Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Second Captains Live - The TV Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Love these callbacks to vintage Off The Ball shows, like Denis Hickie's Wavin ad :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

What about our triple Olympic gold medalist Michelle Smith???
    Are you tampering taking the p1ss?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭passremarkable

mcdevitt very good at interviewing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Brilliant stuff so far,making good use of the access to RTE's tape library too.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Are you tampering taking the p1ss?

Classic MrsD...........:D:D:D

I'll have an Irish Coffee while you're going to the loo, em, putting on the kettle.............:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

The ads bit was excellent. Don't normally laugh at anything on RTE so this is a welcome change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,673 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

ProudDUB wrote: »
    This ripping off funny old RTE commercials and TV shows is straight from the Republic of Telly playbook. Just sayin' !

Ah, they've been doin that for years.

Thought it was gas.

Possibly cramming in (and rushing) too many features, but it's good stuff so far.

Fair play to ROG, he is a good sport and he gave a candid interview.

Eoin McDevitt would make a good replacement for Tubridy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,210 ✭✭✭shamrock55

I dunno what to make of it tbo, why does it look like something from the 80's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭sid waddell

Too forced, too matey, too Fantasy Football/Soccer AM/TFI Friday. With O'Gara and McConville on the show, if they've any balls at all they'll play out with "The Gambler".

[quote="Skid

Eoin McDevitt would make a good replacement for Tubridy.[/quote]

Was thinking the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Loving they're using the same tunes as the OTB days. Love me a bit of nightcall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Mumha

They need to find some role for poor Ken, he looks lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

that intro was reminiscent of crimeline :D

CHALLENGE MURPH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Murph is very good

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Murph on Blackboard Jungle never gets old.

It's a bit Ken-light, i'm afraid.

Ken on the couch looking bored ****less

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

Needs a bit of Ken Burley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Ken looks really lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Ken's looking a bit like a Third Captain back on the couch.

It's like a Challenge Ant / Eat my Goal SM:TV Live retro mash up.

Pat kenny joke was quality.

Ken's looking a bit like a Third Captain back on the couch.

I just rembered where I knew the name - you're the hobby man from This Morning with Richard Not Judy! Enjoy the weak lemon drink :)

• Registered Users Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

Needs a bit of Ken Burley

Yeah.
    Mc Devitt did an excellent job, but surely Ken Burley should've done the Rugby interview.
    His knowledge of the game is peerless.

Sensible soccer. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Skid X wrote: »
    I just rembered where I knew the name - you're the hobby man from This Morning with Richard Not Judy! Enjoy the weak lemon drink :)

Seriously Skid, you have to get out more............:P:D:D:D

Really enjoyed that. Murph is excellent on this but MOAR KEN!!!!!!!!

Bit rushed towards the end but enjoyable nonetheless. Decent first show though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

That_Guy wrote: »
    Sensible soccer. :D

I was a master at that on my Atari St :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

Not a bad start in fairness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Sensible soccer!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Not a bad start in fairness!

Ya,enjoyed it,roll on next week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Halloween Jack

That's an odd, odd format... Very broad, not much substance in comparison to the rest of their work.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭spiritcrusher

Decent start but definitely needs more of Ken getting cranky and difficult over trivial things. And making ridiculous analogies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,741 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

What about Stephen Roche on that top 10! or even Kelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

Really enjoyed that. Loved the sensible soccer reference. Can't wait for next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭heyheyhey1982

Good show enjoyed it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    What about Stephen Roche on that top 10! or even Kelly

No cheats allowed :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Didn't think it was great - a bit all over the place though have to admit I haven't heard much of them on radio.
    Is that Ken guy the fella who writes the Arsenal column in the Examiner?

Really enjoyed that. Was a bit rushed, and maybe a little heavy on in-jokes (i wonder what people who don't know the lads at all might think?), but very promising. Murph really stepped up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

As first shows goes that is pretty good. I enjoyed it and the lads settled in as it went on. Murph is a bit of a natural. Ken looked a bit lost but hopefully he'll be involved next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Really enjoyed that. Look forward to next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Mumha

Really enjoyed the show. Hopefully there will work on getting Ken more involved next week. Great to see Hermitage Green as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Tried to cram too much into the time allowed but a good start. The interview with ROG was just getting interesting and they had to end it. A bit too laddish for me and they seem lost in a vast studio.

Also it looked to me like the programme was taped a couple of hours ago as i never heard them mentioned anything in detail about the match, apart from it been a disappointing evening (once Sweden won it was all officially over) and storming the Austrian embassy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭ceegee

Decent first show, hopefully will see more Ken when theyve a soccer related main guest on.

Was watching the ROG interview thinking how fecking awful it would have been if Tubs was doing it. Think I got more insight into rog in that ten minutes than during his entire playing career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Footoo

That was pretty good. Most of the criticisms for me are cosmetic and can be fixed easily. Hopefully Ken will be given more to do with some soccer guests next week. He seemed a bit of a third wheel out there alright. Would have liked a bit more conversation about the hurling final and game tonight but I guess their going for a more magazine feel than current news.

McDevitt proved again that he's probably the best interviewer this country has. He never fails to get candid responses no matter who he's interviewing. I can see how O'Gara can come across as boring but I quite like that slow measured way that he answers the questions.

All in all an excellent first show. Hopefully they can convert their cult following to the mainstream and we could have a decent regular weekly show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

Enjoyed that.

Reckon the interviews might not be as good as the podcast due to time constraints.

They should give Ken a rehearsed piece (Ken's archive Korner, Ken's rant, Ken Burley on Rugby, anything at all)

Maybe try not to squeeze in as many features.

Interview a (lively) non-sports guest to mix it up a bit

But I liked it, it captured the Classic OTB/Second Captains vibe well.

8.5/10