Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

U2 on the Late Late

• Registered Users Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Areyouwell wrote: »
    This is a U2 thread and I was only commentating on U2 and what I have experienced in relation to them. But basically what your saying is, begrudgery isn't really begrudgery because the begrudgery is directed at the person for being a prick, untalented or generally rubbish and a pain in the ass and therefore it is not begrudgery. And not because they are successful and have done well for themselves. And then you say that begrudgery doesn't exist? Wow and that's my cue to log off.

I think he's just saying he(and others) simply think Bono is a prick because he acts like a prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

That's a fair observation but why do people always have this obsession with applying it even when it's not relevant? As has been said countless times (but people like to ignore it) how come every other famous person doesn't get the same level of dislike and how come there is similar dislike of Bono outside of Ireland?
    I don't understand the level of dislike either tbh but it isn't necessarily always about begrudgery.

You're wrong there.

There is one more but he's only disliked around croke park. Speaking of which, why aren't those residents in here giving out about U2.

You're wrong there.

There is one more but he's only disliked around croke park. Speaking of which, why aren't those residents in here giving out about U2.

Garth talks about himself in the 3rd person at every given opportunity, he brings it on himself.

Nothing wrong with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭abstrakt82

You're wrong there.

maybe its cos when they give concerts there bono goes on about how the people from that area are the best in the world, and salt of the earth, and then he goes back to his house in Killiney

Nothing wrong with that.

That's an opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Cienciano wrote: »
    Westlife is a good example of begrudgery not existing, just a weak defence of fans of arseholes. They made a lot of money, not liked as a band by anyone over the age of 15. I never heard people saying they thought they were a pack of wánkers.

Are you from Sligo? Because I originally am and I seriously doubt you are with that comment. A lot of people in Sligo had great time for them and a lot of people in Sligo couldn't stand them. A mate of mine lived a few doors down from where one of them would be regular visiting in the RE area of town. People in the area seemed to despise the guy. Nice as pie to his face but behind his back you'd hear "Look at him showing off in his fancy car." "Thinks he's the great fellow." "Did ya see the car parked outside? The bollocks." A lot of the other comments wouldn't be repeatable here.

It was pure jealous, small mindedness and begrudgery imo. When I was living in London, I remember one of them got beaten up in town and when I returned home. Quite a few people seemed to wish he got a worse beating than the one he actually got. Now if that's not plain spitefulness & begrudgery I don't know what is. So please don't say nobody begrudges Westlife because I certainly encountered a fair amount of it. While I personally have no time for their music and question their talent. I loved seeing a band from Sligo & Ireland topping the UK charts when I lived over there and having great success. But I'm certain those sentiments were not shared by all.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,705 ✭✭✭hynesie08

You're wrong there.

1) Because U2 haven't announced five gigs in a row there
    2) Because they have better things to do than spend all day on boards trying to tie every thread into some bitter vendetta no one cares about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

Not a bandwagon or begrudgery thing with me. I took an instant dislike to Bono before some of you were born. The first time I saw him interviewd was when he was 17 on the late late. I thought he was an insufferable arrogant prick back then. Nothing has changed my opinion over the years. I'm happy he has made millions for himself, but I can't listen to his bull****. I cringe so much I have to switch channels whenever I see him.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Even Larry Mullen admitted he cringed hard behind the drums when Bono was giving a speech at a concert they played before Obama's 08 inauguration. :P

I like U2 but Bono is a musician not a politician or some type of global statesman, just play the songs and don't subject your audience to political lectures at every gig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone II

Even Larry Mullen admitted he cringed hard behind the drums when Bono was giving a speech at a concert they played before Obama's 08 inauguration. :P

I like U2 but Bono is a musician not a politician or some type of global statesman, just play the songs and don't subject your audience to political lectures at every gig.

But he's not just a musician though, whether you like it it not, he's crossed that divide and is now a demigod!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

But he's not just a musician though, whether you like it it not, he's crossed that divide and is now a demigod!

The more you stand out, the more attention you're going to draw attention to yourself, and that attracts both platitudes and criticism, often in equal measure.

Thing is though, I'm not sure Bono gives a damn, he's probably wiping his rear end with $100 bills just for the hell of it!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,740 ✭✭✭degsie

Such hate for a decent band. Their stuff is still better than that manufactured Simon Cowell drivel being pumped out...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

This is it like.him roaring yes we can like an idiot.Sure he was buddies with GWB before Obama too.he jumps on every bandwagon avaliable.everything about it is about him being as popular as possible.and them the Apple fiasco too.let's face it.he's a figure head and a marketing tool. He's not an artist. The begrudgery is arising from the fact that he's so average and yet has had such success.other fantastic artists are barely above the breadline then.that's what gals me.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

porsche959 wrote: »
    Why 'surprisingly'?

I'm amazed people are amazed that U2 can, you know, do a good live performance, considering they've been doing it for, well, four decades. And even in the very early years, people who saw them live were given to report "that lot are going to be big".

Surprisingly for me.

Can't say I've ever felt too strongly about them either way, I can recognise they're a good band, not particularly my thing, but I like some of their stuff. Considering I've not paid much attention to them, can't say I ever remember hearing them do an acoustic set, I was surprised they sounded so strong really, especially Bono's voice. Only watched the full interview now including the first song, the second one definitely stood out. Although Graham Norton's interview was probably more enjoyable, Ryan Tubridy has the ability to really drain an interview, he just can't shake the awkwardness either.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

degsie wrote: »
    Such hate for a decent band. Their stuff is still better than that manufactured Simon Cowell drivel being pumped out...

Well that's a matter of opinion really. Personally speaking I think they went to shìt after Achtung Baby with their Zoo TV tour, and that's when U2 for me anyway became less about U2 and more about Bono and his untamable ego with all his alter egos, when his political and social commentaries just went into overdrive.

They've been woefully hit and miss ever since, but that hasn't stopped Bono and made him think "Well, what about the fans of older generations? Nah, fcuk them, we've got this whole new generation of kids to sell this commercialist twat to, wrapped up in a veil of popular social injustices".

It's no better than the commercialised twat that Simon Cowell et al put out these days. I'm not some anti-capitalist crusader, but I detest the fact that Bono is trying to make himself out to be an anti-capitalist crusader, while signing $100m deals with Apple to flog U2's latest drivel to the masses.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    1) Because U2 haven't announced five gigs in a row there
    2) Because they have better things to do than spend all day on boards trying to tie every thread into some bitter vendetta no one cares about?

Do you like attacking me?

You haven't replied in this thread at all, until I did.

Same thing with the S club 7 thread, you haven't been on boards in two days since the S club 7 thread. Came onto that thread, to attack my post, never mind that another poster had a comment before me, about S club 7 wanting 5 nights in croke park. Ignore that post, but attack mine.

Then you come on after me in this U2 thread to reply after my post. Are you looking to rise me or what's your issue stalking me on boards?

Do you follow me around just to attack me or something?

What exactly is your issue with me?

Or perhaps its all Garth brooks fans you have an issue with. You crawled over to the gigs and events back in July looking for a rise out of the fans there. When Nathan carter was announced, you told us that he can show Garth brooks how to sing callin baton rouge, followed by something by Ronan Keating singing the dance....in a Garth brooks music discussion thread. Took great great delight in it.

You don't attack anyone else, any other fan, any other artist, any other band.

What's your issue with me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

degsie wrote: »

*cough

*choke

• Registered Users Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

The thing with all the taxes bemuses me. I don't know any business person who doesn't try to pay as little taxes as possible. They managed it. Kudos to them.

caustic 1 wrote: »
    The thing with all the taxes bemuses me. I don't know any business person who doesn't try to pay as little taxes as possible. They managed it. Kudos to them.

....going on about poverty while evading tax is the thing there.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

To be fair - they can still knock out a tune in a live setting, but likely many of their recent efforts the latest album has been over-produced imo. It just sounds kinda synthetic to me. Which, given their ability, seems odd that they would fall into that trap so many times.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Nodin wrote: »

So a Bob Geldof wanna be, don't make him a mass murderer. Just because he was successful doesn't mean he doesn't want to help others out of dire situations. Perhaps thinking because he is well known he might be able to get his message across rather than Joe Soap from down the town. I don't know. I just think what have they done that's so wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

Begrudgery: Word often used to dismiss valid criticisms of a person, because that person happens to be successful - implying that people are 'just jealous' of that persons success.

If that logic were to hold, then it would pretty much imply that 'successful' people (no matter how their success is gained), can do no wrong - which is why you see the begrudgery label thrown about a lot (particularly the notion of 'Irish begrudgery'), as it's pretty useful as a rhetorical weapon.

So a Bob Geldof wanna be, don't make him a mass murderer.............

He's been on the preachy trail far more often than Geldof. Ive never said he was a mass murderer. If I were to describe him it would be as a smug hypocrite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Nodin wrote: »

Avoiding, not evading.

They continue to pay tax in Ireland on monies accrued from touring and merchandising, which probably constitutes the majority of their earnings nowadays.

Perhaps I'm wrong here, but I believe the business U2 moved to the Netherlands may pertain to their publishing rights alone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

Its hypocritical because bono campaigns for the irish government to give more of its tax money to the 3rd world yet bono trys avoid paying any tax to the irish government.

Bono seems to believe that tax is only for the little people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Creative Juices

Tall poppy syndrome alive and well in Ireland. U2 are a great bunch of lads.
    I bet if any of the begrudgers on here actually met Bono, they would be fawning all over him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

I'd usually agree about Irish begrudgery, but some moments are bulletproof to that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Jumboman wrote: »
    Its hypocritical because bono campaigns for the irish government to give more of its tax money to the 3rd world yet bono trys avoid paying any tax to the irish government.

Bono seems to believe that tax is only for the little people.

Another genius who doesn't understand U2 != Bono

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

Another genius who doesn't understand U2 != Bono

Bono does write most of U2 songs so I would say bono is about 80% of U2.