPs story doesn't make sense, and if it doesn't make sense................

I can tell you that there is a goid few Toyota Abensis in the fleet with 3.5l engines, aswell as Mondeos, 5 series BMW's, Subaru Legacys and Mitsubishi Lancer estates.

Oh dear God I thought you were being sarcastic earlier :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

No I meant hair dryer, as in it only blows hot air! It is a hair dressers car aswell now that you mention it. I can tell you that there is a goid few Toyota Avensis and Camrys in the fleet with 2.5/3.0l engines, aswell as Mondeos, 5 series BMW's, Subaru Legacys and Mitsubishi Lancer estates. They all look bog standard, not bot racerish like a GTI. Man up, take your points and fine and be glad your not losing your license for excessive speed and dangerous driving

Ah missus, stop talking rubbish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,937 ✭✭✭dingding

antodeco wrote: »

At least if the leather brakes cause you to sh1t yourself, the seat is easily cleaned.

I remember I had leather brake blocks on a high nelly. useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

I'll email you my name and you can check the fellows of the college of emergency medicine in London and cross reference with employees of my current employer online.

Cool man, PM me. Even a PHECC PIN or similar is grand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

Lol, no my car stethoscope is a littmann 2. i've a master cardiology at home too but I wouldn't tend to use that in an emergency. It's more for detecting subtle murmurs. I can assure you that neither of them cost anywhere near €2...and I can't even write them off against tax!

I would post a pic of the jam jar, but I'm not allowed as I'm new hear.

Fwiw there was literally no traffic around at the time.

*Here. ;)

Yawn........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Bren must be scouring Cork for a Golf with Ceramic brakes... AND leather seats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

"OMG! I left my laptop logged in! My room-mates are such characters!"

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

*steps out of shower* Goodness! Who has been using my computer?