Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Accounting Technician 2015/16

• 05-11-2015 7:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭

Anyone else doing this?

Doing it full time myself, 1st yr.

Initial thoughs :

Fin Acc/Tax a doodle.Disappointed with the low std was hoping for something more substantial.

Law - doable but will take work.Certain chapter are mandatory, will specialise on these. My memory is crap.

Bus. Man most boring, BS subject I've ever come across in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Kaylalala

Did it last year. Have you already worked in Accountancy? It starts presuming no knowledge so it certainly is a bit slow to start but its just so everyone gets a fair start!

BS is fairly dull but its so so straightforward. Look at the past papers for BS and LW. Both follow the exact same pattern each year.
    BS
    Q1 PESTLE
    Q6 IT
    Q7 FINANCE

and the other ones are 2 Marketing and 2 from the second section of chapters like motivation and leadership.

Law is the same, Q1 is Ethics
    then Part 2 is gen law then P3 is Company law. There's a pretty regular pattern of which 5 questions come up within these as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭tanit

I finish in June this year. First year was full time with plenty of time to study. Second year I found a job and did part-time in Griffith. Second year was much harder because I was trying to get the hand of the job (small practice) and trying to study but it's certainly doable.

You need to pass no matter what Fin Acc and Tax if you want to go to second year. If you don't find them substantial it might either be because you already have a base, have studied the subjects before and it's simply to easy for you. In that case you might want to check Chartered Accountants Ireland, check their website and the ATI Graduates Route page in Prospective Students. If you pass all the 1st year exams with a Merit you can go directly to their programme and start in CAP1 without going through 2nd year ATI. Mind you this way you don't get the ATI qualification and you are forced to get the CAI one no matter what. I've heard of people not being able to finish and it's a mess because of the time and money invested and you are left with nothing.

My thoughts about the qualification is doable and several of my classmates from first year are doing Accounting and Finance 3rd year. The ones from 2nd Year were most of them working and most of them finished in May or July the exams they went to.

From first year my impression was that the younger people in the class were the ones struggling the most whereas the ones more "mature" (I was one of them) were more successful. I understand completely because at that age I was acting the same as them.

Wait until you do the exams and get into the meatier parts of the syllabus. Law is usually the most difficult one because of the amount of cases and law you need to remember. Financial Accounts and Taxation are more computational ones 1st year. Business Management has theory but you should be able to pass it without a problem (don't be overconfident with this one I've met people failing this one and passing the rest)

If you are interested both years I prepared an index of the questions that have appeared in all the the exams since 2009 for all the subjects if you are interested I can upload it somewhere or do a pdf and share it with you somehow. But it doesn't have last 2 years questions for 1st year and last years questions for second year (once I passed the exams I stopped updating them).

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Kontaktlens00

I am interested in enrolling in the Accounting Technicians Course starting in the Autumn.

I just have a question about the work experience required for the Diploma Qualification. If I did the studies for 2 years and passed all the exams, how long do I have to obtain the 2-year employment in order to get the qualification? Could I do the studies, continue working in IT where I am at the moment, and perhaps in 3 years time gain the work experience that is required?

Also, tanit, I would be interested in having a read over those exam questions. Could I PM you to get a copy from you?

Thanks so much.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

I am interested in enrolling in the Accounting Technicians Course starting in the Autumn.

I just have a question about the work experience required for the Diploma Qualification. If I did the studies for 2 years and passed all the exams, how long do I have to obtain the 2-year employment in order to get the qualification? Could I do the studies, continue working in IT where I am at the moment, and perhaps in 3 years time gain the work experience that is required?

Also, tanit, I would be interested in having a read over those exam questions. Could I PM you to get a copy from you?

Thanks so much.
    I get the impression they are not overly strict wrt to the work exp. Once you've done the course you can tip away at futher education and come back to relevant exp at your own time. If you have office experience and have done some number crunching you can apply for exemptions wrt to the 2yr requirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭volono

i'm currently doing first year of this full time, agree with previous posts re b.management the most b-**** subject ever but what do you do? part of the course. I'm really enjoying the course all the same as I came from a non accounting background completely, feel like I'm getting a good grounding in tax and f.a especially.
    Now the plan is to do second year but and here's my dilemma I feel like its moving to slow, like it'll be june 2017 before I finish which will give me exemptions from papers f1-4 and then what are my job prospects like????
    My plan is to sit f2 and f3 cbe's by the end of june.( after first year of ati if I get a merit pass in b management and law and ethics i'll have exemptions for f1 and f4 )
    Then during the summer for the acca September sitting study f5 and f8.
    After this i'll begin ati second year and study for f9 for the December sitting. For the march 2017 sitting study f6 which is taxation, my thinking is that I will have a very solid understanding from ati course by then and sit f7 in june for the same reasons.
    Hope that wasn't to long winded would really appreciate peoples opinion on doing this my thinking is that for the sake of one really hard year from june i'll have the ati qualification and f1-9 papers done.
    What will my job oppourtunities be then could I get a training contract or maybe get a job and continue studies?? forgot to add I would be attending night classes probably in dbschool for f papers 5-9
    I really feel this is doable but what do others think?? sorry about using this thread but I thought it was relevant thanks for any and all replies

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭lorr27

Just came across this thread. I'm currently in year 1 Accounting Technicians and finding it really good. It's quite difficult at times as the pace is so quick so I do a fair bit at home to keep on top of it. I'm not too keen on BM but it seems to be sinking in bit by bit lately. I plan on going on to either ACCA or CPA after year 2 but still can't decide which would be the handiest option. How are you all getting on with the course?

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Homer Glumplich

Hi everyone, I'm also doing this course. I opted for the on-line version which is very convenient for the lectures. Not really sure if the law and business management lectures are worth a re-watch as they are mostly theory. I'm after finding myself behind and playing catch-up due to work etc. Only started into studying the last couple of weeks proper. I reckon law and business management could be studied by going through the past papers and picking certain topics. How is everyone doing with studying? I'm starting to panic but there's always repeats!

• Registered Users Posts: 1 BubblesB19

I'm doing this course part time. My first year is nearly over.
    Completely agree with everyone else Business Management is a ridiculous subject. I'm finding it difficult with 2 small kids and working full time.
    Panicking now really as I haven't put enough work in and my first exam is in 2 weeks.
    Anyone else in my boat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭wally1990

I am a 2nd year student and all i can say it keep doing the sample papers http://www.accountingtechniciansireland.ie/Students/Study_Materials/Sample_papers/First_Year_Sample_Papers.html

Dont do past exam papers for tax as tax changes every year
    Ensure to answer all questions asked and keep exam scripts neat and tidy refering to any workings
    if a questions states to list 3 reasons then list 3 and no more for example(our teacher is an examiner and he said you will get no marks for the 4th and it is time wasting)
    do not keep reading the book chapters at this point for revision
    do exam papers and refer to solutions
    You do not need to refer to exam papers prior to 2014 as sample papers and past 2 years are fine
    Again Sample papers are created by your current examiner
    time is king so if you just stuck on a question or something doesnt balance or whatever MOVE ON!!! just leave it
    and valuable time spent trying to fix a calculation will be picked up elsewhere

the good student does the theory questions first. Easy marks picked up.
    Ensure to answer all compulsory questions!!!! and no less.
    take the full time in the exam. If there is 3 compulsory questions and your gone over 36-45 minutes on 1 questions then drop it and move on!!!. time is so important in these exams.
    Bring a pen x 2(no red allowed) black and blue are ok. no tip ex. bring a ruler and 2 calculators(in the event 1 breaks)
    Read every question carefully and answer exactly what is asked!!!!
    if it states list then list do not start waffling the answer

so sample papers ,attempt them, refer to solutions and text book (if required) and back to paper.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭EmmaC88

I'm also in first year starting to panic! The amount of theory is crazy! I have been studying all year (well trying) & I dunno has it helped!

Our accounting teacher told us not to look at sample papers as they are easier but our teachers for other subjects just said do sample papers! The scary thing is that all the examiners have changed so what if they change all the paper completely?!! Like what if pestle/swot don't come up in business management?

I do think data protection in lawwill come up as its first year on course.. Everything else is just a mind field!

Anyone got any tips on what will be coming up or help to study for next few days?

Im a 2nd year student , not a first year and the current sample papers are written by the current examiners.

Remember the pass rate is 50%. You dont need to smash it. you will pick up marks along the way

wally1990 wrote: »
    Im a 2nd year student , not a first year and the current sample papers are written by the current examiners.

Remember the pass rate is 50%. You dont need to smash it. you will pick up marks along the way

Ya I know just worried about the theory subjects so much to learn im scared I'll end up knowing nothing! 🙈

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭HeinekenTicket

I would also recommend the MyRevision online questions/solutions, many of which are taken from past papers.

In any case, at this stage, you should just be practising questions.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 kkk.ie

Hi
    could you tell me if there was any questions from sample papers on the exam?

kkk.ie wrote: »
    Hi
    could you tell me if there was any questions from sample papers on the exam?

I would like to know this too.. Just dunno how I will do business management & law! 😱

EmmaC88 wrote: »
    I would like to know this too.. Just dunno how I will do business management & law! 😱

For Business Man I'm doing 4 chapters section 1, dropping IT
    section 2 ch 6&7
    section 3 ch 9&10
    Should have 4 questions covered.

Law
    Sec A Ch 16 Data Protection plus some Ch17 to cover myself
    Sec B Ch1.Irish Legal, CH2&3 Contract, Ch4 Employment, Chp 7 Tort
    Sec C CH8&10 Company Org and Formation, CH11 Finance, Ch 12 Directors, Ch13 Auditors, Ch15 Receivers/Liq/Examiners

Sec A Compulsory and double the marks. According to examiner notes data protection case study.

Sec B Ive 4 certain q's covered according to examiner notes

Sec C Ch 15 and 11 guaranteed questions. At least 1 q and possibility of 2from Chs 13&14

For Business Man I'm doing 4 chapters section 1, dropping IT
    section 2 ch 6&7
    section 3 ch 9&10
    Should have 4 questions covered.

Law
    Sec A Ch 16 Data Protection plus some Ch17 to cover myself
    Sec B Ch1.Irish Legal, CH2&3 Contract, Ch4 Employment, Chp 7 Tort
    Sec C CH8&10 Company Org and Formation, CH11 Finance, Ch 12 Directors, Ch13 Auditors, Ch15 Receivers/Liq/Examiners

Sec A Compulsory and double the marks. According to examiner notes data protection case study.

Sec B Ive 4 certain q's covered according to examiner notes

Sec C Ch 15 and 11 guaranteed questions. At least 1 q and possibility of 2from Chs 13&14

Ok thanks ya I'm positive data protection will come up! Where did u see examiner notes? Any ideas what will come up in financial? ;)

I'm studying around the clock these days and beginning to freak out. Business management is just not sinking in at all. I'm alright with PESTLE and SWOT, covered a nice chunk of marketing and HR. I can't waffle on like they do in the solutions, I can answer the question but can't expand on them. English was never my strong subject. Any tips?

lorr27 wrote: »
    I'm studying around the clock these days and beginning to freak out. Business management is just not sinking in at all. I'm alright with PESTLE and SWOT, covered a nice chunk of marketing and HR. I can't waffle on like they do in the solutions, I can answer the question but can't expand on them. English was never my strong subject. Any tips?

Its the 1s yr of the syllabus so stick rigidly to the sample papers.
    Pick 2 out of the 3 chapters for section B&C.
    Sec A is easy enough to remember relatively speaking.

Ok thanks ya I'm positive data protection will come up! Where did u see examiner notes? Any ideas what will come up in financial? ;)

P&l/Balance sheet/short questions/theory pretty certain.

I'm the same.. Section b not my strongest I was gonna do the 2 questions in section c as our lecturer told us that it's the last three chapters but none of that going in. I can't waffle either. Just hoping section A will be nice so I could do the 2 questions.. I have all the sample papers wrote out I hope that I have enough in that if I learn..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

Don't get hung up on the solutions, they are 110% answers. In other words they are the answer and then some, if you had no time constraints and the book at hand.
    They are not expecting you to reproduce answers to that standard. Use them as a guide.

s15r330 wrote: »
    Don't get hung up on the solutions, they are 110% answers. In other words they are the answer and then some, if you had no time constraints and the book at hand.
    They are not expecting you to reproduce answers to that standard. Use them as a guide.

Ya ok thank you hopefully it be all ok! Roll on May 18th ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

Ya ok thank you hopefully it be all ok! Roll on May 18th ;)

Roll on June 25th, I did aiti, doing cap2's now :D

Did anybody go to the CSR and ethics workshop in Dublin. It's available to buy in "My Revision" and trying to decide whether it would be worth the €30 or not. I think the last three chapters are fairly difficult to digest especially the chapter on Corporate Governance. It was my plan to answer both qs in section c but I think I would fair better with sections a and b.

Lads, I am a 2nd year student. and EVERYONE in my year last year was freaking out about law and BM. Firstly! the solutions are 150% answers.nobody is going to replicate them and they are just FULL of buzzwords and waffle in my opinion. Stick to the hard facts of what you are answering and if you want to butter it up with some fancy english then do that but dont worry. I got 76% in BM last year and my answers were nowhere like the solutions provided (Honestly)

Just write down what you know and dont waffle a load of ****e

dont be worrying, Just keep looking over the past papers and remember 50% is the pass marks and marks are easily picked up throughout the exam.

Thanks Wally, I can answer the qs in the sample papers confidently enough today now so hoping they don't throw something totally different into the exam. How are you finding year two? I'm looking forward to getting stuck in. Is there far less theory? Are you ready for your exams?

Management accounting is tough and there is a lot of information to take in

There is more theory in FA in 2nd year but the advanced version. Compared to year 1 isn't much harder

Tax is tax and I personally hate it but the standard isn't much harder

Ias is fine , but you MUST practice at home

Management accounting is tough and there is a lot of information to take in

There is more theory in FA in 2nd year but the advanced version. Compared to year 1 isn't much harder

Tax is tax and I personally hate it but the standard isn't much harder

Ias is fine , but you MUST practice at home

I'm freaking out about financial accounting. Could do a question last week & now today haven't a clue how to start it! Actually so scared of failing! 😢 And I have been studying throughout the year which is making me more cross with myself today when I can't do a question.

How are you getting on today?

Under savage pressure myself nothing is going in and I'm studying year 2

Not too sure how this will go down. Let everything too late this year

Had a good day with financial accounting today, my brain is tired from it so taking the rest of the night off.
    What exam are you starting with wally?
    Are you planning on going on to acca, aca, cpa afterwards?

Ya I had a good day, hopefully tomorrow be same! Just need to learn theory side as well for accounting. Just want to get them started! When u starting? When u finishing? U feel u studied more last year? Least ur nearly finished :)

I'm planning on doing CPA afterwards

About 85% of my class aren't going on for different reasons(family kids, too much study ,age ) etc

There is about 10-12 people left at this time of the year from a starting point of 35 roughly last year . Numbers dropped slowly through the year.

I'm starting today @ 2.30 with advanced financial accounting and tax on Thursday and management accounting accounting Monday

I had integrated accounting systems in April (which was fine)

I def didn't study more than last year

To be honest I lost a lot of motivation this year for it and I think others the same.

Working full time and study/classes is tough going to be fair and hats off to anyone that does it because it's a lot of content to consume when having normal life outside of it and I could work 50 hours a week.

Others have kids ( I don't) and who work full time too( I have no idea how they do it but fair play)

Overall 2nd is def doable it's not a massive step up but it is more detailed for sure and the same level of study work needs to be put in.

Personally I found the FA and MA books terrible to read(boring as hell) and found myself reverting to YouTube videos for chapter titles which were much better explained and easier and more enjoyable to watch

Year 2 is much more practical than theory(no business management and law)

I'm planning on doing CPA afterwards

About 85% of my class aren't going on for different reasons(family kids, too much study ,age ) etc

There is about 10-12 people left at this time of the year from a starting point of 35 roughly last year . Numbers dropped slowly through the year.

I'm starting today @ 2.30 with advanced financial accounting and tax on Thursday and management accounting accounting Monday

I had integrated accounting systems in April (which was fine)

I def didn't study more than last year

To be honest I lost a lot of motivation this year for it and I think others the same.

Working full time and study/classes is tough going to be fair and hats off to anyone that does it because it's a lot of content to consume when having normal life outside of it and I could work 50 hours a week.

Others have kids ( I don't) and who work full time too( I have no idea how they do it but fair play)

Overall 2nd is def doable it's not a massive step up but it is more detailed for sure and the same level of study work needs to be put in.

Personally I found the FA and MA books terrible to read(boring as hell) and found myself reverting to YouTube videos for chapter titles which were much better explained and easier and more enjoyable to watch

Year 2 is much more practical than theory(no business management and law)

Oh good luck, I'm starting tomorrow. Not finished until Wednesday week! I work full time I found it difficult balancing everything got study leave from work so that helped a bit! Just want to get financial accounting over with now! I'm scared of theory subjects too just so much to learn esp in law! How did ye do it last year? Hope today goes well for u! :)

Like 80% of the class passed the theory subjects.

Remember you only need 50% and marks are easily picked up throughout .

It can be difficult to read the theory as it can be dull and boring and the wording of the books would make some people call asleep :)

Again, you don't need to be all waffle like the books can be . I got 76% in Business management and I stuck to the main points being asked. I can't even write in the style the book does and the solutions provided are 120% answers so don't be concerned by them .

Just have a basic understanding of of each section and the relevant definitions (not word for word) and you will be fine

With the law . Try to remember the cases of possible (easier said than done) and just keep doi exam papers and past papers

How did everyone get on with their 1st paper? how was the paper itself?

The paper was an absolute joke, it was ridiculously difficult. I would be quite good with financial accounting and normally would finish a paper with plenty of time to spare. I was still writing down to the last second today. I spent far too much time on financial statements q1, there was so much to it. I balanced my bank rec on q2 so pleased with that at least. q3 had a suspense, which I'm normally good at, I couldn't get it to balance at all. q4 I skipped. q5 club account, it was a nice enough question but they threw everything in like working out bar wages, bar purchases, prepayments, amortisation, subs. The only saving grace was we didn't have to do accumulated fund at the end. q6, was handy enough but not my favourite type, books of original entry into t accounts for part a and part b was a receivables control account that had a few tricky parts to it. My hands were shaking trying to get everything done. I had no time to actually think or check what I was doing.
    So in short, not happy at all and I need to get over 60% I think I'll be sitting again in August.

How did you get on Emma?

It's a good sign that you were writing to the end.

The advanced financial accounting paper I did yesterday was very theory heavy(which is fine I'm quite ok with theory to an extent)

Why do you need 60%? The pass rate is 50%

Anyhow, I'd take the positives away from it. It's sounds like you did well but seems like a very tough paper. If so, then the marking is lenient.

Am I dunno, dodge enough! I got nothing to balance even my bank Rec I was running out of time so did question 4 that has the irrecoverable debts (I looked over it last night) & then I realised as I was doing the question I didn't know what side of t accounts went on! I then was like should do question 6 but I didn't have time & didn't know the day books. Recheck answers there all wrong. :( So stressed, love if I just scraped a pass but it's doubtful! I don't know where to start with business! So much to learn :(

When's ur next one Wally?

Don't worry anything balancing!!!

Marks are awarded through all the workings and placing them . Odd dropped mark for not balancing . Don't worry about that at all. Sure have a look at the marking schemes they use on the last papers .

Ya I know just hope I scraped the 50.. On to business management, so much to learn!

I need 60% for acca exemption, I thought I'd have that exam in the bag. Don't count your chickens and all that. Did a post mortem with my class mates and it seems I fell for a lot of traps, stupid mistakes. I honestly had no time to read the paper properly, it was just write, write, write and hope for the best. I'm laughing thinking back to how neat and well presented my q1 was and quickly deteriorates to a scrawl by q6. I hope the examiner has a large glass of wine in front of them when marking my paper.

then I realised as I was doing the question I didn't know what side of t accounts went on!

Oh no!!! It's a nightmare when your mind goes blank! I definitely feel your pain on that one.

I double checked answered when I got home dunno why! :( What u gonna do for business management? Actually can't wait for next Wednesday

I'm just reading through bm sample papers and past papers now, I haven't looked at planning so hopefully that doesn't come up. I'm strong enough in HR and marketing, ok in leadership and motivation. I find the last 3 chapters very difficult to digest but learned off key information that hopefully will get me through it. I think the cloud will def come up this year so I'll prepare for that. I'm going put on the town next Wednesday when we're finished! Did the invigilator take your exam paper, mine did. I wanted it to check everything when I got home. Although it's probably best to just draw a line under it.

V hard compared to past papers I'd say. I was sure this was going to be the easy exam, if that's the case we are screwed.

Q1 super long. Disposal of assets threw in as well. Took my guts of 1 hr to finish it. Way out from balancing
    Bank rec super tricky. I was way out as was everyone else I spoke to.
    3 ok, probably messed up suspense. other short q should be ok.
    Club ac v easy
    Q 6 daybbooks/rec control easy.

I need 60% for acca exemption, I thought I'd have that exam in the bag. Don't count your chickens and all that. Did a post mortem with my class mates and it seems I fell for a lot of traps, stupid mistakes. I honestly had no time to read the paper properly, it was just write, write, write and hope for the best. I'm laughing thinking back to how neat and well presented my q1 was and quickly deteriorates to a scrawl by q6. I hope the examiner has a large glass of wine in front of them when marking my paper.

Whats the story with the 60% exemption for ACCA? Do you have to score that in all 4 or just acc/tax?

Ya lorr she took mine away as well! Think it's the story with them all. Ya section c very hard. I'm still hoping postal will come up! Ahh should have read the question properly & done question 6 Era, it's done now on to business management hopefully this will be better!

Whats the story with the 60% exemption for ACCA? Do you have to score that in all 4 or just acc/tax?

AFAIK merit pass for acc, tax and bm yr 1 and acc and tax yr 2. All of my classmates are disgusted with the paper, I had 15 mins to answer q3 in the end. I reckon I scored the worst here probably 8 or 9 marks out of 20. I didn't have time to close off t accounts in q6, I thought it would be better to do q3 for the sake of the few marks for closing off. I'm like a bear

Ya lorr she took mine away as well! Think it's the story with them all. Ya section c very hard. I'm still hoping postal will come up! Ahh should have read the question properly & done question 6 Era, it's done now on to business management hopefully this will be better!

Ha ha, we might be surprised with a nice easy paper, here's hoping!