Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boards Golf Society Outing - Roscrea Golf Course 23rd August @ 10:00am

• 22-07-2014 11:52am
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭

The penultimate round of the BGS year is upon us already and with the Ryder Jug getting close, points are getting scarce and well sought after so the battle for the top spots will be getting intense. Here's to the final round before Captains.......

549464_171685612966180_1942449344_n.jpg

557209_171685702966171_451825575_n.jpg

Photos taken from Roscrea Golf Club's facebook page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭paulos53

Just in case anybody missed the teamer notification today - I got an email but no text message about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,068 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

paulos53 wrote: »
    Just in case anybody missed the teamer notification today - I got an email but no text message about it

i got nothing.... i have the app on my phone and it normally beeps when an event is scheduled.

so no app alert, no text and no email for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

stevieob wrote: »
    i got nothing.... i have the app on my phone and it normally beeps when an event is scheduled.

so no app alert, no text and no email for me!

Got email & app alert myself.

Looking for back to back wins to put some pressure on the top 3 lads :D

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭tigerwood1

After the last two outing where i was finishing fast with good back nines i have decided to change tactics and get plenty of practice in for this one {don,t tell macker:)}. Having not played Roscrea before I was thinking of getting a warm up round in one of the evening next week for around 4ish tee time. Anybody interested in joining me ?.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

What day are you thinking tiger? What day is their open day?

On my way home from gowran I passed roscrea and was going to go in for a cheeky round only it started lashing rain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

charlieIRL wrote: »
    What day are you thinking tiger? What day is their open day?

On my way home from gowran I passed roscrea and was going to go in for a cheeky round only it started lashing rain!

Roscrea have open singles every Wednesday and Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Macker1

tigerwood1 wrote: »
    After the last two outing where i was finishing fast with good back nines i have decided to change tactics and get plenty of practice in for this one {don,t tell macker:)}. Having not played Roscrea before I was thinking of getting a warm up round in one of the evening next week for around 4ish tee time. Anybody interested in joining me ?.

Get the practice in your going to need it........... Oh ****e :eek: Did I just type that out loud.

Only kidding buddy........ really looking forward to Roscrea where there will be a improvement on the nightmare display in Gowran. To be fair that wouldn't be hard.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

I might be interested. Let me know what day you are thinking.

Thanks lads wenesday or friday i can do either, could wait for weather forecast next monday, have just emailed course for info on availibility.

Lads, can all of ye check to see did ye get the Teamer text / email?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

Didnt receive anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Haven't received anything Charlie.

Just checked the weather forecast for the week friday looks to be dry all day. plenty of availibility for around 4pm in the open if anybody interested.

I'll try sending them again tomorrow, not surevwhats going wrong.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

You need to click the SMS tab at the top or it will just send notifications and no texts

Cheers pistol, thought I had done that, can you look at it if you get a chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,421 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Got text this morning.

Really wanted to go to this one but have a charity game on the same day so wont be able to :(

Rikand wrote: »
    Got text this morning.

Really wanted to go to this one but have a charity game on the same day so wont be able to :(

I went into teamer again and sent a text to all the regulars on the list that I had no response from.

Will have to get a crash course in sending out the notifications from pistol, I seem to make a balls of them every time!!! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Got it this morning, cheers Charlie.

No texts received at all

Macker1 wrote: »
    No texts received at all

didn't send you one, trying to give everyone else a chance to catch up.

ha ha, only joking macker. :D:D:D:D
    I didn't send another one this morning because i had seen that you had already accepted so i presumed you had got it previously. Did you accept via teamer page?

Yes I accepted a while back via the Teamer Page.

Does everyone have the teamer app on their phones. Works a treat and could possibly solve Charlie's problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭shane 007

I'll be making this one. Really looking forward to it.

No texts received at all

:rolleyes: oh no

Just checked the weather forecast for the week friday looks to be dry all day. plenty of availibility for around 4pm in the open if anybody interested.

Won't be able to make it today :(

RoadRunner wrote: »
    Won't be able to make it today :(

No problem runner. I tend to play better on courses i hav,nt played before, fingers crossed for next sat:eek:

Looks like I can make it now - Can I get a late tee time ? :)

Tee is booked for an hour but I'd be there as early as you can, if there's nobody in front of us we head out early if lads are there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,984 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Sure you always do :):):)

No problem runner. I tend to play better on courses i hav,nt played before, fingers crossed for next sat:eek:

Only a win will keep me into the race for the final ten.
    Have a foolproof plan this time though- going to not hit the ball into bushes.

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Can't make this one either. Made the captains final round so it golf keeping me away for this outing. :)

Can i be in the no DMD group please ? :)

me too :o:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I'll arrange that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Hows the weather looking ?

its Ireland............it'll be grand!!! :D

Promised dry so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Bring sunblock and rain gear.

Do we want to do live scoring this week ?

Unfortunately I'm away Saturday with the kids and National Pony Championships (how the flock did I mix up them dates?!) but ye will be in the safe hands of Keano and Kiers. Enjoy the day!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Do we want to do live scoring this week ?
    When do you need the final list by?

Friday night if possible

Lads any chance I can get out in first group . Called into work.
    That evening.

You can but you'll be with a DMD group ;)

what is a DMD?

stevieob wrote: »
    what is a DMD?

Distance Measuring Device

too many TLA's :(

You can but you'll be with a DMD group ;)

Thanks Keano. But think I'm ok now.

BTW I'm joking about DMDs :D

Woke up out of a dream this morning with someone shouting DMD DMD DMD .... at me!!!

Lads has anybody played the course.

What it is like - any strategy ?