Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Minor Things That Please You

• 24-10-2011 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭

Nothing came up in the search for something like this, so I thought I'd start a thread.

So, what pleases you?

For me:

The smell of freshly cut grass
    Popping bubble wrap
    A cider on a sunny day
    The smell of petrol
    The cold side of a pillow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

For the record, let it be known that no minors have ever pleased me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

kfallon wrote: »
    For the record, let it be known that no minors have ever pleased me!

So you just didn't enjoy it then?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Plumpynutt wrote: »
    The smell of freshly cut grass
    Popping bubble wrap
    A cider on a sunny day
    The smell of petrol
    The cold side of a pillow

If you added "and I like to cut myself" to the end of that list you'd have quite the emo song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,207 ✭✭✭maximoose

A blink of the hazards from someone that you let out in a traffic queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,691 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

seeing a traffic jam going the other way.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

BJs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

A taxi pulled over by the Guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

The Smell of petrol
    Giong for a walk on a cool day (not too warm not too cold)
    Sitting down to enjoy a bowl of popcorn.
    Big warm hoodies!
    The smell of newborn animals - especially puppies! (Smell delicious :pac:)
    Morning sex!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Plumpynutt

summerskin wrote: »

ah, my bad

FearDark wrote: »
    If you added "and I like to cut myself" to the end of that list you'd have quite the emo song.

i wouldn't consider any of those things "emo", but sure there ya go:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭thedoc46

The smell of 2 stroke engines,

Hot cup of tea on a cold night,

a descent Movie,

hot shower when i wake,

A clean car,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,224 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

The smell of my own farts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Dublin Chick

When my train man friend at the Dart station presses the button to let me through when I am running very late for the train and rooting in my bag like a maniac for the feckin smart card thingy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭ZombieBride

A clean kitchen

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭Cobbe354

The smell of petrol for sure.
    Seeing the team you despise, lose on TV.
    Seeing MILFs with their daughters to prove they are, in fact, MILFs.
    When you're heading home on a Friday afternoon and a song that really gets you in the mood for the weekend comes on.
    When the weather becomes warm enough to wear shorts and possibly flip-flops.
    Walking through the pub door on your way to meet your mates.
    Dunking a cookie or biscuit in tea / milk and it not collapsing.
    Showers with Hot water coming from them.

I'm easily pleased I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Big warm hoodies!

Amen to that sister :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

Taking a sh**, may not be minor tho if ya catch me drift

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Getting off a plane after a hot sun holiday and breathing in the cool crisp irish air. - Although after 1 minute it's loike ....."Jasus"

seeing people hurt themselves !
    Fall etc.. cut their knee etc...

seeing other people fail etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Thinking you've no chocolate left and finding some in the fridge. Happy days :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Cobbe354 wrote: »
    The smell of petrol for sure.
    Seeing the team you despise, lose on TV.
    Seeing MILFs with their daughters to prove they are, in fact, MILFs.
    When you're heading home on a Friday afternoon and a song that really gets you in the mood for the weekend comes on.
    When the weather becomes warm enough to wear shorts and possibly flip-flops.
    Walking through the pub door on your way to meet your mates.
    Dunking a cookie or biscuit in tea / milk and it not collapsing.
    Showers with Hot water coming from them.

I'm easily pleased I guess.

Man Utd 1 - Man City 6 :D:D:D:D

I love it when it's just a little cold on the way home as the evenings have gotten darker and looking at the sky when its orange and red, just these amazing colours, really beautiful.

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭VenusPlays

A hot bath
    Gin and tonics in huge glasses
    A meal cooked by someone else
    My dogs being delighted to see me when I get home from work
    Mashed potato when you've a hangover
    That very first snog with someone new

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Faith+1 wrote: »
    Thinking you've no chocolate left and finding some in the fridge. Happy days :)

Thinking you have finished your food but then finding you have some left 10 mins later.

Makes me so damn happy finding that piece of chocolate on your lap or that bundle of chips hiding at the back of the bag after you think they're gone :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Having breakfast in shorts and t-shirt on a sunny veranda by the sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

Coming up with new fancier curse words
    Shiny Christmas tree ornaments
    The idea of having a pet hawk :)

A G String

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

A bowl of stew on a cold day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Having a bath with a girl.

Soapy tit ftw!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

Winter evenings is another one when it gets dark at like 5pm and it's just so peaceful - I love it when it gets dark early reminds me of warm, nights in next to the fire. And christmas!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

That wonderful look on a child's face when I give them a piece of cake, and then take it away again because I remember they're not me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Having a bath with a girl.

Soapy tit ftw!!!
    Theres nothing minor about such an event :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭JohnP199

Changing lanes without driving over the cats-eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

Listening in to foreigners and hearing them chatting filth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I couldn't smoke in my old house, and used to be up till about 4am each night. Nothing like standing at the front door having a quite smoke at that hour, especially in the winter when everywhere is covered in snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

A big open fire with a few lumps of turf thrown on.

Waking up thinking you have to go to work and then remembering it's the weekend.

Going to empty the dishwasher and realising someone already did it.

and a good BJ of course. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Plumpynutt

I'm gonna add another one: being inside when its p1ssing rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

A blanket and a mug o'tea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Listening to the radio and some guy rang in with a story about a girl who was begging for food and he brought her to Dunnes and bought her some stuff after she told him some horrific life story and how her baby was sick. First she tried to fill the trolley with everything, then asked for more money after the guy bought her €30 worth of stuff for the baby. After they parted ways a store detective told yer man she was in the previous day with someone else buying food for her. Obviously a professional begger.

Woman then rang in fuming about "those people". Host said "Well I dont know what you mean when you say "those people" I mean they are all human beings"

She duly went off on a rant about foreign nationals when the host interrupted to tell her the woman in question was from Roscommon. She was stopped dead and hadnt a clue what to say. After stuttering for a bit she went ahead with her rant about Romanian beggars anyway regardless.

But just hearing her little rant stopped dead and the confusion in her voice when she realised her little generalising rant was out of place was cringworthingly delicious.

One of the little pleasures in life is hearing or seeing some over opinionated bint showing themselves for what they are when they are just too eager to spout a bit of hatred.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

A giant 200 ft tall inflatable Amanda Brunker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Sticking a soapy finger up the arse in a shower while banging one out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭noodletop

the wife getting Laryngitis:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

cocoshovel wrote: »
    Thinking you have finished your food but then finding you have some left 10 mins later.

Makes me so damn happy finding that piece of chocolate on your lap or that bundle of chips hiding at the back of the bag after you think they're gone :o

My dog has that experience regularly.He wanders off away from his food bowl,comes back ten minutes later...discovers he has food left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

A blazing fire, a pint of guinness and the paper.

• Registered Users Posts: 936 ✭✭✭leggit

tucked up in a warm bed while the rain batters the window!

heaven!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

The smell of petrol/the air coming from a running vacuum cleaner/a freezer.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

Waking up for work, checking the phone and realising you have another few hours sleep before ye have to get up.

Beating the expected arrival time on your sat nav.

Waking up looking out the window and seeing a couple of inches of snow on the ground when ye werent expecting it.

The first sip of a pint on a friday evening after you have had one of them weeks in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Waking up in the middle of the night, thinking its time to get up, looking at the clock and seeing thats its only 3am and you still have 4.5hrs before you have to get up.

Stiff clean Levis straight out of the tumble drier.

The smell of freshly cut grass.

Finding money in coat/jacket pockets that you forgot about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Taking a wrong turn and finding a shortcut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

pendingFriendRequestsOnFacebook.jpg

This