Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Book recommendations thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Socialism

start here and then move forward according to your appetite.

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭usernamegoes

I know it's been asked before, but I was wondering if there are people involved with or interested in establishing a libertarian party in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭MrD012

very interesting website about how the EU Message is spread

The Bruges Group - Federalist Thought Control: The Brussels Propaganda Machine

• Registered Users Posts: 1 luke eastwood

A lunch-time protest outside the Central Bank of Ireland on Dame Street, Dublin.

Dress as a zombie banker or dress as you are, either way this Halloween let's make a noise about the continuing corruption and stupidity in the financial sector and our government.

We are paying for the failure of the banks and yet our government still pays out to unsecured bond holders and does nothing to protect the ordinary people, struggling with their mortgages, or small businesses from predatory banks!

Related Link: https://www.facebook.com/events/294398374000073/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I hope plenty turn out.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 engageyourmind

You may be interested to know there is a brand new Internatonal Politics Dublin group just started. Check out Meet Up for more details.

It's for anyone interested in constructively icon_biggrin.gif discussing and learning about international politics and what causes things to happen as they do.

The first meet up is in the Clyde Bar of the Berkeley Court Hotel on Tuesday 23 October @ 7pm. On the first night all you need do is:

1. Bring an article or topic you'd like to discuss

2. Tell us what you'd like this group to be

3. Ideas for future events

4. Guest Speakers

5. Campaigns

6. Trips to Interpolitiking events

7. All other suggestions.

Looking forward to meeting and sharing ideas with you.icon_smile.gif

Check out http://www.meetup.com/International-Politics-Dublin/events/85817502/

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Jim Martin

I thought you might be interested in a march I went on in Ennis last Saturday, protesting about the bondholder bailouts! Fair play to these protestors from Ballyhea who have been out marching every Sunday since Feb 2011 - last Saturday they decided to spead their wings to Donegal, calling at Ennis, Galway, Castlebar & Sligo on the way!:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ballyhea-bondholder-bailout-protest/162154057174719

• Registered Users Posts: 8 purewanderer

Just after reading this http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2012/1114/1224326575203.html where a woman died in Galway after being denied an abortion when the baby had no chance of surviving. Words such as disgraceful and shocking come to mind but it's so sad they don't really cut it. Is anyone up for holding a protest, march, vigil, something over this.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 TrastoCat

Hi there, I'm conducting a survey that you can find here to know more about what Irish people think about the current situation of their country. I'm not from Ireland, but I'm studying in Dublin and that's part of an essay that I have to write for my university. I will be very thankful if you can give the survey 10 minutes to fill it. I also accept comments and suggestions, of course.

Thank you a lot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Done it there for you..

I submitted it without my E-mail though..

Don't worry about that, it is not necessary. Thanks a lot :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Done the survey, but the part about the legal investigation into Church in the middle of section on the Children's referendum a case perhaps of interviewer bias?

I wasn't sure whether putting it there. Maybe I should have put it in the religion part or somewhere else. Thanks for pointing it anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

^ While let's face it, an online petition never achieves anything directly, it's going to help raising awareness so it's still a good thing. Myself, I prefer to share this photo around, I feel it gets the message across far more efficiently:

228215_10151166629668456_1050944103_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Friends of West Papua

We are just looking to find out if anyone on Boards, was involved with West Papua Action. We would be really interested, in helping out the campaign in West Papua, however we have tried to make action with the West Papua support group that was based here in Ireland - West Papua Action, however the group seems to have been discontinued. We were just wondering does anyone have contacts/know anyone who was involved with this campaign as we would be really interested to either help out the campaign or start up a new group.

Irish Friends of West Papua

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

4.30 pm, Marrion Square. Its going to be massive. Play your part...smile.png

Unite for Life Vigil - 19th January 2013

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-tE00lNXBq0...1600/Vigil.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Actually I can't attend as I will be at the Pro Choice rally In Merrion Square at 4.30 on Saturday.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2013/0118/1224329000702.html

Actually I can't attend as I will be at the Pro Choice rally In Merrion Square at 4.30 on Saturday.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2013/0118/1224329000702.html

Sad attempts to intimidate and cause friction won't work on us I'm afraid.

But what would you expect from Extremist Socialists anyway..?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Boulevardier

Can I stand between the 2 rallies with a "what about just having some common sense" banner please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

:P:P:P:P:P

:P:P:P:P:P

You all fit very well into that phonebox...;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,842 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

The irony, it burns.

It was great to see true unity between the Pro life Campaign, Youth defence, the Church and Life International. A formidable force.

A big wake up call for FG & FF TDs...:)

• Registered Users Posts: 4 OnDaFence

Any figures available around the amount of rental property owned by Garda over the last 20 years or so?

Probably low enough for entrants to the profession from 2005 onwards.
    However, there would appear to be a significant (subjective) amount of units held by gardai as investment properties.

I'm conducting some research for a thesis around same and would like to get some hard numbers but its a challenge.

Anecdotally, from speaking to residents in a local estate, of 40% of residents who spoke to me, 60% had landlords who were gardai (is that extraordinary?)

I managed to speak to a number of Gardai in my local station (I have a good relationship with them and would socialise with several, there are over 50 in the station). Spoke to 15. Out of that (all legacy hires, pre 2005, in fact most were early 90's hires), 9 had investment properties rented out in the local area. 6 had more than one property. 4 had more than 5.

All claimed times were tough and remarked that their take home pay has reduced, but anyone with a pre 2000 property has agreed that their investments have performed and are paying for themselves with some profit.

One Garda I spoke to has a portfolio of 16 properties in the local area (all purchased pre 2000), 2 in Spain (invested with family) and some (he wouldn't clarify) in eastern Europe.

4 Gardai reckoned they were living pin to collar, after paying rent and bills they were left with nothing.

Interested in your input. There appears to be a 3 tier society. One wonders when the AGSI states that their members are left with only a few bob after bills does it include the few mortgages?

Certainly dont want to troll and would love any assistance in getting hard facts as I have reams of interview notes and anecdotal information.

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

I seem to recall a brief flurry of publicity c.18 months ago in relation to concerns over the Garda Credit Union's loan-book and it's performance.

Some of the issues appeared to concern the GCU lending monies for inappropriate purposes,in addition to other concerns (expressed by existing members at the time) of new recruits being offered loans before they had graduated from the Garda College.

I would imagine that as your thesis progressses you may find yourself facing some significant obstacles...as well as losing some old accquaintances !!! :eek:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users Posts: 32,987 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I have no data to give you, but your post/thread is interesting, as I had never heard of the phenomenon of the 'Garda landlord' and your figures surprise me.

I guess that during the Tiger years many people got caught up in buying additional properties to rent out, and its maybe understandable that many Guards would have decided to get on to this, plus the fact that they would have been attractive to the banks to loan money to i.e. they had a safe, well paying public service job. By this reckoning I would guess that there are probably as many 'teacher landlords' as Gardai ones?

As for the whole thing about some of them struggling, we that's a whole different argument that will divide opinion wildly. You would often hear people on Joe Duffy's Liveline complaining about not being able to pay their mortgages on their 4 rental properties, despite the fact that they are taxi drivers and have overall mortgage debt of €700,000!! Many will say "well thats a risk they decided to take". I suppose few will have any sympathy for any Guards who took the risk of being professional landlords and now it has backfired on them. But as I say, a different thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 OnDaFence

Thanks AlekSmart for your quick response. As well as hard data that I have and interview notes, the guidance and direction I get from social media are priceless.

I concur that there are significant obstacles and to this point I've got little to no assistance from unions. Barriers are there to be broken and I just want to get some real numbers. The acquaintances are not a concern. This that are friends will remain so and the others seemed to want to foist numbers.. Either way not a concern.

To NIMAN, I would agree that the phenomenon should (and possibly is more widespread), but from my research, there is not the same proportion of landlords who are teachers (why? not sure, but will study same). Similarly why not a significant amount from other public sector secured entities? I dont know yet.

Concur with your point about 'struggling'. Not of any interest in my study (at the moment). Huge amounts of people are battling negative equity at the moment and there is the question of job losses. This is true and unfortunate, but affects all sectors of society.

Primary interest to me (and I've already got some PMs!) is the disproportionate amount of Garda landlords.

Appreciate your input already as this is going to be an emotive and wieldy issue

• Registered Users Posts: 32,987 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Wish you good luck with your thesis.

I'm sure that Guards are also seen as the 'protected public sector workers' that many moan about. The radio shows and forums are full of public sector bashing. Many assume if you are a Guard or a teacher then you are loaded. But if you have become a landlord and have 4 properties in massive negative equity then you are probably under intense pressure than many of the public would not see. Add to this, as you hint at possible reduced salaries and job losses due to their reduced budget, and the future probably looks bleak for many Gardai.