Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

***Off Topic***No Recruitment talk***

• 24-07-2014 3:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭

So just to try keep the other threads clean I decided to open up an off topic thread.

Chat about whatever you want except Garda Recruitment related issues but also within the Boards.ie T+Cs and the Garda Recruitment forum charter

Things like football, rugby, gaming, the weather, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Fierce warm out there today lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

carzony wrote: »
    Fierce warm out there today lads.
    Sure is, just had myself an ice-cream, must go for a swim later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I've training tonight :(

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭mickaleen

Dont forget your armbands...lol...

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    I've training tonight :(
    What kinda training? God help ya whatever it is.

Rugby, first night back for preseason, absolutely dreading it.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭almeraguy

Might head for a swim myself, I'm melting here!

Sweet jaysus...best of luck.....

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭BRB

Love training in this weather!! Just hope you aren't a forward......

BRB wrote: »
    Love training in this weather!! Just hope you aren't a forward......

Aye, flanker or 2nd row

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭ann.lewis

Was gonna ask the same.. what sport ! Though training for anything in this heat. OH is on the way home from work on a bike, crazy stuff. I just finished work and am in the garden with my jelly sandels on waiting to go the beach :)

Yes.. jelly sandles, the type 5 year olds wear on hols haha. Not the bright high heel ones from pennys but flat normal ones !

Good idea for this thread. Nice one.

Ohh what a day :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

Great dryin out

WilcoOut wrote: »
    Great dryin out

Ye woman !! Hahah.
    But yes.. you're dead right ha

Aye, flanker or 2nd row

Feel for you in that heat. Winger/full back. Plenty of space

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Eireannach01

Any serious gamers among you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

Tis great weather out there for someone who quit their job for a delayed Garda intake! Every cloud has a silver lining I suppose....except today when there are no clouds :pac:

Used to until college. Kinda stopped and haven't played anything for ages

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭JonathanP

Isn't it well for all of ye off swimmin and eatin ice cream and playin rugby! I was off raking silage in a tractor with broken A/C and if that wasn't bad enough my tangle twister melted :-/

Definitely not serious. Used to play COD mainly for the craic with the lads rather than the actual game, haven't played since before Christmas at this stage. Went to play earlier, bought an XBL code online and the so and so's didn't send me the code :/ not happy!!

What do you play?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Not since I grew up

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Not since I grew up

Mod

I'm not sure why you post in this forum at all. It's either a smart answer, unhelpful or trolling. Don't post in this thread again.

Please don't reply to this post, any problems PM me

-KERSPLAT!

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭Blaireness

I'm studying for repeat exams currently :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Blaireness wrote: »

College exams, or professional exams?With any luck you won't have to sit them :-P

Rothmans wrote: »
    College exams, or professional exams?With any luck you won't have to sit them :-P

If college exams id recommend sitting them no matter what!

Uuugh I need to register for college soon. It's sometime soon.

If college exams id recommend sitting them no matter what!

Uuugh I need to register for college soon. It's sometime soon.

So are you gonna have to choose between college and the guards?

Repeat exams ?
    But didn't you pass all stages ? Are you not going to be a guard ?

I'm slightly confused !

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭almeraguy

Repeats!!!!! That chicken wrap I had for lunch is repeating on me!

ann.lewis wrote: »
    Repeat exams ?
    But didn't you pass all stages ? Are you not going to be a guard ?

I'm slightly confused !

Some people are still in college etc so I'd imagine that's what it is. I had only just started my 2nd year in college when applying to AGS. Got my results 2 weeks ago and passed everything, onto my final year now :)

Anyway, let's try steer clear of Garda Recruitment. Yes I do realise it was me that brought it up :p

I'm studying for repeat UCC exams, final year ones, so I am definitely going to sit them. Otherwise I'll have to try and sit them next summer and pay a heap of fees for classes I won't go to. I'm not putting 4 years of work down the drain!

Defo do them anyway. Good luck with them. They'll stand to you

If they're August repeats then you're laughing!

August 5th to 15th!

Well that works out very nicely. You'll be able to relax for 2-3 weeks before you start in September!

So are you gonna have to choose between college and the guards?

I'll defer college and come back part time. Have it all sussed with student advisors and coordinators in UCD.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭BluesAndThrees

I'll defer college and come back part time. Have it all sussed with student advisors and coordinators in UCD.

Mind me asking generally what you're studying? Looking to do a masters part-time and the staff in UCD are very helpful with me! Very nice people in my dept.

I'm studying Politics and Geography. Heading into my final year

Definitely not serious. Used to play COD mainly for the craic with the lads rather than the actual game, haven't played since before Christmas at this stage. Went to play earlier, bought an XBL code online and the so and so's didn't send me the code :/ not happy!!

What do you play?

I have played most COD games and I enjoyed RPG as well. Like yourself, I havent played many games for a year or two. I doubt there will be much time for my XBox at Templemore though. Think it will be quite a busy schedule. I dont really have the same interest I suppose as before. In my mid twenties so maybe Im maturing slightly now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

I'm studying Politics and Geography. Heading into my final year

So whats happening and where is it happening?

WilcoOut wrote: »
    So whats happening and where is it happening?

Public sector not getting paid, thanks to bank of Ireland.
    Something happening in Gaza.
    Ukraine is still having some trouble.
    Iraq suing an oil company in Texas.

Oh and no movement in regard to potential Garda trainees receiving offers. Politics I guess are coming into play in that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

Something to make you smile

Anyone see the Paddy Power twitter feed today? Some lad was trying to text a girl he met last night in Diceys but somehow got a PP staff member... The staff member decided to play along :D

I'm sure it's a publicity stunt but still very funny. On the phone so can't link but a quick Google and you should get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭billie1b

Anyone see the Paddy Power twitter feed today? Some lad was trying to text a girl he met last night in Diceys but somehow got a PP staff member... The staff member decided to play along :D

I'm sure it's a publicity stunt but still very funny. On the phone so can't link but a quick Google and you should get it

http://www.joe.ie/joe-life/life-features/steve-met-jess-in-diceys-last-night-and-has-been-accidentally-texting-paddy-power-since/

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭BluesAndThrees

I could well be venturing into forbidden waters on this thread but you'll have to forgive me ;) If someone was hoping to get in, is there anything they could be doing to educate themselves in the mean time? Any good sites or books to get a head start?

You could ask that very question in the general question thread instead of knowingly venturing into forbidden waters ...

He's living on the edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC