Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

'Foreign link to Dorset St explosive find'

• 05-01-2010 3:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭

~Does anyone know what the hell this is about ?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0105/dorset.html

Foreign link to Dorset St explosive find
    Tuesday, 5 January 2010 14:10

A 49-year-old man has been arrested following the discovery of explosive material in a flat on Dorset Street in Dublin.

RTÉ News has learned that the commercial explosive was illegally brought into the country as part of a security operation by another country.

It is understood the man and the explosives ended up in Ireland as part of a test exercise which appears to have gone wrong.

Gardaí received a phone call this morning from a security service abroad, telling them that a man was in a flat in Dorset St with around 100g of commercial explosive.

The adjoining homes and businesses were evacuated, roads were closed and the Army Explosive Ordnance Disposal unit removed the explosive for further analysis.

The Departments of Justice and Foreign Affairs have been informed and the incident will be dealt with through diplomatic channels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I dont geddit? Its was a test? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Kiera wrote: »
    I dont geddit? Its was a test? :confused:

Apparently. I am thinking israel or america, and probably not america. Unreal. I think if security needs to be improved you can do it by testing or pointing out areas of improvement, actually transporting live explosives is another matter and overstepping the law and normal boundaries between democratic countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I've read this book. Turns out the Explosovakians did it.

Morlar wrote: »
    Apparently. I am thinking israel or america, and probably not america. Unreal. I think if security needs to be improved you can do it by testing or pointing out areas of improvement, actually transporting live explosives is another matter and overstepping the law and normal boundaries between democratic countries.
    If this is true then its off the wall. It cant be a test. With live ammo?

''100g of plasticine like exlposives'' - nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

...this does nothing for my paranoia tendencies:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,353 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

So can we shoot the spy and take his bombs and say it was an accident?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

strange days indeed.
    why are people jumping to Israel conclusion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

How did the test go wrong? That it was discovered?

Daroxtar wrote: »
    So can we shoot the spy and take his bombs and say it was an accident?

He might have been a slovakian national acc breaking news though they leave out the 'working for a foreign government' part which is the bit that makes it interesting.

http://breakingnews.ie/ireland/man-arrested-after-dublin-explosives-find-440778.html

imme wrote: »
    strange days indeed.

Slovakia is what the news on Radio 1 said.

''100g of plasticine like exlposives'' - nice.
    Stop confusing me! It says "A 49-year-old man has been arrested following the discovery of explosive material in a flat on Dorset Street in Dublin."

It says nothing about mála!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Slovakia is what the news on Radio 1 said.
    thanks AB. some on here were jumping to Israel conclusion. why would Slovakia (manufacturers of plastic explosive) want to send it to Ire, and then ring up and say "it's in an apt on Dorset St.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

thanks AB. some on here were jumping to Israel conclusion. why would Slovakia (manufacturers of plastic explosive) want to send it to Ire, and then ring up and say "it's in an apt on Dorset St.?

this is gonna be great.. cant wait to find out what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,121 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Probably a crate of this.

this.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

strange days indeed.

usually people assume it to be a national of generistan in circumstances like this.

I think if security needs to be improved you can do it by testing or pointing out areas of improvement, actually transporting live explosives is another matter and overstepping the law and normal boundaries between democratic countries.

Like the lady says....I don't geddit. Were they testing our security 'cos we asked them to or testing for their own purposes? This is all a bit confusing.
    It says nothing about mála!

mála = bag
    marla = the stuff you made snakes out of in senior infants. (High babies ftw).

(High babies ftw).

Say no to drugs kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭rednik

Damn it Jason Bourne has lost his memory again. I told him to go to Iceland.

Like the lady says....I don't geddit. Were they testing our security 'cos we asked them to or testing for their own purposes? This is all a bit confusing.

mála = bag
    marla = the stuff you made snakes out of in senior infants. (High babies ftw).
    I hadnt a clue how to spell it, so thanks :o

/and yeah its high babies!

Didn't realise they had high and low babies out in Malahide. Would've thought yiz were well too posh for that.

I'm not from Malahide. You need to brush up on your stalking, grasshoppa :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Were they testing our security 'cos we asked them to or testing for their own purposes?

More likely we were just a transit point and they were going to test another countries airport security e.g. US or UK.

genericguy wrote: »
    usually people assume it to be a national of generistan in circumstances like this.

It used to be Ruritania before the generifundamentalist revolution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Freedonia FTW

I'm not from Malahide. You need to brush up on your stalking, grasshoppa :P

Thats it, $hifty.....lull them into a false sense of security.
    More likely we were just a transit point and they were going to test another countries airport security e.g. US or UK.

Still doesn't make sense. If what you say is true, why phone it in?

One theory (in a audio link from the original page) was that they were testing their own airport security. Also it was 100g of RDX (used to make C4). The whole story is odd, the fact that they transported it through Dub airport, and the fact that this happened on saturday and they only rang the Gardaí this morning. Maybe after the underpants bomber (hehe) they were doing some kind of rushed review ? Maybe more will follow on the story. I hope they do not just release the guy, he should be charged in my view.

Anyone else dying to read RTDH take on this? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 16 johnflan

Military Press Release

Statement - January 5, 1.30pm

An Army Bomb Disposal Team have secured a quantity of explosive material on Dorset Street following a request from The Gardai.

Once the explosive material was secured it was removed by the Bomb Disposal Team for further examination as to the explosive's grade. The Team arrived on scene at 11.10am and the scene was declared safe at 12.05pm.

Note to Editors: This was not a device, this was what we would classify as a find and the find was explosive material.

ENDS

If a government phoned them to inform of the situation why would they have to perform an "examination as to the explosive's grade"? unless of course it was from a unreputable government?

And being a security testing issue, why did the government even issue a press release about it?

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭delta720

I don't think anyone could really believe that this was a 'test'. What part of a test could involve staying in a flat in Dorset St. Chances are we'll never find out what this is really all about, I'm sure things like this go on everyday without people knowing. Vauxhall Cross certainly is big enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,353 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Maybe the test was to see if he could get the stuff out of Molvania, where he got to was up to himself. Once they realised he'd beaten the system they probably got a bit p1ssed at him and ratted him up out of spite.

New details on RTE:
    A quantity of explosive, found in a flat on Dorset Street in Dublin this morning, was brought into the country following a failed security operation in Slovakia.

It is understood the explosive was one of eight pieces of contraband planted by the authorities in the luggage of unsuspecting passengers at Bratislava Airport in Slovakia last weekend as part of a test of security procedures.

Seven were detected by airport security, but the eighth - 90g of research development explosive or RDX - was put in the luggage of a Slovakian electrician who lives and works in Dublin.

AdvertisementThe 49-year-old unwittingly brought the material to Dublin when he returned from Christmas holidays.

Gardaí were eventually alerted this morning following a call from police in Bratislava and the flat on Dorset Street was sealed off.

During the operation, the adjoining homes and businesses were evacuated as the Army Explosive Ordnance Disposal unit removed the explosive for further analysis.

Both Gardiner Street and Lower Dorset street were closed off for about an hour.

The Slovakian man was arrested at the scene, but gardaí are now satisfied that he is innocent and he was released from custody this afternoon. He will not face charges.

The Departments of Justice and Foreign Affairs have been informed and the incident will be dealt with through diplomatic channels.

Minister for Justice Dermot Ahern said he was very concerned about the fact that the gardaí were not alerted for three days and has asked for a full report.

New details on RTE:
    Jesus Christ, the poor man :(

That is mindblowing that they would put plastic explosives in the luggage of an innocent tourist. Good thing he didnt change his ticket and go to new york - there is no way the american customs would have believed him !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

It's ok...I just sent some back to the Slovakian prime minister.

A fair response I believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭jocmilt

According to witnesses in Schipol Airport Amsterdam the underwear bomber was taken through customs and check in without a passport by a 'sharp dressed man'. Now, you don't have to be a rocket scientist to understand that anyone escorting a Nigerian man, who has been tagged as a 'terrorist suspect', without documentation, onto a flight destined for the US, is a spook. Then the fake attempt to blow up the plane by lighting his underpants! Oh come on! They said the explosive he had was PETN, which is liquid, so what was the 'powder' he was trying to light? Baby powder?

RDX, C4, Semtex and other plastique burns fine but will not explode even if you throw it in a fire and shoot it. Powdered explosive like AnFO is the same. Lighting them is a waste of time without a detonator.

And yet we are now being told we will have to submit to more security because of these obviously staged events. More body scans and pat down searches. So how much extra will all the body scan machines cost and what is their effect on our health? This is just fascism. More laws and 'security' while the real enemy is the one created by those taking away our freedoms. It's Animal Farm all over. The ficticious external enemy that insures we feel afraid and turn to our leaders to save us. And funny enough they just have the laws and machines to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,171 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

That is mindblowing that they would put plastic explosives in the luggage of an innocent tourist. Good thing he didnt change his ticket and go to new york - there is no way the american customs would have believed him !

poor guy would have been shot on sight!

This happened on saturday 2nd Jan so he could have spent the last 3 days in a locked room explaining to 'motivated' americans that he had never seen it before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Explosovians set us up the Bomb? All our Homebase belong to them.

That is all.

Yeah it's pretty fcuked up alright. So many bizarre elements to it.......

* that they managed to get it into his luggage
    * that they waited 3 days before letting anyone know
    * that they let it reach Dublin after getting through at their end
    * that they did it in the first place

Imagine living in a foreign country, having your door kicked down, getting arrested, finding out what for, denying it and then being told that the Gardai were responsible!!!?! :confused:

Depending on the country, you'd probably get a few slaps into the bargain as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

I'm more concerned that it actually got into the country ......

Sure !! they stop me having a scissors in my luggage but when someone decides to bring in explosives they open up the doors.....feckin baxtards.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

planted by the authorities in the luggage of unsuspecting passengers

They bleeding planted it on random people?

couldn't they of had their own guy go through who'd give a review...

blooming heck...

- Drav!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

A quantity of explosive, found in a flat on Dorset Street in Dublin this morning, was brought into the country following a failed security operation in Slovakia.

Well, Slovakia won't be getting my vote at the next Eurovision Song Contest.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

SoulTrader wrote: »
    Well, Slovakia won't be getting my vote at the next Eurovision Song Contest.

but still... you'd give their wimmins one right ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Reported for Blasphemy. :p

jocmilt wrote: »
    According to witnesses in Schipol Airport Amsterdam the underwear bomber was taken through customs and check in without a passport by a 'sharp dressed man'. Now, you don't have to be a rocket scientist to understand that anyone escorting a Nigerian man, who has been tagged as a 'terrorist suspect', without documentation, onto a flight destined for the US, is a spook. Then the fake attempt to blow up the plane by lighting his underpants! Oh come on! They said the explosive he had was PETN, which is liquid, so what was the 'powder' he was trying to light? Baby powder?

RDX, C4, Semtex and other plastique burns fine but will not explode even if you throw it in a fire and shoot it. Powdered explosive like AnFO is the same. Lighting them is a waste of time without a detonator.

And yet we are now being told we will have to submit to more security because of these obviously staged events. More body scans and pat down searches. So how much extra will all the body scan machines cost and what is their effect on our health? This is just fascism. More laws and 'security' while the real enemy is the one created by those taking away our freedoms. It's Animal Farm all over. The ficticious external enemy that insures we feel afraid and turn to our leaders to save us. And funny enough they just have the laws and machines to do that.

Not only do we have to congratulate RTDH on his 10,000th post, we also have to congratulate him on the birth of his son Jocmilt.

Reported for Blasphemy. :p
    Ah man, where am i gonna get the 25k for my fine?

You'll pay for this, CR :mad:

Ah man, where am i gonna get the 25k for my fine?

You'll pay for this, CR :mad:

Church-gate collection of course, like all of those spongeing non-religious groups you see every Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

90g of research development explosive or RDX - was put in the luggage of a Slovakian electrician who lives and works in Dublin.

The 49-year-old unwittingly brought the material to Dublin when he returned from Christmas holidays.

Good job the poor sod didnt mistake it for hash and decide to throw a party :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,305 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

http://news.eircom.net/breakingnews/17070062/?view=Standard
    A furious Government demanded tonight that Slovakia explain itself after an unsuspecting electrician was allowed to carry explosives on a flight to Dublin in a botched security exercise.

The diplomatic row erupted after Slovak airport police randomly planted powerful RDX in the 49-year-old's bag but took three days to warn authorities he had unwittingly evaded scanning machines.

It is understood Government officials were angry about the high level security breach and have called for answers.

A spokesman said: "The Minister for Justice, Dermot Ahern, has ordered a full report into what has transpired."

Slovak authorities began the live security tests last Saturday but only contacted gardaí today to warn of the lapse.

Officers planted several items, including the RDX plastic explosive, in the luggage of eight unsuspecting passengers as they prepared to board international flights at Bratislava and Poprad Traty airports.

A Garda source said: "It seems his bag was picked randomly - he is not in any trouble with us.

"We have verified the whole thing through proper police channels and security chiefs in the Slovak authorities."

One security source said: "If that much explosive was detonated, it would cause serious damage, it would kill if it went off in a plane - it's an unbelievable mistake.

"It doesn't bear thinking about to put that kind of explosive on a plane, unaccounted for."

Seven passengers were stopped as they went through scanning machines while the electrician unwittingly evaded checks at Poprad Tatry and made it to Dublin.

He was carrying 4oz (about 90 grams) of the explosive material.

Although the explosive would have been powerful enough to down a plane, the plastic explosive on its own was considered stable and no detonators were discovered.

Airport police in Bratislava contacted their counterparts in Dublin about the high-level breach this morning and gardaí were then informed and raided an apartment in Dublin's north inner city.

The 49-year-old man, who it is understood has been living in Ireland for a number of years, knew nothing about it. He was arrested and questioned for three hours before being released without charge.

Roads around the Dorset Street apartment complex, close to Dublin's main thoroughfare O'Connell Street, were sealed off for about an hour and a half, with five buildings evacuated as a security cordon was maintained.

The unwitting passenger who carried the explosives on the four-hour flight was travelling back to Ireland, where he has been working for three years, after a Christmas break at home.

An army bomb disposal team found the explosives still concealed in his luggage but described them as in a "stable state".

Irish security personnel also carry out airport tests, but use security personnel, not unwitting travellers.

The Slovakian Embassy in Dublin declined to comment but Slovakian deputy prime minister Robert Kallinak has conveyed his profound regret to Mr Ahern.

The Department of Foreign Affairs said it had also been contacted about the incident.

A spokeswoman said: "It is awaiting a full report in the matter and will, as necessary, pursue the matter with the authorities of the country concerned."

Fine Gael justice spokesman Charlie Flanagan said: "Whatever about the minister requesting a full report on the matter, steps must be taken immediately to rectify current security shortfalls.

"Given that the terrorist threat is now global and that no nation or people are immune from that threat, this security breach and the fact that the breach went undetected are serious issues of concern."

Labour's Joe Costello, a local TD, said: "There are a number of aspects of this extraordinary affair that require immediate clarification."

Dublin Airport said Slovak authorities telephoned airport police today about the incident, adding that they had already sent a telex.

But a spokeswoman claimed they had not received any communication until today.

"They (Slovak authorities) said they sent it. We never received any telex," she said.

The airport also stressed its staff were not responsible for security searches or scanning of passengers arriving into the Irish capital - similar to all other international airports.
    Lucky he didn't have terrorist connections.