Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Legal challenge against the fianna fail party?

• 17-06-2010 1:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭

Given that we all now know what the fianna fail party knew about the state of the Irish economy when they stood for election in 2007. It is my opinion that they won the election by means of deception and fraud by what they were offering the people in their election manifesto. Is there any legal challenge that the people of this country can mount against the legitimacy of the government in this regard?

Here is a sample of the lies that were told:

As part of Our Next Steps Forward we will:
    -Lower taxes
    -Put 4,000 extra teachers in place
    -Hire 2,000 extra Gardaí
    -Open Local Injury Clinics around the country
    -Increase the State Pension to 3300 per week
    -Invest for the future by rolling out the National Development Plan.

Today Ireland’s strong economy and full employment give us grounds for confidence. But in a world of higher interest rates, rising energy costs and intense competition from emerging economies we cannot be complacent. We must ensure that Ireland is one of the most attractive places in the world to live, to learn, to work and to invest.

-Press for a single all-island corporation tax of 12.5%.

-Increase ODA to 0.7% of GNP by 2012.

-Spend at least €100 million per annum combating HIV/AIDS and other communicable
    diseases in the developing world.

-Establish an annual 325 million Stability Fund, overseen by the Conflict Resolution Unit,
    to fund specific efforts on the area of conflict resolution and post conflict issues in the
    developing world.

-Increase funding for emigrant welfare to 334 million per annum.

-Support moves toward a single European Mortgage Market.

-Should the Constitutional Treaty or another acceptable text be agreed, we will campaign
    vigorously as a party for its ratification by the people.

-Provide new tax and other incentives aimed at making cultural and educational
    philanthropy more attractive. In recognition that higher economic growth can benefit
    the arts, we will encourage the full participation of the private and corporate sector in
    supporting the development of our arts infrastructure, and arts programmes and services.

-Act on the findings of all Tribunals which have yet to report.

-We will deliver the National Development Plan in full, on time and within budget
    to raise our productivity, to enhance our competitiveness and to secure our future
    prosperity.

-Keep the budget in broad balance and fully within our commitments under
    the Stability & Growth Pact.

-Set aside a minimum of 1% of GNP per annum to provide for the future pensions
    of today’s workers.

-Implement a series of significant and sustainable increases in key public services
    such as pensions, health and schools.

-Keep the overall tax burden low and implement further changes to enhance the
    rewards of work while increasing the fairness of the tax system.

-Fianna Fáil in government has committed to investing 5.4% of GNP in public infrastructure through the NDP.

-We will invest over 38.2 billion in Science, Technology and Innovation.

-We guarantee that the 12.5% rate of corporation tax will not be changed.

- Under Fianna Fáil, Ireland’s dynamic and flexible economy will continue to be one of the most attractive locations in the world to invest, to employ and to do business in.

-Fianna Fáil will abolish the PRSI ceiling for full rate payers and reduce the rate
    at which this tax is levied from 4% to 2% over the lifetime of the next administration. We
    will also reduce the rate of PRSI paid by the self employed to 2% from 3%.

-Specifically, we are committed to reducing the standard rate of income tax to 18% and the higher rate of income tax to 40%.

-Implement major changes in mortgage interest relief for first-time buyers and those who bought a house in the past seven years.

-Support upskilling of low-skilled workers in the manufacturing sector by investing
    more than 32.8 billion over the next six years in upskilling.

-Increase the number of Labour Inspectors to 90.

-Double investment in R&D.

-Continue to move ahead with decentralisation.

-Joining the Green and Red Luas lines.

-Opening Metro North from St Stephen’s Green to Swords via Dublin Airport.

-Opening Metro-West connecting Tallaght and Ballymun through Clondalkin, Liffey Valley
    and Blanchardstown.

-Open Terminal 2 at Dublin Airport in 2009

-Strengthen the role of the regional airports through continuing capital support.

-Spend 34.3 billion on non-national roads under the National Development Plan and in
    particular accelerate investment in the restoration programme to improve sub-standard
    roads.

-Maximise energy efficiency and energy savings across the economy with a
    target of 20% energy savings by 2020 and 33% for public sector.

-The Unit mandate will be to develop the sector and work to a target of at least 500 MW of wave and tidal energy by 2020 with an interim target of 75 MW in 2012.

-Complete the roll-out of broadband throughout the country with the National Broadband
    Scheme.

-Improve the energy efficiency of new Irish homes by up to 40%.

-Implement all aspects of Transport 21 to so that the use of public transport
    becomes a real option for more and more people.

-Over the next 5 years Fianna Fáil will work to ensure that Ireland’s waters are the most pristine in Europe.

-Invest €335 million under the National Development Plan in marketing Irish Tourism.

-the development of a new 25,000 seater stadium to accommodate athletics and field sports.

-As income taxes are reduced, we will keep the rate of mortgage interest relief at 20% for
    all home owners.

-Further increase Garda numbers to 15,000 by 2010 and 16,000 by 2012.

-In government Fianna Fáil will conduct a root-and-branch reform of court procedures which will consolidate and modernise the current court procedures, which date back to the Victorian era.

-Provide broadband on all islands.

-Increase the numbers of beds, consultants, nurses and other professionals in our
    hospitals and, through the reform of key work practices and continuing substantial
    investment, deliver faster and better care for patients.

-Increase the number of dedicated public-only hospital beds by 1,500.

-We will double the number of consultants, appointing an extra 2,000 and bringing the
    total number to 4,000.

-Increase the number of primary teachers by at least 4,000.

-Invest €4.5 billion in providing new schools and improving existing ones, increase the
    Minor Works grant and abolish the local contribution to building projects.

-Further increase the number of language support teachers from 1,450 to 1,800.

-Further increase third level participation rates, with a special focus on those from
    disadvantaged areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,346 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

It was as manifesto not a contract. There's no legal obligation and even if that was possible there would have been a clause added that it was subject to finances.

You just get to remind them of broken promises during the next election campaign. TBH all parties promise stuff they won't end up delivering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭duffflash

It was as manifesto not a contract. There's no legal obligation and even if that was possible there would have been a clause added that it was subject to finances.

You just get to remind them of broken promises during the next election campaign. TBH all parties promise stuff they won't end up delivering.

My point is that they knew that none of this would be possible when they were writing it up. They must have been laughing their asses off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

duffflash wrote: »
    My point is that they knew that none of this would be possible when they were writing it up. They must have been laughing their asses off.

the standard defence over the last 30 years or so is that we ended up with a coalition and so there had to be comprimise on what was done!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,858 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Give it a rest will ye!

FG made a load of promises too knowing the finance mess we were in.

One of theirs was free laptops for all in school:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

FG made a load of promises too

And could not get in with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

Give it a rest will ye!

Precisely. Politicians all over the world make promises they can't keep to win votes. The 2007 election was fought on the back of outrageous promises the next one will be too.

Don't get your head in a mess about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Is there any legal challenge that the people of this country can mount against the legitimacy of the government in this regard?
    No, there isn't. You get to use your vote in the next general election as wisely, more wisely or less wisely than you did in the most recent general election. That's the parliamentary system of democracy we currently operate under.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭conorhal

Daft suggestion. If we could sue a politican over every broken promise made, the courts would be clogged with so many cases that they'd deal with little else.

How about next time, the electorate demand honesty and integrity from their political classes, and not vote for every gombeen man that promises them a pier and a marina.

conorhal wrote: »
    Daft suggestion. If we could sue a politican over every broken promise made, the courts would be clogged with so many cases that they'd deal with little else.

How about next time, the electorate demand honesty and integrity from their political classes, and not vote for every gombeen man that promises them a pier and a marina.

I know one councillor who was canvassing for the last election, that got an earful for telling the truth.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,335 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

conorhal wrote: »
    Hahahaha, good one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭hiorta

RichardAnd wrote: »
    Precisely. Politicians all over the world make promises they can't keep to win votes.

That is not a promise, but deliberate deception.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭conorhal

hiorta wrote: »
    That is not a promise, but deliberate deception.

Well you know how how the saying goes, "fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice ..and I've probably voted number 1 yet again for Bertie, Lowery, Cooper-Flynn, Healy-Rae etc......"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

No, nothing can be done OP.

All we can hope is that the electorate doesn`t forget what they did, not what they said they`d do.

imme wrote: »
    No, nothing can be done OP.

All we can hope is that the electorate doesn`t forget what they did, not what they said they`d do.

IS that for just one party, two parties or all parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭eoinbn

You also missed the small print that says that all of the above is based on growth of 4-5%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Deise Tom wrote: »
    IS that for just one party, two parties or all parties.
    eh, were the Greens in charge of Dept of Finance in this government. Were they directing economic policy for the last 14 years???

They are pulling all the strings since 2007.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Given that we all now know what the fianna fail party knew about the state of the Irish economy when they stood for election in 2007. It is my opinion that they won the election by means of deception and fraud by what they were offering the people in their election manifesto. Is there any legal challenge that the people of this country can mount against the legitimacy of the government in this regard?

So did you vote for ff or pds ?
    Give it a rest will ye!

Well at least laptops for school kids might help drag our education system into the 21st century.

But I guess you reckon that money would be better spent on ministers travel expenses, procurement and continued storage of ill designed e-voting machines, badly designed human resource and payment systems (PPARS), etc, etc.

BTW how did FG know the finances were in such a mess ?
    Oh and if they did then surely clowen must have known as he was in chagre of Dept of Finance.
    And by extension of this assumption why the F**K didn't he do anything about it rather than sitting with his thumb up his ar** ?

No they weren't responsible for the mess created by ff & PDs, but they are guilty after the fact since they have helped ff lead us down a road that has doomed generations.

In fact you could say they are perverting the course of justice since they are helping ff hide the evidence of what really happened the night of the bank guarantee.

I am not allowed discuss …