Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

FSA League Cup 2014

• 27-11-2014 1:06pm
    Registered Users Posts: 32,825 ✭✭✭✭

Exactly what it says on the tin.

What do you have to do to enter you say? Nothing, as long as you're already a member of the 4 leagues, or in the Qualifying League, you are either in or have/had (in the case of very last place who won't be in because my puny brain can't process odd numbers) an opportunity to qualify for this. You don't have to confirm your entry to be in, but by all means you can opt out if you so wish.

The format will be as follows:

Preliminary Round (Gameweek 13) - Otherwise known as the San Marino v Liechtenstein Round
    Bray Zen State (2023805) vs Franklin CD (558118)
    Yaya's Birthday (1819172) vs African Beef Farmers (2503219)
    Cushla Tigers (89417) vs FC Kit Anyway (38360)
    Hogan's Villains (206334) vs Spar (54449)
    Falcostero (1546060) vs Jack Rabbit Slims (712621)
    Borussia Heisenberg (2152318) vs Camel Toes (220367)
    My Little Bony (181974) vs The Octopus Returned (642520)
    Chamakh My Pitch Up (999423) vs Diego Costa Lot (586578)

As you can see this round is fully seeded

First Round (Gameweek 14)
    Seeded (but not fully seeded) draw of 2 pots,
    One featuring all teams from the FSA Premier League, the FSA Championship, League One, and the top 4 teams in League 2 (after Gameweek 13 has concluded)

Pot 2 will feature the remainder of League 2, and all the teams from the FSA Qualifying League who qualified based on their position or on the above matches.

All teams from Pot 1 will face a team from Pot 2.

Second Round (Gameweek 15)
    Open Draw between the remaining 64 teams

Third Round (Gameweek 16)
    Open Draw between the remaining 32 teams

Fourth Round (Gameweek 17)
    Open Draw between the remaining 16 teams

Quarter Finals (Gameweek 18)
    Open Draw between the remaining 8 teams

Semi Finals (Gameweek 19)
    Open Draw between the remaining 4 teams

Final (Gameweek 20)

There is a 20 euro voucher for the winner, I'll confirm what its for when I get home and check who provided it!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Sounds good! I'll throw in another €20 voucher doubt many here will be very interested in what we do but if they have an other half they might be!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,825 ✭✭✭✭CSF

jimmii wrote: »
    Sounds good! I'll throw in another €20 voucher doubt many here will be very interested in what we do but if they have an other half they might be!

You legend!! Get whatever it is posted in here so you can get the advertisement deserved for such a gesture.

• Registered Users Posts: 42,079 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

What about those posters who have been banned or closed their accounts? Rory and HighClass come to mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭Ziegler1988

Looking forward to this! Thanks for organizing it CSF.
    I'll be a tough Pot 2 opponent for one of ye big league boys :P

jebforever wrote: »
    What about those posters who have been banned or closed their accounts? Rory and HighClass come to mind.

They're in the league, and can technically win those leagues, so they're eligible for entry.

Come next August, if nothing gets resolved (and I very much hope it does, particularly in Rory's case as we get on well) they won't be in a position to confirm entry for next year's league and there'll be more promotion spots for next year from the Qualifying League.

Tbh I couldn't keep track of 136 people to see if they were site-banned or not if I tried anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,304 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

I look forward to continuing my proud history of crashing and burning in any FSA knockout tournament I've entered at the first round :)

• Registered Users Posts: 20,340 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

CSF wrote: »
    They're in the league, and can technically win those leagues, so they're eligible for entry.

Come next August, if nothing gets resolved (and I very much hope it does, particularly in Rory's case as we get on well) they won't be in a position to confirm entry for next year's league and there'll be more promotion spots for next year from the Qualifying League.

Tbh I couldn't keep track of 136 people to see if they were site-banned or not if I tried anyway.

will there be room in the qualifying league if this situation arises. Put me down for first reserve ;)

Rikand wrote: »
    will there be room in the qualifying league if this situation arises. Put me down for first reserve ;)

Not unless FutureGuy and Nody go on the Night Of The Long Knives and ban about 60 of us.

Keep your eyes posted for next year's qualifying league that will be open for entry until the end of August.

I've also realised there'll be a spot freed up by the fact that my placeholder team was included as one of the 40. The top point scoring losing team in the preliminary round will also get a place in the next round.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭skippy15

Fair play look forward to this. Well for the first week antways

• Registered Users Posts: 973 ✭✭✭internet_user

Any way of joining if not in any of the leagues? Newbie to this forum as of this season :P

Nope sorry

• Registered Users Posts: 8,975 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

if its ok with you CSF, im happy to throw in two €25 vouchers too, in case you want to offer a prize for runner up too

• Registered Users Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Z72fXRG.jpg

if its ok with you CSF, im happy to throw in two €25 vouchers too, in case you want to offer a prize for runner up too
    Its more than ok with me, what for?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,093 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Just seeing this now CSF, fair play. I'm currently 4th in League Two... Just clinging on to Pot 1 status.
    Just as well I'm playing Wonski this week, should be an easy win against someone in top 300 in the world :(:)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,093 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I'll commission a poem for the winner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

PARlance wrote: »
    I'll commission a poem for the winner

I will get a mass said for the runner up.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭G1032

Don't know how I didn't see this until now.
    Got a bit confused when I saw my team name in the preliminary round but with a different id to me. Was just about to post telling CSF that he had my team id wrong but before I did the penny finally dropped and I realise there is at least one other team called Diego Costa Lot.

How does the site allow multiple teams with the same name? I'm almost positive that a few years ago I was prevented from using a name because it was in use already?

Anyway, kudos to CSF for organising this and to the guys donating prizes. It's much appreciated.

G1032 wrote: »
    Don't know how I didn't see this until now.
    Got a bit confused when I saw my team name in the preliminary round but with a different id to me. Was just about to post telling CSF that he had my team id wrong but before I did the penny finally dropped and I realise there is at least one other team called Diego Costa Lot.

How does the site allow multiple teams with the same name? I'm almost positive that a few years ago I was prevented from using a name because it was in use already?

Anyway, kudos to CSF for organising this and to the guys donating prizes. It's much appreciated.
    Cheers, and ah sure there is a tonne of template witty names out there now.

Bray Zen State (2023805) 29 vs Franklin CD (558118) 50
    Yaya's Birthday (1819172) 38 vs African Beef Farmers (2503219) 32
    Cushla Tigers (89417) 33 vs FC Kit Anyway (38360) 42
    Hogan's Villains (206334) 25 vs Spar (54449) 39
    Falcostero (1546060) 36 vs Jack Rabbit Slims (712621) 38
    Borussia Heisenberg (2152318) 60 vs Camel Toes (220367) 43
    My Little Bony (181974) 43 vs The Octopus Returned (642520) 43 My Little Bony Wins On Most Goals Scored
    Chamakh My Pitch Up (999423) 32 vs Diego Costa Lot (586578) 50

Camel Toes wins the best loser by virtue of a tiebreaker. A sole Cambiasso goal firing him into the 1st round proper.

Comisserations to The Octopus Returned, losing to 2 opponents on a tiebreaker and scoring only 2 less than my own score which I wasn't entirely unhappy with relatively speaking.

Also in the most bizarre of permutations, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th in League 2 all lost this week, allowing 8th place Ramsey Brigadier to leapfrog into 4th place on points, by one point on points difference, having required a 10 point swing to do so, he did so by the tightest of margins, outscoring Cescual Feeling this week by 11 points to take his place in the seedings for the League Cup.

Massive drama and the cup proper hasn't even begun.

Draw to follow.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Also in the most bizarre of permutations, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th in League 2 all lost this week, allowing 8th place Ramsey Brigadier to leapfrog into 4th place on points, by one point on points difference, having required a 10 point swing to do so, he did so by the tightest of margins, outscoring Cescual Feeling this week by 11 points to take his place in the seedings for the League Cup.

Draw to follow.

Bizarre indeed. Top 3 won their games at the same time.

Thanks for taking your time to arrange this.

1st Round Draw
    Whattawastamoney (42942) vs Cesc's Offenders (24649)
    Bunch of Goons (14222) vs Exeter Gently (1027618)
    Green Arrows (94441) vs SubbuteoMen (79563)
    Locusts (736118) vs NKisBK (63443)
    Real Social Dad (22669) vs Woolyback Rovers (1425831)
    VaudevillianVeterans (180623) vs not even klose (56508)
    Ingscanonlygetbetter (4350) vs Team Fabreclass (240389)
    Diego Costa Lot (196770) vs Famine Rovers (1509206)
    Hackers (26913) vs Dead Parrots Society (142651)
    Alexis On Fire (175802) vs Mashed Potatoes (31975)
    The Craggy Islanders (311082) vs Borussia Heisenberg (2152318)
    Wat' Schlupp (34353) vs Cescual Feeling (518685)
    Gwan Da Deise (6720) vs Exeter Gently (37575)
    Brian Is Gay (158906) vs Keaton Potatoes (127015)
    Bosco Borisov (103512) vs The Heros We Deserve (286470)
    Cesc Cauldron !? (58503) vs The Relegators (14301)
    The Bottlers (7859) vs Disparate Youth (1072086)
    The Eh Team (10318) vs Franklin CD (558118)
    FriendsInLoewPlaces (4695) vs Diego Costa Lot (586578)
    Monkey Business (479467) vs Back Post, Far Stick (444217)
    Lcam-01xb Dominion (265905) vs Ace Utd (95442)
    FC Kilcullen (95381) vs FC Kit Anyway (38360)
    Team Ramrod (259541) vs David Silva Is God (19853)
    Don'tCallMe Schürrle (422908) vs Arlequins Perpignan (1225264)
    Gerry Hattricks (6787) vs Game Of Throw Ins (3064)
    DeGood DeBad & DeGea (114704) vs Balotelitubbies (927489)
    IDontKnowWhatImDoing (20575) vs DebuchyFanny (31672)
    Maigheo (24143) vs Kanakanak Kannuks (1352036)
    The Dukes of Hazard (203924) vs Rua Dublin (168)
    InanimateCarbonJ-Rod (2470) vs xXx_360_MLG_FPL_xXx (68956)
    Cavan Commandos (3266) vs Yaya's Birthday (1819172)
    The Gooners (556872) vs True Blues (53098)
    NeverDrinkingAgain (7834) vs The Goats dont shave (45822)
    Remote's Boys (163792) vs House Always Wins FC (1183042)
    Leeds the way (4799) vs Club 121 (11612)
    Kilburns Kids (24334) vs Boccys Jockeys (2097467)
    laluda (129319) vs Shades of O'Shea (162778)
    Bojango Unchained (1814) vs CityName SportsTeam (1139974)
    Schürrle Not? (4363) vs Fellaini's Pubes (99618)
    Greensausages (10928) vs My Little Bony (181974)
    The Bojanna Davisons (345447) vs The Dangerzone (1120080)
    Captain Cummo (97481) vs ScaldyBalls (408206)
    Journeymen (30166) vs Jingle Jangle (17677)
    Erzgebirge Scrooge (145410) vs Crystal Phallus (271941)
    Game of Throw-Ins (29492) vs Dynamo Bumbles '09 (95913)
    Wu Tang Athletic (170672) vs Camel Toes (220367)
    Thunderdog (740228) vs Newford Bulls (139499)
    Evil Gus Parkers XI (71690) vs The Costa Don't Mata (2059)
    Amkar Championov (57467) vs Cesc on the Beach (35605)
    Two Girls One Klopp (71452) vs Chic's XI (6863)
    Inish Celtic (245727) vs FCK (28566)
    Insertwittynamehere (35074) vs Super Skidmarks (143137)
    Syria Ah (19044) vs Stickey Wicket (897)
    Good Willian Hunting (5007) vs Lassy's Legends (53303)
    GillespieRoad (13370) vs Durrow Dashers (17038)
    nevercaptaincleverly (33468) vs Putler Capello (834783)
    Cesc on the Bench (444036) vs TheRealFFM (113993)
    Mason's Mercenaries (181094) vs Silence of the Lahms (1390210)
    Los Pollos Hermanos (5342) vs moisture......,..... (573750)
    Ramsey Brigadier (16484)) vs AC Alittlesilhouetto (125648)
    Van Gaalacticos (327) vs Gift of the Gabbidon (343642)
    Alabama Hotpockets (239715) vs Spar (54449)
    Krul Hand Luke (3095) vs Long Ballin' (630451)
    Liquid Football (220906) vs Jack Rabbit Slims (712621)

Best of luck everyone, with the exception of my strangely named opponent.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭wonski

1st Round Draw
    Whattawastamoney (42942) vs Cesc's Offenders (24649)
    Bunch of Goons (14222) vs Exeter Gently (1027618)
    Green Arrows (94441) vs SubbuteoMen (79563)
    Locusts (736118) vs NKisBK (63443)
    Real Social Dad (22669) vs Woolyback Rovers (1425831)
    VaudevillianVeterans (180623) vs not even klose (56508)
    Ingscanonlygetbetter (4350) vs Team Fabreclass (240389)
    Diego Costa Lot (196770) vs Famine Rovers (1509206)
    Hackers (26913) vs Dead Parrots Society (142651)
    Alexis On Fire (175802) vs Mashed Potatoes (31975)
    The Craggy Islanders (311082) vs Borussia Heisenberg (2152318)
    Wat' Schlupp (34353) vs Cescual Feeling (518685)
    Gwan Da Deise (6720) vs Exeter Gently (37575)
    Brian Is Gay (158906) vs Keaton Potatoes (127015)
    Bosco Borisov (103512) vs The Heros We Deserve (286470)
    Cesc Cauldron !? (58503) vs The Relegators (14301)
    The Bottlers (7859) vs Disparate Youth (1072086)
    The Eh Team (10318) vs Franklin CD (558118)
    FriendsInLoewPlaces (4695) vs Diego Costa Lot (586578)
    Monkey Business (479467) vs Back Post, Far Stick (444217)
    Lcam-01xb Dominion (265905) vs Ace Utd (95442)
    FC Kilcullen (95381) vs FC Kit Anyway (38360)
    Team Ramrod (259541) vs David Silva Is God (19853)
    Don'tCallMe Schürrle (422908) vs Arlequins Perpignan (1225264)
    Gerry Hattricks (6787) vs Game Of Throw Ins (3064)
    DeGood DeBad & DeGea (114704) vs Balotelitubbies (927489)
    IDontKnowWhatImDoing (20575) vs DebuchyFanny (31672)
    Maigheo (24143) vs Kanakanak Kannuks (1352036)
    The Dukes of Hazard (203924) vs Rua Dublin (168)
    InanimateCarbonJ-Rod (2470) vs xXx_360_MLG_FPL_xXx (68956)
    Cavan Commandos (3266) vs Yaya's Birthday (1819172)
    The Gooners (556872) vs True Blues (53098)
    NeverDrinkingAgain (7834) vs The Goats dont shave (45822)
    Remote's Boys (163792) vs House Always Wins FC (1183042)
    Leeds the way (4799) vs Club 121 (11612)
    Kilburns Kids (24334) vs Boccys Jockeys (2097467)
    laluda (129319) vs Shades of O'Shea (162778)
    Bojango Unchained (1814) vs CityName SportsTeam (1139974)
    Schürrle Not? (4363) vs Fellaini's Pubes (99618)
    Greensausages (10928) vs My Little Bony (181974)
    The Bojanna Davisons (345447) vs The Dangerzone (1120080)
    Captain Cummo (97481) vs ScaldyBalls (408206)
    Journeymen (30166) vs Jingle Jangle (17677)
    Erzgebirge Scrooge (145410) vs Crystal Phallus (271941)
    Game of Throw-Ins (29492) vs Dynamo Bumbles '09 (95913)
    Wu Tang Athletic (170672) vs Camel Toes (220367)
    Thunderdog (740228) vs Newford Bulls (139499)
    Evil Gus Parkers XI (71690) vs The Costa Don't Mata (2059)
    Amkar Championov (57467) vs Cesc on the Beach (35605)
    Two Girls One Klopp (71452) vs Chic's XI (6863)
    Inish Celtic (245727) vs FCK (28566)
    Insertwittynamehere (35074) vs Super Skidmarks (143137)
    Syria Ah (19044) vs Stickey Wicket (897)
    Good Willian Hunting (5007) vs Lassy's Legends (53303)
    GillespieRoad (13370) vs Durrow Dashers (17038)
    nevercaptaincleverly (33468) vs Putler Capello (834783)
    Cesc on the Bench (444036) vs TheRealFFM (113993)
    Mason's Mercenaries (181094) vs Silence of the Lahms (1390210)
    Los Pollos Hermanos (5342) vs moisture......,..... (573750)
    Ramsey Brigadier (16484)) vs AC Alittlesilhouetto (125648)
    Van Gaalacticos (327) vs Gift of the Gabbidon (343642)
    Alabama Hotpockets (239715) vs Spar (54449)
    Krul Hand Luke (3095) vs Long Ballin' (630451)
    Liquid Football (220906) vs Jack Rabbit Slims (712621)

Best of luck everyone, with the exception of my strangely named opponent.

Do you have a tldr version? Or glasses maybe?

Just kidding, this shows how much work this takes:D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,262 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Draw to follow.

I'll take that:D

I'm hereby taking my inspiration (being a League 2'er) from Bradford F.C.

Nahki Wells in for a -4!

wonski wrote: »
    Do you have a tldr version?
    You youngsters with your tldrs and tinders.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,975 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

Game of throw ins enjoy the day out, your going down

manual_man wrote: »
    I'll take that:D

I'm hereby taking my inspiration (being a League 2'er) from Bradford F.C.

Nahki Wells in for a -4!
    I'm almost sure you were the last replacement in League 2 right? Shades of Denmark in 92.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,633 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Up against Super Skid marks.....

Bet he is crapping himself!